Iowa: Egregious Anti-Gun Bill Introduced in State Senate

Posted on February 19, 2014

Print
Email
Share

Last week, state Senator Joe Bolkcom (D-43) introduced an egregious anti-gun bill which seeks to impose “universal” background checks on law-abiding gun owners in the Hawkeye State.  Senate File 2179 targets and criminalizes the private sale, transfer or loan of any firearm to anyone, even immediate family members, without a background check from a licensed firearms dealer.  SF 2179 has been referred to the Senate Judiciary Subcommittee consisting of Senators Robert Hogg (D-33), Julian Garrett (R-13) and Janet Petersen (D-18).

“Universal” background checks do nothing to reduce crime, and will only affect law-abiding gun owners by creating cumbersome mandates and restrictions on the lawful purchase and possession of firearms.  It is already illegal to knowingly sell or transfer a firearm to someone classified as a prohibited person, and is a felony for a prohibited person to buy, own or possess a firearm.  SF 2179 seeks to make drastic and unnecessary changes to current state firearm laws that will impose unduly restrictions on law-abiding citizens, rather than addressing the true problems associated with illegal straw purchases – lack of enforcement of current law.  In addition, a January 2013 internal U.S. Department of Justice memorandum summarizing so-called “gun violence” prevention strategies states that the effectiveness of “universal” background checks depends on requiring gun registration.

Your NRA-ILA is diligently opposing this misguided legislation in Des Moines.  Please call AND e-mail members of the Senate Judiciary Committee today to express your OPPOSITION to Senate File 2179.  Committee members can be reached by calling the central switchboard at (515) 281-3371 and using the e-mail addresses provided below.

Senate Judiciary Committee:
 
Senator Robert Hogg (D-33), Chairman
rob.hogg@legis.iowa.gov
 
Senator Thomas G. Courtney (D-44), Vice Chairman
thomas.courtney@legis.iowa.gov
 
Senator Charles Schneider (R-22), Ranking Member
charles.schneider@legis.iowa.gov
 
Senator Nancy J. Boettger (R-9)
nancy.boettger@legis.iowa.gov
 
Senator Robert E. Dvorsky (D-37)
robert.dvorsky@legis.iowa.gov
 
Senator Julian B. Garrett (R-13)
julian.garrett@legis.iowa.gov
 
Senator Wally E. Horn (D-35)
wally.horn@legis.iowa.gov
 
Senator Janet Petersen (D-18)
janet.petersen@legis.iowa.gov
 
Senator Herman C. Quirmbach (D-23)
herman.quirmbach@legis.iowa.gov
 
Senator Steven J. Sodders (D-36)
steve.sodders@legis.iowa.gov
 
Senator Rich Taylor (D-42)
rich.taylor@legis.iowa.gov
 
Senator Jack Whitver (R-19)
jack.whitver@legis.iowa.gov
 
Senator Brad Zaun (R-20)
brad.zaun@legis.iowa.gov

Print
Email
Share