NRA Explore
APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Kansas: Contact Your State Legislators in Support of Pro-Gun Reforms

Wednesday, February 27, 2013

The Kansas House Federal and State Affairs Committee considered a pro-gun reform this week that would expand the rights of law-abiding gun owners.  Senate Bill 21, introduced by the Senate Federal and State Affairs Committee, would make a number of technical, but significant improvements to the state Right-to-Carry laws.  SB 21 is now awaiting a vote in the House Federal and State Affairs Committee.

SB 21 is a Right-to-Carry reform that would make a number of important changes.  The most substantial change would allow for universal recognition of non-resident carry permits.  In other words, any law-abiding visitor from out-of-state with a valid state-issued carry permit would be allowed to carry a concealed handgun in Kansas.  This change would not only benefit concealed carry permit holders in other states but it will also make it more likely that other states will recognize Kansas’ carry permit.

Also under SB 21, new Kansas residents who hold a valid concealed carry permit from their previous state of residence would be able to instantly apply for a Kansas permit instead of waiting to acquire their official Kansas resident status.  New residents would be granted a temporary “180-day receipt” to carry on their old permit while their application is considered and processed.  The state Attorney General would also be able to create a list of states which meet or exceed Kansas’ requirements and that would automatically qualify for recognition for issuance of a Kansas permit.

SB 21 is awaiting a vote in committee which could be as early as next week.  Please contact members of this committee and politely urge them to support this pro-gun reform when it comes up for a vote.

House Federal and State Affairs Committee:

Representative Arlen Siegfried - Chairman

Phone: 785 368-7166
Email :arlen.siegfreid@house.ks.gov

Representative Steve Brunk – Vice Chairman

Phone: 785 296-7645
Email: steve.brunk@house.ks.gov

Representative Louis Ruiz

Phone: 785 296-7122
Email: louis.ruiz@house.ks.gov

Representative Larry Campbell

Phone: 785 296-7632
Email: larry.campbell@house.ks.gov

Representative J.R. Claeys

Phone: 785 296-7670
Email: jrclaeys@house.ks.gov

Representative Susan Concannon

Phone: 785 296-7677
Email: susan.concannon@house.ks.gov

Representative Ken Corbet

Phone: 785 296-7679
Email: ken.corbet@house.ks.gov

Representative Travis Couture-Lovelady

Phone: 785 296-4683
Email: travis.couture-lovelady@house.ks.gov

Representative Willie Dove

Phone: 785 296-7670
Email: willie.dove@house.ks.gov

Representative John Ewy

Phone: 785 296-7105
Email: john.ewy@house.ks.gov

Representative Shanti Ghandi

Phone: 785 296-7672
Email: shanti.gandhi@house.ks.gov

Representative Broderick Henderson

Phone: 785 296-7697
Email: broderick.henderson@house.ks.gov

Representative Brett Hildabrand

Phone: 785 296-7659
Email: brett.hildabrand@house.ks.gov

Representative Michael Houser

Phone: 785 296-7679
Email: michael.houser@house.ks.gov

Representative Robert Montgomery

Phone: 785 296-7677
Email: bob.montgomery@house.ks.gov

Representative Emily Perry

Phone: 785 296-7669
Email: emily.perry@house.ks.gov

Representative Mike Peterson

Phone: 785 296-7371
Email: michael.peterson@house.ks.gov

Representative Reid Petty

Phone: 785 296-7676
Email: reid.petty@house.ks.gov

Representative Marty Read

Phone: 785 296-7310
Email: marty.read@house.ks.gov

Representative Allan Rothlisberg

Phone: 785 296-7653
Email: allan.rothlisberg@house.ks.gov

Representative Annie Tietze

Phone: 785 296-7668
Email: annie.tietze@house.ks.gov

Representative Ponka-We Victors

Phone: 785 296-7651
Email: ponka-we.victors@house.ks.gov

Representative Troy Waymaster

Phone: 785 296-7672
Email: troy.waymaster@house.ks.gov

Another bill of interest to sportsmen and hunters and Kansas was filed yesterday.  Senate Bill 223, introduced by the Senate Ways and Means Committee, would allow all hunters the opportunity to use a crossbow during big game archery season.  This bill would help increase hunter participation and preserve Kansas’ rich hunting heritage at a time when hunter numbers are rapidly declining across the country.  It has been shown that older hunters tend to remain in the hunting ranks many decades longer if they are allowed to use a crossbow, giving them more time to help recruit the next generation of hunters.  Also, youngsters who lack the physical strength to adequately draw and shoot vertical archery equipment are able to participate in the archery season at an earlier age.  At this time, SB 223 has yet to be assigned a hearing date, but please stay tuned to www.nraila.org for updates.

IN THIS ARTICLE
Kansas Right-To-Carry crossbows
TRENDING NOW

News  

Saturday, July 18, 2015

Obama's Social Security Administration to Strip Millions of Americans of their Right to Keep and Bear Arms

As the L.A. Times reported on July 18, the Social Security Administration (SSA) is currently developing a program to ...

News  

Wednesday, July 22, 2015

No Support for Military Right-to-Carry from Obama, Everytown, and Odierno

Support for allowing military personnel to carry firearms for self-protection following the terrorist attack upon military personnel in Chattanooga ...

News  

Tuesday, July 21, 2015

NRA Applauds Congressman Johnson for Swift Action on Social Security Gun Grab

The National Rifle Association’s Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) lauded Congressman Sam Johnson (R-TX), Chairman of the House Ways ...

News  

Tuesday, July 21, 2015

Presidential Candidates, Members of Congress, and Governors Call for Military Right-to-Carry

Following the murder of four U.S. Marines and a U.S. Navy sailor by a terrorist in Chattanooga, presidential ...

News  

Friday, July 24, 2015

Gun Control Group Would Endanger Military by Politicizing Firearm Procurement Process

As if misguided anti-gun policies that leave our fighting men and women defenseless stateside weren’t enough, some gun ...

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered ...

Thursday, July 23, 2015

Washington: USFS Hosting Meeting August 4 to Discuss Recreational Shooting in Snoqualmie Ranger District

The U.S. Forest Service has scheduled a second meeting to discuss recreational shooting in the Snoqualmie Ranger District ...

News  

Friday, July 24, 2015

"High Society" Types Sued Over Anti-Gun "Bracelets"

As the saying goes, "you can't make this stuff up." A lawsuit has been filed in Manhattan against ...

Lucky Gunner  

Friday, July 24, 2015

Vote for NRA-ILA to Help it Beat the Anti-Gunners!

It doesn't get much easier than this. By going to www.LuckyGunner.com/Brady-v-Lucky-Gunner, then scrolling down to click on "National ...

Saturday, July 25, 2015

California: Two Proposed Anti-Gun Ordinances Expected to be Heard on Tuesday, July 28

On Tuesday, July 28, the Los Angeles County City Council is expected to hear two proposed anti-gun ordinances. 

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.