Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Tennessee “Emergency Powers” Legislation on the Move!

Friday, March 23, 2007

 

Please Contact Your State Senator and House Subcommittee Members Today!

 

 

Senate Bill 1597, sponsored by Senator Mark Norris (R-32) and its companion bill, House Bill 1285, sponsored by Representative Chris Crider (R-79) are making their way though the Senate and the House of Representatives.

 

A vote has been scheduled for SB 1597 for Monday, March 26 at 5:00 PM.  SB 1597 would protect our Second Amendment rights during a state of emergency by prohibiting any government agency from regulating the lawful sale, possession, transfer, transport and carry of firearms.

 

Please contact your State Senator today at 1-800-449-8366 and urge him or her to protect our Second Amendments rights and vote “YES” on SB 1597.

 

If you need help identifying your State Senator, please click here.

 

The House Judiciary Criminal Practice Subcommittee has scheduled a hearing for its companion bill, HB 1285, for Wednesday, March 28 at 12:00 PM.

 

Below is a list of the members of the House Judiciary Criminal Practice Subcommittee and their contact information:

 

Senator Janis Sontany (D-53), Chair:  (615) 741-6861; rep.janis.sontany@legislature.state.tn.us

Senator Eddie Bass (D-65),  (615) 741-1864; rep.eddie.bass@legislature.state.tn.us

Senator Rob Briley (D-52),  (615) 741-2184; rep.rob.briley@legislature.state.tn.us

Senator Henry Fincher (D-42),  (615) 741-1875; rep.henry.fincher@legislature.state.tn.us

Senator Judd Matheny (R-47),  (615) 741-7448; rep.judd.matheny@legislature.state.tn.us

Senator Eric Watson (R-22),  (615) 741-7799; eric.watson@legislature.state.tn.us

 

Please continue to check www.NRAILA.org for updates on other Tennessee Second Amendment issues!

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.