Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Hunting

Numerous Pro-Gun and Pro-Hunting Bills to be Heard Soon in Maryland!

Wednesday, February 11, 2009

There are several pro-gun and pro-hunting bills making their way through the Maryland Legislature that will be considered in the coming days.  Dates have yet to be scheduled.

House Bill 663 will soon be heard by the House Committee on Environmental Matters.  This bill would remove restrictions on a person’s ability to hunt deer on specified Sundays on private property in Baltimore County. 

Senate Bill 609, introduced by State Senator David Brinkley (R-4), has been assigned to the Senate Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee.  This pro-hunting bill will authorize a person in Frederick County to hunt deer on specified Sundays on private property with a bow and arrow during October and November. 

The House Committee on Environmental Matters and Senate Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee have been assigned to consider House Bill 675 and its companion, Senate Bill 652, respectively.  Sponsored by the Allegany and Garrett County Delegations, these measures are designed to increase hunting opportunities in these counties.  HB675 and SB652 would authorize a person in Allegany or Garrett County to hunt for deer on private property with a bow and arrow during open season on the final three Sundays in October and the second Sunday in November.

Also pending consideration is House Bill 470. This legislation would repeal the requirement that the Secretary of State Police find that a person has a good and substantial reason to wear, carry or transport a handgun before issuing a handgun permit.  HB470 is in the House Judiciary Committee.

Finally, Senate Bill 586, an NRA-backed measure introduced by State Senators Alexander Mooney (R-3) and Anthony Muse (D-26), is awaiting action by the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee.  SB586 would allow victims of spousal domestic abuse a temporary or final protective order to wear, carry or transport a concealed handgun and be issued a concealed carry permit by the Secretary of State Police.

Please contact the members of the committees listed below and respectfully urge them to support these bills.

House Committee on Environmental Matters (HB663, HB6755):

State Delegate Maggie McIntosh (D-43), Chair
maggie.mcintosh@house.state.md.us

State Delegate James E. Malone, Jr. (D-12A), Vice Chair
james.malone@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Saqib Ali (D-39)
saqib.ali@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Pamela Beidle (D-32)
pamela.beidle@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Elizabeth Bobo (D-12B)
elizabeth.bobo@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Rudolph C. Cane (D-37A)
rudolph.cane@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Alfred C. Carr, Jr. (D-18)
alfred.carr@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Virginia P. Clagett (D-30)
virginia.clagett@house.state.md.us


State Delegate Barbara Frush (D-21)
barbara.frush@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Cheryl D. Glenn (D-45)
cheryl.glenn@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Anne Healey (D-22)
anne.healey@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr. (D-23B)
marvin.holmes@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Tom Hucker (D-20)
tom.hucker@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Stephen W. Lafferty (D-42)
stephen.lafferty@house.state.md.us

State Delegate LeRoy Meyers Jr. (R-1C)
leroy.myers@house.state.md.us


State Delegate Doyle L. Niemann (D-47)
doyle.niemann@house.state.md.us

State Delegate H. Wayne Norman (R-35A)
wayne.norman@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Anthony J. O'Donnell (R-29C)
anthony.odonnell@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Andrew Serafini (R-2A)
andrew.serafini@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Tanya T. Shewell (R-5A)
tanya.shewell@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Richard A. Sossi (R-36)
richard.sossi@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Dana M. Stein (D-11)
dana.stein@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Paul S. Stull (R-4A)
paul.stull@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Michael H. Weir, Jr. (D-6)
michael.weir@house.state.md.us


Senate Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee (SB609, SB652):

State Senator Joan Carter Conway (D-43), Chair,
joan.carter.conway@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Roy P. Dyson (D-29), Vice-Chair,
roy.dyson@senate.state.md.us


State Senator Richard F. Colburn (R-37),
richard.colburn@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Janet Greenip (R-33),
janet.greenip@senate.state.md.us

State Senator
David Harrington (D-47)
david.harrington@senate.state.md.us


State Senator Andrew P. Harris (R-7),
andrew.harris@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Michael G. Lenett (D-19),
mike.lenett@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Paul G. Pinsky (D-22),
paul.pinsky@senate.state.md.us

State Senator James C. Rosapepe (D-21),
jim.rosapepe@senate.state.md.us

House Judiciary Committee (HB470):

State Delegate Joseph F. Vallario, Jr., Chair
joseph.vallario@house.state.md.us

State Delegate
Samuel I. Rosenberg, Vice-Chair
samuel.rosenberg@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Curtis Anderson (D-43)
curt.anderson@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Benjamin Barnes (D-21)
ben.barnes@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Jill Carter (D-41)
jill.carter@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Frank Conaway Jr. (D-40)
frank.conaway@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Kathleen Dumais (D-15)
kathleen.dumais@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Don Dwyer Jr. (R-31)
don.dwyer@house.state.md.us

State Delegate William Frank (R-42)
william.frank@house.state.md.us

State Delegate J.B. Jennings (R-7)
jb.jennings@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Kevin Kelly (D-1B)
(410) 841-3404, (301) 858-3404

State Delegate Benjamin Kramer (D-19)
benjamin.kramer@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Susan Lee (D-16)
susan.lee@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Gerron Levi (D-23A)
gerron.levi@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Susan McComas (R-35B)
susan.mccomas@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Tony McConkey (R-33A)
tony.mcconkey@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Victor Ramirez (D-47)
victor.ramirez@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Todd Schuler (D-8)
todd.schuler@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Luiz Simmons (D-17)
luiz.simmons@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Michael Smigiel Sr. (R-36)
michael.smigiel@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Kriselda Valderrama (D-26)
kris.valderrama@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Jeffrey Waldstreicher (D-18)
jeff.waldstreicher@house.state.md.us

Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee (SB586):

State Senator Brian E. Frosh, Chair
brian.frosh@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Lisa A. Gladden, Vice-Chair
lisa.gladden@senate.state.md.us

State Senator James Brochin (D-42)
jim.brochin@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Jennie Forehand (D-17)
jennie.forehand@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Larry Haines (R-5)
larry.haines@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Nancy Jacobs (R-34)
nancy.jacobs@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Alex Mooney (R-3)
alex.mooney@senate.state.md.us

State Senator C. Anthony Muse (D-26)
anthony.muse@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Jamie Raskin (D-20)
jamie.raskin@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Bryan Simonaire (R-31)
bryan.simonaire@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Norman Stone Jr. (D-6)
norman.stone@senate.state.md.us

TRENDING NOW
Indiana: Important Self-Defense Bill Passes Legislature, On to Governor

Monday, April 22, 2019

Indiana: Important Self-Defense Bill Passes Legislature, On to Governor

On April 22nd, both chambers of the Indiana General Assembly voted to concur with the amendments made to House Bill 1284 during the conference committee process.  HB 1284 has been amended to now include many ...

News  

Monday, April 22, 2019

With Proposed Federal Legislation, Anti-gun Advocates Seek to Impose May-Issue Gun Ownership

In 1987, only ten states had concealed carry laws that treated the Right-to-Carry in a manner consistent with our constitutional right to bear arms. Understanding that the whims and prejudices of government officials are incompatible ...

Nevada: Gun Control Bills Pass Assembly

Thursday, April 25, 2019

Nevada: Gun Control Bills Pass Assembly

On April 23rd, the Nevada Assembly voted to pass Assembly Bill 291 and Assembly Bill 153.   AB 291 and AB 153 have been transmitted to the Senate and assigned to the Senate Judiciary Committee for ...

California: DOJ Issues “Notice of Modification” to Proposed Ammunition Background Check Regulations

Thursday, April 18, 2019

California: DOJ Issues “Notice of Modification” to Proposed Ammunition Background Check Regulations

Today, the California Department of Justice issued a “Notice of Modification” to their proposed regulations regarding the soon to be implemented ammunition background check procedures. As a result of these changes, a second 15-day public ...

President to Speak at 148th NRA Annual Meetings and Exhibits in Indianapolis, Indiana on April 26

News  

Monday, April 22, 2019

President to Speak at 148th NRA Annual Meetings and Exhibits in Indianapolis, Indiana on April 26

President Donald J. Trump and Vice President Mike Pence will address NRA members at the NRA Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) Leadership Forum on Friday, April 26, 2019 in Indianapolis, Indiana. The complete list of ...

New York Times Admits Privately-Funded “Gun Violence” Research is a Thing

News  

Friday, April 19, 2019

New York Times Admits Privately-Funded “Gun Violence” Research is a Thing

The New York Times – the “paper of record” – reports that “Gun Research is Suddenly Hot.” While we’re happy to see the Times has finally acknowledged that “gun research” can survive federal restrictions on taxpayer funded gun control ...

Heeee’s Baaack: Bill Clinton Peddles Gun Control on a Wish and a Lie

News  

Friday, April 19, 2019

Heeee’s Baaack: Bill Clinton Peddles Gun Control on a Wish and a Lie

Proving there is no statute of limitations on political opportunism, this week former President Bill Clinton used the occasion of the twentieth anniversary of the tragic school shooting in Littleton, Colo. to pen an op-ed pushing ...

NRA Supporting Challenge to Washington State Release of Gun Owner's Private Data

News  

Tuesday, April 23, 2019

NRA Supporting Challenge to Washington State Release of Gun Owner's Private Data

The NRA is supporting a challenge to Washington State's plan to release names and addresses of those who participated in the state’s bump stock buy-back program.  

Maine: Firearm Seizure Bill Heads To Judiciary Committee

Wednesday, April 17, 2019

Maine: Firearm Seizure Bill Heads To Judiciary Committee

On April 22nd, the Maine Judiciary Committee will hold a hearing on Legislative Document 1312, which would allow for firearms to be seized and Second Amendment rights to be suspended without due process. 

President Donald J. Trump will  Address NRA Members at the 148th NRA Annual Meetings and Exhibits in Indianapolis, Indiana

News  

Friday, April 5, 2019

President Donald J. Trump will Address NRA Members at the 148th NRA Annual Meetings and Exhibits in Indianapolis, Indiana

FAIRFAX, Va.— President Donald Trump will address NRA members at the NRA Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) Leadership Forum on Friday, April 26, 2019 in Indianapolis, Indiana. This is the third consecutive year that President Trump will deliver the keynote address at the NRA-ILA ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.