Missouri: Senate Passes Legislation to Protect your Permit Privacy

Posted on April 23, 2013

Print
Email
Share

Last night, the Missouri Senate unanimously approved House Bill 8, a funding measure that transfers to Missouri sheriffs the authority for issuance of Right-to-Carry permit certificates and the permits themselves from the Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR).  As previously reported, there have been several reports that the DOR was collecting and sharing personal documents from individuals receiving a concealed carry endorsement with third parties, including the federal government.  This recordkeeping and sharing of private documents by the DOR is a serious violation of public trust.  Please contact your state Senator and thank him or her for voting for HB 8, an important measure to protect your right to privacy.  HB 8 will now be sent back to the state House for a concurrence vote.

Not only is the Missouri Legislature taking swift action to remove DOR’s role in the permit issuing process, they are also acting on legislation that would prohibit the DOR from sharing personal information with the federal government or other agencies.  House Bill 787 and Senate Bill 252 seek to limit the DOR’s ability to scan, store and share your private information.  HB 787, sponsored by state Representative Todd Richardson (R-152), has been assigned to the Senate Transportation and Infrastructure Committee and SB 252, sponsored by state Senator Will Kraus (R-8), has been assigned to the House Government Oversight Committee.

While HB 787 and SB 252 are currently awaiting a committee hearing, please contact members of these committees TODAY in support of legislation that would protect your privacy rights.

Contact the House Government Oversight Committee to support Senate Bill 252:

Representative Jay Barnes (Chairman) (R-60)
(573) 751-2412
Jay.Barnes@house.mo.gov

Representative Mark Parkinson (Vice-Chair) (R-105)
(573) 751-2949
Mark.parkinson@house.mo.gov

Representative Tom Flanigan (R-163)
(573) 751-5458
Thomas.Flanigan@house.mo.gov

Representative Kevin McManus (D-36)
(573) 751-9469
Kevin.McManus@house.mo.gov

Representative Jeffrey Messenger (R-130)
(573) 751-2381
Jeff.Messenger@house.mo.gov

Representative Gina Mitten (D-83)
(573) 751-2883
Gina.Mitten@house.mo.gov

Representative Chris Molendorp (R-56)
(573) 751-2175
Chris.Molendorp@house.mo.gov

Representative Tommie Pierson (D-66)
(573) 751-6845
Tommie.Pierson@house.mo.gov

Representative Todd Richardson (R-152)
(573) 751-4039
Todd.Richardson@house.mo.gov

Contact the Senate Transportation and Infrastructure Committee to support House Bill 787:

Senator Mike Kehoe (Chairman) (R-6)
(573) 751-2076
Email

Senator John Lamping (Vice-Chairman) (R-24)
(573) 751-2514
Email

Senator Bob Dixon (R-30)
(573) 751-2583
Email

Senator Brian Munzlinger (R-18)
(573) 751-7985

Senator Jay Wasson (R-20)
(573) 751-1503
Email

Senator Jason Holsman (D-7)
(573) 751-6607

Senator Ryan McKenna (D-22)
(573) 751-1492
Email

Print
Email
Share