Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Iowa: Stand Your Ground Self-Defense Legislation to be Heard by House Public Safety Committee Tomorrow!

Monday, January 30, 2012

Last week, the state House Public Safety Subcommittee passed House File 573 by a 2 to 1 vote.  This important self-defense legislation is now scheduled to be heard by the full committee tomorrow, January 31. 

House File 573 would remove a person’s “duty to retreat” from an attacker, allowing law-abiding citizens to stand their ground and protect themselves or their family anywhere they are lawfully present.  It would create a presumption that an individual who unlawfully or forcefully enters your dwelling, place of business or employment, or occupied vehicle is there to cause serious bodily injury or death, so the occupant may use force, including deadly force, against that person.  HF 573 also would expressly allow an individual to use force, including deadly force, to prevent a violent felony, and it would enhance the protections against criminal prosecution and civil lawsuits when justifiable force is used.  

This important legislation needs your support.  Please contact members of the House Public Safety Committee today and respectfully urge them to support HF 573.

Members of the House Public Safety Committee: 

Representative Clel Baudler (R-58), Chairman
clel.baudler@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221 

Representative Tom Shaw (R-8)
Tom.Shaw@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221

Representative Bob Kressig (D-19)
bob.kressig@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221 

Representative Dwayne Alons (R-4)
dwayne.alons@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221 

Representative Mark Brandenburg (R-100)
mark.brandenburg@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221

Representative Joel Fry (R-95)
joel.fry@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221

Representative Chris Hagenow (R-59)
chris.hagenow@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221

Representative Jarad Klein (R-89)
jarad.klein@legis.state.ia.us 
515.281.3221

Representative Dan Muhlbauer (D-51)
dan.muhlbauer@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221 

Representative Steven Olson (R-83)
steven.olson@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221 

Representative Henry Rayhons (R-11)
henry.rayhons@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221

Representative Thomas Sands (R-87)
thomas.sands@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221 

Representative Kurt Swaim (D-94)
kurt.swaim@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221 

Representative David Tjepkes (R-50)
david.tjepkes@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221 

Representative Matt Windschitl (R-56)
Matt.windschitl@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221 

Representative Mary Wolfe (D-26)
Mary.wolfe@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221 

Representative Gary Worthan (R-52)
gary.worthan@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221

TRENDING NOW
Court Strikes Down Unconstitutional Ban on Concealed Carry

News  

Tuesday, July 25, 2017

Court Strikes Down Unconstitutional Ban on Concealed Carry

D.C. Circuit Court Rules in Favor of Constitutional Right to Carry a Gun in Public for Self-Defense

Former Bloomberg Lackey Comes Clean on True Anti-gun Agenda

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, July 21, 2017

Former Bloomberg Lackey Comes Clean on True Anti-gun Agenda

Back when Mark Glaze was executive director of Michael Bloomberg’s Mayors Against Illegal Guns, and later Everytown for Gun Safety, he went to great lengths to portray his master’s anti-gun positions as moderate. Glaze used ...

Washington: Gun Bills Go into Effect

Tuesday, July 25, 2017

Washington: Gun Bills Go into Effect

On Sunday, July 23, a number of bills that passed from the 2017 legislative session went into effect that impact your Second Amendment rights.

The Need for National Reciprocity

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

The Need for National Reciprocity

A report from the Crime Prevention Research Center estimates that the number of concealed carry permits issued last year was the largest increase ever – continuing a four year trend of record setting increases in ...

“She Persisted” – Gun Owner Fights Unlawful “No Return” Gun Policy

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

“She Persisted” – Gun Owner Fights Unlawful “No Return” Gun Policy

On July 17, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit confirmed that law enforcement officials in New York acted unlawfully with respect to guns confiscated from a Nassau County woman in 2012.  

California: DOJ Introduces Proposed Regulations Adding “Privacy Notices” to Firearm-Related Forms

Monday, July 24, 2017

California: DOJ Introduces Proposed Regulations Adding “Privacy Notices” to Firearm-Related Forms

On Monday, July 24, the California Department of Justice introduced another set of proposed regulations, this time for the purpose of adding required “privacy notices” to certain firearm-related forms.

New Law Expands Hunting Opportunities in North Carolina

News  

Tuesday, July 25, 2017

New Law Expands Hunting Opportunities in North Carolina

Law Promotes Sportsmens’ Rights & Sound Wildlife Management

Supreme Court Asked to Review Maryland's Gun Ban

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

Supreme Court Asked to Review Maryland's Gun Ban

A group of Maryland citizens, with the support of the National Rifle Association, filed a petition to the United States Supreme Court on Friday seeking to reverse a Court of Appeals ruling that stripped some of America’s most ...

Grace V. DC Ruling Under Pressure: D.C. Appeals Concealed Carry Order, Gets Administrative Stay

News  

Friday, June 3, 2016

Grace V. DC Ruling Under Pressure: D.C. Appeals Concealed Carry Order, Gets Administrative Stay

Washington, D.C. has once again lapsed into its usual pattern of denying Second Amendment rights with a federal appeals court ruling on May 27 that effectively blocks a lower court order that briefly made D.C. ...

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.