NRA Explore
APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

1994 "Assault Weapons" Ban Vote

Thursday, February 26, 2004

Note: Only Senators who are currently in office are listed here. There are 51 Senators who voted on this legislation who are no longer in the Senate.

State Senator Party Vote Senator Party Vote
Alabama Richard Shelby R no
Alaska Ted Stevens R no
Arizona John McCain R no
California Barbara Boxer D yea Dianne Feinstein D yea
Colorado Ben Campbell R yea
Connecticut Christopher Dodd D yea Joseph Lieberman D yea
Delaware Joseph Biden Jr. D yea
Florida Bob Graham D yea
Hawaii Daniel Akaka D yea Daniel Inouye D yea
Idaho Larry Craig R no
Indiana Richard Lugar R yea
Iowa Tom Harkin D yea Charles Grassley R no
Kentucky Mitch McConnell R no
Louisiana John Breaux D no
Maryland Barbara Mikulski D yea Paul Sarbanes D yea
Massachusetts Edward Kennedy D yea John Kerry D yea
Michigan Carl Levin D yea
Mississippi Thad Cochran R no Trent Lott R no
Missouri Christopher Bond R no
Montana Max Baucus D yea Conrad Burns R no
Nevada Harry Reid D no
New Hampshire Judd Gregg R no
New Mexico Jeff Bingaman D no Pete Domenici R no
North Dakota Kent Conrad D yea Byron Dorgan D Not Voting
Oklahoma Don Nickles R no
Pennsylvania Arlen Specter R no
South Carolina Ernest Hollings D no
South Dakota Tom Daschle D yea
Texas Kay Hutchison R no
Utah Robert Bennett R no Orrin Hatch R no
Vermont James Jeffords I yea Patrick Leahy D yea
Virginia John Warner R no
Washington Patty Murray D yea
West Virginia Robert Byrd D yea John Rockefeller IV D yea
Wisconsin Russell Feingold D yea Herb Kohl D yea


Friday, February 5, 2016

2016 Begins

The 2016 presidential campaign is now officially underway, with the completion of the Iowa caucuses last Monday evening. First the numbers.  On the GOP side, Texas Sen. Ted Cruz finished first, with 28% of the ...

Wednesday, February 3, 2016

South Carolina: NRA-Endorsed Self-Defense Legislation Passes Committee

Yesterday,  H. 4703 was favorably reported out of the House Judiciary Committee.  This critical self-defense legislation had no opposition ...


Friday, February 5, 2016

Europeans Discover Virtues of Armed Self-defense as EU Bureaucrats Seek New Gun Controls

At the same time the European Union bureaucrats in Brussels are trying to foist further gun controls on the continent, Europeans are exhibiting a newfound interest in acquiring the tools of self-defense. Though restricted by ...

Tuesday, February 2, 2016

Arizona: Pro-Gun Bills Scheduled for Hearings Tomorrow

This week, the Arizona State Legislature has scheduled hearings for several important pro-gun bills.

Friday, January 15, 2016

Anti-Gun lawmakers Introduce Gun Confiscation Bill in Georgia

With a complete disregard for the U.S. Constitution and the fundamental rights of Georgia residents, state Representative Mary ...


Monday, February 1, 2016

West Virginia: Permitless Carry and Sunday Hunting to Be Considered this Week

This week, the House of Delegates is likely to consider House Bill 4145, important legislation that would allow ...

Tuesday, February 2, 2016

Oregon: 2016 Legislative Session Convenes; Senate Bill 1551 Pulled from Hearing Agenda

Yesterday, the Oregon State Legislature convened its 2016 legislative session.  As previously reported, both Senate Bill 1551 and ...


Friday, January 29, 2016

Chief Justice Barack Obama?

Here’s perhaps the most compelling argument we’ve heard against Hillary Clinton’s bid for the White House. Continuing her streak ...


Gun Laws  

Friday, January 29, 2016

New Jersey Actor Faces Jail Time over Possession of Air Pistol during Movie Shoot

If it seems as though that every couple of months there is another high-profile gun control injustice in ...

Thursday, January 28, 2016

Florida Report: BIG Day for Gun Owners in Florida -- Four Victories

Today, HB-163, Open Carry by Rep. Matt Gaetz was heard in the House Judiciary Committee and PASSED by a Vote of 12-4.  HB-344, Stand Your Ground/Burden of Proof by Sen. Rob Bradley PASSED THE SENATE ...


Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.