Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

West Virginia: Permit Confidentiality Legislation Needs Your Help

Wednesday, February 19, 2014

A bill to ensure permit holder confidentiality is currently awaiting consideration in the state House Judiciary Committee and will not move further unless it is scheduled for a hearing and passed in committee before the Friday, February 21 deadline.  House Bill 4310, sponsored by Delegate Rupie Phillips (D-24), would ensure the confidentiality of personal information of all current and renewing applicants for deadly weapons permits.  Additionally, it would make the personal information of those persons who have earned a concealed deadly weapons permit private to everyone other than law enforcement agencies.

This legislation is essential for the protection of law-abiding gun owners in the Mountain State.  Recently, there have been several instances of anti-gun media outlets publishing the names and addresses of concealed carry permit holders which jeopardizes the safety and violates the privacy of law-abiding citizens.  Such publications place lawful permit holders at risk to criminals who may target their home to steal firearms.  HB 4310 would ensure that this never happens in West Virginia.  An individual exercising his or her Second Amendment rights should not be put at risk of being a victim of gun theft by the public exposure of their private information, and enactment of this permit confidentiality legislation will prevent such abuse.  The privacy of carry permit holders in 43 states is now protected by laws similar to HB 4310.

Members of the House Judiciary Committee MUST hear from you TODAY.  Urge them to schedule a hearing and vote on HB 4310 by Friday.

This bill needs to be passed in committee before this Friday if it is to move forward in the legislative process.  Let’s not let the Charleston media’s historic lack of support for gun owner’s rights derail this important legislation and pressure committee members into submission.  Using the information provided below, contact Judiciary Committee Chairman Tim Manchin (D-50) and all members of the state House Judiciary Committee and encourage them to schedule and pass this important confidentiality legislation.

Don't forget to forward this alert to your family, friends and fellow gun owners throughout West Virginia and urge them to do the same.

House Judiciary Committee:
 
Delegate Tim Manchin (D-50), Chairman 
304-340-3252     
tmanchin@manchininjurylaw.com
 
Delegate Mark Hunt (D-36), Vice-Chairman 
304-340-3392                     
mhunt@markahunt.com
 
Delegate John Ellem (R-10), Minority Chairman 
304-340-3394                     
john.ellem@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Patrick Lane (R-38), Minority Vice-Chairman 
304-340-3275                     
patrick.lane@wvhouse.gov

 
Delegate Michael Ferro (D-4)      
304-340-3111                     
mike.ferro@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Barbara Fleischauer (D-51)       
304-340-3169                     
barbaraf@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Cindy Frich (R-51)         
304-340-3125                     
cindy.frich@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Bill Hamilton (R-45)
304-340-3167                     
bill.hamilton@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Eric Householder (R-64)
304-340-3274                     

eric.householder@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Lynwood “Woody” Ireland (R-7)
304-340-3195                     
woody.ireland@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Linda Longstreth (D-50)
304-340-3124                     
linda.longstreth@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Dana Lynch (D-44)        
304-340-3916                     
dana.lynch@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Michael Manypenny (D-49)
304-340-3139                     
mike.manypenny@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Justin Marcum (D-20)
304-340-3126                     
justin.marcum@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate John McCuskey (R-35)
304-340-3183                     
john.mccuskey@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Clif Moore (D-26)
304-340-3189                     
clif.moore@wvhouse.gov

Delegate John O'Neal (R-28)
304-340-3164                     
john.oneal@wvhouse.gov

 
Delegate John Pino (D-32)
304-340-3170                     
john.pino@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Meshea Poore (D-37) 
304-340-3106                     
meshea.poore@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate John Shott (R-27)
304-340-3187                     
john.shott@wvsenate.gov
 
Delegate Stephen Skinner (D-67)
304-340-3248                     
stephen.skinner@wvhouse.gov
 

Delegate Kelli Sobonya  (R-18)    
304-340-3175                     
kelli.sobonya@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate Isaac Sponaugle (D-55)
304-340-3154                     
isaac.sponaugle@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Danny Wells (D-36)      
304-340-3287                     
danny.wells@wvhouse.gov
 
Delegate John Overington (R-62)
304-340-3148 
john@overington.com
 

TRENDING NOW
Obama Says Goodbye to America’s Gun Owners with (a Likely Short-lived) Lead Ammo Ban

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Obama Says Goodbye to America’s Gun Owners with (a Likely Short-lived) Lead Ammo Ban

Gun owners knew that Barack Obama would not leave quietly. The only question was what else was coming.  

Federal Appeals Court: Chicago Violates Second Amendment … Again

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Federal Appeals Court: Chicago Violates Second Amendment … Again

On Wednesday, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit found that Chicago had once again violated the Second Amendment, this time with its regulations for gun ranges.

Gun Owners Welcome Donald J. Trump as President of the United States

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Gun Owners Welcome Donald J. Trump as President of the United States

Gun owners across the nation breathed a sigh of relief as Donald J. Trump was sworn in Friday morning as the 45th president of the United States.

Web Scraping: A Means to Push the Anti-Gun Agenda

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Web Scraping: A Means to Push the Anti-Gun Agenda

You may have read recently about a “breaking analysis” that includes numbers derived from a “mass shooting tracker,” which purports to present to the world, real world cases in which mass shootings have occurred.  One ...

New York Times Relies on Gun Prohibitionist Propaganda, Stigmatizes Suicide

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

New York Times Relies on Gun Prohibitionist Propaganda, Stigmatizes Suicide

In a December 5, 2015, front page editorial, the New York Times finally admitted what discerning readers had long understood – that the paper advocates the prohibition and confiscation of certain types of now-lawfully possessed firearms. ...

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

On Monday, Sen. Mike Crapo (R-ID) – joined by co-sponsors Sens. Jerry Moran (R-KS) and Rand Paul (R-KY) – introduced S. 59, the Hearing Protection Act of 2017 (HPA). Similar legislation was introduced in the ...

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

Inspired, perhaps, by Oscar Wilde (“Moderation is a fatal thing. Nothing succeeds like excess”), Washington State Attorney General Bob Ferguson has announced two new sweeping gun control bills, with Sen. David Frockt (D-Seattle) and Rep. ...

New Hampshire: Constitutional/Permitless Carry Bill Passes Senate!

Thursday, January 19, 2017

New Hampshire: Constitutional/Permitless Carry Bill Passes Senate!

Today, Senate Bill 12, legislation eliminating the requirement to obtain a permit in order to lawfully carry, passed the Senate without amendment, by a 13-10 vote.  SB 12 will now go to the House of ...

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

On January 3rd, Congressman Richard Hudson (R-N.C.8th) introduced H.R. 38, the Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act of 2017, which simply allows lawful firearm carriers from any state to carry a concealed firearm in any other state. The bill ...

Maryland: House Committee to Hear Anti-Self-Defense Bill Next Week

Monday, January 23, 2017

Maryland: House Committee to Hear Anti-Self-Defense Bill Next Week

On Tuesday, January 31 at 1:00pm, the House Appropriations Committee is scheduled to hear anti-gun legislation revived after failing last year in the Senate. 

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.