Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Louisiana: Help Protect Your Right to Self-Defense!

Tuesday, May 27, 2008

More Help Needed From YOU as Session Enters Home Stretch! 

Last week, the Senate reconsidered and finally voted 28 to 4 to pass Senate Bill 51, a bill sponsored by State Senator Joe McPherson (D-Woodworth) which would clarify that current state law allowing Louisianans the right to possess lawfully owned firearms in their private motor vehicles would supercede policies adopted by business owners or employers prohibiting the transportation or storage of guns in locked cars and trucks parked in unsecured, public-access parking lots.  Several weeks ago, the bill fell just two votes shy of the number needed to advance it to the House.  Thanks to your persistent and well-timed calls and emails, Senators stood up to the powerful business lobby and chemical industry, voting to send this measure to the Louisiana House for consideration.  To see how your Senator voted please click here.  If your State Senator voted for SB51, please contact him or her and thank them for supporting your rights!  To find your State Senator please click here.

Please begin contacting your State Representatives in Baton Rouge at (225) 342-6945 and by email (listed below) and respectfully urge him or her to support SB51!   Business and industry lobbyists are working hard to defeat this measure-your State Representative needs to hear from you! 

Finally, State Representative Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse) will bring House Bill 199 back up for a vote by the full House of Representatives sometime this week.  HB199 would allow Louisiana concealed carry permit holders to protect themselves on college and university campuses and remove the state restriction on "gun-free school zones" for permittees.  Please contact your State Representative in Baton Rouge TODAY and respectfully urge him or her to support the right of law-abiding concealed carry permit holders to protect themselves in this responsible manner.  You can contact your State Representative at (225) 342-6945 and by email from the list below.

(Note: We suggest sending SEPARATE emails on SB51 and HB199 to your State Representatives, so as not to confuse the two issues.)

Members of the House of Representatives:

State Representative Jim Tucker-Speaker of the House
larep086@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Neil Abramson (D-New Orleans)
abramson@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John “Andy” Anders (D-Vidalia)
larep021@legis.state.la.us

State Representative James Armes III (D-Leesville)
armesj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jeffrey Arnold (D-New Orleans)
larep102@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Elton Aubert (D-Vacherie)
auberte@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Austin Badon, Jr. (D-New Orleans)
larep100@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Bobby Badon (D-Carencro)
badonb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Damon Baldone (D-Houma)
larep053@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Taylor Barras (D-New Iberia)
barrast@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Regina Barrow (D-Baton Rouge)
larep029@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Robert Billiot (D-Waggaman)
billiotr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Richard Burford (R-Stonewall)
burfordr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Henry Burns (R-Haughton)
burnsh@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Timothy Burns (R-Mandeville)
larep089@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Roy Burrell (D-Shreveport)
larep002@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Thomas Carmody (R-Shreveport)
carmodyt@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Stephen Carter (R-Baton Rouge)
carters@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Simone Champagne (D-Jeanerette)
champags@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Billy Chandler (D-Dry Prong)
larep022@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Charles Chaney (D-Rayville)
chaneyb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patrick Connick (R-Marrero)
connickp@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patrick Cortez (R-Lafayette)
cortezp@legis.state.la.us

State Representative George Cromer (R-Slidell)
cromerg@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Michael Danahay (D-Sulphur)
danahaym@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Herbert Dixon (D-Alexandria)
dixonh@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jean Doerge (D-Minden)
larep010@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Gordon Dove (R-Houma)
larep052@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Hollis Downs (R-Ruston)
larep012@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John Edwards (D-Amite)
edwardsj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Noble Ellington (D-Winnsboro)
ellingtn@legis.state.la.us

State Representative James Fannin (D-Jonesboro)
larep013@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Franklin Foil (R-Baton Rouge)
foilf@legis.state.la.us

State Representative A.B. Franklin (D-Lake Charles)
franklina@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Richard Gallot, Jr. (D-Ruston)
larep011@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Brett Geymann (R-Lake Charles)
larep035@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jerry Gisclair (D-Baton Rouge)
gisclait@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Hunter Greene (R-Baton Rouge)
larep066@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Elbert Guillory (D-Opelousas)
larep040@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Mickey Guillory (D-Eunice)
larep041@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John Guinn (R-Jennings)
guinnj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rickey Hardy (D-Lafayette)
hardyr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Joe Harrison (R-Labadieville)
harrisoj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Lowell Hazel (R-Pineville)
hazelc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Reed Henderson (D-Baton Rouge)
hendersr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Cameron Henry (R-New Orleans)
henryc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Dorothy Hill (D-Dry Creek)
hilld@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Walker Hines (D-Baton Rouge)
hinesw@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Frank Hoffman (R-West Monroe)
hoffmanf@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Avon Honey (D-Baton Rouge)
ahoney@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Frank Howard (R-Many)
howardf@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Nita Hutter (R-Chalmette)
larep104@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Girod Jackson III (D-Harvey)
jacksong@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Michael Jackson (D-Baton Rouge)
larep061@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Robert Johnson (D-Marksville)
johnsoro@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rosalind Jones (D-Monroe)
jonesr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Sam Jones (D-Franklin)
joness@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Kay Katz (R-Monroe)
larep016@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Chuck Kleckley (R-Lake Charles)
larep036@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John LaBruzzo (R-Metairie)
larep081@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Juan LaFonta (D-New Orleans)
larep096@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Eddie Lambert (R-Gonzales)
larep059@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Bernard LeBas (D-Ville Platte)
lebasb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Walt Leger III (D-New Orleans)
legerw@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Anthony Ligi, Jr. (R-Metairie)
ligit@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Samuel Little (R-Bastrop)
littles@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Joseph Lopinto III (R-Metairie)
lopintoj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Nicholas Lorusso (R-New Orleans)
larep094@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Charmaine Marchand (D-New Orleans)|
larep099@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Thomas McVea (R-Jackson)
larep062@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Fred Mills, Jr. (D-Parks)
larep046@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Nickie Monica (R-LaPlace)
monican@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jack Montoucet (D-Crowley)
montoucj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jean-Paul Morrell (D-New Orleans)
larep097@legis.state.la.us

State Representative James Morris (R-Oil City)
larep001@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Barbara Norton (D-Baton Rouge)
nortonb@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rickey Nowlin (R-Natchitoches)
nowlinr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Kevin Pearson (R-Slidell)
pearsonk@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jonathan Perry (R-Abbeville)
perryj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Karen Carter Peterson (D-New Orleans)
larep093@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Erich Ponti (R-Baton Rouge)
pontie@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Rogers Pope (R-Denham Springs)
poper@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Stephen Pugh (R-Ponchatoula)
pughs@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jerome Richard (I-Thibodaux)
richardj@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Clifton Richardson (R-Baton Rouge)
richardc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Cedric Richmond (D-Baton Rouge)
larep101@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Harold Ritchie (D-Bogalusa)
larep075@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Joel Robideaux (I-Lafayette)
larep045@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Christopher Roy, Jr. (D-Alexandria)
royc@legis.state.la.us

State Representative John Schroder (R-Covington)
schrodej@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Scott Simon (R-Abita Springs)
simons@legis.state.la.us

State Representative M.J. “Mert” Smiley, Jr. (R-Port Vincent)
larep088@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Jane Smith (R-Bossier City)
larep008@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Gary Smith, Jr. (D-Norco)
larep56@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patricia Haynes Smith (D-Baton Rouge)
smithp@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Karen St. Germain (D-Plaquemine)
larep060@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Kirk Talbot (R-River Ridge)
talbotk@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Ricky Templet (R-Gretna)
templetr@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Donald Trahan (R-Lafayette)
larep031@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Wayne Waddell (R-Shreveport)
larep005@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Mack “Bodi” White, Jr. (R-Denham Springs)
larep064@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Patrick Williams (D-Shreveport)
larep004@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Thomas Willmott (R-Kenner)
willmott@legis.state.la.us

State Representative Ernest Wooton (R-Belle Chasse)
larep105@legis.state.la.us

TRENDING NOW
Alleged Sexual Predator and Hollywood Mogul Harvey Weinstein Threatens NRA (Again)

News  

Friday, October 13, 2017

Alleged Sexual Predator and Hollywood Mogul Harvey Weinstein Threatens NRA (Again)

On October 5, the New York Times published an article titled, “Harvey Weinstein Paid Off Sexual Harassment Accusers for Decades.” The piece detailed allegations that the mogul used his position of influence to make unwanted ...

Gun Banners Unmasked: The Vengeful Face of the Anti-gun Agenda Emerges Once Again

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, October 13, 2017

Gun Banners Unmasked: The Vengeful Face of the Anti-gun Agenda Emerges Once Again

What happens to the 400 million or so firearms already in private hands? How does society actually benefit from his plan? Stephens doesn’t say. He apparently just trusts that things would eventually work themselves out ...

“Death by a Thousand Cuts” – Latest Ninth Circuit decision proclaims “selling firearms is not part or parcel of the right to keep and bear arms”

Second Amendment  

Friday, October 13, 2017

“Death by a Thousand Cuts” – Latest Ninth Circuit decision proclaims “selling firearms is not part or parcel of the right to keep and bear arms”

Since the U.S. Supreme Court handed down its landmark rulings in District of Columbia v. Heller and McDonald v. Chicago, lower courts across the country have expressed their disagreement with – or downright hostility to ...

California: Governor Brown Signs Remaining Anti-Gun Bill

Sunday, October 15, 2017

California: Governor Brown Signs Remaining Anti-Gun Bill

Yesterday, Governor Brown signed Assembly Bill 424, the remaining anti-gun bill on his desk. 

Shall-Issue Concealed Carry Coming Soon to the Nation’s Capital!

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, October 13, 2017

Shall-Issue Concealed Carry Coming Soon to the Nation’s Capital!

It’s important to celebrate that law-abiding Americans are now closer than they have been in nearly half a century to being able to exercise their firearms freedom in our nation’s capital. That is real progress.

California: Governor Vetoes Dealer Storage Bill and Signs Open Carry Ban

Saturday, October 14, 2017

California: Governor Vetoes Dealer Storage Bill and Signs Open Carry Ban

Yesterday, Governor Brown took action on two of the remaining three anti-gun bills by vetoing Senate Bill 464 and signing Assembly Bill 7. 

Media Consumers Beware: Watchdogs Warn of Bias, Politics, and Influence Tainting the “News”

News  

Friday, October 13, 2017

Media Consumers Beware: Watchdogs Warn of Bias, Politics, and Influence Tainting the “News”

Project Veritas’s “American Pravda” series has focused on the media itself, with prior releases including segments on CNN producers and personalities casting doubt on the network’s own narrative about Russian influence in the U.S. presidential ...

Massachusetts: Gun Control Bill on the Move

Wednesday, October 11, 2017

Massachusetts: Gun Control Bill on the Move

Today, without considering the unintended effects of such poorly thought out legislation, the Massachusetts state House of Representatives passed Amendment 1 attached to House Bill 3951 with overreaching language that would ban modifications commonly made ...

Spokane Police To Use Suppressors To Protect Hearing

News  

Monday, October 16, 2017

Spokane Police To Use Suppressors To Protect Hearing

The Spokane PD has 181 service rifles in its inventory; using suppressors on them has the potential to reduce workers compensation claims and lawsuits from bystanders.

California: San Jose City Council to Consider Mandatory Locked Storage Ordinance

Monday, October 16, 2017

California: San Jose City Council to Consider Mandatory Locked Storage Ordinance

On Tuesday, October 17, the San Jose City Council will be discussing a proposed firearms ordinance that will require any person who possesses a firearm in their residence to store the firearm in a locked ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.