Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites


David Keene elected President; Wayne LaPierre Re-elected Executive Vice President of National Rifle Association

Monday, May 2, 2011

Pittsburgh, PA -- David Keene, attorney, columnist and political activist who has written, spoken and lobbied on behalf of hunters, shooters and firearms owners for decades, was elected president of the NRA by the organization's board of directors. Keene was first elected to the NRA Board of Directors in 2000 and most recently served the NRA as first vice president. He also served as chairman of the American Conservative Union from December 1984 to February 2011.  The elections took place following the 140th NRA Annual Meeting in Pittsburgh, PA where 71,139 people from all across the country attended the three-day festivities.

"I am humbled to follow in the footsteps of many great men who have served as president of this historied association.  This is an opportunity for me to continue to fight for a constitutional right that has so deeply enriched my life," said Keene.  "It will be an honor for me to continue to work with Wayne LaPierre, a man who has dedicated his life to the Second Amendment and to the NRA."

The board of directors also re-elected Wayne LaPierre as NRA's executive vice president. LaPierre has served in this leadership role since 1991 and has spearheaded NRA's efforts to restore the relevance and sanctity of the Second Amendment. Under his direction, the NRA has more than doubled its membership rolls and is widely recognized as a leading power in American politics. Upon his re-election, LaPierre reappointed Chris W. Cox to the position of executive director of NRA Institute for Legislative Action and Kayne Robinson to the position of executive director of NRA General Operations.

James W. Porter, II was elected first vice president. Porter previously served as NRA second vice president and president of the NRA Foundation Board of Trustees. Porter is a longtime NRA board member, Second Amendment activist and an attorney and legal advisor to NRA in federal firearms cases. He is an attorney in Birmingham, Alabama.

Allan D. Cors was elected second vice president.  Cors has served NRA as President of the NRA Foundation.

Major Jim Land (USMC - Ret.) and Wilson Phillips were also re-elected by the NRA Board of Directors to serve as secretary and treasurer, respectively.




Established in 1871, the National Rifle Association is America's oldest civil rights and sportsmen's group. Four million members strong, NRA continues its mission to uphold Second Amendment rights and to advocate enforcement of existing laws against violent offenders to reduce crime. The Association remains the nation's leader in firearm education and training for law-abiding gun owners, law enforcement and the military. 

More Like This From Around The NRA


Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.