Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

URGENT: Pennsylvania House Judiciary Committee Scheduled to Vote on Anti-Gun Bill Package!

Friday, November 16, 2007

Contact the Members of the House Judiciary Committee TODAY!

At the request of Governor Ed Rendell (D), the Pennsylvania House Judiciary Committee has tentatively scheduled a meeting for Tuesday, November 20 at 10:00am, to vote on several anti-gun measures.  Governor Rendell will be testifying at this meeting urging members to pass some of the most onerous firearm restrictions in the state’s history, including a “one-gun-a-month” gun rationing scheme, a requirement that individuals report lost or stolen firearms, and overturning Pennsylvania’s preemption law.

House Bill 18, sponsored by State Representative Dwight Evans (D-Philadelphia), would permit local municipalities to place further restrictions on the sale, possession, carrying, and use of firearms by gutting Pennsylvania’s preemption law.  State preemption regulating firearms was enacted by the legislature to avoid the possibility of thousands of separate firearm laws across the Commonwealth.  Without preemption there would be countless local firearms laws, making compliance impossible for law-abiding gun owners. In addition, this proposed legislation may also be in conflict with Article 1, Section 21 of the Constitution of Pennsylvania which states "The right of the citizens to bear arms in defense of themselves and the state shall not be questioned."

House Bill 22, "one-gun-a-month" legislation, sponsored by State Representative John Myers (D-Philadelphia), will prohibit law-abiding citizens from purchasing more than one handgun at a time, and impose a 30-day waiting period between single handgun purchases.

House Bill 29, "Lost or Stolen Firearms” legislation, sponsored by State Representative Jewell Williams (D-Philadelphia), would make it a crime to fail to report the loss or theft of a firearm to police within 24 hours of discovering the firearm missing.  This proposal would criminalize victims of crime and is ineffective.

It is imperative that you contact the members of the House Judiciary Committee TODAY to strongly encourage them to OPPOSE this package of anti-gun bills!  Contact information for the House Judiciary Committee is listed below.

State Representative Thomas R. Caltagirone (D-127), Chairman
(717) 787-3525
tcaltagi@pahouse.net

State Representative Daylin Leach (D-149), Secretary
(717) 783-9114 
dleach@pahouse.net 

State Representative Kathy Manderino (D-194)
(717) 787-1254 
kmanderi@pahouse.net 

State Representative John E. Pallone (D-54)
(717) 783-1819 
jpallone@pahouse.net 

State Representative Don Walko (D-20)
(717) 787-5470 
dwalko@pahouse.net 

State Representative Ron Marsico (R-105), Chairman
(717) 783-2014 
rmarsico@pahousegop.com 

State Representative Lisa Bennington (D-21)
(717) 705-7011 
lbennington@pahouse.net

State Representative Dan Frankel (D-23)
(717) 705-1875 
dfrankel@pahouse.net 

State Representative Harold James (D-186)
(717) 787-9477 
hjames@pahouse.net 

State Representative Deberah Kula (D-52)
(717) 772-1858 
dkula@pahouse.net 

State Representative Bryan R. Lentz (D-161)
(717) 787-8574 
blentz@pahouse.net 

State Representative Joseph A. Petrarca (D-55)
(717) 787-5142 
petrarca@pahouse.net

State Representative Sean M. Ramaley (D-16)
(717) 787-4444 
Sramaley@pahouse.net 

State Representative Greg Vitali (D-16)
(717) 787-7647 
greg@gregvitali.com 

State Representative Chelsa Wagner (D-22)
(717) 783-1582 
repwagner@pahouse.net 

State Representative Jesse White (D-46)
(717) 783-6437 
jwhite@pahouse.net 

State Representative Jewell Williams (D-197)
(717) 772-2004 
jwilliam@pahouse.net 

State Representative Tom C. Creighton (R-37)
(717) 772-5290 
tcreight@pahousegop.com 

State Representative Craig A. Dally (R-138)
(717) 783-8573
cdally@pahousegop.com 

State Representative John R. Evans (R-5)
(717) 772-9940 
jevans@pahousegop.com 

State Representative Will Gabig (R-199)
(717) 772-2280 
wgabig@pahousegop.com 

State Representative Glen R. Grell (R-87)
(717) 783-2063 
ggrell@pahousegop.com 

State Representative Kate Harper (R-61)
(717) 787-2801 
kharper@pahousegop.com 

State Representative Beverly Mackereth (R-196)
(717) 783-2655 
bmackere@pahousegop.com 

State Representative Carl W. Mantz (R-187)
(717) 787-3017 
cmantz@pahousegop.com 

State Representative Bernie O'Neill (R-29)
(717) 705-7170 
boneill@pahousegop.com 

State Representative Tina Pickett (R-110)
(717) 783-8238 
tpickett@pahousegop.com 

State Representative Todd Rock (R-90)
(717) 783-5218 
trock@pahousegop.com 

State Representative Katie True (R-41)
(717) 705-7161
ktrue@pahousegop.com 

Please continue to check your email and www.NRAILA.org for updates on these important firearm issues.

TRENDING NOW
The Washington Post Gives Gun Control Group and U.S. Senator Three Pinocchios on Suppressors

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, March 24, 2017

The Washington Post Gives Gun Control Group and U.S. Senator Three Pinocchios on Suppressors

Last week, we wrote about Americans for Responsible Solutions’ irresponsible misinformation about The Hearing Protection Act on Twitter.  Apparently, we weren’t the only ones who took notice of ARS’s complete disregard for the facts on ...

Seattle Gun Tax Fails to Generate Projected Revenue, Succeeds in Burdening Rights

News  

Gun Laws  

Friday, March 24, 2017

Seattle Gun Tax Fails to Generate Projected Revenue, Succeeds in Burdening Rights

On March 16, 2017, the Seattle Times reported that Seattle city officials were reluctant to release data on the revenue generated by the city’s firearms and ammunition tax, citing taxpayer confidentiality concerns. Less than a ...

Trump’s Supreme Court Nominee Embraces Heller and Originalism During Senate Hearings

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, March 24, 2017

Trump’s Supreme Court Nominee Embraces Heller and Originalism During Senate Hearings

Judge Neil M. Gorsuch, President Trump’s pick to replace the late Justice Antonin Scalia on the U.S. Supreme court, asserted during his confirmation hearings this week that Scalia’s landmark Second Amendment opinion in District of ...

Oklahoma: Multiple Pro-Gun Bills Passed Out of the House

Friday, March 24, 2017

Oklahoma: Multiple Pro-Gun Bills Passed Out of the House

This week, the Oklahoma House of Representatives passed multiple pro-gun bills, including House Bill 1721, House Bill 2323, and House Bill 2322. 

Continuing to Fight in California

Friday, March 24, 2017

Continuing to Fight in California

We are excited to inform you of our new California specific webpage – Stand and Fight California.   On this page you will find State Legislation, Legal Updates, and How to Get Involved, among other California ...

More Firearms, More Firearms Owners, Fewer Fatal Accidents

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, March 24, 2017

More Firearms, More Firearms Owners, Fewer Fatal Accidents

The National Safety Council released the 2017 edition of its annual Injury Facts report this week, and it contains welcome news about firearm safety. 

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

The Illinois House of Representatives could consider House Bill 2354 at any time.

Arkansas Action Needed: Anti-Gun Bill Which Undermines Concealed Carry Headed to House

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Arkansas Action Needed: Anti-Gun Bill Which Undermines Concealed Carry Headed to House

Today, the Arkansas Senate passed Senate Bill 724, an anti-gun bill which undermines some of the key advancements made with the passage and enactment of House Bill 1249.  SB 724 is now headed to the ...

Utah: Governor Signs Self-Defense Legislation into Law

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Utah: Governor Signs Self-Defense Legislation into Law

Tonight, Governor Gary Herbert signed House Bill 198 into law.

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Yesterday, the Maryland House of Delegates passed House Bill 1036 by a 97-41 vote.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.