Kentucky: More Action in Frankfort Sees Positive Steps for Gun Owners

Posted on February 7, 2014

Print
Email
Share

Yesterday, Senate Bill 106, sponsored by state Senator Jared Carpenter (R-34), was reported unanimously by the Senate Judiciary Committee.  This important self-defense legislation would allow an individual who has legally sought a court-issued Emergency Protection Order (EPO) the ability to better defend themselves by expediting the permitting process for a Concealed Deadly Weapons License (CDWL), following a background check.

SB 106 will now head to the full Senate for a vote in the coming weeks.  Please call 800-372-7181 to register your SUPPORT for SB 106.

Also yesterday, the companion bill to SB 106, House Bill 351, was introduced in the Kentucky House of Representatives.  HB 351, sponsored by state Representative Gerald Watkins (D-3), would provide the same process as SB 106, accelerating the CDWL permitting process for those who have legally sought a court-issued EPO.

Next Wednesday, February 12, House Bill 283 is scheduled for a hearing in the state House Licensing and Occupations Committee.  HB 283, sponsored by state Representative James Kay (D-56), would clarify certain aspects of Kentucky’s charitable gaming statutes and afford groups like the Friends of NRA the opportunity to host more events throughout the state.  HB 283 would also streamline the reporting process for those on the charitable gaming license.

The state House Licensing and Occupations Committee is scheduled to meet Wednesday, February 12, at 9:00 a.m. in Room 169 of the Kentucky Capitol Annex Building.

Please contact members of the House Licensing and Occupations Committee and urge them to vote for HB 283.  Also, please call 800-372-7181 to register your SUPPORT for HB 283.

House Licensing and Occupations Committee:
 
Representative Dennis Keene (D-67), Chairman
dennis@denniskeene.com
 
Representative Denver Butler (D-38), Vice-Chairman
dennybutler@insightbb.com
 
Representative Reginald Meeks (D-42), Vice- Chairman
E-mail
 
Representative Charles Miller (D-28), Vice- Chairman
Charlie.Miller@lrc.ky.gov
 
Representative Brad Montell (R-58), Vice-Chairman
brad.montell@lrc.ky.gov
 
Representative David Osborne (R-59), Vice-Chairman
David.Osborne@lrc.ky.gov
 
Representative Susan Westrom (D-79), Vice-Chairman
Susan.Westrom@lrc.ky.gov
 
Representative Julie Raque Adams (R-32)
julie.adams@lrc.ky.gov
 
Representative Tom Burch (D-30)
Tom.Burch@lrc.ky.gov
 
Representative Larry Clark (D-46)
Larry.Clark@lrc.ky.gov
 
Representative Jeffery Donohue (D-37)
E-mail
 
Representative David Floyd (R-50)
david.floyd@lrc.ky.gov
 
Representative Dennis Horlander (D-40)
Dennis.Horlander@lrc.ky.gov
 
Representative Joni L. Jenkins (D-44)
Joni.Jenkins@lrc.ky.gov
 
Representative Adam Koenig (R-69)
adam.koenig@lrc.ky.gov
 
Representative Darryl T. Owens (D-43)
E-mail
 
Representative Ruth Ann Palumbo (D-76)
RuthAnn.Palumbo@lrc.ky.gov
 
Representative Sal Santoro (R-60)
sal.santoro@lrc.ky.gov
 
Representative Arnold Simpson (D-65)
Arnold.Simpson@lrc.ky.gov
 
Representative Diane St. Onge (R-63)
diane.st.onge@lrc.ky.gov

Print
Email
Share