Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Kansas: Permitless Carry Legislation Introduced

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Kansas: Permitless Carry Legislation Introduced

Today, a bill recognizing Kansans' freedom to legally carry a concealed firearm without the burdensome requirement of acquiring a Kansas concealed carry handgun license (CCHL) was introduced in the Kansas Senate.  Authored by Senate Majority Leader Terry Bruce (R-34), Senate Bill 45 is an important fix to current Kansas law and has already received 26 cosponsors. 

SB 45 is a necessary update to concealed carry in Kansas, allowing law-abiding gun owners the ability to protect themselves and their loved ones.  In Kansas, it is already legal to carry a firearm openly, as long as the individual is not prohibited by law from possessing a firearm.  However, under current law, if a firearm becomes covered by a coat or if a woman prefers to carry a firearm for self-protection in her purse, one would need to possess a CCHL.

This permitless carry legislation gives Kansans the freedom to choose the best method of carrying for them, based on their attire, gender and/or physical attributes.  SB 45 is an important pro-gun reform that deserves your support, and your NRA-ILA will keep you updated as this legislation is assigned to committee and moves through the legislative process.  In the meantime, please use the contact information provided below to thank Senator Terry Bruce as well as the other 25 cosponsors for their work advancing your Right to Keep and Bear Arms.

SB 45 Cosponsors:

Senator Terry Bruce (R-34)
Email: Terry.Bruce@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-2497

Senator Steve Abrams (R-32)
Email: Steve.Abrams@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7381

Senator Tom Arpke (R-24)
Email: Tom.Arpke@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7369

Senator Molly Baumgardner (R-37)
Email: Molly.Baumgardner@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7368 

Senator Elaine Bowers (R-36)
Email: Elaine.Bowers@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7389

Senator Les Donovan (R-27)
Email: Les.Donovan@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7385

Senator Steve Fitzgerald (R-5)
Email: Steve.Fitzgerald@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7357

Senator Mitch Holmes (R-33),
Email: Mitch.Holmes@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7667 

Senator Laura Kelly (D-18)
Email: Laura.Kelly@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7365

Senator Dan Kerschen (R-26)
Email: Dan.Kerschen@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7353 

Senator Forrest Knox (R-14)
Email: Forrest.Knox@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7678

Senator Jake LaTurner (R-13)
Email: Jacob.LaTurner@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7370

Senator Jeff Longbine (R-17)
Email: Jeff.Longbine@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7384

Senator Garrett Love (R-38)
Email: Garrett.Love@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7359 

Senator Julia Lynn (R-9)
Email: Julia.Lynn@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7382

Senator Ty Masterson (R-16)
Email: Ty.Masterson@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7388

Senator Michael O’Donnell (R-25)
Email: Michael.ODonnell@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7391

Senator Rob Olson (R-23)
Email: Rob.Olson@senate.ks.gov
Phone:  (785) 296-7358

Senator Ralph Ostmeyer (R-40)
Email: Ralph.Ostmeyer@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7399

Senator Mike Petersen (R-28)
Email: Mike.Petersen@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7355

Senator Mary Pilcher-Cook (R-10)
Email: Mary.PilcherCook@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7362

Senator Larry Powell (R-39)
Email: Larry.Powell@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7694

Senator Dennis Pyle (R-1)
Email: Dennis.Pyle@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7379

Senator Greg Smith (R-21)
Email: Greg.Smith@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7367

Senator Caryn Tyson (R-12)
Email: Caryn.Tyson@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-6838

Senator Rick Wilborn (R-35)
Email: richard.wilborn@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7354

 

TRENDING NOW
National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

On January 3rd, Congressman Richard Hudson (R-N.C.8th) introduced H.R. 38, the Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act of 2017, which simply allows lawful firearm carriers from any state to carry a concealed firearm in any other state. The bill ...

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

On Monday, Sen. Mike Crapo (R-ID) – joined by co-sponsors Sens. Jerry Moran (R-KS) and Rand Paul (R-KY) – introduced S. 59, the Hearing Protection Act of 2017 (HPA). Similar legislation was introduced in the ...

Supreme Court Asked to Review California’s Restrictive Carry Regime

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Supreme Court Asked to Review California’s Restrictive Carry Regime

On Thursday, the NRA-supported case Peruta v. California took an important step towards restoring the right to bear arms in California.  The plaintiffs in the case, California gun owners and the California Rifle and Pistol ...

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

Inspired, perhaps, by Oscar Wilde (“Moderation is a fatal thing. Nothing succeeds like excess”), Washington State Attorney General Bob Ferguson has announced two new sweeping gun control bills, with Sen. David Frockt (D-Seattle) and Rep. ...

The NRA Bids Farewell to Roy Innis, Civil Rights Champion: June 6, 1934 – Jan. 8, 2017

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

The NRA Bids Farewell to Roy Innis, Civil Rights Champion: June 6, 1934 – Jan. 8, 2017

America lost a civil rights icon and a true free thinker with the death of Roy Innis on Jan. 8. For the NRA, his departure was personal. Mr. Innis served on the NRA’s Board of ...

Jeff Sessions’ Devotion to the Constitution Shines Through in Contentious Confirmation Hearing

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Jeff Sessions’ Devotion to the Constitution Shines Through in Contentious Confirmation Hearing

On January 10 and 11, the U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee held the confirmation hearing for President-elect Donald Trump’s nominee for United States Attorney General, Sen. Jeff Sessions (R-Ala.). Throughout his distinguished career in public service, ...

Increase in Violent Crime: National Trend Driven by Local Politics?

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Increase in Violent Crime: National Trend Driven by Local Politics?

The FBI released its Preliminary Semiannual Uniform Crime Report earlier this week and the bad news is that violent crime increased for the second consecutive year.

NRA Applauds the Introduction of the Hearing Protection Act, H.R. 367

News  

Hunting  

Monday, January 9, 2017

NRA Applauds the Introduction of the Hearing Protection Act, H.R. 367

FAIRFAX, Va. – The National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) applauded Congressmen Jeff Duncan (SC) and John Carter (TX-31) on Monday for introducing the Hearing Protection Act, an important bill that gives gun owners and sportsmen ...

Gun Shy Professor Claims Need to Counter Campus Carry

News  

Friday, January 6, 2017

Gun Shy Professor Claims Need to Counter Campus Carry

Do you look back on your college years and remember the impassioned debates, when disagreements over the Periodic Table of Elements, theories of supply and demand, or the status of Pluto as a planet could ...

California: Pre-Litigation Demand Letter sent to DOJ opposing “Bullet Button Assault Weapon” Regulations

Monday, January 9, 2017

California: Pre-Litigation Demand Letter sent to DOJ opposing “Bullet Button Assault Weapon” Regulations

Today, NRA and CRPA’s legal team submitted a joint-letter to DOJ demanding that DOJ withdraw their regulations as a violation of the authority granted under the law.  NRA and CRPA’s legal team also submitted a ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.