Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Senate Vote on Campus Carry Bill Moved to Next Week; <br/>Parking Lot Bill on the Move in the House!

Friday, April 8, 2011

On Thursday, the Texas Senate postponed action on Senate Bill 354, NRA-backed legislation by state Senator Jeff Wentworth (R-San Antonio) that would allow Concealed Handgun Licensees to protect themselves on the campuses of public colleges and universities.  A 2/3 vote is necessary to suspend the regular order of business in order to take up and consider any piece of legislation on the Senate floor.  Several Senators who had committed to the bill sponsor to vote for suspension asked for more time to work on amendments to the legislation.

Gun control advocates and university administrators who oppose the bill are expected to use this delay as an opportunity to try and flood Senate offices with calls and e-mails, so it is critical that your state Senator hears from you!

Please contact your state Senator over the weekend or first thing Monday morning and urge him or her to (1) support the motion to suspend the regular order of business to take up and consider SB 354; (2) support passage of SB 354; and (3) oppose any gutting amendments to the bill - including any proposal to allow public colleges and universities to "opt-out" of the law.  Contact information can be found at the end of this alert.  If you need help identifying your state Senator, please click here.

Also this past week, the House Business & Industry Committee reported out Senate Bill 321 by state Senator Glenn Hegar (R-Katy), NRA-backed legislation that would allow employees to transport and store firearms in their locked motor vehicles while parked at work.  This bill joins its House companion bill, House Bill 681 by state Representative Tim Kleinschmidt (R-Lexington), in the House Calendars Committee - the body which decides if and when a bill gets scheduled for consideration by the full House.  

Unless House leadership and committee members hear from you, either bill could fail to be scheduled or be scheduled too late in the game to pass - which is what happened last session when House action stalled on a voter identification bill that was ahead of the parking lot bill on the House Calendar. 

Please contact the House Speaker and the following members of the Calendars Committee and politely urge them to set HB 681/SB 321, NRA-backed employee parking lot legislation, on the House Calendar as soon as possible!

House Speaker Joe Straus
512-463-1000
To send an email, click here

Calendars Committee:

Todd Hunter, Chairman
512-463-0672
todd.hunter@house.state.tx.us

Dennis Bonnen, Vice-Chairman
512-463-0564
dennis.bonnen@house.state.tx.us

Dan Branch 
512-463-0367
dan.branch@house.state.tx.us

Byron Cook
512-463-0730
byron.cook@house.state.tx.us

Charlie Geren
512-463-0610
charlie.geren@house.state.tx.us

Jim Keffer
512-463-0656
jim.keffer@house.state.tx.us

Tracy King
512-463-0194
tracy.king@house.state.tx.us

Lois Kolkhorst
512-463-0600
lois.kolkhorst@house.state.tx.us

Eddie Lucio III
512-463-0606
eddie.lucio@house.state.tx.us

Allan Ritter
512-463-0706
allan.ritter@house.state.tx.us

Burt Solomons
512-463-0478
burt.solomons@house.state.tx.us

Vicki Truitt
512-463-0690
vicki.truitt@house.state.tx.us

John Zerwas
512-463-0657
john.zerwas@house.state.tx.us

State Senators

SD 1  Sen. Kevin Eltife - Tyler
512-463-0101
kevin.eltife@senate.state.tx.us

SD 2  Sen. Bob Deuell - Greenville
512-463-0102
bob.deuell@senate.state.tx.us

SD 3  Sen. Robert Nichols - Jacksonville
512-463-0103
robert.nichols@senate.state.tx.us

SD 4  Sen. Tommy Williams - The Woodlands
512-463-0104
tommy.williams@senate.state.tx.us

SD 5  Sen. Steve Ogden - Bryan/College Station
512-463-0105
steve.ogden@senate.state.tx.us

SD 6  Sen. Mario Gallegos - Galena Park/Houston
512-463-0106
mario.gallegos@senate.state.tx.us

SD 7  Sen. Dan Patrick - Houston
512-463-0107
dan.patrick@senate.state.tx.us

SD 8  Sen. Florence Shapiro - Plano
512-463-0108
florence.shapiro@senate.state.tx.us

SD 9  Sen. Chris Harris - Arlington
512-463-0109
chris.harris@senate.state.tx.us

SD 10  Sen. Wendy Davis - Fort Worth
512-463-0110
wendy.davis@senate.state.tx.us

SD 11  Sen. Mike Jackson - Pasadena
512-463-0111
mike.jackson@senate.state.tx.us

SD 12  Sen. Jane Nelson - Flower Mound
512-463-0112
jane.nelson@senate.state.tx.us

SD 14  Sen. Kirk Watson - Austin
512-463-0114
kirk.watson@senate.state.tx.us

SD 15  Sen. John Whitmire - Houston
512-463-0115
john.whitmire@senate.state.tx.us

SD 16  Sen. John Carona - Dallas
512-463-0116
john.carona@senate.state.tx.us

SD 17  Sen. Joan Huffman - Houston/Lake Jackson
512-463-0117
joan.huffman@senate.state.tx.us

SD 18  Sen. Glenn Hegar - Katy
512-463-0118
glenn.hegar@senate.state.tx.us

SD 19  Sen. Carlos Uresti - San Antonio
512-463-0119
carlos.uresti@senate.state.tx.us

SD 20  Sen. Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa - McAllen
512-463-0120
juan.hinojosa@senate.state.tx.us

SD 22  Sen. Brian Birdwell - Waco/Granbury
512-463-0122
brian.birdwell@senate.state.tx.us

SD 24  Sen. Troy Fraser - Horseshoe Bay
512-463-0124
troy.fraser@senate.state.tx.us

SD 26  Sen. Leticia Van de Putte - San Antonio
512-463-0126
leticia.vandeputte@senate.state.tx.us

SD 27  Sen. Eddie Lucio - Brownsville
512-463-0127
eddie.lucio@senate.state.tx.us

SD 28  Sen. Robert Duncan - Lubbock
512-463-0128
robert.duncan@senate.state.tx.us

SD 29  Sen. Jose Rodriguez - El Paso
512-463-0129
jose.rodriguez@senate.state.tx.us

SD 30  Sen. Craig Estes - Wichita Falls
512-463-0130
craig.estes@senate.state.tx.us

SD 31  Sen. Kel Seliger - Amarillo
512-463-0131
kel.seliger@senate.state.tx.us

TRENDING NOW
Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

On Monday, Sen. Mike Crapo (R-ID) – joined by co-sponsors Sens. Jerry Moran (R-KS) and Rand Paul (R-KY) – introduced S. 59, the Hearing Protection Act of 2017 (HPA). Similar legislation was introduced in the ...

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

On January 3rd, Congressman Richard Hudson (R-N.C.8th) introduced H.R. 38, the Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act of 2017, which simply allows lawful firearm carriers from any state to carry a concealed firearm in any other state. The bill ...

Supreme Court Asked to Review California’s Restrictive Carry Regime

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Supreme Court Asked to Review California’s Restrictive Carry Regime

On Thursday, the NRA-supported case Peruta v. California took an important step towards restoring the right to bear arms in California.  The plaintiffs in the case, California gun owners and the California Rifle and Pistol ...

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

Inspired, perhaps, by Oscar Wilde (“Moderation is a fatal thing. Nothing succeeds like excess”), Washington State Attorney General Bob Ferguson has announced two new sweeping gun control bills, with Sen. David Frockt (D-Seattle) and Rep. ...

The NRA Bids Farewell to Roy Innis, Civil Rights Champion: June 6, 1934 – Jan. 8, 2017

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

The NRA Bids Farewell to Roy Innis, Civil Rights Champion: June 6, 1934 – Jan. 8, 2017

America lost a civil rights icon and a true free thinker with the death of Roy Innis on Jan. 8. For the NRA, his departure was personal. Mr. Innis served on the NRA’s Board of ...

Increase in Violent Crime: National Trend Driven by Local Politics?

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Increase in Violent Crime: National Trend Driven by Local Politics?

The FBI released its Preliminary Semiannual Uniform Crime Report earlier this week and the bad news is that violent crime increased for the second consecutive year.

NRA Applauds the Introduction of the Hearing Protection Act, H.R. 367

News  

Hunting  

Monday, January 9, 2017

NRA Applauds the Introduction of the Hearing Protection Act, H.R. 367

FAIRFAX, Va. – The National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) applauded Congressmen Jeff Duncan (SC) and John Carter (TX-31) on Monday for introducing the Hearing Protection Act, an important bill that gives gun owners and sportsmen ...

Jeff Sessions’ Devotion to the Constitution Shines Through in Contentious Confirmation Hearing

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Jeff Sessions’ Devotion to the Constitution Shines Through in Contentious Confirmation Hearing

On January 10 and 11, the U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee held the confirmation hearing for President-elect Donald Trump’s nominee for United States Attorney General, Sen. Jeff Sessions (R-Ala.). Throughout his distinguished career in public service, ...

Kansas: Bill Introduced Attempting to Repeal Pro-Self-Defense Law

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Kansas: Bill Introduced Attempting to Repeal Pro-Self-Defense Law

In 2013, the Kansas Legislature passed the Public Building Security Act, pro-gun legislation that amended the Personal and Family Protection Act. 

Virginia: Senate Committee to Hear Numerous Gun Bills Tomorrow

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Virginia: Senate Committee to Hear Numerous Gun Bills Tomorrow

Tomorrow, January 18, the Senate Courts of Justice is expected to hear and possibly vote on several firearm-related bills.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.