Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Georgia Senate to Vote on SB 43 Tuesday, March 27! <BR><EM>Some Business Groups Arguing that the Second Amendment is NOT an Individual Right!</EM>

Monday, March 26, 2007

The Georgia Senate will vote on Senate Bill 43(SB 43) tomorrow, March 27. 

If you have not already called or sent an email to your State Senator and to the Lieutenant Governor, please do so today!

 

SB 43 simply codifies into law that law-abiding citizens may leave a firearm in their locked motor vehicle while on their employer’s property and provides employers with protection from civil liability for the unforeseeable acts of criminals.

 

Unfortunately, some in the business community have resorted to telling lies about SB 43 and now, not surprisingly given their opposition to the bill, about the Second Amendment as well. 

 

Siding with gun-ban organizations like the Brady Campaign, which wants to ban all gun ownership, some members of the business community have now issued a position paper claiming that the Second Amendment is not an individual right. Over the weekend, the Georgia Traditional Manufacturers Association, in a position paper prepared for legislators, said the following:

 

Supporters of the bill who favor placing gun rights above the rights of private property owners rely on a questionable understanding of Second Amendment rights for legitimacy.  Often the NRA and its supporters will argue that individual gun ownership is an inalienable right provided for in the Second Amendment to the United States Constitution.  This is not consistent, however, with the text of that amendment nor with the courts that have interpreted it.  The federal courts have consistently upheld restrictions on individual gun ownership and recognized that the origins of the Second Amendment arose from the needs of collective defense at the time the nation was founded.

 

The Second Amendment states:  "A well-regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed."  The "militia" at the time the Bill of Rights was adopted referred to state-run militias, which were viewed as an important counterbalance to the power of the federal army.  Modern gun control laws do not impact the operation of state militias and therefore do not raise Second Amendment concerns.” 

 

Representatives of the business community want your business and your hard-earned dollars but they don’t respect your constitutional freedoms.  SB 43 will protect your Second Amendment rights from anti-gun business groups that force you to choose between your Second Amendment rights and your job.

 

Send these anti-gun groups a message by calling your Senator today and asking him or her to vote for SB 43! 

 

A vote on Senate Bill 43 has been scheduled for Tuesday, March 27. Don’t let big corporations dictate what you may have in your locked vehicle or force you to give up Constitutional rights as a condition of employment. 

 

  1. Call your State Senator today!  Tell your Senator that you are counting on him or her to stand up for your Second Amendment rights by voting for SB 43.  The general phone number for the Georgia Senate is (404) 656-5040.  We have included a list of State Senators below.  If you need help identifying your Senator, please click here.

 

  1. Call Lieutenant Governor Casey Cagle!  Tell Lieutenant Governor Cagle to support SB 43!  The Lieutenant Governor can be reached at (404) 656-5030 or via email at casey.cagle@ltgov.ga.gov.

 

It is absolutely critical that you call and email your State Senator immediately.  Please encourage your family and friends to do the same.

 

Make These Calls Today!

 

42        Adelman, David (D)     david.adelman@senate.ga.gov              (404) 463-1376

9          Balfour, Don (R)           don.balfour@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 656-0095

26        Brown, Robert (D)       robert.brown@senate.ga.gov                (404) 656-5035

11        Bulloch, John (R)          john.bulloch@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-0040

55        Butler, Gloria S. (D)     gloria.butler@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-0075

13        Carter, Joseph (R)        joseph.carter@senate.ga.gov                (404) 651-7738

16        Chance, Ronnie (R)      ronnie.chance@senate.ga.gov               (404) 651-7738

3          Chapman, Jeff (R)        jeff.chapman@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-0045

46        Cowsert, Bill (R)          bill.cowsert@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 463-1366

44        Davenport, Gail (D)      gail.davenport@senate.ga.gov               (404) 656-7586

17        Douglas, John (R)         john.douglas@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-0503

39        Fort, Vincent (D)          vincent.fort@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 656-5091

7          Goggans, Greg (R)       greg.goggans@senate.ga.gov                (404) 463-5263

8          Golden, Tim (D)           tim.golden@senate.ga.gov                    (404) 656-7580

25        Grant, Johnny (R)         johnny.grant@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-0082

30        Hamrick, William (R)    bill.hamrick@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 656-0036

15        Harbison, Ed (D)          ed.harbison@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-0074

29        Harp, Seth (R)              seth.harp@senate.ga.gov                      (404) 463-3931

49        Hawkins, Lee (R)         lee.hawkins@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-6578

31        Heath, Bill (R)              billheath@billheath.net                           (404) 651-7738 

41        Henson, Steve (D)        steve.henson@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-0085

4          Hill, Jack (R)                jack.hill@senate.ga.gov                        (404) 656-5038

32        Hill, Judson (R)             judson.hill@senate.ga.gov                     (404) 656-0150

14        Hooks, George (D)      george.hooks@senate.ga.gov               (404) 656-0065

47        Hudgens, Ralph T (R)   ralph.hudgens@senate.ga.gov               (404) 656-4700

1          Johnson, Eric (R)          eric.johnson@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-5109

10        Jones, Emanuel (D)       emanuel.jones@senate.ga.gov               (404) 656-0502

12        Meyer von Bremen, Michael (D) michael.meyer@senate.ga.gov (404) 656-0037

56        Moody, Dan (R)           dan.moody@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 463-8055

53        Mullis, Jeff (R)              jeff.mullis@senate.ga.gov                      (404) 656-0057

27        Murphy, Jack (R)         jack.murphy@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-7127

36        Orrock, Nan (D)          nan.orrock@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 463-8054

51        Pearson, Chip (R)         chip.pearson@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-9221

23        Powell, J. B. (D)           jb.powell@senate.ga.gov                      (404) 463-1314

43        Ramsey, Sr., Ronald B. (D) ronald.ramsey@senate.ga.gov        (404) 463-2598

35        Reed, Kasim (D)          kasim.reed@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 463-1379

21        Rogers, Chip (R)          chip.rogers@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 463-1378

50        Schaefer, Nancy (R)     nancy.schaefer@senate.ga.gov              (404) 463-1367

28        Seabaugh, Mitch (R)     mail@mitchseabaugh.com                     (404) 656-6446

34        Seay, Valencia (D)       valencia.seay@senate.ga.gov                (404) 656-5095

48        Shafer, David (R)         david.shafer@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-0048

52        Smith, Preston W. (R)  preston.smith@senate.ga.gov                (404) 656-0034

18        Staton, Cecil (R)           cecil.staton@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 656-5039

6          Stoner, Doug (D)          doug.stoner@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 463-2518

22        Tarver, Ed (D)              ed.tarver@senate.ga.gov                      (404) 656-0340

38        Tate, Horacena (D)      horacena.tate@senate.ga.gov                (404) 463-8053

54        Thomas, Don (R)          don.thomas@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-6436

2          Thomas, Regina D. (D) regina.thomas@senate.ga.gov               (404) 463-7784

5          Thompson, Curt (D)     curt.thompson@senate.ga.gov              (404) 463-1318

33        Thompson, Steve (D)   steve.thompson@senate.ga.gov            (404) 656-0083

20        Tolleson, Ross (R)        ross.tolleson@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-0081

45        Unterman, Renee S (R) renee.unterman@senate.ga.gov            (404) 463-1368

40        Weber, Dan (R)           dan.weber@senate.ga.gov                    (404) 463-2260

24        Whitehead, Sr., Jim (R) jim.whitehead@senate.ga.gov               (404) 656-5114

37        Wiles, John J. (R)         john.wiles@senate.ga.gov                     (404) 657-0406

19        Williams, Tommie (R)   tommie@tommiewilliams.com               (404) 656-0089

 

To keep track of this critical Georgia legislation and other Second Amendment issues around the nation, please visit www.NRAILA.org.

TRENDING NOW
Obama Says Goodbye to America’s Gun Owners with (a Likely Short-lived) Lead Ammo Ban

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Obama Says Goodbye to America’s Gun Owners with (a Likely Short-lived) Lead Ammo Ban

Gun owners knew that Barack Obama would not leave quietly. The only question was what else was coming.  

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

On Monday, Sen. Mike Crapo (R-ID) – joined by co-sponsors Sens. Jerry Moran (R-KS) and Rand Paul (R-KY) – introduced S. 59, the Hearing Protection Act of 2017 (HPA). Similar legislation was introduced in the ...

New Hampshire: Constitutional/Permitless Carry Bill Passes Senate!

Thursday, January 19, 2017

New Hampshire: Constitutional/Permitless Carry Bill Passes Senate!

Today, Senate Bill 12, legislation eliminating the requirement to obtain a permit in order to lawfully carry, passed the Senate without amendment, by a 13-10 vote.  SB 12 will now go to the House of ...

Federal Appeals Court: Chicago Violates Second Amendment … Again

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Federal Appeals Court: Chicago Violates Second Amendment … Again

On Wednesday, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit found that Chicago had once again violated the Second Amendment, this time with its regulations for gun ranges.

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

Inspired, perhaps, by Oscar Wilde (“Moderation is a fatal thing. Nothing succeeds like excess”), Washington State Attorney General Bob Ferguson has announced two new sweeping gun control bills, with Sen. David Frockt (D-Seattle) and Rep. ...

Gun Owners Welcome Donald J. Trump as President of the United States

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Gun Owners Welcome Donald J. Trump as President of the United States

Gun owners across the nation breathed a sigh of relief as Donald J. Trump was sworn in Friday morning as the 45th president of the United States.

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

On January 3rd, Congressman Richard Hudson (R-N.C.8th) introduced H.R. 38, the Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act of 2017, which simply allows lawful firearm carriers from any state to carry a concealed firearm in any other state. The bill ...

New York Times Relies on Gun Prohibitionist Propaganda, Stigmatizes Suicide

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

New York Times Relies on Gun Prohibitionist Propaganda, Stigmatizes Suicide

In a December 5, 2015, front page editorial, the New York Times finally admitted what discerning readers had long understood – that the paper advocates the prohibition and confiscation of certain types of now-lawfully possessed firearms. ...

Thursday, January 19, 2017

Florida Urgent Alert! Self-defense Bill up in Senate Judiciary on Tuesday 1/24/2017

A critical self-defense bill will be heard by the Senate Judiciary Committee on Tuesday, January 24, 2017, between 2:00-4:00pm.  SB-128 Burden of Proof by Senator Rob Bradley restores the presumption of innocence in self-defense cases ...

Web Scraping: A Means to Push the Anti-Gun Agenda

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Web Scraping: A Means to Push the Anti-Gun Agenda

You may have read recently about a “breaking analysis” that includes numbers derived from a “mass shooting tracker,” which purports to present to the world, real world cases in which mass shootings have occurred.  One ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.