Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Arkansas: Shall-Certify Legislation Introduced

Saturday, February 28, 2015

Arkansas: Shall-Certify Legislation Introduced

House Bill 1488, introduced on February 26 by state Representative Tim Lemons (R-43), would require the chief law enforcement officer of a jurisdiction to certify the transfer or making of a firearm, as required by the National Firearms Act, within 15 days if the person is not prohibited from receiving or possessing a firearm by law.  HB 1488 also establishes that an applicant may appeal a denial to the circuit court. 

This NRA-supported bill has been referred to the House Judiciary Committee, and could be heard as early as next week.  Please contact members of the House Judiciary Committee and urge them to support this important pro-gun reform.  Contact information for committee members is provided below.

 

House Judiciary Committee:

Representative Matthew Shepherd (R-6), Chair
870-862-2087
matthew.shepherd@arkansashouse.org

Representative Marshall Wright (D-49), Vice-Chair
870-633-3141
marshall.wright@arkansashouse.org

Representative Eddie Armstrong (D-37)
501-444-8468
earmstrong4rep@gmail.com

Representative John Baine (D-7)
870-862-2002
john.baine@arkansashouse.org

Representative Bob Ballinger (R-97)
870-423-1035
bob@bobballinger.com

Representative Rick Beck (R-65)
501-912-1441
rick.beck@arkansashouse.org

Representative Camille Bennett (D-14)
501-257-7993
camille.bennett@arkansashouse.org

Representative Mary Broadaway (D-57)
870-236-9800
mary@marybroadawayarkansas.com

Representative Donnie Copeland (R-38)
501-297-4857
donnie.copeland@arkansashouse.org

Representative R. Trevor Drown (R-68)
479-857-2498
trevor.drown@arkansashouse.org

Representative Joe Farrer (R-44)
501-743-6855
jfarrer@suddenlink.net

Representative Michelle Gray (R-62)
870-368-4729
michelle.gray@arkansashouse.org

Representative Douglas House (R-40)
501-590-1055
housedouglas@gmail.com

Representative Rebecca Petty (R-94)
479-621-3464
pettyforar@yahoo.com

Representative Laurie Rushing (R-26)
501-545-6066
laurie.rushing@arkansashouse.org

Representative Sue Scott (R-95)
479-621-1265
grandmotherscott@yahoo.com

Representative Brent Talley (D-3)
870-983-2717
brent.talley@arkansashouse.org

Representative Dwight Tosh (R-52)
870-926-0423
dwight.tosh@arkansashouse.org

Representative John Vines (D-25)
501-624-1252
jtvines13@sbcglobal.net

Representative David Whitaker (D-85)
david.whitaker@arkansashouse.org

TRENDING NOW
Obama Says Goodbye to America’s Gun Owners with (a Likely Short-lived) Lead Ammo Ban

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Obama Says Goodbye to America’s Gun Owners with (a Likely Short-lived) Lead Ammo Ban

Gun owners knew that Barack Obama would not leave quietly. The only question was what else was coming.  

Federal Appeals Court: Chicago Violates Second Amendment … Again

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Federal Appeals Court: Chicago Violates Second Amendment … Again

On Wednesday, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit found that Chicago had once again violated the Second Amendment, this time with its regulations for gun ranges.

Gun Owners Welcome Donald J. Trump as President of the United States

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Gun Owners Welcome Donald J. Trump as President of the United States

Gun owners across the nation breathed a sigh of relief as Donald J. Trump was sworn in Friday morning as the 45th president of the United States.

Web Scraping: A Means to Push the Anti-Gun Agenda

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Web Scraping: A Means to Push the Anti-Gun Agenda

You may have read recently about a “breaking analysis” that includes numbers derived from a “mass shooting tracker,” which purports to present to the world, real world cases in which mass shootings have occurred.  One ...

New Hampshire: Constitutional/Permitless Carry Bill Passes Senate!

Thursday, January 19, 2017

New Hampshire: Constitutional/Permitless Carry Bill Passes Senate!

Today, Senate Bill 12, legislation eliminating the requirement to obtain a permit in order to lawfully carry, passed the Senate without amendment, by a 13-10 vote.  SB 12 will now go to the House of ...

New York Times Relies on Gun Prohibitionist Propaganda, Stigmatizes Suicide

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

New York Times Relies on Gun Prohibitionist Propaganda, Stigmatizes Suicide

In a December 5, 2015, front page editorial, the New York Times finally admitted what discerning readers had long understood – that the paper advocates the prohibition and confiscation of certain types of now-lawfully possessed firearms. ...

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

On Monday, Sen. Mike Crapo (R-ID) – joined by co-sponsors Sens. Jerry Moran (R-KS) and Rand Paul (R-KY) – introduced S. 59, the Hearing Protection Act of 2017 (HPA). Similar legislation was introduced in the ...

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

Inspired, perhaps, by Oscar Wilde (“Moderation is a fatal thing. Nothing succeeds like excess”), Washington State Attorney General Bob Ferguson has announced two new sweeping gun control bills, with Sen. David Frockt (D-Seattle) and Rep. ...

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

On January 3rd, Congressman Richard Hudson (R-N.C.8th) introduced H.R. 38, the Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act of 2017, which simply allows lawful firearm carriers from any state to carry a concealed firearm in any other state. The bill ...

Thursday, January 19, 2017

Florida Urgent Alert! Self-defense Bill up in Senate Judiciary on Tuesday 1/24/2017

A critical self-defense bill will be heard by the Senate Judiciary Committee on Tuesday, January 24, 2017, between 2:00-4:00pm.  SB-128 Burden of Proof by Senator Rob Bradley restores the presumption of innocence in self-defense cases ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.