Tennessee: School Security Bills Scheduled for Consideration Tomorrow

Posted on April 2, 2013

Print
Email
Share

Tomorrow, House Bill 6, sponsored by state Representative Eric Watson (R-22), is scheduled to be considered by the state House Civil Justice Committee.  The companion to HB 6, Senate Bill 570, is expected to be heard in the Senate Education Committee tomorrow as well.  HB 6/SB 570 would allow educational professionals who are licensed to carry a concealed firearm, and also meet other requirements, to carry a concealed firearm on school grounds.

If the licensed teacher has the permission of the superintendent, undergoes additional training and uses frangible ammunition, HB 6/SB 570 would allow them to carry a firearm in order to further protect the children they take care of every day.

We trust teachers with the well-being and education of our children.  House Bill 6 and Senate Bill 570 would provide school faculty members and administrators, who choose to do so, the ability to effectively defend themselves and the children they teach against any threat.  Please contact members of the House Civil Justice Committee TODAY and respectfully urge their support for House Bill 6.  Also, please contact members of the Senate Education Committee and ask them to support Senate Bill 570.  Contact information for members of these committees is provided below.

House Civil Justice Committee:

Representative Jon Lundberg (Chairman)
(615) 741-7623
Rep.jon.lundberg@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Rick Womick (Vice Chairman)
(615) 741-2804
Rep.rick.womick@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Harry Brooks
(615) 741-6879
Rep.harry.brooks@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Mike Carter
(615) 741-3025
Rep.mike.carter@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Jim Coley
(615) 741-8201
Rep.jim.coley@capitol.tn.gov

Representative John DeBerry
(615) 741-2239
Rep.john.deberry@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Vance Dennis
(615) 741-2190
Rep.vance.dennis@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Andrew Farmer
(615) 741-4419
Rep.andrew.farmer@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Ryan Haynes
(615) 741-2264
Rep.ryan.haynes@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Sherry Jones
(615) 741-2035
Rep.sherry.jones@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Mike Stewart
(615) 741-2184
Rep.mike.stewart@capitol.tn.gov

Senate Education Committee:

Senator Dolores Gresham (Chairman)
(615) 741-2368
Sen.dolores.gresham@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Reginald Tate (1st Vice-Chairman)
(615) 741-2509
Sen.reginald.tate@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Steven Dickerson (2nd Vice-Chairman)
(615) 741-6679
Sen.steven.dickerson@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Charlotte Burks
(615) 741-3978
Sen.charlotte.burks@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Stacey Campfield
(615) 741-1766
Sen.stacey.campfield@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Rusty Crowe
(615) 741-2468
Sen.rusty.crowe@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Todd Gardenhire
(615) 741-6682
Sen.todd.gardenhire@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Joey Hensley
(615) 741-3100
Sen.joey.hensley@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Brian Kelsey
(615) 741-3036
Sen.stacey.campfield@capitol.tn.gov

Print
Email
Share