Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Senate Vote on Campus Carry Bill Moved to Next Week; <br/>Parking Lot Bill on the Move in the House!

Friday, April 8, 2011

On Thursday, the Texas Senate postponed action on Senate Bill 354, NRA-backed legislation by state Senator Jeff Wentworth (R-San Antonio) that would allow Concealed Handgun Licensees to protect themselves on the campuses of public colleges and universities.  A 2/3 vote is necessary to suspend the regular order of business in order to take up and consider any piece of legislation on the Senate floor.  Several Senators who had committed to the bill sponsor to vote for suspension asked for more time to work on amendments to the legislation.

Gun control advocates and university administrators who oppose the bill are expected to use this delay as an opportunity to try and flood Senate offices with calls and e-mails, so it is critical that your state Senator hears from you!

Please contact your state Senator over the weekend or first thing Monday morning and urge him or her to (1) support the motion to suspend the regular order of business to take up and consider SB 354; (2) support passage of SB 354; and (3) oppose any gutting amendments to the bill - including any proposal to allow public colleges and universities to "opt-out" of the law.  Contact information can be found at the end of this alert.  If you need help identifying your state Senator, please click here.

Also this past week, the House Business & Industry Committee reported out Senate Bill 321 by state Senator Glenn Hegar (R-Katy), NRA-backed legislation that would allow employees to transport and store firearms in their locked motor vehicles while parked at work.  This bill joins its House companion bill, House Bill 681 by state Representative Tim Kleinschmidt (R-Lexington), in the House Calendars Committee - the body which decides if and when a bill gets scheduled for consideration by the full House.  

Unless House leadership and committee members hear from you, either bill could fail to be scheduled or be scheduled too late in the game to pass - which is what happened last session when House action stalled on a voter identification bill that was ahead of the parking lot bill on the House Calendar. 

Please contact the House Speaker and the following members of the Calendars Committee and politely urge them to set HB 681/SB 321, NRA-backed employee parking lot legislation, on the House Calendar as soon as possible!

House Speaker Joe Straus
512-463-1000
To send an email, click here

Calendars Committee:

Todd Hunter, Chairman
512-463-0672
todd.hunter@house.state.tx.us

Dennis Bonnen, Vice-Chairman
512-463-0564
dennis.bonnen@house.state.tx.us

Dan Branch 
512-463-0367
dan.branch@house.state.tx.us

Byron Cook
512-463-0730
byron.cook@house.state.tx.us

Charlie Geren
512-463-0610
charlie.geren@house.state.tx.us

Jim Keffer
512-463-0656
jim.keffer@house.state.tx.us

Tracy King
512-463-0194
tracy.king@house.state.tx.us

Lois Kolkhorst
512-463-0600
lois.kolkhorst@house.state.tx.us

Eddie Lucio III
512-463-0606
eddie.lucio@house.state.tx.us

Allan Ritter
512-463-0706
allan.ritter@house.state.tx.us

Burt Solomons
512-463-0478
burt.solomons@house.state.tx.us

Vicki Truitt
512-463-0690
vicki.truitt@house.state.tx.us

John Zerwas
512-463-0657
john.zerwas@house.state.tx.us

State Senators

SD 1  Sen. Kevin Eltife - Tyler
512-463-0101
kevin.eltife@senate.state.tx.us

SD 2  Sen. Bob Deuell - Greenville
512-463-0102
bob.deuell@senate.state.tx.us

SD 3  Sen. Robert Nichols - Jacksonville
512-463-0103
robert.nichols@senate.state.tx.us

SD 4  Sen. Tommy Williams - The Woodlands
512-463-0104
tommy.williams@senate.state.tx.us

SD 5  Sen. Steve Ogden - Bryan/College Station
512-463-0105
steve.ogden@senate.state.tx.us

SD 6  Sen. Mario Gallegos - Galena Park/Houston
512-463-0106
mario.gallegos@senate.state.tx.us

SD 7  Sen. Dan Patrick - Houston
512-463-0107
dan.patrick@senate.state.tx.us

SD 8  Sen. Florence Shapiro - Plano
512-463-0108
florence.shapiro@senate.state.tx.us

SD 9  Sen. Chris Harris - Arlington
512-463-0109
chris.harris@senate.state.tx.us

SD 10  Sen. Wendy Davis - Fort Worth
512-463-0110
wendy.davis@senate.state.tx.us

SD 11  Sen. Mike Jackson - Pasadena
512-463-0111
mike.jackson@senate.state.tx.us

SD 12  Sen. Jane Nelson - Flower Mound
512-463-0112
jane.nelson@senate.state.tx.us

SD 14  Sen. Kirk Watson - Austin
512-463-0114
kirk.watson@senate.state.tx.us

SD 15  Sen. John Whitmire - Houston
512-463-0115
john.whitmire@senate.state.tx.us

SD 16  Sen. John Carona - Dallas
512-463-0116
john.carona@senate.state.tx.us

SD 17  Sen. Joan Huffman - Houston/Lake Jackson
512-463-0117
joan.huffman@senate.state.tx.us

SD 18  Sen. Glenn Hegar - Katy
512-463-0118
glenn.hegar@senate.state.tx.us

SD 19  Sen. Carlos Uresti - San Antonio
512-463-0119
carlos.uresti@senate.state.tx.us

SD 20  Sen. Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa - McAllen
512-463-0120
juan.hinojosa@senate.state.tx.us

SD 22  Sen. Brian Birdwell - Waco/Granbury
512-463-0122
brian.birdwell@senate.state.tx.us

SD 24  Sen. Troy Fraser - Horseshoe Bay
512-463-0124
troy.fraser@senate.state.tx.us

SD 26  Sen. Leticia Van de Putte - San Antonio
512-463-0126
leticia.vandeputte@senate.state.tx.us

SD 27  Sen. Eddie Lucio - Brownsville
512-463-0127
eddie.lucio@senate.state.tx.us

SD 28  Sen. Robert Duncan - Lubbock
512-463-0128
robert.duncan@senate.state.tx.us

SD 29  Sen. Jose Rodriguez - El Paso
512-463-0129
jose.rodriguez@senate.state.tx.us

SD 30  Sen. Craig Estes - Wichita Falls
512-463-0130
craig.estes@senate.state.tx.us

SD 31  Sen. Kel Seliger - Amarillo
512-463-0131
kel.seliger@senate.state.tx.us

TRENDING NOW
The Washington Post Gives Gun Control Group and U.S. Senator Three Pinocchios on Suppressors

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, March 24, 2017

The Washington Post Gives Gun Control Group and U.S. Senator Three Pinocchios on Suppressors

Last week, we wrote about Americans for Responsible Solutions’ irresponsible misinformation about The Hearing Protection Act on Twitter.  Apparently, we weren’t the only ones who took notice of ARS’s complete disregard for the facts on ...

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Yesterday, the Maryland House of Delegates passed House Bill 1036 by a 97-41 vote.

Ohio: Critical Self-Defense Law Takes Effect Today!

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Ohio: Critical Self-Defense Law Takes Effect Today!

Today, March 21, the provisions of the critical self-defense legislation, Sub. Senate Bill 199, go into effect.  Thanks to your active involvement last session, this bill was signed by Governor Kasich last December.  This law ...

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

The Illinois House of Representatives could consider House Bill 2354 at any time.

Arkansas Action Needed: Anti-Gun Bill Which Undermines Concealed Carry Headed to House

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Arkansas Action Needed: Anti-Gun Bill Which Undermines Concealed Carry Headed to House

Today, the Arkansas Senate passed Senate Bill 724, an anti-gun bill which undermines some of the key advancements made with the passage and enactment of House Bill 1249.  SB 724 is now headed to the ...

Oklahoma: Multiple Pro-Gun Bills Passed Out of the House

Friday, March 24, 2017

Oklahoma: Multiple Pro-Gun Bills Passed Out of the House

This week, the Oklahoma House of Representatives passed multiple pro-gun bills, including House Bill 1721, House Bill 2323, and House Bill 2322. 

Trump’s Supreme Court Nominee Embraces Heller and Originalism During Senate Hearings

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, March 24, 2017

Trump’s Supreme Court Nominee Embraces Heller and Originalism During Senate Hearings

Judge Neil M. Gorsuch, President Trump’s pick to replace the late Justice Antonin Scalia on the U.S. Supreme court, asserted during his confirmation hearings this week that Scalia’s landmark Second Amendment opinion in District of ...

Utah: Governor Signs Self-Defense Legislation into Law

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Utah: Governor Signs Self-Defense Legislation into Law

Tonight, Governor Gary Herbert signed House Bill 198 into law.

Nevada: Senate Passes Anti-Gun SB 115

Wednesday, March 22, 2017

Nevada: Senate Passes Anti-Gun SB 115

Yesterday, March 21, the Senate passed anti-gun Senate Bill 115 with a 12-9 vote.  SB 115 was sent to the Assembly for further consideration.  Sponsored by state Senator Moises Denis (D-2), SB 115 would expand the list ...

Maryland: Pro-Carry Legislation Pending Final Vote on House Floor

Monday, March 20, 2017

Maryland: Pro-Carry Legislation Pending Final Vote on House Floor

Today, the Maryland House of Delegates passed House Bill 1036 on second reading.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.