Tennessee: Two Pro-Gun Bills Scheduled for House Subcommittee Hearing

Posted on February 28, 2014

Print
Email
Share

On Wednesday, March 5, the House Civil Justice Subcommittee is scheduled toconsider House Bill 1407 and House Bill 1483.  The Senate companion to HB 1407, Senate Bill 1496, passed in the Tennessee Senate by a 26 to 7 vote and currently awaits action by the House on HB 1407.

Sponsored by state Representative Tilman Goins (R-10), HB 1407 would allow law-abiding Tennesseans with a Handgun Carry Permit (HCP) to carry a firearm into all state, city, county and municipal parks.  Current Tennessee law allows a municipality or county to prohibit the possession of handguns, and therefore one's right to self-defense, while within a public park, natural area, historic park, nature trail, campground, forest, greenway, waterway or other similar public place that is owned or operated by a county or municipality.  This law poses a problem for citizens by creating a patchwork of laws across the state with regard to which localities have prohibited firearms in their parks.  As of now, HB 1407 has garnered thirty cosponsors.

HB 1483, sponsored by state Representative Debra Moody (R-81), would remove all grandfathered ordinances and resolutions passed before April 8, 1986 with regards to the prohibition or regulation of possession, transportation or storage of firearms and firearm ammunition by HCP holders.  The Senate companion bill to HB 1483, Senate Bill 2031, has been introduced by state Senator Joey Hensley (R-28) and has been referred to the Senate Judiciary Committee.

Using the contact information provided below, please contact members of the House Civil Justice Subcommittee TODAY and respectfully urge them to SUPPORT HB 1407 and HB 1483.

  

House Civil Justice Subcommittee:

Representative Jim Coley (R-27), Chairman
(615) 741-8201
Rep.jim.coley@capitol.tn.gov


Representative Mike Carter (R-29)
(615) 741-3025
Rep.mike.carter@capitol.tn.gov


Representative Vance Dennis (R-71)
(615) 741-2190
Rep.vance.dennis@capitol.tn.gov


Representative Andrew Farmer (R-17)
(615) 741-4419
Rep.andrew.farmer@capitol.tn.gov


Representative Sherry Jones (D-59)
(615) 741-2035
Rep.sherry.jones@capitol.tn.gov


Representative Jon Lundberg (R-1)
(615) 741-7623
Rep.jon.lundberg@capitol.tn.gov


Representative Mike Stewart (D-52)
(615) 741-2184
Rep.mike.stewart@capitol.tn.gov


Representative Rick Womick (R-34)
(615) 741-2804
Rep.rick.womick@capitol.tn.gov

Print
Email
Share