Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Hunting

Numerous Pro-Gun and Pro-Hunting Bills to be Heard Soon in Maryland!

Wednesday, February 11, 2009

There are several pro-gun and pro-hunting bills making their way through the Maryland Legislature that will be considered in the coming days.  Dates have yet to be scheduled.

House Bill 663 will soon be heard by the House Committee on Environmental Matters.  This bill would remove restrictions on a person’s ability to hunt deer on specified Sundays on private property in Baltimore County. 

Senate Bill 609, introduced by State Senator David Brinkley (R-4), has been assigned to the Senate Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee.  This pro-hunting bill will authorize a person in Frederick County to hunt deer on specified Sundays on private property with a bow and arrow during October and November. 

The House Committee on Environmental Matters and Senate Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee have been assigned to consider House Bill 675 and its companion, Senate Bill 652, respectively.  Sponsored by the Allegany and Garrett County Delegations, these measures are designed to increase hunting opportunities in these counties.  HB675 and SB652 would authorize a person in Allegany or Garrett County to hunt for deer on private property with a bow and arrow during open season on the final three Sundays in October and the second Sunday in November.

Also pending consideration is House Bill 470. This legislation would repeal the requirement that the Secretary of State Police find that a person has a good and substantial reason to wear, carry or transport a handgun before issuing a handgun permit.  HB470 is in the House Judiciary Committee.

Finally, Senate Bill 586, an NRA-backed measure introduced by State Senators Alexander Mooney (R-3) and Anthony Muse (D-26), is awaiting action by the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee.  SB586 would allow victims of spousal domestic abuse a temporary or final protective order to wear, carry or transport a concealed handgun and be issued a concealed carry permit by the Secretary of State Police.

Please contact the members of the committees listed below and respectfully urge them to support these bills.

House Committee on Environmental Matters (HB663, HB6755):

State Delegate Maggie McIntosh (D-43), Chair
maggie.mcintosh@house.state.md.us

State Delegate James E. Malone, Jr. (D-12A), Vice Chair
james.malone@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Saqib Ali (D-39)
saqib.ali@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Pamela Beidle (D-32)
pamela.beidle@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Elizabeth Bobo (D-12B)
elizabeth.bobo@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Rudolph C. Cane (D-37A)
rudolph.cane@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Alfred C. Carr, Jr. (D-18)
alfred.carr@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Virginia P. Clagett (D-30)
virginia.clagett@house.state.md.us


State Delegate Barbara Frush (D-21)
barbara.frush@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Cheryl D. Glenn (D-45)
cheryl.glenn@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Anne Healey (D-22)
anne.healey@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr. (D-23B)
marvin.holmes@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Tom Hucker (D-20)
tom.hucker@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Stephen W. Lafferty (D-42)
stephen.lafferty@house.state.md.us

State Delegate LeRoy Meyers Jr. (R-1C)
leroy.myers@house.state.md.us


State Delegate Doyle L. Niemann (D-47)
doyle.niemann@house.state.md.us

State Delegate H. Wayne Norman (R-35A)
wayne.norman@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Anthony J. O'Donnell (R-29C)
anthony.odonnell@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Andrew Serafini (R-2A)
andrew.serafini@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Tanya T. Shewell (R-5A)
tanya.shewell@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Richard A. Sossi (R-36)
richard.sossi@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Dana M. Stein (D-11)
dana.stein@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Paul S. Stull (R-4A)
paul.stull@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Michael H. Weir, Jr. (D-6)
michael.weir@house.state.md.us


Senate Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee (SB609, SB652):

State Senator Joan Carter Conway (D-43), Chair,
joan.carter.conway@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Roy P. Dyson (D-29), Vice-Chair,
roy.dyson@senate.state.md.us


State Senator Richard F. Colburn (R-37),
richard.colburn@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Janet Greenip (R-33),
janet.greenip@senate.state.md.us

State Senator
David Harrington (D-47)
david.harrington@senate.state.md.us


State Senator Andrew P. Harris (R-7),
andrew.harris@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Michael G. Lenett (D-19),
mike.lenett@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Paul G. Pinsky (D-22),
paul.pinsky@senate.state.md.us

State Senator James C. Rosapepe (D-21),
jim.rosapepe@senate.state.md.us

House Judiciary Committee (HB470):

State Delegate Joseph F. Vallario, Jr., Chair
joseph.vallario@house.state.md.us

State Delegate
Samuel I. Rosenberg, Vice-Chair
samuel.rosenberg@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Curtis Anderson (D-43)
curt.anderson@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Benjamin Barnes (D-21)
ben.barnes@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Jill Carter (D-41)
jill.carter@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Frank Conaway Jr. (D-40)
frank.conaway@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Kathleen Dumais (D-15)
kathleen.dumais@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Don Dwyer Jr. (R-31)
don.dwyer@house.state.md.us

State Delegate William Frank (R-42)
william.frank@house.state.md.us

State Delegate J.B. Jennings (R-7)
jb.jennings@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Kevin Kelly (D-1B)
(410) 841-3404, (301) 858-3404

State Delegate Benjamin Kramer (D-19)
benjamin.kramer@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Susan Lee (D-16)
susan.lee@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Gerron Levi (D-23A)
gerron.levi@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Susan McComas (R-35B)
susan.mccomas@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Tony McConkey (R-33A)
tony.mcconkey@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Victor Ramirez (D-47)
victor.ramirez@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Todd Schuler (D-8)
todd.schuler@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Luiz Simmons (D-17)
luiz.simmons@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Michael Smigiel Sr. (R-36)
michael.smigiel@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Kriselda Valderrama (D-26)
kris.valderrama@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Jeffrey Waldstreicher (D-18)
jeff.waldstreicher@house.state.md.us

Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee (SB586):

State Senator Brian E. Frosh, Chair
brian.frosh@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Lisa A. Gladden, Vice-Chair
lisa.gladden@senate.state.md.us

State Senator James Brochin (D-42)
jim.brochin@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Jennie Forehand (D-17)
jennie.forehand@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Larry Haines (R-5)
larry.haines@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Nancy Jacobs (R-34)
nancy.jacobs@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Alex Mooney (R-3)
alex.mooney@senate.state.md.us

State Senator C. Anthony Muse (D-26)
anthony.muse@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Jamie Raskin (D-20)
jamie.raskin@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Bryan Simonaire (R-31)
bryan.simonaire@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Norman Stone Jr. (D-6)
norman.stone@senate.state.md.us

TRENDING NOW

News  

Tuesday, April 24, 2018

ALERT ! YETI Adds Insult to Injury

If it wasn’t bad enough that YETI dropped The NRA Foundation as a client, now they’re calling us liars because we informed our members and friends of their actions.  

Saturday, April 21, 2018

Florida Alert: YETI Drops NRA Foundation

For years YETI Coolers have been a hot item for sportsmen at the Friends of NRA Foundation Banquet and Auction events around the country.  Suddenly, without prior notice, YETI has declined to do business with The ...

Dick’s Sporting Goods/Field & Stream to Destroy Firearms Inventory

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, April 20, 2018

Dick’s Sporting Goods/Field & Stream to Destroy Firearms Inventory

Dick’s Sporting Goods took their campaign to alienate law-abiding gun owners to an extraordinary new level last week. The beleaguered retailer announced that in addition to removing certain types of semi-automatic rifles from their stores, the company ...

NRA Statement on Passage of the National Defense Authorization Act

News  

Tuesday, December 12, 2017

NRA Statement on Passage of the National Defense Authorization Act

National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action executive director, Chris W. Cox, released the following statement on Tuesday regarding President Donald Trump's signature on the National Defense Authorization Act

California: Legislation Requiring Background Checks on Barrels and Other Parts Up For Hearing!

Sunday, April 22, 2018

California: Legislation Requiring Background Checks on Barrels and Other Parts Up For Hearing!

Several pro- and anti-gun bills are scheduled to be heard in their respective committees on Monday, April 23 and Tuesday, April 24.  Please contact the members of the respective committee and urge them to SUPPORT ...

Another Group of Anti-Gun Celebrities Forms!  In Other News, The Sun Rose Today.

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, April 20, 2018

Another Group of Anti-Gun Celebrities Forms! In Other News, The Sun Rose Today.

In case you were worried there were not enough anti-gun organizations working to eradicate the rights of law-abiding gun owners, a new one has formed, and it’s called NoRA.  Get it?  The name implies that the ...

Minnesota: Two Anti-Gun Amendments to be Introduced and Considered Tomorrow

Wednesday, April 25, 2018

Minnesota: Two Anti-Gun Amendments to be Introduced and Considered Tomorrow

Tomorrow, anti-gun state Senator Ron Latz is expected to introduce two gun control amendments to the Senate Judiciary Omnibus finance bill on the Senate floor.

Keep Calm and Carry On: Pro-Gun Sentiment Reasserts Itself in Wake of Antigun Blitz

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, April 20, 2018

Keep Calm and Carry On: Pro-Gun Sentiment Reasserts Itself in Wake of Antigun Blitz

Like the long-delayed coming of spring to the Mid-Atlantic, evidence is appearing that Americans are regaining their senses and reverting to an instinctual embrace of freedom after a withering barrage of some the nastiest and most ugly ...

Illinois: Senate to Consider Overriding Veto on Dealer Licensing Bills

Monday, April 23, 2018

Illinois: Senate to Consider Overriding Veto on Dealer Licensing Bills

With the April 25th deadline approaching, the Illinois state Senate is expected soon to consider overriding Gov. Bruce Rauner’s veto on legislation that would drive your local gun stores out of business with onerous red tape ...

Delaware: Mandatory Gun Storage Legislation to be Heard in Committee Today

Wednesday, April 25, 2018

Delaware: Mandatory Gun Storage Legislation to be Heard in Committee Today

Today, the House Judiciary Committee is scheduled to consider anti-gun House Bill 366.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.