Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Florida Urgent! Firearms Bill in Committee TOMORROW, Wednesday 3/11/15

Tuesday, March 10, 2015

Florida Urgent!  Firearms Bill in Committee TOMORROW, Wednesday 3/11/15

DATE:   March 10, 2015
TO:       USF & NRA Member and Friends
FROM:  Marion P. Hammer
              USF Executive Director
              NRA Past President

HB-493 B-290, Firearms/Emergency Evacuation by Representative Heather Fitzenhagen (R-Ft. Myers) is scheduled to be heard in the House Judiciary Committee TOMORROW,  Wednesday, March 11, 2015, at 1:00PM.

HB-493 is a bill to protect citizens from being disarmed and charged with a crime for carrying a weapon or firearm during a mandatory evacuation ordered by the Governor or local government during a declared state of emergency. 

WHY DO WE NEED HB-493?

When you're ordered under a mandatory evacuation to take your family, pets and important documents and leave your home and other belongings behind, you should not be deprived of the ability to protect yourself and your family.  You should not be denied the right to take your firearms with you rather than leave them behind for looters.  This bill is especially important for law-abiding people in a state that is prone to evacuations due to hurricanes. This bill is about your safety and the safety of your family.

Read the current version of the bill here:  CS/493 Firearms - Mandatory Evacuation

Please EMAIL Committee members IMMEDIATELY and ask them to SUPPORT HB-493


IN THE SUBJECT LINE PUT:  SUPPORT HB-493 on the H-Judiciary Agenda TOMORROW

(To send your message to all just Block and Copy All email addresses into the "Send To" box)

charles.mcburney@myfloridahouse.gov,
Colleen.Burton@myfloridahouse.gov,
Dwight.Dudley@myfloridahouse.gov,
Katie.Edwards@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jay.Fant@myfloridahouse.gov,
Julio.Gonzalez@myfloridahouse.gov,
gayle.harrell@myfloridahouse.gov,
matt.hudson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Dave.Kerner@myfloridahouse.gov,
larry.metz@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jared.Moskowitz@myfloridahouse.gov,
kathleen.passidomo@myfloridahouse.gov,
Scott.Plakon@myfloridahouse.gov,
michelle.rehwinkel@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jose.Rodriguez@myfloridahouse.gov,
Charlie.Stone@myfloridahouse.gov,
carlos.trujillo@myfloridahouse.gov,
john.wood@myfloridahouse.gov,

Committee members need to hear from you.  Please email Committee Members today.

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.