Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites


Tennessee: Senate Committee to Hear Pro-Hunting Bill on Wednesday

Saturday, February 15, 2014

On Wednesday, February 19, the Senate Energy, Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee is scheduled to consider Senate Bill 1777.  This committee hearing will take place at 2:30 p.m., in Room 12 LP of the Tennessee state Capitol.

Sponsored by state Senator Mike Bell (R-9), SB 1777 would amend Tennessee’s current hunter harassment laws by prohibiting anti-hunting radicals from using drones to interfere with those lawfully involved with hunting or fishing.  The House companion to SB 1777, House Bill 1952, sponsored by state Representative Judd Matheny (R-47), has been referred to the House Agriculture and Natural Resources Subcommittee, but has not yet been scheduled for a hearing.

As anti-hunting extremists try to abolish our valued hunting heritage, it is imperative that you call and e-mail members of the Senate Energy, Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee and respectfully ask them to vote in favor of SB 1777.  Contact information for committee members is provided below.


Senate Energy, Agriculture and Natural Resources Committee:

Senator Steve Southerland (R-1), Chairman
(615) 741-3851

Senator Mae Beavers (R-17), 1st Vice-Chairman
(615) 741-2421
Senator Jim Summerville (R-25), 2nd Vice-Chairman
(615) 741-4499

Senator Mike Bell (R-9)
(615) 741-1946
Senator Charlotte Burks (D-15)
(615) 741-3978

Senator Ophelia Ford (D-29)
(615) 741-1767

Senator Todd Gardenhire (R-10)
(615) 741-6682

Senator Dolores R. Gresham
(615) 741-2368
Senator Frank S. Niceley (R-8)
(615) 741-2061

More Like This From Around The NRA


Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.