NRA Explore
APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Alaska: House Committee Advances Self-Defense Legislation

Thursday, February 14, 2013

On February 8, House Bill 24, important self-defense legislation introduced by state Representative Mark Neuman (R-10), passed unanimously in the House Judiciary Committee. This bill now goes to the House Finance Committee where a hearing has not yet been scheduled.

Under existing state law, there is no duty-to-retreat if a person is in their home, business, or on their own property.  HB 24 would extend this to recognize the right to use force, including deadly force, for self-defense to include anywhere a person has a legal right to be.

If your state Representative serves on the House Finance Committee, please contact him or her TODAY, and respectfully urge their support for HB 24.  To determine your state Representative, please click here.  Contact information for members of the House Finance Committee is provided below.

 

House Finance Committee:

 

Representative Alan Austerman (R-35), Co-Chairman

465-2487

Rep.Alan.Austerman@akleg.gov

 

Representative Bill Stoltze (R-11), Co-Chairman

465-4958

Rep.Bill.Stoltze@akleg.gov

 

Representative Mark Neuman (R-10), Vice Chairman

907/465-2679

Rep.Mark.Neuman@akleg.gov

 

Representative Mia Costello (R-20)

907/465-4968

Rep.Mia.Costello@akleg.gov

 

Representative Bryce Edgmon (D-36)

907/465-4451

Rep.Bryce.Edgmon@akleg.gov

 

Representative Lindsey Holmes (D-19)

907/465-4919

Rep.Lindsey.Holmes@akleg.gov

 

Representative Les Gara (D-18)

907/465-2647

Rep.Les.Gara@akleg.gov

 

Representative David Guttenberg (D-38)

907/456-4457

Rep.David.Guttenberg@akleg.gov

 

Representative Cathy Munoz (R-31)

907/465-3744

Rep.Cathy.Munoz@akleg.gov

 

Representative Steve Thompson (R-3)

907/465-3004

Rep.Steve.Thompson@akleg.gov

 

Representative Tammie Wilson (R-2)

907/465-4797

Rep.Tammie.Wilson@akleg.gov

 

Representative Mike Hawker (R-27), Alternate Member

907/465-4949

Rep.Mike.Hawker@akleg.gov

 

Representative Scott Kawasaki (D-4), Alternate Member

907/465-3466

Rep.Scott.Kawasaki@akleg.gov

TRENDING NOW

Wednesday, February 3, 2016

South Carolina: NRA-Endorsed Self-Defense Legislation Passes Committee

Yesterday,  H. 4703 was favorably reported out of the House Judiciary Committee.  This critical self-defense legislation had no opposition ...

Tuesday, February 2, 2016

Arizona: Pro-Gun Bills Scheduled for Hearings Tomorrow

This week, the Arizona State Legislature has scheduled hearings for several important pro-gun bills.

Friday, January 15, 2016

Anti-Gun lawmakers Introduce Gun Confiscation Bill in Georgia

With a complete disregard for the U.S. Constitution and the fundamental rights of Georgia residents, state Representative Mary ...

Hunting  

Monday, February 1, 2016

West Virginia: Permitless Carry and Sunday Hunting to Be Considered this Week

This week, the House of Delegates is likely to consider House Bill 4145, important legislation that would allow ...

Tuesday, February 2, 2016

Oregon: 2016 Legislative Session Convenes; Senate Bill 1551 Pulled from Hearing Agenda

Yesterday, the Oregon State Legislature convened its 2016 legislative session.  As previously reported, both Senate Bill 1551 and ...

News  

Friday, January 29, 2016

Chief Justice Barack Obama?

Here’s perhaps the most compelling argument we’ve heard against Hillary Clinton’s bid for the White House. Continuing her streak ...

News  

Gun Laws  

Friday, January 29, 2016

New Jersey Actor Faces Jail Time over Possession of Air Pistol during Movie Shoot

If it seems as though that every couple of months there is another high-profile gun control injustice in ...

Thursday, January 28, 2016

Florida Report: BIG Day for Gun Owners in Florida -- Four Victories

Today, HB-163, Open Carry by Rep. Matt Gaetz was heard in the House Judiciary Committee and PASSED by a Vote of 12-4.  HB-344, Stand Your Ground/Burden of Proof by Sen. Rob Bradley PASSED THE SENATE ...

Monday, February 1, 2016

South Carolina: Important Self-Defense Legislation Needs Your Help!

With the South Carolina Legislature’s 2016 legislative session underway, a number of bills which could affect your Second ...

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.