NRA Explore
APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Tennessee: Pro-Gun Bills to Receive Committee Hearings this Week

Monday, March 17, 2014

Tomorrow and Wednesday, multiple pro-gun bills will be considered in the Senate Judiciary Committee and in the House Civil Justice Subcommittee.

Tomorrow at 3:30 p.m., in Legislative Plaza Room 12 of the state Capitol, the Senate Judiciary Committee will consider the following bills:

Senate Bill 2031, sponsored by state Senator Joey Hensley (R-28), would remove all grandfathered local ordinances and resolutions enacted before April 8, 1986 relating to the prohibition or regulation of possession, transportation or storage of firearms and firearm ammunition by Handgun Carry Permit (HCP) holders.

Senate Bill 1672, sponsored by state Senator Steve Southerland (R-1), would extend the term or validity of a Tennessee HCP from four to five years.

Senate Bill 1774, sponsored by state Senator Mike Bell (R-9), would allow a law-abiding gun owner to carry a firearm in his or her own vehicle without a HCP.

Senate Bill 1612, sponsored by state Senator Mark Green (R-22), would strengthen the current state firearms preemption statute by giving all authority relating to firearms laws and regulations to the General Assembly.

This Wednesday at 3:00 p.m., in House Hearing Room 31 (HHR 31) of the state Capitol, the House Civil Justice Subcommittee will consider the following bills:

House Bill 1399, sponsored by state Representative Judd Matheny (R-47), is the House companion bill to SB 1612 above.

House Bill 1400, sponsored by state Representative Tilman Goins (R-10), is the House companion bill to SB 1672 above.

House Bill 1480, sponsored by state Representative Jeremy Faison (R-11), is the House companion bill to SB 1774 above.

 

Please contact members of Senate Judiciary Committee and House Civil Justice Subcommittee today and respectfully urge them to vote for the pro-gun bills listed above.  Contact information for members of those committees is provided below.

In addition to the bills listed above, House Bill 1407 is scheduled to be heard this Wednesday, March 19 in the House Finance, Ways and Means Subcommittee.  HB 1407, sponsored by state Representative Tilman Goins (R-10), would allow for a handgun carry permit holder to carry lawfully a firearm in all state, county and municipal parks.  Please contact members of the House Finance, Ways and Means Subcommittee and urge them to vote for HB 1407.  Contact information for these committee members is also provided below.

  

Senate Judiciary Committee (SB 2031, SB 1672, SB 1774, SB 1612):
 
Senator Brian Kelsey (R-31), Chairman
(615) 741-3036
Sen.brian.kelsey@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Doug Overbey (R-2)
(615) 741-0981
Sen.doug.overbey@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Stacey Campfield (R-7)
(615) 741-1766
Sen.stacey.campfield@capitol.tn.gov

 
Senator Mike Bell (R-9)
(615) 741-1946
Sen.mike.bell@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Lowe Finney (D-27)
(615) 741-1810
Sen.lowe.finney@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Ophelia Ford (D-28)
(615) 741-1767
Sen.ophelia.ford@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Todd Gardenhire (R-10)
(615) 741-6682
Sen.todd.gardenhire@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Mark Green (R-22)
(615) 741-2374
Sen.mark.green@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator John Stevens (R-24)
(615) 741-4576
Sen.john.stevens@capitol.tn.go
 
 
House Civil Justice Subcommittee (HB 1399, HB 1400, HB 1480):
 
Representative Jim Coley (R-97), Chairman
(615) 741-8201
Rep.jim.coley@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Jon Lundberg (R-1)
(615) 741-7623
Rep.jon.lundberg@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Rick Womick (R-34)
(615) 741-2804
Rep.rick.womick@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Mike Carter (R-29)
(615) 741-3025
Rep.mike.carter@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Vance Dennis (R-71)
(615) 741-2190
Rep.vance.dennis@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Andrew Farmer (R-17)
(615) 741-4419
Rep.andrew.farmer@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Sherry Jones (D-59)
(615) 741-2035
Rep.sherry.jones@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Mike Stewart (D-52)
(615) 741-2184
Rep.mike.stewart@capitol.tn.gov
 
 
House Finance Ways, and Means Subcommittee (HB 1407):
 
Representative Mike Harrison (R-9), Chairman
(615) 741-7480
Rep.mike.harrison@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative David Alexander (R-39)
(615) 741-8695
Rep.david.alexander@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Joe Armstrong (D-15)
(615) 741-0768
Rep.joe.armstrong@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Kevin Brooks (R-24)
(615) 741-1350
Rep.kevin.brooks@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Karen D. Camper (D-87)
(615) 741-1898
Rep.karen.camper@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Craig Fitzhugh (D-82)
(615) 741-2134
Rep.craig.fitzhugh@capitol.tn.go
 
Representative David B. Hawk (R-5)
(615) 741-7482
Rep.david.hawk@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Gerald McCormick (R-26)
(615) 741-2548
Rep.gerald.mccormick@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Steve McDaniel (R-72)
(615) 741-0750
Rep.steve.mcdaniel@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Gary Odom (D-55)
(615) 741-4410
Rep.gary.odom@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Dennis Edward Roach (R-35)
(615) 741-2534
Rep.dennis.roach@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Charles Michael Sargent (R-61)
(615) 741-6808
Rep.charles.sargent@capitol.tn.gov

TRENDING NOW

News  

Friday, July 31, 2015

Gun Control "Study" Misses the Mark Badly on Lawful Self-Defense

Likely as a response to the growing number of American’s who have come to realize that having a ...

News  

Friday, July 31, 2015

Take Two Losses and Call Me in the Morning: Florida Court Again Sides With Patient Privacy, Hands Nosy Doctors Second Defeat

Anti-gun doctors may need to get their own blood pressure checked after the U.S. Court of Appeals for ...

News  

Friday, July 31, 2015

Los Angeles City Council Targets Law-Abiding With Magazine Ban

Back in 2013, the city of Los Angeles’s city council proposed an ordinance banning the possession of magazines ...

News  

Tuesday, July 28, 2015

President’s Column: If Gun Restrictions Were Applied To Technology, They Would Not Compute

What if computer owners were the object of Bloomberg’s lies? What would be the public reaction if the ...

Friday, July 31, 2015

Bill Seeks to Choke Off Anti-Gun "Choke Point"

Only July 30, The House Financial Services Committee marked up and passed out of committee H.R. 766, the ...

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, July 31, 2015

Famed Law Professor, Defense Attorney Latest to Suggest Second Amendment Needs to Go

The legal profession is full of blowhards, egomaniacs, hypocrites, and elitists, but even so, rarely are all those ...

News  

Friday, July 24, 2015

Gun Control Group Would Endanger Military by Politicizing Firearm Procurement Process

As if misguided anti-gun policies that leave our fighting men and women defenseless stateside weren’t enough, some gun ...

News  

Wednesday, July 29, 2015

NRA Thanks Alabama Attorney General for Defending Gun Rights

The National Rifle Association’s Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) today commended Alabama Attorney General Luther Strange for upholding the Second Amendment rights of Alabamans. After reviewing and investigating complaints from citizens about state and local ...

Thursday, July 30, 2015

California: City of Los Angeles’ Magazine Confiscation Ordinance Heading to Mayor’s Office

Unfortunately, on Tuesday, July 28, 2015, the City Council voted unanimously to adopt the amended, yet still useless, ...

News  

Friday, July 31, 2015

When Bureaucrats Make “Sport” of Fundamental Liberties, Congress Must Act

In May, I discussed the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives’ varying interpretations of the phrase “sporting ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.