Alaska: Important Self-Defense Legislation to be Heard in House Committee Tomorrow

Posted on February 20, 2013

Print
Email
Share

Tomorrow, House Bill 24, important self-defense legislation introduced by state Representative Mark Neuman (R-10), will be heard by the House Finance Committee.  This hearing will take place at 1:30 p.m. in room 519 of the state Capitol and will also be teleconferenced at local Legislative Information Offices.  For more information, click here.  Testimony at this hearing is by invitation only; however, it is important that members of the House Finance Committee hear from you supporting this common sense reform. 

Under existing state law, there is no duty-to-retreat if a person is in their home, business or on their own property.  HB 24 would extend this to recognize the right to use force, including deadly force, for self-defense to include anywhere a person has a legal right to be.

If your state Representative serves on the House Finance Committee, please contact him or her TODAY and respectfully urge their support for HB 24.  To determine your state Representative, please click here.  Contact information for members of the House Finance Committee is provided below.

Contact your state Representative and all members of the House Finance Committee at the same time, by taking advantage of Alaska’s Public Opinion Messaging (POM) system offered through Alaska’s Legislative Information Offices (LIO).  For information on the LIOs and how the POM system works, please click here; to utilize the online POM form, please click here.

 

House Finance Committee:

 

Representative Alan Austerman (R-35), Co-Chairman

465-2487

Rep.Alan.Austerman@akleg.gov

 

Representative Bill Stoltze (R-11), Co-Chairman

465-4958

Rep.Bill.Stoltze@akleg.gov

 

Representative Mark Neuman (R-10), Vice Chairman

907/465-2679

Rep.Mark.Neuman@akleg.gov

 

Representative Mia Costello (R-20)

907/465-4968

Rep.Mia.Costello@akleg.gov

 

Representative Bryce Edgmon (D-36)

907/465-4451

Rep.Bryce.Edgmon@akleg.gov

 

Representative Lindsey Holmes (D-19)

907/465-4919

Rep.Lindsey.Holmes@akleg.gov

 

Representative Les Gara (D-18)

907/465-2647

Rep.Les.Gara@akleg.gov

 

Representative David Guttenberg (D-38)

907/456-4457

Rep.David.Guttenberg@akleg.gov

 

Representative Cathy Munoz (R-31)

907/465-3744

Rep.Cathy.Munoz@akleg.gov

 

Representative Steve Thompson (R-3)

907/465-3004

Rep.Steve.Thompson@akleg.gov

 

Representative Tammie Wilson (R-2)

907/465-4797

Rep.Tammie.Wilson@akleg.gov

 

Representative Mike Hawker (R-27), Alternate Member

907/465-4949

Rep.Mike.Hawker@akleg.gov

 

Representative Scott Kawasaki (D-4), Alternate Member

907/465-3466

Rep.Scott.Kawasaki@akleg.gov

Print
Email
Share

Further Reading

  • Alaska: Important Self-Defense Legislation to be Heard Tomorrow

    House Bill 24, introduced by state Representative Mark Neuman (R-10), is important self-defense legislation.  Under existing state law, there is no duty-to-retreat if a person is in their home, business, or on their own property.  HB 24 would extend this to recognize the right to use force, including deadly force, for self-defense anywhere a person has a legal right to be.  
    FULL STORY