Rhode Island: House Judiciary Committee Schedules Full Slate of Gun Control at Hearing Next Week

Posted on March 13, 2014

Print
Email
Share

Next Tuesday, March 18, the House Judiciary Committee will hold a hearing after “rise of the House” to consider 14 gun bills!  This session’s list of introduced anti-gun bills contains one of the most sweeping attacks on the Second Amendment in state history.  None of these gun control bills would do anything to address public safety or violent crime, but would instead infringe on the rights of law-abiding gun owners.

These bills to be heard on Tuesday run the anti-gun gamut of everything from imposing a magazine restriction of ten rounds to banning certain semi-automatic firearms only for cosmetic reasons.  Turkey hunting shotguns with a thumbhole stock would be redefined as an “assault weapon.”  Make no mistake, these are gun bans and anti-gun lawmakers are going for it all this year:  guns, magazines and ammunition.  Other anti-gun bills which have been introduced, but have not been scheduled for a committee hearing include everything from a lead ammunition ban (House Bill 7838, sponsored by state Representative Arthur Handy (D-18)) to a ten percent sales tax on all guns and ammunition (Senate Bill 2318, sponsored by state Senator Gayle Goldin (D-3)).  Also introduced is House Bill 7587, sponsored by state Representative Linda Finn (D-72), which seeks to eliminate “shall issue” concealed carry in Rhode Island.

Several of the worst anti-gun bills included on next Tuesday’s agenda include:

House Bill 7583, sponsored by state Representative Joseph Almeida (D-12), creates the “Safe Firearms Act,” which severely restricts the manufacture, sale, possession and transfer of certain “assault weapons” if such firearm has one of the banned features.  The bill would mandate registration of those firearms.

House Bill 7585, also sponsored by Representative Almeida, would ban magazines containing more than ten rounds, labeling such magazines “high capacity.”  Violations of this proposed law would result in a prison sentence of 10-20 years!

House Bill 7584, also sponsored by Representative Almeida, would ban BOTH magazines exceeding ten rounds and semi-automatic “assault weapons.”

It is important that you contact members of the House Judiciary Committee immediately, and respectfully urge them to REJECT these misguided bills which only infringe on the rights of law-abiding gun owners.  Contact information for committee members is provided below.

 

House Judiciary Committee:

Representative Edith H. Ajello (D-1), Chairperson
Rep-ajello@rilin.state.ri.us

(401) 274-7078
 
Representative Joseph S. Almeida (D-12), Vice-Chairperson
Rep-almeida@rilin.state.ri.us

(401) 467-7033
 
Representative Christopher R. Blazejewski (D-2)
Rep-blazejewski@rilin.state.ri.us

(401) 484-8814
 
Representative Dennis M. Canario (D-71)
Rep-canario@rilin.state.ri.us

(401) 683-4926
 
Representative Doreen Marie Costa (R-31)
Rep-costa@rilin.state.ri.us

(401) 206-6891
 
Representative Robert E. Craven, Sr. (D-32)
Rep-craven@rilin.state.ri.us

(401) 294-2222
 
Representative John J. DeSimone (D-5)
Rep-desimone@rilin.state.ri.us

(401) 351-7373
 
Representative Donald J. Lally Jr. (D-33)
Rep-lally@rilin.state.ri.us

(401) 792-9090
 
Representative Michael J. Marcello (D-41)
Rep-marcello@rilin.state.ri.us

 (401) 647-5905
 
Representative Charlene Lima (D-14)
Rep-lima@rilin.state.ri.us

(401) 222-2258
 
Representative Peter F. Martin (D-75)
Rep-martin@rilin.state.ri.us

(401) 924-2402
 
Representative K. Joseph Shekarchi (D-23)
Rep-shekarchi@rilin.state.ri.us

(401) 827-0100
 
Representative Donna M. Walsh (D-36)
Rep-walsh@rilin.state.ri.us

(401) 364-6433

Print
Email
Share