NRA Explore
APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Minnesota: Anti-Gun Bills Stalling - New Gun Control Bill to Emerge this Week

Wednesday, March 20, 2013

Anti-gun state Representative Michael Paymar’s (DFL-64B) stalled gun control package, House File 237, was tabled last night in the House Public Safety Committee without a roll call vote.  While this bill itself might be dead for this legislative session, expect to see similar provisions offered as amendments on other legislation on the House floor in the coming weeks.

HF 237, among other anti-gun provisions, would have criminalized private transfers between certain family members, friends, or life-long hunting buddies. This type of legislation is dangerous and must be stopped, as this scheme is the first step towards criminalizing ALL private transfers and can only be enforced with gun registration.  And, as we know from experiences in California, Australia and Great Britain, gun registration enables gun confiscation — only from honest citizens — since criminals do not register their guns or submit to criminal investigations.

HF 237's Senate companion Senate File 458, introduced by Senator Ron Latz (DFL- 46), was pulled from consideration by the Senate Rules Committee today, where it had been scheduled for a hearing.  This action will likely prevent SF 458 from being a tool for gun control on the Senate floor.

Tomorrow evening, the House Public Safety Committee will hear House File 285 by Representative John Lesch (DFL-66B).  This bill will most likely be amended by Representative Paymar to include a provision to criminalize private transfers at gun shows, along with some provisions that the NRA supports. In a deceptive and desperate effort to pass gun control this year, anti-gun legislators are making an attempt to dress up their gun control bill with NRA-supported crime control measures!

Please keep contacting members of the House Public Safety Committee and respectfully urge them to continue to OPPOSE any intrusive gun registration schemes and any bans on private transfers in HF 285.  Encourage them to support the real solutions put forward in NRA-supported House File 1325 as reported here.

 

House Public Safety Committee:

 

Representative Michael Paymar (DFL) – Chairman

651-296-4199

E-mail: rep.michael.paymar@house.mn

 

Representative Paul Rosenthal (DFL) – Vice Chairman

651-296-7803

E-mail: rep.paul.rosenthal@house.mn

 

Representative Tony Cornish (R) – Republican Lead

651-296-4240

E-mail: rep.tony.cornish@house.mn

 

Representative Debra Hilstrom (DFL)

651-296-3709

E-mail: rep.debra.hilstrom@house.mn

 

Representative Brian Johnson (R)

651-296-4346

E-mail: rep.brian.johnson@house.mn

 

Representative Tim Kelly (R)

651-296-8635

E-mail: rep.tim.kelly@house.mn

 

Representative Andrea Kieffer (R)

651-296-1147

E-mail: rep.andrea.kieffer@house.mn

 

Representative John Lesch (DFL)

651-296-4224

E-mail: rep.john.lesch@house.mn

 

Representative Kathy Lohmer (R)

651-296-4244

E-mail: rep.kathy.lohmer@house.mn

 

Representative Joe Mullery (DFL)

651-296-4262

E-mail: rep.joe.mullery@house.mn

 

Representative Jim Newberger (R)

651-296-2451

E-mail: rep.jim.newberger@house.mn

 

Representative Shannon Savick (DFL)

651-296-8216

E-mail: rep.shannon.savick@house.mn

 

Representative Dan Schoen (DFL)

651-296-4342

E-mail: rep.dan.schoen@house.mn

 

Representative Steve Simon (DFL)

651-296-9889

E-mail: rep.steve.simon@house.mn

 

Representative Erik Simonson (DFL)

651-296-4246

E-mail: rep.erik.simonson@house.mn

 

Representative Linda Slocum (DFL)

651-296-7158

E-mail: rep.linda.slocum@house.mn

 

Representative Mark Uglem (R)

651-296-5513

E-mail: rep.mark.uglem@house.mn

 

Representative John Ward (DFL)

651-296-4333

E-mail: rep.john.ward@house.mn

 

TRENDING NOW

Tuesday, April 26, 2016

Missouri: Permitless Carry Self-Defense Legislation Overwhelmingly Passes House, Headed to Senate

Today, the Missouri House of Representatives overwhelmingly passed House Bill 1468.

Tuesday, April 26, 2016

Oklahoma: Hunting with Suppressors Legislation Signed into Law

Yesterday, Oklahoma Governor Mary Fallin signed House Bill 2637 into law and it goes into effect immediately.

Tuesday, April 26, 2016

Connecticut: Anti-Gun Bills Expected for Floor Vote Tomorrow

One or both of the anti-gun bills, House Bill 5054 and House Bill 5623, may be called as early as tomorrow to go to the House floor for consideration by the full House of Representatives.  Both HB 5054 and ...

Wednesday, April 27, 2016

California: Anti-Gun Bills Still Alive After Policy Committee Deadline

After a busy week of hearings, Friday April 22nd marked the deadline for bills with a fiscal note to be passed out of their respective policy committees. Bills not meeting this deadline are considered defeated ...

News  

Tuesday, April 26, 2016

Merrick Garland MUST NOT be confirmed to the U.S. Supreme Court

The U.S. Senate needs to hear from you TODAY that Merrick Garland MUST NOT be confirmed to the U.S. Supreme Court.

News  

Wednesday, April 27, 2016

Political Report | Disarmament Cloaked as "Common Sense"

Gun control advocates have been at their civilian-disarmament campaign for so long that astute observers will notice the same tactics and approaches returning time and again to the political landscape. When the American public rejects ...

Wednesday, April 27, 2016

Missouri: Urgent - Stand Your Ground Amendment to be Considered by Senate

Today, Missouri State Senator Kurt Schaefer (R-Columbia) amended Senate Bill 663 with critical self-defense language, known as Stand Your Ground.

Monday, April 25, 2016

Rhode Island: Wave of Gun Legislation Rolls Into the Ocean State

Tomorrow, April 26, the Senate Judiciary Committee will meet to consider a full agenda including over a dozen gun bills.

Thursday, April 28, 2016

Connecticut: Gun Surrender Bill Moving through the General Assembly

Yesterday, April 27, House Bill 5054 passed the House of Representatives with a 104-42 vote.  HB 5054 is a large omnibus bill which threatens your Right to Keep and Bear Arms as well as your Fifth Amendment right to ...

Friday, April 22, 2016

Hypocrisy on Firearms Enforcement? Congressman Beyer, Heal Thyself!

On April 11, U.S. Rep. Donald S. Beyer, Jr. (D-VA) rolled out his so-called ATF Enforcement Act, H.R. 4905 in an opinion piece in the Washington Post.  Beyer claimed hypocrisy on the part of NRA and other pro-gun advocates who ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.