Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Hunting

Vermont: Sportsmen Protection Bill to be Heard in House Committee Tomorrow

Tuesday, February 12, 2013

Legislation Allowing Handguns to be Carried for Protection during Archery Season and Dog Training

Tomorrow, the House Committee on Fish, Wildlife and Water Resources will hear House Bill 129.  This NRA-supported bill introduced by state Representative Patrick Brennan (R-Chittenden-9-2) would allow bow hunters and dog trainers to carry a handgun for self-defense while in the field.  Currently, Vermont law and hunting regulations prohibit the carrying of a firearm while engaged in bow hunting or dog training.  A growing number of states are amending their laws to allow such a practice.  This bill needs your support, so please contact Committee members in advance of their  9:00 a.m. meeting tomorrow, February 13.

Because sportsmen are often in remote rural areas, they are left vulnerable by the current prohibition on carrying a handgun for self-defense.  With outdoor crime being a true threat as well as the possibility of an encounter with dangerous wildlife, sportsmen should not be left defenseless.  It is important that you call committee members and ask for their support of this common sense provision to allow Vermonters to protect themselves while enjoying the state’s long-held hunting traditions.

Please contact members of this committee and respectfully ask them to support House Bill 129!


House Committee on Fish, Wildlife and Water Resources:

 

Rep. David L. Deen, Chairman

ddeen@leg.state.vt.us

(803) 869-3116


Rep. Jim McCullough, Vice Chairman

Jim_mccullough@myfairpoint.net

(802) 878-2180


Rep. Steve Beyor, Ranking Member

sbeyor@leg.state.vt.us

(802) 868-3456


Rep. Willem Jewett

wjewett@leg.state.vt.us

(802)388-0320


Rep. Bob Krebs

rkrebs@leg.state.vt.us

(802) 372-4567


Rep. Mark Huntley, Clerk

mhuntley@leg.state.vt.us

(802) 236-6722


Rep. Connie Quimby

cquimby@leg.state.vt.us

(802) 695-2575


Rep. Thomas Terenzini

tterenzini@leg.state.vt.us

(802) 855-1945


Rep. Kate Webb

kwebb@leg.state.vt.us

(802) 985-2789

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.