Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Kansas: Permitless Carry Legislation Introduced

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Kansas: Permitless Carry Legislation Introduced

Today, a bill recognizing Kansans' freedom to legally carry a concealed firearm without the burdensome requirement of acquiring a Kansas concealed carry handgun license (CCHL) was introduced in the Kansas Senate.  Authored by Senate Majority Leader Terry Bruce (R-34), Senate Bill 45 is an important fix to current Kansas law and has already received 26 cosponsors. 

SB 45 is a necessary update to concealed carry in Kansas, allowing law-abiding gun owners the ability to protect themselves and their loved ones.  In Kansas, it is already legal to carry a firearm openly, as long as the individual is not prohibited by law from possessing a firearm.  However, under current law, if a firearm becomes covered by a coat or if a woman prefers to carry a firearm for self-protection in her purse, one would need to possess a CCHL.

This permitless carry legislation gives Kansans the freedom to choose the best method of carrying for them, based on their attire, gender and/or physical attributes.  SB 45 is an important pro-gun reform that deserves your support, and your NRA-ILA will keep you updated as this legislation is assigned to committee and moves through the legislative process.  In the meantime, please use the contact information provided below to thank Senator Terry Bruce as well as the other 25 cosponsors for their work advancing your Right to Keep and Bear Arms.

SB 45 Cosponsors:

Senator Terry Bruce (R-34)
Email: Terry.Bruce@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-2497

Senator Steve Abrams (R-32)
Email: Steve.Abrams@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7381

Senator Tom Arpke (R-24)
Email: Tom.Arpke@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7369

Senator Molly Baumgardner (R-37)
Email: Molly.Baumgardner@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7368 

Senator Elaine Bowers (R-36)
Email: Elaine.Bowers@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7389

Senator Les Donovan (R-27)
Email: Les.Donovan@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7385

Senator Steve Fitzgerald (R-5)
Email: Steve.Fitzgerald@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7357

Senator Mitch Holmes (R-33),
Email: Mitch.Holmes@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7667 

Senator Laura Kelly (D-18)
Email: Laura.Kelly@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7365

Senator Dan Kerschen (R-26)
Email: Dan.Kerschen@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7353 

Senator Forrest Knox (R-14)
Email: Forrest.Knox@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7678

Senator Jake LaTurner (R-13)
Email: Jacob.LaTurner@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7370

Senator Jeff Longbine (R-17)
Email: Jeff.Longbine@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7384

Senator Garrett Love (R-38)
Email: Garrett.Love@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7359 

Senator Julia Lynn (R-9)
Email: Julia.Lynn@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7382

Senator Ty Masterson (R-16)
Email: Ty.Masterson@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7388

Senator Michael O’Donnell (R-25)
Email: Michael.ODonnell@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7391

Senator Rob Olson (R-23)
Email: Rob.Olson@senate.ks.gov
Phone:  (785) 296-7358

Senator Ralph Ostmeyer (R-40)
Email: Ralph.Ostmeyer@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7399

Senator Mike Petersen (R-28)
Email: Mike.Petersen@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7355

Senator Mary Pilcher-Cook (R-10)
Email: Mary.PilcherCook@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7362

Senator Larry Powell (R-39)
Email: Larry.Powell@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7694

Senator Dennis Pyle (R-1)
Email: Dennis.Pyle@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7379

Senator Greg Smith (R-21)
Email: Greg.Smith@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7367

Senator Caryn Tyson (R-12)
Email: Caryn.Tyson@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-6838

Senator Rick Wilborn (R-35)
Email: richard.wilborn@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7354

 

TRENDING NOW
California: Governor Brown Signs Remaining Anti-Gun Bill

Sunday, October 15, 2017

California: Governor Brown Signs Remaining Anti-Gun Bill

Yesterday, Governor Brown signed Assembly Bill 424, the remaining anti-gun bill on his desk. 

Illinois: Urgent Action Needed – Numerous Anti-Gun Bills Readied for Consideration Next Week

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

Illinois: Urgent Action Needed – Numerous Anti-Gun Bills Readied for Consideration Next Week

Today, multiple gun control bills were released by the House Rules Committee and have been referred to the House Judiciary Committee for a hearing.

Bad News For “Universal” Background Check Supporters

News  

Thursday, October 19, 2017

Bad News For “Universal” Background Check Supporters

NRATV Host Cam Edwards describes a study that shows the ineffectiveness of so-called “universal” background checks

Spokane Police To Use Suppressors To Protect Hearing

News  

Monday, October 16, 2017

Spokane Police To Use Suppressors To Protect Hearing

The Spokane PD has 181 service rifles in its inventory; using suppressors on them has the potential to reduce workers compensation claims and lawsuits from bystanders.

Alleged Sexual Predator and Hollywood Mogul Harvey Weinstein Threatens NRA (Again)

News  

Friday, October 13, 2017

Alleged Sexual Predator and Hollywood Mogul Harvey Weinstein Threatens NRA (Again)

On October 5, the New York Times published an article titled, “Harvey Weinstein Paid Off Sexual Harassment Accusers for Decades.” The piece detailed allegations that the mogul used his position of influence to make unwanted ...

Gun Banners Unmasked: The Vengeful Face of the Anti-gun Agenda Emerges Once Again

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, October 13, 2017

Gun Banners Unmasked: The Vengeful Face of the Anti-gun Agenda Emerges Once Again

What happens to the 400 million or so firearms already in private hands? How does society actually benefit from his plan? Stephens doesn’t say. He apparently just trusts that things would eventually work themselves out ...

“Death by a Thousand Cuts” – Latest Ninth Circuit decision proclaims “selling firearms is not part or parcel of the right to keep and bear arms”

Second Amendment  

Friday, October 13, 2017

“Death by a Thousand Cuts” – Latest Ninth Circuit decision proclaims “selling firearms is not part or parcel of the right to keep and bear arms”

Since the U.S. Supreme Court handed down its landmark rulings in District of Columbia v. Heller and McDonald v. Chicago, lower courts across the country have expressed their disagreement with – or downright hostility to ...

California: Governor Vetoes Dealer Storage Bill and Signs Open Carry Ban

Saturday, October 14, 2017

California: Governor Vetoes Dealer Storage Bill and Signs Open Carry Ban

Yesterday, Governor Brown took action on two of the remaining three anti-gun bills by vetoing Senate Bill 464 and signing Assembly Bill 7. 

Oregon: Governor Signs Anti-Gun Bill into Law

Thursday, August 17, 2017

Oregon: Governor Signs Anti-Gun Bill into Law

Yesterday, Governor Kate Brown signed Senate Bill 719A.  Based on a California law enacted in 2014, SB 719A will create a so-called “Extreme Risk Protection Order” (ERPO) that could be obtained by a law enforcement ...

Shall-Issue Concealed Carry Coming Soon to the Nation’s Capital!

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, October 13, 2017

Shall-Issue Concealed Carry Coming Soon to the Nation’s Capital!

It’s important to celebrate that law-abiding Americans are now closer than they have been in nearly half a century to being able to exercise their firearms freedom in our nation’s capital. That is real progress.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.