Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Pennsylvania: Possible Pigeon Shooting Ban Amendment to House Bill 1750

Tuesday, June 24, 2014

Discussions are underway in the Pennsylvania Senate to amend a ban on pigeon shooting into House Bill 1750 in the Senate Judiciary Committee.  These attempts could happen as early as tomorrow, and your immediate action is needed to ensure this amendment is defeated. 

This legislation would criminalize organized pigeon shoots in Pennsylvania by amending Title 18 ("Crimes and Offenses") of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes.

Pigeon shooting is a traditional shooting sport and has many participants throughout the Commonwealth and around the world.  Shoots have been held in Pennsylvania for more than a hundred years.  Their participants are law-abiding, ethical shooting enthusiasts, hunters, and sportsmen.

Of course, opposition to pigeon shooting does not come from within the Commonwealth, but from the outside.  National animal “rights” extremist groups, led by the Humane Society of the United States (HSUS), have organized and funded efforts in Pennsylvania and around the country to ban this longstanding traditional shooting sport. 

Using the contact information provided below, please call and e-mail members of the Senate Judiciary Committee and respectfully urge them to OPPOSE any attempt to ban this shooting sport in Pennsylvania.  Please also call your state Senator and urge him or her to oppose these efforts. 


Senate Judiciary Committee Members: 

Senator Stewart J. Greenleaf (R-12), Chairman
(717) 787-6599
sgreenleaf@pasen.gov
 
Senator Daylin Leach (D-17), Minority Chairman
(717) 787-5544
 
Senator John C. Rafferty Jr. (R-44)
(717) 787-1398 
jrafferty@pasen.gov
 
Senator Joseph B. Scarnati III (R-25)
(717) 787-7084 
jscarnati@pasen.gov
 
Senator Richard L. Alloway II (R-33)
(717) 787-4651 
alloway@pasen.gov
 
Senator John H. Eichelberger Jr. (R-30)
(717) 787-5490
jeichelberger@pasen.gov


Senator John R. Gordner (R-27)
(717) 787-8928 
E-mail

 
Senator Dominic Pileggi (R-9)
(717) 787-4712 
E-mail

 
Senator Randy Vulakovich (R-40)
(717) 787-6538 
E-mail

 
Senator Gene Yaw (R-23)
(717) 787-3280 
gyaw@pasen.gov
 
Senator Lisa M. Boscola (D-18)
(717) 787-4236 
boscola@pasenate.com
 
Senator Lawrence M. Farnese Jr. (D -1)
(717) 787-5662
farnese@pasenate.com
 
Senator Wayne D. Fontana (D -42)
(717) 787-5300 
fontana@pasenate.com
 
Senator Michael J. Stack (D-5)
(717) 787-9608 
stack@pasenate.com

IN THIS ARTICLE
Pennsylvania Hunting

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.