Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Kansas: Permitless Carry Legislation Introduced

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Kansas: Permitless Carry Legislation Introduced

Today, a bill recognizing Kansans' freedom to legally carry a concealed firearm without the burdensome requirement of acquiring a Kansas concealed carry handgun license (CCHL) was introduced in the Kansas Senate.  Authored by Senate Majority Leader Terry Bruce (R-34), Senate Bill 45 is an important fix to current Kansas law and has already received 26 cosponsors. 

SB 45 is a necessary update to concealed carry in Kansas, allowing law-abiding gun owners the ability to protect themselves and their loved ones.  In Kansas, it is already legal to carry a firearm openly, as long as the individual is not prohibited by law from possessing a firearm.  However, under current law, if a firearm becomes covered by a coat or if a woman prefers to carry a firearm for self-protection in her purse, one would need to possess a CCHL.

This permitless carry legislation gives Kansans the freedom to choose the best method of carrying for them, based on their attire, gender and/or physical attributes.  SB 45 is an important pro-gun reform that deserves your support, and your NRA-ILA will keep you updated as this legislation is assigned to committee and moves through the legislative process.  In the meantime, please use the contact information provided below to thank Senator Terry Bruce as well as the other 25 cosponsors for their work advancing your Right to Keep and Bear Arms.

SB 45 Cosponsors:

Senator Terry Bruce (R-34)
Email: Terry.Bruce@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-2497

Senator Steve Abrams (R-32)
Email: Steve.Abrams@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7381

Senator Tom Arpke (R-24)
Email: Tom.Arpke@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7369

Senator Molly Baumgardner (R-37)
Email: Molly.Baumgardner@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7368 

Senator Elaine Bowers (R-36)
Email: Elaine.Bowers@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7389

Senator Les Donovan (R-27)
Email: Les.Donovan@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7385

Senator Steve Fitzgerald (R-5)
Email: Steve.Fitzgerald@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7357

Senator Mitch Holmes (R-33),
Email: Mitch.Holmes@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7667 

Senator Laura Kelly (D-18)
Email: Laura.Kelly@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7365

Senator Dan Kerschen (R-26)
Email: Dan.Kerschen@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7353 

Senator Forrest Knox (R-14)
Email: Forrest.Knox@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7678

Senator Jake LaTurner (R-13)
Email: Jacob.LaTurner@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7370

Senator Jeff Longbine (R-17)
Email: Jeff.Longbine@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7384

Senator Garrett Love (R-38)
Email: Garrett.Love@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7359 

Senator Julia Lynn (R-9)
Email: Julia.Lynn@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7382

Senator Ty Masterson (R-16)
Email: Ty.Masterson@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7388

Senator Michael O’Donnell (R-25)
Email: Michael.ODonnell@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7391

Senator Rob Olson (R-23)
Email: Rob.Olson@senate.ks.gov
Phone:  (785) 296-7358

Senator Ralph Ostmeyer (R-40)
Email: Ralph.Ostmeyer@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7399

Senator Mike Petersen (R-28)
Email: Mike.Petersen@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7355

Senator Mary Pilcher-Cook (R-10)
Email: Mary.PilcherCook@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7362

Senator Larry Powell (R-39)
Email: Larry.Powell@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7694

Senator Dennis Pyle (R-1)
Email: Dennis.Pyle@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7379

Senator Greg Smith (R-21)
Email: Greg.Smith@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7367

Senator Caryn Tyson (R-12)
Email: Caryn.Tyson@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-6838

Senator Rick Wilborn (R-35)
Email: richard.wilborn@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7354

 

TRENDING NOW

Saturday, April 21, 2018

Florida Alert: YETI Drops NRA Foundation

For years YETI Coolers have been a hot item for sportsmen at the Friends of NRA Foundation Banquet and Auction events around the country.  Suddenly, without prior notice, YETI has declined to do business with The ...

Dick’s Sporting Goods/Field & Stream to Destroy Firearms Inventory

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, April 20, 2018

Dick’s Sporting Goods/Field & Stream to Destroy Firearms Inventory

Dick’s Sporting Goods took their campaign to alienate law-abiding gun owners to an extraordinary new level last week. The beleaguered retailer announced that in addition to removing certain types of semi-automatic rifles from their stores, the company ...

Another Group of Anti-Gun Celebrities Forms!  In Other News, The Sun Rose Today.

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, April 20, 2018

Another Group of Anti-Gun Celebrities Forms! In Other News, The Sun Rose Today.

In case you were worried there were not enough anti-gun organizations working to eradicate the rights of law-abiding gun owners, a new one has formed, and it’s called NoRA.  Get it?  The name implies that the ...

Illinois: Committee Passes Bill to Allow Local Infringement of Second Amendment

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

Illinois: Committee Passes Bill to Allow Local Infringement of Second Amendment

The Illinois state Senate could vote on legislation to allow localities to infringe upon Second Amendment rights as early as today.  Senate Bill 2314 was moved to third reading after it had passed the Senate ...

NRA Salutes “the Gunny” and Mourns the Passing of an American Patriot

News  

Friday, April 20, 2018

NRA Salutes “the Gunny” and Mourns the Passing of an American Patriot

America, and the NRA, lost a true friend and a staunch defender of freedom with the passing of R. Lee Ermey on April 15 from complications of pneumonia. He was 74 years old. 

Unfriendly Skies: Delta CEO Claims Bashing NRA Members is Good Business

News  

Friday, April 13, 2018

Unfriendly Skies: Delta CEO Claims Bashing NRA Members is Good Business

In the wake of the Parkland, Florida, murders, there has been an unusual amount of anti-gun and anti-NRA commentary by private corporations with plenty of problems of their own.   In February, Delta announced it was ending a ...

Rhode Island: 19 Gun Bills to be Heard in House Judiciary Committee Tuesday

Thursday, April 19, 2018

Rhode Island: 19 Gun Bills to be Heard in House Judiciary Committee Tuesday

A marathon gun bill hearing is on tap for next Tuesday night in Providence, and NRA and local pro-Second Amendment groups are calling for all-hands-on-deck.

Keep Calm and Carry On: Pro-Gun Sentiment Reasserts Itself in Wake of Antigun Blitz

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, April 20, 2018

Keep Calm and Carry On: Pro-Gun Sentiment Reasserts Itself in Wake of Antigun Blitz

Like the long-delayed coming of spring to the Mid-Atlantic, evidence is appearing that Americans are regaining their senses and reverting to an instinctual embrace of freedom after a withering barrage of some the nastiest and most ugly ...

Bailed-out Banks Launch Coordinated Attack on Law-abiding Gun Owners

News  

Friday, April 13, 2018

Bailed-out Banks Launch Coordinated Attack on Law-abiding Gun Owners

There is growing evidence that some of America’s financial elite want to create a world in which America’s public policy decisions emanate from corporate boardrooms in Manhattan rather than from citizens and their elected officials.  ...

New Jersey: Senate Committee Approves Gun Control Bills

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

New Jersey: Senate Committee Approves Gun Control Bills

On Monday, the Senate Law & Public Safety Committee approved several gun control bills during a hearing that stretched over five hours. 

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.