NRA Explore
APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Minnesota: Anti-Gun Bill Moving Forward Unless Your State Representative Hears from You!

Tuesday, April 30, 2013

An anti-gun bill that will criminalize the private transfer of handguns and certain semi-automatic rifles at gun shows will likely be heard this week or next in the House Rules Committee.  House File 285, introduced by state Representative John Lesch (DFL-66B), passed in the House Public Safety, Finance and Policy Committee by a 10 to 8 vote on April 8 after being amended to include a ban on private sales.  If HF 285 passes in the House Rules Committee, it will be eligible for final consideration on the House floor as early as this week.

This type of legislation is dangerous and must be stopped, as this scheme is the first step towards criminalizing ALL private transfers and can only be enforced with gun registration.  And, as we know from experiences in California, Australia and Great Britain, gun registration enables gun confiscation — only from honest citizens — since criminals do not register their guns or submit to criminal investigations.  According to an internal U.S. Department of Justice memorandum, "universal" background checks will not work without requiring gun registration.  Read the memo and get the facts here.

Please contact your state Representative and members of the House Rules Committee today and demand that they OPPOSE HF 285 in its entirety.

House Rules Committee:

Erin Murphy (DFL) – Chairman

651-296-8799
E-mail: rep.erin.murphy@house.mn

 

John Benson (DFL) – Vice Chairman

651-296-9934
E-mail: rep.john.benson@house.mn

 

Kurt Daudt (R)

651-296-5364
E-mail: rep.kurt.daudt@house.mn

 

Tony Albright (R)

651-296-5185
E-mail: rep.tony.albright@house.mn

 

Sarah Anderson (R)

651-296-5511
E-mail: rep.sarah.anderson@house.mn

 

Lyndon Carlson Sr. (DFL)

651-296-4255
E-mail: rep.lyndon.carlson@house.mn

 

Matt Dean (R)

651-296-3018
E-mail: rep.matt.dean@house.mn

 

Ron Erhardt (DFL)

651-296-4363
E-mail: rep.ron.erhardt@house.mn

 

Rick Hansen (DFL)

651-296-6828
E-mail: rep.rick.hansen@house.mn

 

Debra Hilstrom (DFL)

651-296-3709
E-mail: rep.debra.hilstrom@house.mn

 

Joe Hoppe (R)

651-296-5066
E-mail: rep.joe.hoppe@house.mn

 

Melissa Hortman (DFL)

651-296-4280
E-mail: rep.melissa.hortman@house.mn

 

Sheldon Johnson (DFL)

651-296-4201
E-mail: rep.sheldon.johnson@house.mn

 

Tim Kelly (R)

651-296-8635
E-mail: rep.tim.kelly@house.mn

 

Ann Lenczewski (DFL)

651-296-4218
E-mail: rep.ann.lenczewski@house.mn

 

John Lesch (DFL)

651-296-4224
E-mail: rep.john.lesch@house.mn

 

Leon Lillie (DFL)

651-296-1188
E-mail: rep.leon.lillie@house.mn

 

Jenifer Loon (R)

651-296-7449
E-mail: rep.jenifer.loon@house.mn

 

Carly Melin (DFL)

651-296-0172
E-mail: rep.carly.melin@house.mn

 

Kim Norton (DFL)

651-296-9249
E-mail: rep.kim.norton@house.mn

 

Gene Pelowski Jr. (DFL)

651-296-8637
E-mail: rep.gene.pelowski@house.mn

 

Joyce Peppin (R)

651-296-7806
E-mail: rep.joyce.peppin@house.mn

 

John Persell (DFL)

651-296-5516
E-mail: rep.john.persell@house.mn

 

Tim Sanders (R)

651-296-4226
E-mail: rep.tim.sanders@house.mn

 

Paul Torkelson (R)

651-296-9303
E-mail: rep.paul.torkelson@house.mn

 

John Ward (DFL)

651-296-4333
E-mail: rep.john.ward@house.mn

 

Kelby Woodard (R)

651-296-7065
E-mail: rep.kelby.woodard@house.mn

 

Kurt Zellers (R)

651-296-5502
E-mail: rep.kurt.zellers@house.mn

TRENDING NOW

Wednesday, February 3, 2016

South Carolina: NRA-Endorsed Self-Defense Legislation Passes Committee

Yesterday,  H. 4703 was favorably reported out of the House Judiciary Committee.  This critical self-defense legislation had no opposition ...

Tuesday, February 2, 2016

Arizona: Pro-Gun Bills Scheduled for Hearings Tomorrow

This week, the Arizona State Legislature has scheduled hearings for several important pro-gun bills.

Friday, January 15, 2016

Anti-Gun lawmakers Introduce Gun Confiscation Bill in Georgia

With a complete disregard for the U.S. Constitution and the fundamental rights of Georgia residents, state Representative Mary ...

Hunting  

Monday, February 1, 2016

West Virginia: Permitless Carry and Sunday Hunting to Be Considered this Week

This week, the House of Delegates is likely to consider House Bill 4145, important legislation that would allow ...

Tuesday, February 2, 2016

Oregon: 2016 Legislative Session Convenes; Senate Bill 1551 Pulled from Hearing Agenda

Yesterday, the Oregon State Legislature convened its 2016 legislative session.  As previously reported, both Senate Bill 1551 and ...

News  

Friday, January 29, 2016

Chief Justice Barack Obama?

Here’s perhaps the most compelling argument we’ve heard against Hillary Clinton’s bid for the White House. Continuing her streak ...

News  

Gun Laws  

Friday, January 29, 2016

New Jersey Actor Faces Jail Time over Possession of Air Pistol during Movie Shoot

If it seems as though that every couple of months there is another high-profile gun control injustice in ...

Thursday, January 28, 2016

Florida Report: BIG Day for Gun Owners in Florida -- Four Victories

Today, HB-163, Open Carry by Rep. Matt Gaetz was heard in the House Judiciary Committee and PASSED by a Vote of 12-4.  HB-344, Stand Your Ground/Burden of Proof by Sen. Rob Bradley PASSED THE SENATE ...

Monday, February 1, 2016

South Carolina: Important Self-Defense Legislation Needs Your Help!

With the South Carolina Legislature’s 2016 legislative session underway, a number of bills which could affect your Second ...

News  

Thursday, February 4, 2016

National Rifle Association Statement on 4th Circuit Court of Appeals Ruling in Kolbe v. Maryland

Fairfax, Va.— Chris W. Cox, the executive director of the National Rifle Association's Institute for Legislative Action, issued the following statement in reaction to today's ruling by the federal 4th Circuit Court of Appeals in ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.