Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Minnesota: Anti-Gun Bill Moving Forward Unless Your State Representative Hears from You!

Tuesday, April 30, 2013

An anti-gun bill that will criminalize the private transfer of handguns and certain semi-automatic rifles at gun shows will likely be heard this week or next in the House Rules Committee.  House File 285, introduced by state Representative John Lesch (DFL-66B), passed in the House Public Safety, Finance and Policy Committee by a 10 to 8 vote on April 8 after being amended to include a ban on private sales.  If HF 285 passes in the House Rules Committee, it will be eligible for final consideration on the House floor as early as this week.

This type of legislation is dangerous and must be stopped, as this scheme is the first step towards criminalizing ALL private transfers and can only be enforced with gun registration.  And, as we know from experiences in California, Australia and Great Britain, gun registration enables gun confiscation — only from honest citizens — since criminals do not register their guns or submit to criminal investigations.  According to an internal U.S. Department of Justice memorandum, "universal" background checks will not work without requiring gun registration.  Read the memo and get the facts here.

Please contact your state Representative and members of the House Rules Committee today and demand that they OPPOSE HF 285 in its entirety.

House Rules Committee:

Erin Murphy (DFL) – Chairman

651-296-8799
E-mail: rep.erin.murphy@house.mn

 

John Benson (DFL) – Vice Chairman

651-296-9934
E-mail: rep.john.benson@house.mn

 

Kurt Daudt (R)

651-296-5364
E-mail: rep.kurt.daudt@house.mn

 

Tony Albright (R)

651-296-5185
E-mail: rep.tony.albright@house.mn

 

Sarah Anderson (R)

651-296-5511
E-mail: rep.sarah.anderson@house.mn

 

Lyndon Carlson Sr. (DFL)

651-296-4255
E-mail: rep.lyndon.carlson@house.mn

 

Matt Dean (R)

651-296-3018
E-mail: rep.matt.dean@house.mn

 

Ron Erhardt (DFL)

651-296-4363
E-mail: rep.ron.erhardt@house.mn

 

Rick Hansen (DFL)

651-296-6828
E-mail: rep.rick.hansen@house.mn

 

Debra Hilstrom (DFL)

651-296-3709
E-mail: rep.debra.hilstrom@house.mn

 

Joe Hoppe (R)

651-296-5066
E-mail: rep.joe.hoppe@house.mn

 

Melissa Hortman (DFL)

651-296-4280
E-mail: rep.melissa.hortman@house.mn

 

Sheldon Johnson (DFL)

651-296-4201
E-mail: rep.sheldon.johnson@house.mn

 

Tim Kelly (R)

651-296-8635
E-mail: rep.tim.kelly@house.mn

 

Ann Lenczewski (DFL)

651-296-4218
E-mail: rep.ann.lenczewski@house.mn

 

John Lesch (DFL)

651-296-4224
E-mail: rep.john.lesch@house.mn

 

Leon Lillie (DFL)

651-296-1188
E-mail: rep.leon.lillie@house.mn

 

Jenifer Loon (R)

651-296-7449
E-mail: rep.jenifer.loon@house.mn

 

Carly Melin (DFL)

651-296-0172
E-mail: rep.carly.melin@house.mn

 

Kim Norton (DFL)

651-296-9249
E-mail: rep.kim.norton@house.mn

 

Gene Pelowski Jr. (DFL)

651-296-8637
E-mail: rep.gene.pelowski@house.mn

 

Joyce Peppin (R)

651-296-7806
E-mail: rep.joyce.peppin@house.mn

 

John Persell (DFL)

651-296-5516
E-mail: rep.john.persell@house.mn

 

Tim Sanders (R)

651-296-4226
E-mail: rep.tim.sanders@house.mn

 

Paul Torkelson (R)

651-296-9303
E-mail: rep.paul.torkelson@house.mn

 

John Ward (DFL)

651-296-4333
E-mail: rep.john.ward@house.mn

 

Kelby Woodard (R)

651-296-7065
E-mail: rep.kelby.woodard@house.mn

 

Kurt Zellers (R)

651-296-5502
E-mail: rep.kurt.zellers@house.mn

TRENDING NOW
Obama Says Goodbye to America’s Gun Owners with (a Likely Short-lived) Lead Ammo Ban

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Obama Says Goodbye to America’s Gun Owners with (a Likely Short-lived) Lead Ammo Ban

Gun owners knew that Barack Obama would not leave quietly. The only question was what else was coming.  

Federal Appeals Court: Chicago Violates Second Amendment … Again

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Federal Appeals Court: Chicago Violates Second Amendment … Again

On Wednesday, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit found that Chicago had once again violated the Second Amendment, this time with its regulations for gun ranges.

Gun Owners Welcome Donald J. Trump as President of the United States

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Gun Owners Welcome Donald J. Trump as President of the United States

Gun owners across the nation breathed a sigh of relief as Donald J. Trump was sworn in Friday morning as the 45th president of the United States.

Web Scraping: A Means to Push the Anti-Gun Agenda

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Web Scraping: A Means to Push the Anti-Gun Agenda

You may have read recently about a “breaking analysis” that includes numbers derived from a “mass shooting tracker,” which purports to present to the world, real world cases in which mass shootings have occurred.  One ...

New York Times Relies on Gun Prohibitionist Propaganda, Stigmatizes Suicide

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

New York Times Relies on Gun Prohibitionist Propaganda, Stigmatizes Suicide

In a December 5, 2015, front page editorial, the New York Times finally admitted what discerning readers had long understood – that the paper advocates the prohibition and confiscation of certain types of now-lawfully possessed firearms. ...

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

On Monday, Sen. Mike Crapo (R-ID) – joined by co-sponsors Sens. Jerry Moran (R-KS) and Rand Paul (R-KY) – introduced S. 59, the Hearing Protection Act of 2017 (HPA). Similar legislation was introduced in the ...

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

Inspired, perhaps, by Oscar Wilde (“Moderation is a fatal thing. Nothing succeeds like excess”), Washington State Attorney General Bob Ferguson has announced two new sweeping gun control bills, with Sen. David Frockt (D-Seattle) and Rep. ...

New Hampshire: Constitutional/Permitless Carry Bill Passes Senate!

Thursday, January 19, 2017

New Hampshire: Constitutional/Permitless Carry Bill Passes Senate!

Today, Senate Bill 12, legislation eliminating the requirement to obtain a permit in order to lawfully carry, passed the Senate without amendment, by a 13-10 vote.  SB 12 will now go to the House of ...

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

On January 3rd, Congressman Richard Hudson (R-N.C.8th) introduced H.R. 38, the Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act of 2017, which simply allows lawful firearm carriers from any state to carry a concealed firearm in any other state. The bill ...

Thursday, January 19, 2017

Florida Urgent Alert! Self-defense Bill up in Senate Judiciary on Tuesday 1/24/2017

A critical self-defense bill will be heard by the Senate Judiciary Committee on Tuesday, January 24, 2017, between 2:00-4:00pm.  SB-128 Burden of Proof by Senator Rob Bradley restores the presumption of innocence in self-defense cases ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.