Washington Shooting Range Protection Bill Needs Your Help!

Posted on January 13, 2012

Print
Email
Share

Please contact members of the House Judiciary Committee TODAY!

Yesterday, House Bill 1508, a vital shooting range protection bill, introduced by state Representatives Dean Takko (D-19), Tim Probst (D-17), and Kevin Van De Wege (D-24), was heard in the House Judiciary Committee.  Due to the short legislative session, this bill needs to be voted on soon, if it is going to pass this year.

Shooting ranges are critical to competitive and recreational shooters, hunters, law enforcement, and for individuals who just want to practice for self-defense.  Shooting ranges should be both accessible and affordable for everyone.  However, expanding populations are encroaching on shooting ranges and threatening their existence.

Forty-eight states have recognized the importance of protecting shooting ranges and have passed similar legislation.  Hawaii and Washington are the only two states without a range protection law.  Furthermore, there are currently several shooting ranges in Washington that are facing legal battles and burdensome regulations, which if not addressed, could result in their closure.

House Bill 1508 is narrowly focused on noise issues and would do the following:

1)     ensure that existing ranges are protected against civil liability and criminal charges related to noise pollution (it would not tie the hands of local government to regulate future ranges, nor unsafe ranges); and

2)     benefit the public-at-large by providing gun owners with a safe place to shoot.

Please contact your state Representative today and respectfully urge him or her to support House Bill 1508.  You can reach your state Representative at the toll-free legislative hotline by dialing (800) 562-6000.  To determine who is your state Representative, please click here.

If your state Representative is a member of the House Judiciary Committee and his or her “Yes” vote will be instrumental in ensuring the passage of this bill.  Please call AND e-mail your state Representative TODAY and respectfully urge him or her to support HB 1508.  You can also leave your state Representative a short message on the toll-free, legislative hotline, by dialing (800) 562-6000.  Contact information for the House Judiciary Committee is also provided below:

Representative Jamie Pedersen, Chairman (D-43)
(360) 786-7826
jamie.pedersen@leg.wa.gov

Representative Roger E. Goodman, Vice Chairman (D-45)
(360) 786-7878
roger.goodman@leg.wa.gov

Representative Bruce Chandler (R-15)
(360) 786-7960
bruce.chandler@leg.wa.gov

Representative Deborah H. Eddy (D-48)
(360) 786-7848
deborah.eddy@leg.wa.gov
 
Representative Drew Hansen (D-23)
(360) 786-7842
drew.hansen@leg.wa.gov

Representative Steve Kirby (D-29)
(360) 786-7996
steve.kirby@leg.wa.gov

Representative Brad Klippert (R-8)
(360) 786-7882
brad.klippert@leg.wa.gov

Representative Terry Nealey (R-16)
(360) 786-7828
terry.nealey@leg.wa.gov

Representative Tina Orwall (D-33)
(360) 786-7834
tina.orwall@leg.wa.gov

Representative Ann Rivers (R-18)
(360) 786-7850
ann.rivers@leg.wa.gov

Representative Mary Helen Roberts (D-21)
(360) 786-7950
maryhelen.roberts@leg.wa.gov

Representative Jay Rodne (R-5)
(360) 786-7852
jay.rodne@leg.wa.gov

Representative Matt Shea (R-4)
(360) 786-7984
matt.shea@leg.wa.gov

Print
Email
Share

Further Reading

  • Close Range

    With shooting ranges increasingly under attack, range operators and shooters should know how to fight lawsuits designed to shut them down.
    FULL STORY

  • S. 1249/H. R. 3065: Promoting Target Ranges

    The expansion of America’s urban and suburban areas has crowded out many shooting areas and made it increasingly difficult to find a place to shoot. Senators Mark Udall (D-Colo.) and James Risch (R-Idaho) have introduced S. 1249, a bill that would help remedy this problem by promoting the construction and maintenance of target ranges on public lands. In the U.S. House of Representatives, Reps. Heath Shuler (D-N.C.) and Duncan Hunter (R-Calif.) have introduced a companion bill, H. R. 3065.
    FULL STORY

  • Range Protection Laws

    Shooting ranges have a long tradition of service to a wide variety of citizen groups in local communities. However, population shifts from urban to suburban or rural areas have placed people in closer proximity to ranges.
    FULL STORY