Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Hunting

Numerous Pro-Gun and Pro-Hunting Bills to be Heard Soon in Maryland!

Wednesday, February 11, 2009

There are several pro-gun and pro-hunting bills making their way through the Maryland Legislature that will be considered in the coming days.  Dates have yet to be scheduled.

House Bill 663 will soon be heard by the House Committee on Environmental Matters.  This bill would remove restrictions on a person’s ability to hunt deer on specified Sundays on private property in Baltimore County. 

Senate Bill 609, introduced by State Senator David Brinkley (R-4), has been assigned to the Senate Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee.  This pro-hunting bill will authorize a person in Frederick County to hunt deer on specified Sundays on private property with a bow and arrow during October and November. 

The House Committee on Environmental Matters and Senate Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee have been assigned to consider House Bill 675 and its companion, Senate Bill 652, respectively.  Sponsored by the Allegany and Garrett County Delegations, these measures are designed to increase hunting opportunities in these counties.  HB675 and SB652 would authorize a person in Allegany or Garrett County to hunt for deer on private property with a bow and arrow during open season on the final three Sundays in October and the second Sunday in November.

Also pending consideration is House Bill 470. This legislation would repeal the requirement that the Secretary of State Police find that a person has a good and substantial reason to wear, carry or transport a handgun before issuing a handgun permit.  HB470 is in the House Judiciary Committee.

Finally, Senate Bill 586, an NRA-backed measure introduced by State Senators Alexander Mooney (R-3) and Anthony Muse (D-26), is awaiting action by the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee.  SB586 would allow victims of spousal domestic abuse a temporary or final protective order to wear, carry or transport a concealed handgun and be issued a concealed carry permit by the Secretary of State Police.

Please contact the members of the committees listed below and respectfully urge them to support these bills.

House Committee on Environmental Matters (HB663, HB6755):

State Delegate Maggie McIntosh (D-43), Chair
maggie.mcintosh@house.state.md.us

State Delegate James E. Malone, Jr. (D-12A), Vice Chair
james.malone@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Saqib Ali (D-39)
saqib.ali@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Pamela Beidle (D-32)
pamela.beidle@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Elizabeth Bobo (D-12B)
elizabeth.bobo@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Rudolph C. Cane (D-37A)
rudolph.cane@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Alfred C. Carr, Jr. (D-18)
alfred.carr@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Virginia P. Clagett (D-30)
virginia.clagett@house.state.md.us


State Delegate Barbara Frush (D-21)
barbara.frush@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Cheryl D. Glenn (D-45)
cheryl.glenn@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Anne Healey (D-22)
anne.healey@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr. (D-23B)
marvin.holmes@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Tom Hucker (D-20)
tom.hucker@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Stephen W. Lafferty (D-42)
stephen.lafferty@house.state.md.us

State Delegate LeRoy Meyers Jr. (R-1C)
leroy.myers@house.state.md.us


State Delegate Doyle L. Niemann (D-47)
doyle.niemann@house.state.md.us

State Delegate H. Wayne Norman (R-35A)
wayne.norman@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Anthony J. O'Donnell (R-29C)
anthony.odonnell@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Andrew Serafini (R-2A)
andrew.serafini@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Tanya T. Shewell (R-5A)
tanya.shewell@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Richard A. Sossi (R-36)
richard.sossi@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Dana M. Stein (D-11)
dana.stein@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Paul S. Stull (R-4A)
paul.stull@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Michael H. Weir, Jr. (D-6)
michael.weir@house.state.md.us


Senate Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee (SB609, SB652):

State Senator Joan Carter Conway (D-43), Chair,
joan.carter.conway@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Roy P. Dyson (D-29), Vice-Chair,
roy.dyson@senate.state.md.us


State Senator Richard F. Colburn (R-37),
richard.colburn@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Janet Greenip (R-33),
janet.greenip@senate.state.md.us

State Senator
David Harrington (D-47)
david.harrington@senate.state.md.us


State Senator Andrew P. Harris (R-7),
andrew.harris@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Michael G. Lenett (D-19),
mike.lenett@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Paul G. Pinsky (D-22),
paul.pinsky@senate.state.md.us

State Senator James C. Rosapepe (D-21),
jim.rosapepe@senate.state.md.us

House Judiciary Committee (HB470):

State Delegate Joseph F. Vallario, Jr., Chair
joseph.vallario@house.state.md.us

State Delegate
Samuel I. Rosenberg, Vice-Chair
samuel.rosenberg@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Curtis Anderson (D-43)
curt.anderson@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Benjamin Barnes (D-21)
ben.barnes@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Jill Carter (D-41)
jill.carter@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Frank Conaway Jr. (D-40)
frank.conaway@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Kathleen Dumais (D-15)
kathleen.dumais@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Don Dwyer Jr. (R-31)
don.dwyer@house.state.md.us

State Delegate William Frank (R-42)
william.frank@house.state.md.us

State Delegate J.B. Jennings (R-7)
jb.jennings@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Kevin Kelly (D-1B)
(410) 841-3404, (301) 858-3404

State Delegate Benjamin Kramer (D-19)
benjamin.kramer@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Susan Lee (D-16)
susan.lee@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Gerron Levi (D-23A)
gerron.levi@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Susan McComas (R-35B)
susan.mccomas@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Tony McConkey (R-33A)
tony.mcconkey@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Victor Ramirez (D-47)
victor.ramirez@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Todd Schuler (D-8)
todd.schuler@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Luiz Simmons (D-17)
luiz.simmons@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Michael Smigiel Sr. (R-36)
michael.smigiel@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Kriselda Valderrama (D-26)
kris.valderrama@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Jeffrey Waldstreicher (D-18)
jeff.waldstreicher@house.state.md.us

Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee (SB586):

State Senator Brian E. Frosh, Chair
brian.frosh@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Lisa A. Gladden, Vice-Chair
lisa.gladden@senate.state.md.us

State Senator James Brochin (D-42)
jim.brochin@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Jennie Forehand (D-17)
jennie.forehand@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Larry Haines (R-5)
larry.haines@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Nancy Jacobs (R-34)
nancy.jacobs@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Alex Mooney (R-3)
alex.mooney@senate.state.md.us

State Senator C. Anthony Muse (D-26)
anthony.muse@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Jamie Raskin (D-20)
jamie.raskin@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Bryan Simonaire (R-31)
bryan.simonaire@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Norman Stone Jr. (D-6)
norman.stone@senate.state.md.us

TRENDING NOW
Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

News  

Friday, September 7, 2018

Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

Levi Strauss & Co. established its brand in the mid-19th century by selling durable clothing to working-class Americans. As Levi’s signature jeans gained popularity amongst a wider set in the middle of the last century, ...

Who’s BS’ing Now? Gonzalez Argues for Gun Confiscation but Insists She’s “Pro Second Amendment”

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Who’s BS’ing Now? Gonzalez Argues for Gun Confiscation but Insists She’s “Pro Second Amendment”

Gun control advocates are constantly looking for the right messenger to push an agenda that boils down to law-abiding Americans giving up their freedoms, their security, and their property without expectation of affecting the behavior ...

Jamie Lee Curtis “Proves” She is Not Anti-gun by Stating her Support for Banning Guns?!?!

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Jamie Lee Curtis “Proves” She is Not Anti-gun by Stating her Support for Banning Guns?!?!

Actors and actresses should generally stick to what they know best; repeating the lines others have written for them. Jamie Lee Curtis recently decided to try to explain, in her own words, how much she ...

Round Two: Gun Rights Groups Prevail (Again) in Second Challenge to Firearm Restrictions in Delaware’s State Parks, Forests

News  

Gun Laws  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Round Two: Gun Rights Groups Prevail (Again) in Second Challenge to Firearm Restrictions in Delaware’s State Parks, Forests

Gun rights groups, including the NRA’s Delaware affiliate, the Delaware State Sportsmen’s Association, scored an encore legal victory this week when the Superior Court of the State of Delaware invalidated parts of newly promulgated regulations ...

Senator from Tennessee or Times Square? Bloomberg Hosts Manhattan Fundraiser for Phil Bredesen

News  

Thursday, October 11, 2018

Senator from Tennessee or Times Square? Bloomberg Hosts Manhattan Fundraiser for Phil Bredesen

Is Phil Bredesen running for U.S. Senate to represent Memphis or Manhattan? Rocky Top or Rockefeller Center? Appalachia or the Big Apple? Tennessee voters might wonder after billionaire gun control financier and former-New York City ...

Politics over Data: The Rhode Island Working Group

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Politics over Data: The Rhode Island Working Group

Rhode Island Governor Gina Raimondo convened a task force focused on “gun safety” last April, comprised predominantly of members drawn from “the judiciary, the Attorney General’s Office, state and local law enforcement agencies, gun violence prevention ...

Bloomberg Finds Home in Today’s Democratic Party

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Bloomberg Finds Home in Today’s Democratic Party

In what observers have pegged as a preparatory step for a presidential run in 2020, on October 10 billionaire gun control financier and former-New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg registered as a Democrat. Bloomberg ran as ...

Anti-gun Researcher Refutes His Own Anti-gun Conclusion

News  

Friday, October 5, 2018

Anti-gun Researcher Refutes His Own Anti-gun Conclusion

Doctor Garen Wintemute’s latest contribution to “the prevention of firearm violence” comes in the form of a Perspective column published in the New England Journal of Medicine. Wintemute, you may recall, is the Director of ...

Don’t Let Your State’s Governor Mansion Become a Gun-Free Home

News  

Wednesday, October 10, 2018

Don’t Let Your State’s Governor Mansion Become a Gun-Free Home

While Congressional elections will likely get the lion’s share of media coverage leading up to November 6, gun owners know that threats to our Right to Keep and Bear Arms do not only emanate from ...

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.