Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Hunting

Numerous Pro-Gun and Pro-Hunting Bills to be Heard Soon in Maryland!

Wednesday, February 11, 2009

There are several pro-gun and pro-hunting bills making their way through the Maryland Legislature that will be considered in the coming days.  Dates have yet to be scheduled.

House Bill 663 will soon be heard by the House Committee on Environmental Matters.  This bill would remove restrictions on a person’s ability to hunt deer on specified Sundays on private property in Baltimore County. 

Senate Bill 609, introduced by State Senator David Brinkley (R-4), has been assigned to the Senate Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee.  This pro-hunting bill will authorize a person in Frederick County to hunt deer on specified Sundays on private property with a bow and arrow during October and November. 

The House Committee on Environmental Matters and Senate Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee have been assigned to consider House Bill 675 and its companion, Senate Bill 652, respectively.  Sponsored by the Allegany and Garrett County Delegations, these measures are designed to increase hunting opportunities in these counties.  HB675 and SB652 would authorize a person in Allegany or Garrett County to hunt for deer on private property with a bow and arrow during open season on the final three Sundays in October and the second Sunday in November.

Also pending consideration is House Bill 470. This legislation would repeal the requirement that the Secretary of State Police find that a person has a good and substantial reason to wear, carry or transport a handgun before issuing a handgun permit.  HB470 is in the House Judiciary Committee.

Finally, Senate Bill 586, an NRA-backed measure introduced by State Senators Alexander Mooney (R-3) and Anthony Muse (D-26), is awaiting action by the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee.  SB586 would allow victims of spousal domestic abuse a temporary or final protective order to wear, carry or transport a concealed handgun and be issued a concealed carry permit by the Secretary of State Police.

Please contact the members of the committees listed below and respectfully urge them to support these bills.

House Committee on Environmental Matters (HB663, HB6755):

State Delegate Maggie McIntosh (D-43), Chair
maggie.mcintosh@house.state.md.us

State Delegate James E. Malone, Jr. (D-12A), Vice Chair
james.malone@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Saqib Ali (D-39)
saqib.ali@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Pamela Beidle (D-32)
pamela.beidle@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Elizabeth Bobo (D-12B)
elizabeth.bobo@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Rudolph C. Cane (D-37A)
rudolph.cane@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Alfred C. Carr, Jr. (D-18)
alfred.carr@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Virginia P. Clagett (D-30)
virginia.clagett@house.state.md.us


State Delegate Barbara Frush (D-21)
barbara.frush@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Cheryl D. Glenn (D-45)
cheryl.glenn@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Anne Healey (D-22)
anne.healey@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr. (D-23B)
marvin.holmes@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Tom Hucker (D-20)
tom.hucker@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Stephen W. Lafferty (D-42)
stephen.lafferty@house.state.md.us

State Delegate LeRoy Meyers Jr. (R-1C)
leroy.myers@house.state.md.us


State Delegate Doyle L. Niemann (D-47)
doyle.niemann@house.state.md.us

State Delegate H. Wayne Norman (R-35A)
wayne.norman@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Anthony J. O'Donnell (R-29C)
anthony.odonnell@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Andrew Serafini (R-2A)
andrew.serafini@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Tanya T. Shewell (R-5A)
tanya.shewell@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Richard A. Sossi (R-36)
richard.sossi@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Dana M. Stein (D-11)
dana.stein@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Paul S. Stull (R-4A)
paul.stull@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Michael H. Weir, Jr. (D-6)
michael.weir@house.state.md.us


Senate Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee (SB609, SB652):

State Senator Joan Carter Conway (D-43), Chair,
joan.carter.conway@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Roy P. Dyson (D-29), Vice-Chair,
roy.dyson@senate.state.md.us


State Senator Richard F. Colburn (R-37),
richard.colburn@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Janet Greenip (R-33),
janet.greenip@senate.state.md.us

State Senator
David Harrington (D-47)
david.harrington@senate.state.md.us


State Senator Andrew P. Harris (R-7),
andrew.harris@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Michael G. Lenett (D-19),
mike.lenett@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Paul G. Pinsky (D-22),
paul.pinsky@senate.state.md.us

State Senator James C. Rosapepe (D-21),
jim.rosapepe@senate.state.md.us

House Judiciary Committee (HB470):

State Delegate Joseph F. Vallario, Jr., Chair
joseph.vallario@house.state.md.us

State Delegate
Samuel I. Rosenberg, Vice-Chair
samuel.rosenberg@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Curtis Anderson (D-43)
curt.anderson@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Benjamin Barnes (D-21)
ben.barnes@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Jill Carter (D-41)
jill.carter@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Frank Conaway Jr. (D-40)
frank.conaway@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Kathleen Dumais (D-15)
kathleen.dumais@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Don Dwyer Jr. (R-31)
don.dwyer@house.state.md.us

State Delegate William Frank (R-42)
william.frank@house.state.md.us

State Delegate J.B. Jennings (R-7)
jb.jennings@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Kevin Kelly (D-1B)
(410) 841-3404, (301) 858-3404

State Delegate Benjamin Kramer (D-19)
benjamin.kramer@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Susan Lee (D-16)
susan.lee@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Gerron Levi (D-23A)
gerron.levi@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Susan McComas (R-35B)
susan.mccomas@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Tony McConkey (R-33A)
tony.mcconkey@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Victor Ramirez (D-47)
victor.ramirez@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Todd Schuler (D-8)
todd.schuler@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Luiz Simmons (D-17)
luiz.simmons@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Michael Smigiel Sr. (R-36)
michael.smigiel@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Kriselda Valderrama (D-26)
kris.valderrama@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Jeffrey Waldstreicher (D-18)
jeff.waldstreicher@house.state.md.us

Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee (SB586):

State Senator Brian E. Frosh, Chair
brian.frosh@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Lisa A. Gladden, Vice-Chair
lisa.gladden@senate.state.md.us

State Senator James Brochin (D-42)
jim.brochin@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Jennie Forehand (D-17)
jennie.forehand@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Larry Haines (R-5)
larry.haines@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Nancy Jacobs (R-34)
nancy.jacobs@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Alex Mooney (R-3)
alex.mooney@senate.state.md.us

State Senator C. Anthony Muse (D-26)
anthony.muse@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Jamie Raskin (D-20)
jamie.raskin@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Bryan Simonaire (R-31)
bryan.simonaire@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Norman Stone Jr. (D-6)
norman.stone@senate.state.md.us

TRENDING NOW
Washington: Substitute Version of Gun Control Bill Passes House Committee

Friday, January 19, 2018

Washington: Substitute Version of Gun Control Bill Passes House Committee

Yesterday, the House Judiciary Committee passed Substitute House Bill 1122 out of committee on a 7-6 vote.  This bill, which would require gun owners to lock up their firearms or potentially face criminal charges, will ...

Crossing the Line – Firearm Preemption Protection Under Attack

News  

Friday, January 19, 2018

Crossing the Line – Firearm Preemption Protection Under Attack

Gun control groups are fond of describing preemption as a doctrine whereby a state has stripped local governments of their power to regulate guns.

Australia: Queensland’s Labor Party Government Targets MP for Gun Control Heresy

News  

Friday, January 19, 2018

Australia: Queensland’s Labor Party Government Targets MP for Gun Control Heresy

The sorry state of gun politics in Australia was put into stark relief recently, after Liberal National Party (LNP) Queensland Legislative Assembly MP Anthony Perrett took a principled stand in favor of his constituents’ gun rights.

Washington: Trigger Modification Ban Passes Committee

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Washington: Trigger Modification Ban Passes Committee

Earlier today, the Washington state Senate Law & Justice Committee passed Senate Bill 5992 out of committee with a 4-3 vote. As drafted, this legislation has overreaching language that would ban modifications commonly made to ...

Arizona: Signature Gathering Underway For Hunting Ban Initiative

Hunting  

Friday, January 19, 2018

Arizona: Signature Gathering Underway For Hunting Ban Initiative

The Humane Society of the United States (HSUS) and their front-group “Arizonans for Wildlife” are currently gathering signatures for a ballot initiative that would ban the hunting and trapping of mountain lions and bobcats in ...

New Jersey:  2018 Brings Bigger Challenges for New Jersey Gun Owners

Friday, January 19, 2018

New Jersey: 2018 Brings Bigger Challenges for New Jersey Gun Owners

A new Governor took the reins from Gov. Chris Christie this week, and a new Legislature has been sworn into office. 

Indiana: Rifle Hunting Bill Passes Senate

Hunting  

Friday, January 19, 2018

Indiana: Rifle Hunting Bill Passes Senate

On Thursday, January 18th, Senate Bill 20 passed the Indiana state Senate by a vote of 47-2 and will now move to the House.  

Washington: House Judiciary to Hear Gun Control Bills

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Washington: House Judiciary to Hear Gun Control Bills

On Thursday, January 25th at 1:30PM, the House Judiciary Committee is scheduled to hear several sweeping gun control bills.  NRA Members and Second Amendment supporters are strongly encouraged to attend the committee hearing to voice your opposition ...

Hawaii: Trigger Modification Ban Introduced in the Senate

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Hawaii: Trigger Modification Ban Introduced in the Senate

Today, Senator Karl Rhoads (D-13) introduced legislation that would ban modifications commonly made to firearms by law-abiding citizens.  SB 2046 is currently pending a committee referral.  Please contact your Senator today and urge them to OPPOSE this ...

Eighteen States, Law Enforcement, Doctors, and Firearm Rights Groups File Amicus Briefs in Lawsuit Challenging California 10+ Magazine Ban

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Eighteen States, Law Enforcement, Doctors, and Firearm Rights Groups File Amicus Briefs in Lawsuit Challenging California 10+ Magazine Ban

On Friday, January 12, several amicus briefs were filed in the NRA and CRPA supported lawsuit challenging California’s restrictions against magazines capable of holding more than 10 rounds. The lawsuit, titled Duncan v. Becerra, challenges California’s ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.