Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Kansas: Permitless Carry Legislation Introduced

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Kansas: Permitless Carry Legislation Introduced

Today, a bill recognizing Kansans' freedom to legally carry a concealed firearm without the burdensome requirement of acquiring a Kansas concealed carry handgun license (CCHL) was introduced in the Kansas Senate.  Authored by Senate Majority Leader Terry Bruce (R-34), Senate Bill 45 is an important fix to current Kansas law and has already received 26 cosponsors. 

SB 45 is a necessary update to concealed carry in Kansas, allowing law-abiding gun owners the ability to protect themselves and their loved ones.  In Kansas, it is already legal to carry a firearm openly, as long as the individual is not prohibited by law from possessing a firearm.  However, under current law, if a firearm becomes covered by a coat or if a woman prefers to carry a firearm for self-protection in her purse, one would need to possess a CCHL.

This permitless carry legislation gives Kansans the freedom to choose the best method of carrying for them, based on their attire, gender and/or physical attributes.  SB 45 is an important pro-gun reform that deserves your support, and your NRA-ILA will keep you updated as this legislation is assigned to committee and moves through the legislative process.  In the meantime, please use the contact information provided below to thank Senator Terry Bruce as well as the other 25 cosponsors for their work advancing your Right to Keep and Bear Arms.

SB 45 Cosponsors:

Senator Terry Bruce (R-34)
Email: Terry.Bruce@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-2497

Senator Steve Abrams (R-32)
Email: Steve.Abrams@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7381

Senator Tom Arpke (R-24)
Email: Tom.Arpke@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7369

Senator Molly Baumgardner (R-37)
Email: Molly.Baumgardner@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7368 

Senator Elaine Bowers (R-36)
Email: Elaine.Bowers@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7389

Senator Les Donovan (R-27)
Email: Les.Donovan@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7385

Senator Steve Fitzgerald (R-5)
Email: Steve.Fitzgerald@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7357

Senator Mitch Holmes (R-33),
Email: Mitch.Holmes@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7667 

Senator Laura Kelly (D-18)
Email: Laura.Kelly@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7365

Senator Dan Kerschen (R-26)
Email: Dan.Kerschen@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7353 

Senator Forrest Knox (R-14)
Email: Forrest.Knox@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7678

Senator Jake LaTurner (R-13)
Email: Jacob.LaTurner@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7370

Senator Jeff Longbine (R-17)
Email: Jeff.Longbine@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7384

Senator Garrett Love (R-38)
Email: Garrett.Love@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7359 

Senator Julia Lynn (R-9)
Email: Julia.Lynn@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7382

Senator Ty Masterson (R-16)
Email: Ty.Masterson@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7388

Senator Michael O’Donnell (R-25)
Email: Michael.ODonnell@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7391

Senator Rob Olson (R-23)
Email: Rob.Olson@senate.ks.gov
Phone:  (785) 296-7358

Senator Ralph Ostmeyer (R-40)
Email: Ralph.Ostmeyer@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7399

Senator Mike Petersen (R-28)
Email: Mike.Petersen@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7355

Senator Mary Pilcher-Cook (R-10)
Email: Mary.PilcherCook@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7362

Senator Larry Powell (R-39)
Email: Larry.Powell@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7694

Senator Dennis Pyle (R-1)
Email: Dennis.Pyle@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7379

Senator Greg Smith (R-21)
Email: Greg.Smith@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7367

Senator Caryn Tyson (R-12)
Email: Caryn.Tyson@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-6838

Senator Rick Wilborn (R-35)
Email: richard.wilborn@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7354

 

TRENDING NOW
Keep Telling Your Members of Congress to Oppose “Universal” Background Check Bills

News  

Friday, January 18, 2019

Keep Telling Your Members of Congress to Oppose “Universal” Background Check Bills

On January 8, two bills were introduced in Congress to impose so-called "universal" background checks. The bills, H.R. 8 and S. 42, are being misleadingly described as simply requiring background checks on all sales of firearms, but this is ...

Now With More Banning! Dianne Feinstein Introduces “Updated” Federal “Assault Weapons” Ban (S. 66)

News  

Friday, January 11, 2019

Now With More Banning! Dianne Feinstein Introduces “Updated” Federal “Assault Weapons” Ban (S. 66)

On Wednesday, longtime gun control extremist Dianne Feinstein (D-CA) introduced the latest version of her perennial bid to rid America of its most popular types of rifles, as well as the standard capacity magazines that ...

Law for Thee But Not for Me: Pittsburgh Officials Defy DA’s Legal Advice in Gun Control Push

News  

Friday, January 18, 2019

Law for Thee But Not for Me: Pittsburgh Officials Defy DA’s Legal Advice in Gun Control Push

Pittsburgh City Council member Corey O’Connor wants local residents to relinquish important aspects of their Second Amendment rights. If they refuse, he would have it cost them their liberty and treasure. But O’Connor himself apparently ...

Who Are the Real Extremists?

News  

Friday, January 18, 2019

Who Are the Real Extremists?

NRA is often vilified by the gun-ban community and its supporters in the mainstream, legacy media as an “extremist” organization because of its steadfast defense of our Right to Keep and Bear Arms. A simple ...

Washington: Committee Hearings Scheduled on Anti-Gun Bills

Wednesday, January 16, 2019

Washington: Committee Hearings Scheduled on Anti-Gun Bills

Anti-gun bills will be heard on January 21st at 10:00AM by the Washington state Senate Committee on Law & Justice and by the House Committee on Civil Rights & Judiciary on January 22nd at 10:00AM.

Illinois: Gov. Pritzker Signs Firearm Registration & Dealer Licensing Bill

Thursday, January 17, 2019

Illinois: Gov. Pritzker Signs Firearm Registration & Dealer Licensing Bill

Today, Governor J.B. Pritzker signed Senate Bill 337 into law.  Passed by the previous legislature in 2018, SB 337 will establish a firearm registry and shut down your local gun stores with government red tape.  Senate ...

New Mexico: Governor Lujan Grisham Highlights Gun Control In Opening Day Speech

Thursday, January 17, 2019

New Mexico: Governor Lujan Grisham Highlights Gun Control In Opening Day Speech

In her opening day speech to state lawmakers, New Mexico Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham called on them to pass various gun control proposals that she supported on the campaign trail and which have been filed in the ...

Wisconsin: Governor Evers Starts Session with Gun Control Push

Monday, January 14, 2019

Wisconsin: Governor Evers Starts Session with Gun Control Push

With the 2019 Wisconsin Legislative Session convened, Governor Tony Evers and Attorney General Josh Kaul are already working with legislators to pass sweeping gun control.

Canada’s Gun Control Advocates Boast Handgun Ban is “Within Reach”

News  

Friday, January 11, 2019

Canada’s Gun Control Advocates Boast Handgun Ban is “Within Reach”

On August 28, 2018, Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau instructed Bill Blair, his minister of Border Security and Organized Crime Reduction, to examine the feasibility of “a full ban on handguns and assault weapons in ...

Washington: Attorney General Introduces Additional Gun Ban Legislation

Saturday, January 19, 2019

Washington: Attorney General Introduces Additional Gun Ban Legislation

Just months after pushing for the passage of Initiative 1639 to impose severe regulations on purchasing and possessing semi-automatic firearms, Attorney General Bob Ferguson has now introduced legislation that would outright ban commonly owned semi-automatic ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.