Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Hunting

Help Stand Up for Hunting in the Golden State!

Monday, April 5, 2010

Please Make Your Voices Heard Today!

Two bills of importance to California’s hunters will be considered on Tuesday, April 13.

Assembly Bill 2223, sponsored by Assemblymember Pedro Nava (D-35), would outlaw the use of lead shot when shooting or hunting in state-run wildlife management areas.  AB2223
will be heard by the Assembly Water, Parks and Wildlife Committee.  There is no scientific evidence justifying this proposed ban.  It is intended only to discourage hunting in California and that is why the Humane Society of the United States is in full support.

Senate Bill 1179, introduced by State Senator Dennis Hollingsworth (R-36), is slated to be considered by the Senate Natural Resources and Water Committee.  Simply put, SB1179 would require that the
Department of Fish and Game to establish two free hunting days per year where unlicensed hunters to hunt so long as they are accompanied by someone who is licensed.  This legislation promises to help recruit the next generation of hunters by allowing novices to try their hand at hunting without being required to purchase a license.

Please contact the members of the Assembly Water, Parks and Wildlife Committee and respectfully urge them to oppose AB2223.  Also, please contact the Senate Natural Resources and Water Committee and ask that they support SB1179.  Contact information for the committees can be found below.

Assembly Water, Parks and Wildlife Committee:

Assemblymember Jared Huffman - Chair (D-6)
(916) 319-2006
Assemblymember.Huffman@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Jean Fuller - Vice Chair (R-32)
(916) 319-2032
Assemblymember.Fuller@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Joel Anderson (R-77)
(916) 319-2077
Assemblymember.Anderson@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Juan Arambula (I-31)
(916) 319-2031
Assemblymember.Arambula@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Tom Berryhill (R-25)
(916) 319-2025
Assemblymember.Berryhill@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Bob Blumenfield (D-40)
(916) 319-2040
Assemblymember.Blumenfield@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Anna M. Caballero (D-28)
(916) 319-2028
Assemblymember.Caballero@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Hector De La Torre (D-50)
(916) 319-2050
Assemblymember.DeLaTorre@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Nathan Fletcher (R-75)
(916) 319-2075
Assemblymember.Fletcher@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Bonnie Lowenthal (D-54)
(916) 319-2054
Assemblymember.Lowenthal@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Mary Salas (D-79)
(916) 319-2079
Assemblymember.Salas@assembly.ca.gov

Assemblymember Mariko Yamada (D-8)
(916) 319-2008
Assemblymember.Yamada@assembly.ca.gov   

Senate Natural Resources and Water Committee:

State Senator Fran Pavley, Chair (D-23)
(916) 651-4023

State Senator Dave Cogdill, Vice-Chair (R-14)
(916) 651-4014

State Senator Dennis Hollingsworth (R-36)
(916) 651-4036

State Senator Robert Huff (R-29)
(916) 651-4029

State Senator Christine Kehoe (D-39)
(916) 651-4039

State Senator Alan Lowenthal (D-27)
(916) 651-4027

State Senator Alex Padilla (D-20)
(916) 651-4020

State Senator Joe Simitian (D-11)
(916) 651-4011


State Senator Lois Wolk (D-5)
(916) 651-4005

 

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.