Nevada: Three Gun Bills Scheduled for a Hearing this Wednesday, April 3

Posted on April 1, 2013

Print
Email
Share

Assembly Bill 234, introduced by Assemblyman William Horne (D-34), is an all-out attack on the Second Amendment for imposing an excise tax on every Nevada firearms dealer who sells firearms or ammunition in the state.  Dealers will be required to charge a $25 tax on every firearm and 2 cents on each round of ammunition sold!  The extremist anti-gun authors of AB 234 are seeking to punish the exercise of a specific constitutional right in order to fund state mental health and crime victimization programs with this new tax.  While the NRA supports reasonable steps to fix the broken mental health system in our country, singling out law-abiding gun owners with a gun and ammo tax is NOT the way to achieve this goal.

AB 234 would also require background checks on all private transfers of firearms, unless the person to whom the gun is being transferred possesses a CCW.  AB 234 also authorizes a civil cause of action to be brought against a person who fails to request a background check before transferring their firearm.

Finally, AB 234 would outlaw the mere possession of any “metal penetrating bullets” and any ammunition which is considered to be “tracer or incendiary” in nature, making possession (not misuse) of either a gross misdemeanor.

Please contact members of the Assembly Judiciary Committee and urge them to OPPOSE AB 234.  Contact information for committee members is provided below.

Two Pro-Gun Measures Also to be Heard the Same Day

Assembly Bill 143, introduced by Assemblyman Michael Fiore (R-4), would allow individuals who hold a CCW permit to carry their firearm on the property of the Nevada System of Higher Education (NSHU) without first gaining permission from the university president, which is currently mandated by statute.  It has been a long-held policy within the campus administration to not allow permit holders to carry, which has created an environment where students, faculty and staff are left defenseless in gun-free zones.

AB 143 would also authorize county sheriffs and the Police Department of the NSHU to provide CCW permit holders with information on organizations and instructors that provide courses in firearms safety within an educational environment.

Assembly Bill 195, introduced by Assemblymen John Ellison (R-33) and Donald Gustavson (R-14), would help streamline CCW renewals by allowing a person to apply any time before the CCW permit expires.

Please call and e-mail members of the Assembly Judiciary Committee TODAY and urge them to OPPOSE AB 234 and SUPPORT Assembly Bills 143 and 195.

 

Assembly Judiciary Committee:

Assemblyman Jason Frierson (D-8), Chairman

702-280-2981

jason.Frierson@asm.state.nv.us

 

Assemblyman James Ohrenschall (D-12), Vice-Chairman

702-432-6999

james.Ohrenschall@asm.state.nv.us

 

Assemblyman Richard Carrillo (D-18)

702-273-8786

richard.Carrillo@asm.state.nv.us

 

Assemblywoman Lesley E. Cohen (D-29)

702-715-0772

lesley.Cohen@asm.state.nv.us

 

Assemblywoman Olivia Diaz (D-11)

702-501-8994

olivia.Diaz@asm.state.nv.us

 

Assemblywoman Marilyn Dondero Loop (D-5)

702-556-0224

marilyn.DonderoLoop@asm.state.nv.us

 

Assemblyman Andrew Martin (D-9)

702-724-8349

andrew.Martin@asm.state.nv.us

 

Assemblywoman Ellen B. Spiegel (D-20)

702-577-2167

ellen.Spiegel@asm.state.nv.us

 

Assemblyman Wesley Duncan (R-37)

702-767-3733

wesley.Duncan@asm.state.nv.us

 

Assemblywoman Michele Fiore (R-4)

702-302-5163

Michele.Fiore@asm.state.nv.us

 

Assemblyman Ira Hansen (R-32)

775-221-2502

ira.Hansen@asm.state.nv.us

 

Assemblyman Jim Wheeler (R-39)

775-546-3471

jim.Wheeler@asm.state.nv.us

Print
Email
Share