Nevada: Background Check Bill to be Heard in Committee on Monday

Posted on May 3, 2013

Print
Email
Share

On Monday, May 6, Senate Bill 221 will be heard by the Senate Finance Committee at 8:00 am in Room 2134 of the Legislative Building, 401 South Carson Street in Carson City.  As amended by the Senate Health and Human Services Committee, SB 221 criminalizes otherwise lawful private transfers of firearms unless the transaction goes through a Federal Firearms Licensed dealer (FFL).  SB 221, sponsored by state Senator Justin Jones (D-9), also makes revisions to Nevada law regarding mental health. 

An individual who fails to comply with the new background check transfer requirements would be prohibited from possessing a firearm for a period of two years after being found guilty of a gross misdemeanor.  It is critical that you contact members of the Senate Finance Committee and urge them to OPPOSE SB 221.

Senate Finance Committee:

Senator Debbie Smith – Chairman (D-13)

(775) 391-8031

Debbie.Smith@sen.state.nv.us

 

Senator Joyce Woodhouse - Vice Chairman (D-5)

(702) 896-1453

Joyce.Woodhouse@sen.state.nv.us

 

Senator David R. Parks (D-7)

(702) 736-6929

David.parks@sen.state.nv.us

 

Senator Moises (Mo) Denis (D-2)

(702) 657-6857

Moises.Denis@sen.state.nv.us

 

Senator Ben Kieckhefer (R-16)

(775) 223-9618

Ben.Kieckhefer@sen.state.nv.us

 

Senator Michael Roberson (R-20)

(702) 612-6929

Michael.Roberson@sen.state.nv.us

 

Senator Pete Goicoechea (R-19)

(775) 237-5300

Pete.Goicoechea@sen.state.nv.us

 

Print
Email
Share