Three Arkansas Pro-Gun Bills Pending Action!

Posted on February 6, 2009

Print
Email
Share

Three pro-gun bills are currently pending action in the Arkansas Legislature.

Senate Joint Resolution 3, introduced by pro-gun State Senator Steve Faris (D-27), would amend the Constitution of the State of Arkansas to recognize that the people have a right to hunt and fish.  Passage of SJR 3 by the General Assembly would allow the voters of Arkansas to decide if hunting and fishing will be protected for future generations.  This measure is critical, as anti-hunting groups such as People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA) and the Humane Society of the United States (HSUS) will one day turn their sights on Arkansas in their efforts to eliminate our nation’s long-standing traditions of hunting and fishing. 

House Bill 1237, authored by pro-gun State Representative Beverly Pyle (R-83), would permit churches to decide for themselves whether they will allow Right-to-Carry permit holders to carry their firearms when attending church.  Currently, state law singles our churches as the only private property where firearms are prohibited.  This bill passed out of the House Judiciary Committee this week, but was re-referred to that committee on Thursday, February 5. 

Finally, House Bill 1097, introduced by pro-gun State Representative Randy Stewart (D-23), would allow a Right-to-Carry permit holder to secure his self-defense firearm in his vehicle when parked in the campus parking lot of any private or public institution of higher learning.  It would also allow the same when the vehicle is parked in the parking lot or parking area of the State Capitol grounds.  Currently, the prohibition on carrying a firearm by a Right-to-Carry permit holder in either area includes a prohibition on keeping the firearm secured in a vehicle.  This means that, in order to comply with the law, permit holders would need to leave their means for self-defense at home if their travel might include a visit to either prohibited area.  HB 1097 would remove this burden, while still maintaining the prohibition against actually carrying a concealed firearm at either location. 

Please contact members of the House Judiciary Committee and urge them to support HB 1237 and HB 1097.  Also, please contact your State Legislators and respectfully urge them to support SJR3.  Contact information for the Judiciary Committee can be found below.  To find contact information for your State Legislators, please click here.

State Representative Steve Harrelson (D-1) Chairman
Email: steve@steveharrelson.com

State Representative Joan Cash (D-75)
Email: cashj@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Dawn Creekmore (D-27)
Email: creekmored@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Lindsley Smith (D-92)
Email: smithl@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Tommy Lee Baker (D-55)
Email: bakert@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative David Powers (D-3)
Email: powersd@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Johnnie Roebuck (D-20)
Email: roebuckj@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Barry Hyde (D-40)
Email: bhyde@hydco.com

State Representative Duncan Baird (R-95)
Email: bairdd@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Debra Hobbs (R-95)
Email: dhobbs55@sbcglobal.net

State Representative Andrea Lea (R-68)
Email: leaa@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Butch Wilkins (D-74)
Email: wilkinsb@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Terry Rice (R-62)
Email: ricet@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Darin Williams (D-36)
Email: williamsd@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Steve Cole (D-21)
Email: coles@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Ann Clemmer (R-29)
Email: avclemmer@sbcglobal.net

State Representative Davy Carter (R-48)
Email: davy.carter@gmail.com

State Representative Jim Nickels (D-43)
Email: nickelsj@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Tiffany Rogers (D-14)
Email: rogerst@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Mary Slinkard (R-100)
Email: slinkardm@arkleg.state.ar.us

Print
Email
Share