Indiana: Senate Committee to Hear NRA-Backed Hunting Reform on Monday

Posted on March 15, 2013


On Monday, March 18 at 10 a.m., the Senate Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee will hear House Bill 1563 that would allow hunters in Indiana to use lawfully-possessed suppressors (also referred to as silencers) on firearms while hunting.  HB 1563, sponsored by state Representative Sean Eberhart (R-57) and state senators Carlin Yoder (R-12) and Richard Young (D-47), recently passed in the Indiana House by an overwhelming 96-2 vote.

Currently, more than half of the states allow hunters to use suppressors while hunting.  There are numerous benefits to hunting with suppressed firearms, including:

  • Increased use of suppressors will help to eliminate noise complaints that are frequently an excuse to close hunting lands throughout the country.  This will protect hunting areas well into the future.
  • Using a suppressor while hunting will reduce recoil and muzzle rise to help increase the accuracy of hunters.  More accurate shooting in the field means fewer wounded and lost animals--a good thing for hunters and wildlife.
  • While suppressors do not eliminate the sound of a firearm, they do reduce the muzzle report in a manner similar to the way that a muffler reduces exhaust noise from a vehicle.  Suppressors simply help to protect against hearing loss.

Recently, Arizona, Oklahoma, Texas and Wyoming adopted new rules allowing for the use of suppressors when hunting game.  It’s time that hunters in Indiana are able to enjoy the same opportunities available to sportsmen in more than half of the country.  For more information on hunting with suppressors, click here.

Please contact members of the Senate Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee below and respectfully urge them to support House Bill 1563:

Senator Carlin Yoder (R-12), Chairman

Senator Michael Crider (R-28)

Senator Lindel Hume (D-48)

Senator Dennis Kruse (R-14)

Senator Ryan Mishler (R-9)

Senator Tim Skinner (D-38)

Senator John Waterman (R-39)

Senator Brent Steele (R-44)

Senator Jim Tomes (R-49)

Senator Richard Young, Jr. (D-47)