Arizona: Important Pro-Gun Bills to be Heard in Arizona House Judiciary Committee Tomorrow

Posted on February 12, 2014

Print
Email
Share

Tomorrow, February 13, the Arizona House Judiciary Committee is scheduled to consider two pro-gun bills, House Bill 2517 and House Bill 2535 at 9:00 a.m. in HHR 4 of the state Capitol.

HB 2517, introduced by state Representative Steve Smith (R-11), would strengthen Arizona’s firearms preemption laws.  Currently, the firearms preemption statute reserves the regulation of firearms for the state legislature.  This bill would fortify firearm and ammunition laws through consistency and a provision that would impose penalties for willful or knowing violations of this statute by localities.

HB 2535, introduced by state Representative John Kavanagh (R-23), would require that when certification from a chief law enforcement officer is a prerequisite by federal law for the transfer of a firearm or firearm suppressor -- as defined in the National Firearms Act -- such certification must be provided within fifteen days if the applicant is not prohibited by law from receiving the firearm or firearm suppressor.  This legislation would ensure deadlines are met and that individuals who are lawfully seeking to transfer a firearm or firearm suppressor are able to do so in an expeditious manner.  Additionally, HB 2535 would provide an individual who has been denied certification with a written explanation for the denial.

Using the contact information provided below, please call AND e-mail members of the House Judiciary Committee today and encourage them to support HB 2517 and HB 2535.

  

House Judiciary Committee:

Representative Eddie Farnsworth (R-12), Chairman
(602) 926-5735
efarnsworth@azleg.gov
 
Representative Justin Pierce (R-25), Vice-Chairman
(602) 926-5495
jpierce@azleg.gov
 
Representative John Allen (R-15)
(602) 926-4916
jallen@azleg.gov
 
Representative Lupe Chavira Contreras (D-19)
(602) 926-5284
lcontreras@azleg.gov
 
Representative Doris Goodale (R-5)
(602) 926-5408
dgoodale@azleg.gov
 
Representative Albert Hale (D-7)
(602) 926-4323
ahale@azleg.gov
 
Representative Ethan Orr (R-9)
(602) 926-3235
eorr@azleg.gov
 
Representative Martin Quezada (D-29)
(602) 926-5911
mquezada@azleg.gov
 

Print
Email
Share