Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Georgia Senate To Vote On Critical Right-To-Carry Reform Legislation!

Wednesday, January 16, 2008

Tomorrow, January 17, the Georgia Senate will vote on critical NRA-supported legislation to protect our firearm rights.  House Bill 89 has been amended to include the following pro-Second Amendment language:

*allows licensed carry permit holders to possess a firearm in any private motor vehicle, while on any publicly accessible parking lot;

*prohibits gun dealer entrapment schemes, such as those orchestrated by New York Mayor Michael Bloomberg;

*allows concealed carry permit holders to carry in State Parks; and

*creates a strict time limit for various stages of the pistol license application process. 

 

These are just a few of the positive reforms HB 89 will make to Georgia’s firearm laws. 

 

Unfortunately, gun control advocates are lining up in opposition to this bill.

 

Help preserve our Second Amendment rights by contacting your State Senator today and urge him or her to support and vote “yes” on HB 89. 

 

If you need help identifying your State Senator, please click here.

 

Make These Calls Today!

 

42        Adelman, David (D)      david.adelman@senate.ga.gov              (404) 463-1376

9          Balfour, Don (R)           don.balfour@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-0095

26        Brown, Robert (D)         robert.brown@senate.ga.gov                (404) 656-5035

11        Bulloch, John (R)          john.bulloch@senate.ga.gov                (404) 656-0040

55        Butler, Gloria S. (D)      gloria.butler@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-0075

13        Carter, Joseph (R)         joseph.carter@senate.ga.gov              (404) 651-7738

16        Chance, Ronnie (R)       ronnie.chance@senate.ga.gov             (404) 651-7738

3          Chapman, Jeff (R)         jeff.chapman@senate.ga.gov               (404) 656-0045

46        Cowsert, Bill (R)            bill.cowsert@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 463-1366

44        Davenport, Gail (D)        gail.davenport@senate.ga.gov              (404) 656-7586

17        Douglas, John (R)          john.douglas@senate.ga.gov               (404) 656-0503

39        Fort, Vincent (D)           vincent.fort@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 656-5091

7          Goggans, Greg (R)        greg.goggans@senate.ga.gov              (404) 463-5263

8          Golden, Tim (D)             tim.golden@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-7580

25        Grant, Johnny (R)           johnny.grant@senate.ga.gov               (404) 656-0082

30        Hamrick, William (R)      bill.hamrick@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-0036

15        Harbison, Ed (D)            ed.harbison@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-0074

29        Harp, Seth (R)               seth.harp@senate.ga.gov                     (404) 463-3931

49        Hawkins, Lee (R)           lee.hawkins@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-6578

31        Heath, Bill (R)               billheath@billheath.net                          (404) 651-7738 

41        Henson, Steve (D)         steve.henson@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-0085

4          Hill, Jack (R)                 jack.hill@senate.ga.gov                         (404) 656-5038

32        Hill, Judson (R)              judson.hill@senate.ga.gov                     (404) 656-0150

14        Hooks, George (D)         george.hooks@senate.ga.gov                (404) 656-0065

47        Hudgens, Ralph T (R)     ralph.hudgens@senate.ga.gov               (404) 656-4700

1          Johnson, Eric (R)           eric.johnson@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-5109

10        Jones, Emanuel (D)        emanuel.jones@senate.ga.gov              (404) 656-0502

12        Meyer von Bremen, Michael (D) michael.meyer@senate.ga.gov    (404) 656-0037

56        Moody, Dan (R)             dan.moody@senate.ga.gov                    (404) 463-8055

53        Mullis, Jeff (R)                jeff.mullis@senate.ga.gov                      (404) 656-0057

27        Murphy, Jack (R)            jack.murphy@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-7127

36        Orrock, Nan (D)              nan.orrock@senate.ga.gov                    (404) 463-8054

51        Pearson, Chip (R)           chip.pearson@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-9221

23        Powell, J. B. (D)              jb.powell@senate.ga.gov                      (404) 463-1314

43        Ramsey, Sr., Ronald B. (D) ronald.ramsey@senate.ga.gov           (404) 463-2598

35        Reed, Kasim (D)             kasim.reed@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 463-1379

21        Rogers, Chip (R)             chip.rogers@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 463-1378

50        Schaefer, Nancy (R)        nancy.schaefer@senate.ga.gov             (404) 463-1367

28        Seabaugh, Mitch (R)       mail@mitchseabaugh.com                    (404) 656-6446

34        Seay, Valencia (D)          valencia.seay@senate.ga.gov               (404) 656-5095

48        Shafer, David (R)             david.shafer@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-0048

52        Smith, Preston W. (R)     preston.smith@senate.ga.gov               (404) 656-0034

18        Staton, Cecil (R)             cecil.staton@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-5039

6          Stoner, Doug (D)             doug.stoner@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 463-2518

22        Tarver, Ed (D)                 ed.tarver@senate.ga.gov                       (404) 656-0340

38        Tate, Horacena (D)          horacena.tate@senate.ga.gov               (404) 463-8053

54        Thomas, Don (R)             don.thomas@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-6436

2          Thomas, Regina D. (D)    regina.thomas@senate.ga.gov               (404) 463-7784

5          Thompson, Curt (D)         curt.thompson@senate.ga.gov               (404) 463-1318

33        Thompson, Steve (D)       steve.thompson@senate.ga.gov             (404) 656-0083

20        Tolleson, Ross (R)           ross.tolleson@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-0081

45        Unterman, Renee S (R)    renee.unterman@senate.ga.gov             (404) 463-1368

40        Weber, Dan (R)               dan.weber@senate.ga.gov                     (404) 463-2260

24        Jackson, Bill (R)              bill.jackson@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 656-5114

37        Wiles, John J. (R)            john.wiles@senate.ga.gov                     (404) 657-0406

19        Williams, Tommie (R)      tommie@tommiewilliams.com               (404) 656-0089

 

To keep track of this critical Georgia legislation and other Second Amendment issues around the nation, please visit www.NRAILA.org.

TRENDING NOW
Out of Style: Levi’s Fawns Over Shannon Watts in Pantmaker’s Latest Gun Control Effort

News  

Friday, May 17, 2019

Out of Style: Levi’s Fawns Over Shannon Watts in Pantmaker’s Latest Gun Control Effort

At the National Retail Federation’s 2018 convention in New York City, Levi Strauss & Co. Brand President James Curleigh told those assembled that the multinational pants manufacturer intends to be the “most relevant lifestyle brand.” Evidently, part ...

Gov. Abbott Signs NRA-Backed Tenants' Rights Bill

News  

Friday, May 17, 2019

Gov. Abbott Signs NRA-Backed Tenants' Rights Bill

The National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) applauded Gov. Greg Abbott on Thursday for signing NRA-backed legislation that protects tenants’ rights by prohibiting “no firearms” clauses in residential leases.   

Trump Administration, Other Pro-Gun Heavyweights Lend Support on Pending Supreme Court Case

News  

Friday, May 17, 2019

Trump Administration, Other Pro-Gun Heavyweights Lend Support on Pending Supreme Court Case

As NRA-ILA Executive Director Chris W. Cox reported in March, the U.S. Supreme Court has taken up a challenge by an NRA state affiliate to a New York City gun control scheme that effectively prohibits lawfully ...

Retired Justice Stevens Continues Crusade Against Guns

News  

Friday, May 17, 2019

Retired Justice Stevens Continues Crusade Against Guns

Retired Supreme Court Justice John Paul Stevens does not believe a law-abiding citizen has a right to possess firearms under the Second Amendment, and he wants to make sure everyone knows it. He made his ...

NRA Supports Guns Save Life's Challenge to Illinois’s FOID Act

News  

Wednesday, May 15, 2019

NRA Supports Guns Save Life's Challenge to Illinois’s FOID Act

NRA is supporting a legal challenge to Illinois's FOID Act brought by Guns Save Life, an organization dedicated to defending the Second Amendment rights of Illinois residents. 

NRA Applauds Attorneys General and Governors Amicus Brief in Supreme Court Challenge

News  

Thursday, May 16, 2019

NRA Applauds Attorneys General and Governors Amicus Brief in Supreme Court Challenge

NRA Applauds Attorney General and Governors Amicus Brief in Supreme Court Challenge.

Hear Ye, Hear Ye, Only What We Want Ye to Hear

News  

Friday, May 17, 2019

Hear Ye, Hear Ye, Only What We Want Ye to Hear

Can we finally put the claim that “gun violence” research is underfunded to rest? The Bloomberg Professor of American Health at the Bloomberg School of Public Health at Johns Hopkins University, Daniel Webster, and his colleagues at the Hopkins ...

Governor Abbott Signs NRA-Backed Tenants' Rights Bill

Friday, May 17, 2019

Governor Abbott Signs NRA-Backed Tenants' Rights Bill

On Thursday, Governor Greg Abbott signed House Bill 302 by Representative Dennis Paul (R-Houston) & Senator Bryan Hughes (R-Mineola), NRA-supported legislation that prohibits “no firearms” clauses in residential leases.

Illinois: Committee To Receive Private Transfer Ban Legislation

Friday, May 17, 2019

Illinois: Committee To Receive Private Transfer Ban Legislation

On May 21st, the Illinois state House of Representatives Rules Committee will hear House Amendment 1 to Senate Bill 1966 and send it to the Judiciary Committee for further consideration.  HA 1 to SB 1966 would ...

Does Shannon Watts want a Ban on all Centerfire Rifle Ammunition?

News  

Friday, May 10, 2019

Does Shannon Watts want a Ban on all Centerfire Rifle Ammunition?

Shannon Watts has developed her persona as a “full-time volunteer” who wants nothing more than to bring “common sense gun laws” to this country. However, she once again reminded gun owners of her true agenda ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.