Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Minnesota: Anti-Gun Bill Moving Forward Unless Your State Representative Hears from You!

Tuesday, April 30, 2013

An anti-gun bill that will criminalize the private transfer of handguns and certain semi-automatic rifles at gun shows will likely be heard this week or next in the House Rules Committee.  House File 285, introduced by state Representative John Lesch (DFL-66B), passed in the House Public Safety, Finance and Policy Committee by a 10 to 8 vote on April 8 after being amended to include a ban on private sales.  If HF 285 passes in the House Rules Committee, it will be eligible for final consideration on the House floor as early as this week.

This type of legislation is dangerous and must be stopped, as this scheme is the first step towards criminalizing ALL private transfers and can only be enforced with gun registration.  And, as we know from experiences in California, Australia and Great Britain, gun registration enables gun confiscation — only from honest citizens — since criminals do not register their guns or submit to criminal investigations.  According to an internal U.S. Department of Justice memorandum, "universal" background checks will not work without requiring gun registration.  Read the memo and get the facts here.

Please contact your state Representative and members of the House Rules Committee today and demand that they OPPOSE HF 285 in its entirety.

House Rules Committee:

Erin Murphy (DFL) – Chairman

651-296-8799
E-mail: rep.erin.murphy@house.mn

 

John Benson (DFL) – Vice Chairman

651-296-9934
E-mail: rep.john.benson@house.mn

 

Kurt Daudt (R)

651-296-5364
E-mail: rep.kurt.daudt@house.mn

 

Tony Albright (R)

651-296-5185
E-mail: rep.tony.albright@house.mn

 

Sarah Anderson (R)

651-296-5511
E-mail: rep.sarah.anderson@house.mn

 

Lyndon Carlson Sr. (DFL)

651-296-4255
E-mail: rep.lyndon.carlson@house.mn

 

Matt Dean (R)

651-296-3018
E-mail: rep.matt.dean@house.mn

 

Ron Erhardt (DFL)

651-296-4363
E-mail: rep.ron.erhardt@house.mn

 

Rick Hansen (DFL)

651-296-6828
E-mail: rep.rick.hansen@house.mn

 

Debra Hilstrom (DFL)

651-296-3709
E-mail: rep.debra.hilstrom@house.mn

 

Joe Hoppe (R)

651-296-5066
E-mail: rep.joe.hoppe@house.mn

 

Melissa Hortman (DFL)

651-296-4280
E-mail: rep.melissa.hortman@house.mn

 

Sheldon Johnson (DFL)

651-296-4201
E-mail: rep.sheldon.johnson@house.mn

 

Tim Kelly (R)

651-296-8635
E-mail: rep.tim.kelly@house.mn

 

Ann Lenczewski (DFL)

651-296-4218
E-mail: rep.ann.lenczewski@house.mn

 

John Lesch (DFL)

651-296-4224
E-mail: rep.john.lesch@house.mn

 

Leon Lillie (DFL)

651-296-1188
E-mail: rep.leon.lillie@house.mn

 

Jenifer Loon (R)

651-296-7449
E-mail: rep.jenifer.loon@house.mn

 

Carly Melin (DFL)

651-296-0172
E-mail: rep.carly.melin@house.mn

 

Kim Norton (DFL)

651-296-9249
E-mail: rep.kim.norton@house.mn

 

Gene Pelowski Jr. (DFL)

651-296-8637
E-mail: rep.gene.pelowski@house.mn

 

Joyce Peppin (R)

651-296-7806
E-mail: rep.joyce.peppin@house.mn

 

John Persell (DFL)

651-296-5516
E-mail: rep.john.persell@house.mn

 

Tim Sanders (R)

651-296-4226
E-mail: rep.tim.sanders@house.mn

 

Paul Torkelson (R)

651-296-9303
E-mail: rep.paul.torkelson@house.mn

 

John Ward (DFL)

651-296-4333
E-mail: rep.john.ward@house.mn

 

Kelby Woodard (R)

651-296-7065
E-mail: rep.kelby.woodard@house.mn

 

Kurt Zellers (R)

651-296-5502
E-mail: rep.kurt.zellers@house.mn

TRENDING NOW
Gun Control Supporters Race to Embarrass Themselves Following OSU Stabbing Attack

News  

Thursday, December 1, 2016

Gun Control Supporters Race to Embarrass Themselves Following OSU Stabbing Attack

Guinness World Records may refuse to acknowledge feats pertaining to the lawful exercise of right to keep and bear arms, but how about a world record for most shameless attempt to politicize tragedy? The competition would ...

California: Bullet Button Guns Must be Purchased and Received by Dec 31st

Wednesday, November 30, 2016

California: Bullet Button Guns Must be Purchased and Received by Dec 31st

Recently the California Department of Justice Bureau of Firearms sent out a notice to California firearms dealers with information regarding the recently passed “assault weapon” legislation, SB880 and AB 1135.

Gun Sales Deny Critics, Set Record on Black Friday

News  

Thursday, December 1, 2016

Gun Sales Deny Critics, Set Record on Black Friday

With the election of Donald Trump in early November, many mainstream news sources predicted a substantial downturn in gun sales. Some even claimed that Trump’s victory would cause slower sales on Black Friday, which is ...

Home Defense - Mastering Bushes vs. Bushmasters

News  

Thursday, December 1, 2016

Home Defense - Mastering Bushes vs. Bushmasters

A while back, we wrote about an inane NBC Today Show segment that recommended homeowners rely on car keys and wasp spray to defend themselves against burglars and other home invaders. A former New York ...

DNC Chair Frontrunner Rep. Keith Ellison (D-Minn.) is an Anti-Second Amendment Radical

News  

Thursday, December 1, 2016

DNC Chair Frontrunner Rep. Keith Ellison (D-Minn.) is an Anti-Second Amendment Radical

It appears that those gun rights supporters hoping that the leaders of the Democratic Party would engage in a moment of self-reflection following their historic defeat in the 2016 election may be left wanting. Despite ...

Hawaii: Firearms Permit Application Fee Increases Due to Implementation of the “Rap Back” System

Monday, December 5, 2016

Hawaii: Firearms Permit Application Fee Increases Due to Implementation of the “Rap Back” System

Today, December 5, 2016, the Honolulu Police Department announced that the firearm permit application fee has increased to $42.00.  This fee increase is one of the first effects of the provisions in Senate Bill 2954 which was signed into ...

News  

Friday, July 1, 2016

California Governor Signs Draconian Gun Control Package into Law

Fairfax, Va.— California Gov. Jerry Brown signed into law on Friday a package of gun bills that were rushed through the state legislature with no regard for proper process. The National Rifle Association Institute for ...

Winning The Ground Game

News  

Friday, December 2, 2016

Winning The Ground Game

Every year tens of millions of law-abiding gun owners and sportsmen work with NRA to advance pro-gun reforms and defeat attacks on our fundamental right to keep and bear arms. This past year, the challenges ...

Ohio: Pro-Gun Bills Expected for Floor Votes Tomorrow

Tuesday, December 6, 2016

Ohio: Pro-Gun Bills Expected for Floor Votes Tomorrow

Today, both Senate Bill 199 and Sub. House Bill 48 had their final hearings.  Both bills are expected for consideration on the House and Senate floors as early as tomorrow.  Anti-gun groups are pushing misguided ...

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.