Arkansas: House Committee to Hear Faculty Campus Carry Bill Tomorrow

Posted on February 11, 2013

Print
Email
Share

Contact Members of the House Education Committee and Urge Them to Support House Bill 1243

Tomorrow, February 12 at 10:00 a.m., the House Education Committee is scheduled to hear House Bill 1243.  If possible, please attend this important hearing in Room 137 of the State Capitol.

HB 1243, introduced by state Representative Charlie Collins (R-84), would allow staff and faculty of a public university, public college or community college, to carry a concealed handgun in the buildings of the institutions where they are employed if they have a valid Concealed Handgun Carry License (CHCL).  It would also remove the absolute prohibition of CHCL holders from carrying a concealed firearm into the buildings of a private university or college.  Private universities and colleges would still be permitted to establish their own restrictions on CHCL holders.

HB 1243 will face strong opposition from those opposed to personal protection on school campuses, so it is important that you call AND e-mail members of the House Education Committee TODAY and urge them to support HB 1243.  Remind them that this legislation is not unique since 23 states have enacted concealed carry laws that do not prohibit the possession of firearms by license holders on college and university campuses.  Also, let them know that HB 1243 will only affect faculty and staff of these institutions who have a valid CHCL, which means they have undergone a thorough background check and received training in the carrying and use of a concealed firearm.

Contact information for members of the House Education Committee:

Representative James McLean , Chairman
870-613-0617
vote.james.mclean@gmail.com

Representative Ann V. Clemmer , Vice Chairman
501-316-0364
avclemmer@sbcglobal.net

Representative Debra M. Hobbs
479-636-3982
debra.hobbs@arkansashouse.org

Representative Les "Skip" Carnine
479-636-2619
les.carnine@arkansashouse.org

Representative Robert E. Dale
479-970-3503
redale70@yahoo.com

Representative Karen S. Hopper
870-431-8934
karen.hopper@arkansashouse.org

Representative Jody Dickinson
870-523-8222
jdickinson20@gmail.com

Representative John Charles Edwards
501-378-5500
jcedwardslaw@aol.com

Representative Mark Biviano
501-230-5751
mkbiv@cablelynx.com

Representative John Catlett
479-495-9662
John.Catlett@arkansashouse.org

Representative Homer Lenderman
870-926-7914
homer.lenderman@arkansashouse.org

Representative Gary Deffenbaugh
479-719-8197
Gary.Deffenbaugh@arkansashouse.org

Representative Jon S. Eubanks
479-438-0533
Jon.Eubanks@arkansashouse.org

Representative Sheilla E. Lampkin
870-723-6449
Sheilla.Lampkin@arkansashouse.org

Representative James Ratliff
501-454-5200
jamesratliff3468@yahoo.com

Representative Bruce Cozart
501-627-3232
bruce.cozart@arkansashouse.org

Representative Charlotte Vining Douglas
479-632-2187
douglasforarkansas@yahoo.com

Representative Mark Lowery
501-837-5221
markdlowery@mac.com

Representative Charles L. Armstrong
501-224-5071
ffa191@sbcglobal.net

Representative Brent Talley
870-983-2717
brent.talley@arkansashouse.org

 

Print
Email
Share

Further Reading