Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Louisiana: Help Protect Your Right to Self-Defense!

Tuesday, May 27, 2008

More Help Needed From YOU as Session Enters Home Stretch! 

Last week, the Senate reconsidered and finally voted 28 to 4 to pass Senate Bill 51, a bill sponsored by State Senator Joe McPherson (D-Woodworth) which would clarify that current state law allowing Louisianans the right to possess lawfully owned firearms in their private motor vehicles would supercede policies adopted by business owners or employers prohibiting the transportation or storage of guns in locked cars and trucks parked in unsecured, public-access parking lots.  Several weeks ago, the bill fell just two votes shy of the number needed to advance it to the House.  Thanks to your persistent and well-timed calls and emails, Senators stood up to the powerful business lobby and chemical industry, voting to send this measure to the Louisiana House for consideration.  To see how your Senator voted please click here.  If your State Senator voted for SB51, please contact him or her and thank them for supporting your rights!  To find your State Senator please click here.

Please begin contacting your State Representatives in Baton Rouge at (225) 342-6945 and by email (listed below) and respectfully urge him or her to support SB51!   Business and industry lobbyists are working hard to defeat this measure-your State Representative needs to hear from you! 

Finally, State Representative Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse) will bring House Bill 199 back up for a vote by the full House of Representatives sometime this week.  HB199 would allow Louisiana concealed carry permit holders to protect themselves on college and university campuses and remove the state restriction on "gun-free school zones" for permittees.  Please contact your State Representative in Baton Rouge TODAY and respectfully urge him or her to support the right of law-abiding concealed carry permit holders to protect themselves in this responsible manner.  You can contact your State Representative at (225) 342-6945 and by email from the list below.

(Note: We suggest sending SEPARATE emails on SB51 and HB199 to your State Representatives, so as not to confuse the two issues.)

Members of the House of Representatives:

State Representative Jim Tucker-Speaker of the House
larep086@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Neil Abramson (D-New Orleans)
abramson@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John “Andy” Anders (D-Vidalia)
larep021@legis.state.la.us

State Representative James Armes III (D-Leesville)
armesj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jeffrey Arnold (D-New Orleans)
larep102@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Elton Aubert (D-Vacherie)
auberte@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Austin Badon, Jr. (D-New Orleans)
larep100@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Bobby Badon (D-Carencro)
badonb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Damon Baldone (D-Houma)
larep053@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Taylor Barras (D-New Iberia)
barrast@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Regina Barrow (D-Baton Rouge)
larep029@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Robert Billiot (D-Waggaman)
billiotr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Richard Burford (R-Stonewall)
burfordr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Henry Burns (R-Haughton)
burnsh@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Timothy Burns (R-Mandeville)
larep089@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Roy Burrell (D-Shreveport)
larep002@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Thomas Carmody (R-Shreveport)
carmodyt@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Stephen Carter (R-Baton Rouge)
carters@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Simone Champagne (D-Jeanerette)
champags@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Billy Chandler (D-Dry Prong)
larep022@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Charles Chaney (D-Rayville)
chaneyb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patrick Connick (R-Marrero)
connickp@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patrick Cortez (R-Lafayette)
cortezp@legis.state.la.us

State Representative George Cromer (R-Slidell)
cromerg@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Michael Danahay (D-Sulphur)
danahaym@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Herbert Dixon (D-Alexandria)
dixonh@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jean Doerge (D-Minden)
larep010@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Gordon Dove (R-Houma)
larep052@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Hollis Downs (R-Ruston)
larep012@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John Edwards (D-Amite)
edwardsj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Noble Ellington (D-Winnsboro)
ellingtn@legis.state.la.us

State Representative James Fannin (D-Jonesboro)
larep013@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Franklin Foil (R-Baton Rouge)
foilf@legis.state.la.us

State Representative A.B. Franklin (D-Lake Charles)
franklina@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Richard Gallot, Jr. (D-Ruston)
larep011@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Brett Geymann (R-Lake Charles)
larep035@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jerry Gisclair (D-Baton Rouge)
gisclait@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Hunter Greene (R-Baton Rouge)
larep066@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Elbert Guillory (D-Opelousas)
larep040@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Mickey Guillory (D-Eunice)
larep041@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John Guinn (R-Jennings)
guinnj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rickey Hardy (D-Lafayette)
hardyr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Joe Harrison (R-Labadieville)
harrisoj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Lowell Hazel (R-Pineville)
hazelc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Reed Henderson (D-Baton Rouge)
hendersr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Cameron Henry (R-New Orleans)
henryc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Dorothy Hill (D-Dry Creek)
hilld@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Walker Hines (D-Baton Rouge)
hinesw@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Frank Hoffman (R-West Monroe)
hoffmanf@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Avon Honey (D-Baton Rouge)
ahoney@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Frank Howard (R-Many)
howardf@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Nita Hutter (R-Chalmette)
larep104@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Girod Jackson III (D-Harvey)
jacksong@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Michael Jackson (D-Baton Rouge)
larep061@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Robert Johnson (D-Marksville)
johnsoro@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rosalind Jones (D-Monroe)
jonesr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Sam Jones (D-Franklin)
joness@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Kay Katz (R-Monroe)
larep016@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Chuck Kleckley (R-Lake Charles)
larep036@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John LaBruzzo (R-Metairie)
larep081@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Juan LaFonta (D-New Orleans)
larep096@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Eddie Lambert (R-Gonzales)
larep059@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Bernard LeBas (D-Ville Platte)
lebasb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Walt Leger III (D-New Orleans)
legerw@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Anthony Ligi, Jr. (R-Metairie)
ligit@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Samuel Little (R-Bastrop)
littles@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Joseph Lopinto III (R-Metairie)
lopintoj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Nicholas Lorusso (R-New Orleans)
larep094@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Charmaine Marchand (D-New Orleans)|
larep099@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Thomas McVea (R-Jackson)
larep062@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Fred Mills, Jr. (D-Parks)
larep046@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Nickie Monica (R-LaPlace)
monican@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jack Montoucet (D-Crowley)
montoucj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jean-Paul Morrell (D-New Orleans)
larep097@legis.state.la.us

State Representative James Morris (R-Oil City)
larep001@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Barbara Norton (D-Baton Rouge)
nortonb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rickey Nowlin (R-Natchitoches)
nowlinr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Kevin Pearson (R-Slidell)
pearsonk@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jonathan Perry (R-Abbeville)
perryj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Karen Carter Peterson (D-New Orleans)
larep093@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Erich Ponti (R-Baton Rouge)
pontie@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rogers Pope (R-Denham Springs)
poper@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Stephen Pugh (R-Ponchatoula)
pughs@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jerome Richard (I-Thibodaux)
richardj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Clifton Richardson (R-Baton Rouge)
richardc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Cedric Richmond (D-Baton Rouge)
larep101@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Harold Ritchie (D-Bogalusa)
larep075@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Joel Robideaux (I-Lafayette)
larep045@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Christopher Roy, Jr. (D-Alexandria)
royc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John Schroder (R-Covington)
schrodej@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Scott Simon (R-Abita Springs)
simons@legis.state.la.us

State Representative M.J. “Mert” Smiley, Jr. (R-Port Vincent)
larep088@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jane Smith (R-Bossier City)
larep008@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Gary Smith, Jr. (D-Norco)
larep56@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patricia Haynes Smith (D-Baton Rouge)
smithp@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Karen St. Germain (D-Plaquemine)
larep060@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Kirk Talbot (R-River Ridge)
talbotk@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Ricky Templet (R-Gretna)
templetr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Donald Trahan (R-Lafayette)
larep031@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Wayne Waddell (R-Shreveport)
larep005@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Mack “Bodi” White, Jr. (R-Denham Springs)
larep064@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patrick Williams (D-Shreveport)
larep004@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Thomas Willmott (R-Kenner)
willmott@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse)
larep105@legis.state.la.us

TRENDING NOW
Washington: Trigger Modification Ban Passes Committee

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Washington: Trigger Modification Ban Passes Committee

Earlier today, the Washington state Senate Law & Justice Committee passed Senate Bill 5992 out of committee with a 4-3 vote. As drafted, this legislation has overreaching language that would ban modifications commonly made to ...

Eighteen States, Law Enforcement, Doctors, and Firearm Rights Groups File Amicus Briefs in Lawsuit Challenging California 10+ Magazine Ban

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Eighteen States, Law Enforcement, Doctors, and Firearm Rights Groups File Amicus Briefs in Lawsuit Challenging California 10+ Magazine Ban

On Friday, January 12, several amicus briefs were filed in the NRA and CRPA supported lawsuit challenging California’s restrictions against magazines capable of holding more than 10 rounds. The lawsuit, titled Duncan v. Becerra, challenges California’s ...

Democrats' Exciting New Hope Adheres to Tired Old Anti-Gun Dogma

News  

Friday, January 12, 2018

Democrats' Exciting New Hope Adheres to Tired Old Anti-Gun Dogma

Democrats searching for a standard-bearer in the 2020 presidential election lit on long-time entertainment, media, and publishing figure Oprah Winfrey this week, following a speech Winfrey gave at a televised Hollywood extravaganza.

Virginia: Gun Control Tops New Governor’s Agenda

News  

Friday, January 12, 2018

Virginia: Gun Control Tops New Governor’s Agenda

This week, Virginia Governor McAuliffe and Governor-Elect Ralph Northam outlined their top priorities for the upcoming legislative session, and highlighted expanded background checks for all firearm sales and other transfers (so-called “universal” background checks) as ...

Indiana: Gun Bills Filed

Saturday, January 13, 2018

Indiana: Gun Bills Filed

With the 2018 Indiana legislative session underway, a number of bills affecting your Second Amendment and hunting rights have been filed.

Washington: CPL Permit Confidentiality Bill Introduced

Wednesday, January 17, 2018

Washington: CPL Permit Confidentiality Bill Introduced

Last week, Washington legislators introduced an NRA-backed bill to protect the private, personal information of Washington's concealed pistol license holders from public records requests.  Senate Bill 6173, sponsored by Senator Dean Takko (D-19), and House Bill ...

Washington: Senate Law & Justice Committee to Hear Anti-Gun Bills Next Monday

Wednesday, January 10, 2018

Washington: Senate Law & Justice Committee to Hear Anti-Gun Bills Next Monday

On Monday, January 15th at 10:00AM, the Senate Law & Justice Committee is scheduled to hear multiple anti-gun bills.  Testimony will be limited during the hearing, so all NRA members and Second Amendment supporters are strongly ...

Washington: Substitute Versions of Gun Control Bills to Be Heard

Saturday, January 13, 2018

Washington: Substitute Versions of Gun Control Bills to Be Heard

Last night, anti-gun legislators introduced substitute bills for Senate Bill 5444 and Senate Bill 5463.  These substituted versions will replace the original bills that are scheduled for a public hearing on Monday, January 15th. NRA remains opposed ...

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

Washington: House Judiciary to Hear Gun Control Bills

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Washington: House Judiciary to Hear Gun Control Bills

On Thursday, January 25th at 1:30PM, the House Judiciary Committee is scheduled to hear several sweeping gun control bills.  NRA Members and Second Amendment supporters are strongly encouraged to attend the committee hearing to voice your opposition ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.