Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Kansas: Anti- Carry Proposal to be Heard Tomorrow in Topeka!

Monday, June 14, 2010

Please Contact Your City Council Person Today!

On Tuesday, June 15 at 6:00pm, the Topeka City Council will once again consider an ordinance which would ban the open carrying of firearms in Topeka, unless you have a concealed carry license.  This proposed ordinance would once again be a direct violation of the states firearms preemption law.

The poorly written ordinance, proposed by City Manager Norton Bonaparte, would ban the simple possession (i.e., the having “within one’s immediate control”) of a loaded firearm or a semiautomatic pistol with a loaded magazine.  Thus, under the ordinance, a person could not openly handle a loaded pistol on a shooting range open to the public unless the person also has a concealed carry license. 

In 2007, the city council repealed its ban on the open carry of firearms, so it’s unclear why these same officials have now proposed reinstituting such an ordinance.  Since then, there have been no instances of unlawfulness or violence regarding the open carry of a firearm.  The claims and "what ifs" stated by the proponents of this ordinance are unfounded and not supported by any research or facts. They are simply using scare tactics to push more stringent gun restrictions on the citizens of Topeka.  

Please contact your City Council member listed below and respectfully urge him or her to reject this anti-gun proposal and protect the Second Amendment rights of Topeka’s residents. 

If you are able to attend the meeting and would like to make comments you are required to register with the city clerk by 5:00pm.  The meeting will be held at 215 Southeast 7th Street in Topeka.

Topeka City Council Members

Karen Hiller (Dist- 1)
(785) 232-2917
khiller@topeka.org

John Alcala (Dist- 2)
(785) 233-7110
jalcala@topeka.org

Sylvia Ortiz (Dist- 3)
(785) 357-0717
sortiz@topeka.org

Jack Woelfel (Dist- 4)
(785) 215-3323
jwoelfel@topeka.org

Larry Wolgast (Dist- 5)
(785) 272-6896
lwolgast@topeka.org

Deputy Mayor Deborah Swank (Dist- 6)
(785)  233-1037
djswank@cox.net

Bob Archer (Dist- 7)
(785) 817-8157
barcher@topeka.org

Jeff Preisner (Dist- 8)
(785) 271-1959
jpreisner@topeka.org

Richard Harmon (Dist- 9)
(785) 271-6962
rharmon@topeka.org

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.