Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Iowa: Stand Your Ground Self-Defense Legislation to be Heard by House Public Safety Committee Tomorrow!

Monday, January 30, 2012

Last week, the state House Public Safety Subcommittee passed House File 573 by a 2 to 1 vote.  This important self-defense legislation is now scheduled to be heard by the full committee tomorrow, January 31. 

House File 573 would remove a person’s “duty to retreat” from an attacker, allowing law-abiding citizens to stand their ground and protect themselves or their family anywhere they are lawfully present.  It would create a presumption that an individual who unlawfully or forcefully enters your dwelling, place of business or employment, or occupied vehicle is there to cause serious bodily injury or death, so the occupant may use force, including deadly force, against that person.  HF 573 also would expressly allow an individual to use force, including deadly force, to prevent a violent felony, and it would enhance the protections against criminal prosecution and civil lawsuits when justifiable force is used.  

This important legislation needs your support.  Please contact members of the House Public Safety Committee today and respectfully urge them to support HF 573.

Members of the House Public Safety Committee: 

Representative Clel Baudler (R-58), Chairman
clel.baudler@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221 

Representative Tom Shaw (R-8)
Tom.Shaw@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221

Representative Bob Kressig (D-19)
bob.kressig@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221 

Representative Dwayne Alons (R-4)
dwayne.alons@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221 

Representative Mark Brandenburg (R-100)
mark.brandenburg@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221

Representative Joel Fry (R-95)
joel.fry@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221

Representative Chris Hagenow (R-59)
chris.hagenow@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221

Representative Jarad Klein (R-89)
jarad.klein@legis.state.ia.us 
515.281.3221

Representative Dan Muhlbauer (D-51)
dan.muhlbauer@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221 

Representative Steven Olson (R-83)
steven.olson@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221 

Representative Henry Rayhons (R-11)
henry.rayhons@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221

Representative Thomas Sands (R-87)
thomas.sands@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221 

Representative Kurt Swaim (D-94)
kurt.swaim@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221 

Representative David Tjepkes (R-50)
david.tjepkes@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221 

Representative Matt Windschitl (R-56)
Matt.windschitl@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221 

Representative Mary Wolfe (D-26)
Mary.wolfe@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221 

Representative Gary Worthan (R-52)
gary.worthan@legis.state.ia.us
515.281.3221

TRENDING NOW
Maryland: Governor Hogan Signs Apprentice Hunting Legislation into Law

Thursday, May 4, 2017

Maryland: Governor Hogan Signs Apprentice Hunting Legislation into Law

Today, Maryland Governor Larry Hogan signed House Bill 1427 into law.

Washington: NRA Files Amicus Brief in Challenge to Kitsap County Anti-Gun Ordinance

Monday, May 22, 2017

Washington: NRA Files Amicus Brief in Challenge to Kitsap County Anti-Gun Ordinance

Last week, attorneys on behalf of the NRA filed an amicus brief in Kitsap County v. Kitsap Rifle and Revolver Club (Kitsap II), the case which challenges Kitsap County’s firearm discharge ban and range licensing scheme.  Kitsap Rifle and ...

Illinois: House Committee Passes Bill to Close Local Gun Dealers

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Illinois: House Committee Passes Bill to Close Local Gun Dealers

The House Judiciary Committee passed Senate Bill 1657 by a 7-6 vote.

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Monday, May 22, 2017

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Today, May 22, Governor Brian Sandoval signed important pro-gun legislation, Assembly Bill 118, into law.  AB 118, sponsored by Assemblyman Skip Daly, will allow members of the military and those who have received an honorable ...

California: AB 424 Passes Assembly - Appropriations Committees to Consider Suspense Items

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

California: AB 424 Passes Assembly - Appropriations Committees to Consider Suspense Items

Friday, May 26th is the deadline for the fiscal committees to pass bills to the floor from the chamber of origin.  On Thursday, May 25, the Senate AppropriationsCommittee is scheduled to consider Senate Bill 464 and Senate Bill 497. ...

Kansas: Senate Committee Passes Gun Free Zone Legislation, Again

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

Kansas: Senate Committee Passes Gun Free Zone Legislation, Again

Last week, the Senate Committee of the Whole referred an amended version of House Bill 2278 back to the Senate Ways and Means Committee.

California: Don’t Miss our May 25th Webinar to Discuss the Newest DOJ Draft “Assault Weapons” Regulations

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

California: Don’t Miss our May 25th Webinar to Discuss the Newest DOJ Draft “Assault Weapons” Regulations

Tomorrow, Thursday, May 25, at 12:00 pm (PT), NRA’s legal team will be hosting a free webinar to discuss the recently submitted “assault weapon” regulations.   

Alabama: Legislature Adjourns Sine Die

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

Alabama: Legislature Adjourns Sine Die

Last Friday, May 19, the Alabama Legislature adjourned sine die.  During this session, Senate Bill 24, the constitutional/permitless carry bill, passed the Senate but failed to make it to the House floor for a vote ...

Court's Commonsense Conclusion: "There Was a Gun" Isn't Enough to Justify Issuing a Restraining Order

Second Amendment  

Friday, May 19, 2017

Court's Commonsense Conclusion: "There Was a Gun" Isn't Enough to Justify Issuing a Restraining Order

The Supreme Court of North Dakota confirmed this week that simply possessing a handgun while on one’s own private property cannot support a finding of "disorderly conduct" under the state’s disorderly conduct restraining order law. ...

Illinois: Last Chance to Save your Local Gun Dealer!

Tuesday, May 2, 2017

Illinois: Last Chance to Save your Local Gun Dealer!

The Illinois House of Representatives may consider Senate Bill 1657, legislation that could put your local gun dealer out of business, at any time! It is imperative that you contact your state Representative IMMEDIATELY and ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.