Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Kansas: Permitless Carry Legislation Introduced

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Kansas: Permitless Carry Legislation Introduced

Today, a bill recognizing Kansans' freedom to legally carry a concealed firearm without the burdensome requirement of acquiring a Kansas concealed carry handgun license (CCHL) was introduced in the Kansas Senate.  Authored by Senate Majority Leader Terry Bruce (R-34), Senate Bill 45 is an important fix to current Kansas law and has already received 26 cosponsors. 

SB 45 is a necessary update to concealed carry in Kansas, allowing law-abiding gun owners the ability to protect themselves and their loved ones.  In Kansas, it is already legal to carry a firearm openly, as long as the individual is not prohibited by law from possessing a firearm.  However, under current law, if a firearm becomes covered by a coat or if a woman prefers to carry a firearm for self-protection in her purse, one would need to possess a CCHL.

This permitless carry legislation gives Kansans the freedom to choose the best method of carrying for them, based on their attire, gender and/or physical attributes.  SB 45 is an important pro-gun reform that deserves your support, and your NRA-ILA will keep you updated as this legislation is assigned to committee and moves through the legislative process.  In the meantime, please use the contact information provided below to thank Senator Terry Bruce as well as the other 25 cosponsors for their work advancing your Right to Keep and Bear Arms.

SB 45 Cosponsors:

Senator Terry Bruce (R-34)
Email: Terry.Bruce@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-2497

Senator Steve Abrams (R-32)
Email: Steve.Abrams@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7381

Senator Tom Arpke (R-24)
Email: Tom.Arpke@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7369

Senator Molly Baumgardner (R-37)
Email: Molly.Baumgardner@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7368 

Senator Elaine Bowers (R-36)
Email: Elaine.Bowers@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7389

Senator Les Donovan (R-27)
Email: Les.Donovan@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7385

Senator Steve Fitzgerald (R-5)
Email: Steve.Fitzgerald@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7357

Senator Mitch Holmes (R-33),
Email: Mitch.Holmes@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7667 

Senator Laura Kelly (D-18)
Email: Laura.Kelly@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7365

Senator Dan Kerschen (R-26)
Email: Dan.Kerschen@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7353 

Senator Forrest Knox (R-14)
Email: Forrest.Knox@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7678

Senator Jake LaTurner (R-13)
Email: Jacob.LaTurner@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7370

Senator Jeff Longbine (R-17)
Email: Jeff.Longbine@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7384

Senator Garrett Love (R-38)
Email: Garrett.Love@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7359 

Senator Julia Lynn (R-9)
Email: Julia.Lynn@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7382

Senator Ty Masterson (R-16)
Email: Ty.Masterson@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7388

Senator Michael O’Donnell (R-25)
Email: Michael.ODonnell@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7391

Senator Rob Olson (R-23)
Email: Rob.Olson@senate.ks.gov
Phone:  (785) 296-7358

Senator Ralph Ostmeyer (R-40)
Email: Ralph.Ostmeyer@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7399

Senator Mike Petersen (R-28)
Email: Mike.Petersen@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7355

Senator Mary Pilcher-Cook (R-10)
Email: Mary.PilcherCook@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7362

Senator Larry Powell (R-39)
Email: Larry.Powell@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7694

Senator Dennis Pyle (R-1)
Email: Dennis.Pyle@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7379

Senator Greg Smith (R-21)
Email: Greg.Smith@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7367

Senator Caryn Tyson (R-12)
Email: Caryn.Tyson@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-6838

Senator Rick Wilborn (R-35)
Email: richard.wilborn@senate.ks.gov
Phone: (785) 296-7354

 

TRENDING NOW

News  

Tuesday, July 17, 2018

Federal Court Upholds Decision to Block California’s Magazine Ban

A three-judge panel of the 9th Circuit issued a ruling in the case of Duncan v. Becerra on Tuesday upholding a lower court’s decision to suspend enforcement of California’s restriction on the possession of magazines ...

Washington: Seattle City Council Passes Ordinance Making Firearms Unavailable for Self-Defense

Monday, July 16, 2018

Washington: Seattle City Council Passes Ordinance Making Firearms Unavailable for Self-Defense

On July 9th, the Seattle City Council passed a mandatory firearm storage ordinance to restrict the self-defense rights of Seattle residents.  The ordinance, if signed by Mayor Jenny Durkan, will impose a one-size-fits-all method of storing firearms as ...

Anti-gun Efforts to Expand U.N. Regulations to Ammunition Continue

News  

Friday, July 6, 2018

Anti-gun Efforts to Expand U.N. Regulations to Ammunition Continue

Shortly before 4:00am last Saturday morning, the two week long Third Review Conference (RevCon3) on the Programme of Action to Prevent, Combat, and Eradicate the Illicit Trade in Small Arms and Light Weapons in All ...

Federal Appellate Court Upholds Decision to Block California’s Magazine Surrender Requirement

News  

Friday, July 20, 2018

Federal Appellate Court Upholds Decision to Block California’s Magazine Surrender Requirement

Last summer, we reported on the welcome news that a federal court had blocked California’s plan to require owners of “large capacity” magazines to surrender or otherwise rid themselves of their formerly-lawful property. As the judge in ...

Anti-gun Propaganda Infiltrates History Channel’s Navy SEAL Drama “Six”

News  

Friday, July 20, 2018

Anti-gun Propaganda Infiltrates History Channel’s Navy SEAL Drama “Six”

With shows like “Tales of the Gun” and “Mail Call” with R. Lee Ermey, the History Channel has often served as a place where gun owners can enjoy entertainment free from the anti-gun political messaging ...

Justice Scalia Made Clear the Second Amendment and Heller Prohibit “Assault Weapon” Bans

News  

Second Amendment  

Gun Laws  

Friday, July 13, 2018

Justice Scalia Made Clear the Second Amendment and Heller Prohibit “Assault Weapon” Bans

On July 9, Sen. Chris Murphy (D-Conn.) offered the following ham-handed statement in an attempted attack on President Donald Trump’s U.S. Supreme Court nominee, D.C. Circuit Judge Brett Kavanaugh. Brett Kavanaugh is a true Second Amendment radical. ...

Illinois: Governor Signs Two Gun Control Bills

Tuesday, July 17, 2018

Illinois: Governor Signs Two Gun Control Bills

On July 17th, Governor Bruce Rauner signed House Bill 2354 and Senate Bill 3256 into law.

Moms Demand Action Reportedly Told Candidate Not to Talk about Support for Gun Ban

News  

Friday, July 20, 2018

Moms Demand Action Reportedly Told Candidate Not to Talk about Support for Gun Ban

Another chapter in the lengthy tale of gun control duplicity was written last week. On July 10, The Washington Free Beacon published a report of a video of Democratic nominee for New York’s rural upstate 21st congressional district Tedra ...

Washington: NRA and SAF File Lawsuit Against City of Seattle

Friday, July 20, 2018

Washington: NRA and SAF File Lawsuit Against City of Seattle

On Friday, July 20th, the NRA and the Second Amendment Foundation filed a lawsuit against the City of Seattle, Mayor Jenny Durkan, and others, to invalidate the mandatory firearm storage ordinance that was recently passed by ...

California: Federal Court Upholds Decision to Block California’s Magazine Ban

Thursday, July 19, 2018

California: Federal Court Upholds Decision to Block California’s Magazine Ban

A three-judge panel of the 9th Circuit issued a ruling in the case of Duncan v. Becerra on Tuesday upholding a lower court’s decision to suspend enforcement of California’s restriction on the possession of magazines ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.