Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Arkansas: Shall-Certify Legislation Introduced

Saturday, February 28, 2015

Arkansas: Shall-Certify Legislation Introduced

House Bill 1488, introduced on February 26 by state Representative Tim Lemons (R-43), would require the chief law enforcement officer of a jurisdiction to certify the transfer or making of a firearm, as required by the National Firearms Act, within 15 days if the person is not prohibited from receiving or possessing a firearm by law.  HB 1488 also establishes that an applicant may appeal a denial to the circuit court. 

This NRA-supported bill has been referred to the House Judiciary Committee, and could be heard as early as next week.  Please contact members of the House Judiciary Committee and urge them to support this important pro-gun reform.  Contact information for committee members is provided below.

 

House Judiciary Committee:

Representative Matthew Shepherd (R-6), Chair
870-862-2087
matthew.shepherd@arkansashouse.org

Representative Marshall Wright (D-49), Vice-Chair
870-633-3141
marshall.wright@arkansashouse.org

Representative Eddie Armstrong (D-37)
501-444-8468
earmstrong4rep@gmail.com

Representative John Baine (D-7)
870-862-2002
john.baine@arkansashouse.org

Representative Bob Ballinger (R-97)
870-423-1035
bob@bobballinger.com

Representative Rick Beck (R-65)
501-912-1441
rick.beck@arkansashouse.org

Representative Camille Bennett (D-14)
501-257-7993
camille.bennett@arkansashouse.org

Representative Mary Broadaway (D-57)
870-236-9800
mary@marybroadawayarkansas.com

Representative Donnie Copeland (R-38)
501-297-4857
donnie.copeland@arkansashouse.org

Representative R. Trevor Drown (R-68)
479-857-2498
trevor.drown@arkansashouse.org

Representative Joe Farrer (R-44)
501-743-6855
jfarrer@suddenlink.net

Representative Michelle Gray (R-62)
870-368-4729
michelle.gray@arkansashouse.org

Representative Douglas House (R-40)
501-590-1055
housedouglas@gmail.com

Representative Rebecca Petty (R-94)
479-621-3464
pettyforar@yahoo.com

Representative Laurie Rushing (R-26)
501-545-6066
laurie.rushing@arkansashouse.org

Representative Sue Scott (R-95)
479-621-1265
grandmotherscott@yahoo.com

Representative Brent Talley (D-3)
870-983-2717
brent.talley@arkansashouse.org

Representative Dwight Tosh (R-52)
870-926-0423
dwight.tosh@arkansashouse.org

Representative John Vines (D-25)
501-624-1252
jtvines13@sbcglobal.net

Representative David Whitaker (D-85)
david.whitaker@arkansashouse.org

TRENDING NOW
Maryland: Pro-Carry Legislation Pending Final Vote on House Floor

Monday, March 20, 2017

Maryland: Pro-Carry Legislation Pending Final Vote on House Floor

Today, the Maryland House of Delegates passed House Bill 1036 on second reading.

Ohio: Critical Self-Defense Law Takes Effect Today!

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Ohio: Critical Self-Defense Law Takes Effect Today!

Today, March 21, the provisions of the critical self-defense legislation, Sub. Senate Bill 199, go into effect.  Thanks to your active involvement last session, this bill was signed by Governor Kasich last December.  This law ...

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Yesterday, the Maryland House of Delegates passed House Bill 1036 by a 97-41 vote.

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

The Illinois House of Representatives could consider House Bill 2354 at any time.

Arkansas Action Needed: Anti-Gun Bill Which Undermines Concealed Carry Headed to House

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Arkansas Action Needed: Anti-Gun Bill Which Undermines Concealed Carry Headed to House

Today, the Arkansas Senate passed Senate Bill 724, an anti-gun bill which undermines some of the key advancements made with the passage and enactment of House Bill 1249.  SB 724 is now headed to the ...

Idaho: Senate Passes Concealed Carry Amendment

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Idaho: Senate Passes Concealed Carry Amendment

Yesterday, March 20, the Idaho Senate passed House Bill 93 by a 35-0 vote.  Introduced by state Representative Don Cheatham (R-3B) and sponsored on the floor by state Senator Marv Hagedorn (R-14), HB 93 would amend current law ...

Nevada: Senate Passes Anti-Gun SB 115

Wednesday, March 22, 2017

Nevada: Senate Passes Anti-Gun SB 115

Yesterday, March 21, the Senate passed anti-gun Senate Bill 115 with a 12-9 vote.  SB 115 was sent to the Assembly for further consideration.  Sponsored by state Senator Moises Denis (D-2), SB 115 would expand the list ...

Are Ear Plugs Better Than a Suppressor?

Hunting  

News  

Friday, March 17, 2017

Are Ear Plugs Better Than a Suppressor?

On March 13, the gun control group, Americans for Responsible Solutions, posted a tweet claiming:  “FACT:  Silencers do not protect your hearing.”  An infographic accompanied the tweet with the additional claim “You know what protects ...

Texas: Two Important Handgun Carry Bills to be Considered in Senate and House Next Week

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Texas: Two Important Handgun Carry Bills to be Considered in Senate and House Next Week

On Monday, March 27, the Texas Senate will convene after 2:00pm and is expected to take up and consider Senate Bill 16, NRA-backed legislation sponsored by State Sen. Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville) and Joan Huffman (R-Houston).

Utah: Governor Signs Self-Defense Legislation into Law

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Utah: Governor Signs Self-Defense Legislation into Law

Tonight, Governor Gary Herbert signed House Bill 198 into law.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.