Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Hunting

Numerous Pro-Gun and Pro-Hunting Bills to be Heard Soon in Maryland!

Wednesday, February 11, 2009

There are several pro-gun and pro-hunting bills making their way through the Maryland Legislature that will be considered in the coming days.  Dates have yet to be scheduled.

House Bill 663 will soon be heard by the House Committee on Environmental Matters.  This bill would remove restrictions on a person’s ability to hunt deer on specified Sundays on private property in Baltimore County. 

Senate Bill 609, introduced by State Senator David Brinkley (R-4), has been assigned to the Senate Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee.  This pro-hunting bill will authorize a person in Frederick County to hunt deer on specified Sundays on private property with a bow and arrow during October and November. 

The House Committee on Environmental Matters and Senate Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee have been assigned to consider House Bill 675 and its companion, Senate Bill 652, respectively.  Sponsored by the Allegany and Garrett County Delegations, these measures are designed to increase hunting opportunities in these counties.  HB675 and SB652 would authorize a person in Allegany or Garrett County to hunt for deer on private property with a bow and arrow during open season on the final three Sundays in October and the second Sunday in November.

Also pending consideration is House Bill 470. This legislation would repeal the requirement that the Secretary of State Police find that a person has a good and substantial reason to wear, carry or transport a handgun before issuing a handgun permit.  HB470 is in the House Judiciary Committee.

Finally, Senate Bill 586, an NRA-backed measure introduced by State Senators Alexander Mooney (R-3) and Anthony Muse (D-26), is awaiting action by the Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee.  SB586 would allow victims of spousal domestic abuse a temporary or final protective order to wear, carry or transport a concealed handgun and be issued a concealed carry permit by the Secretary of State Police.

Please contact the members of the committees listed below and respectfully urge them to support these bills.

House Committee on Environmental Matters (HB663, HB6755):

State Delegate Maggie McIntosh (D-43), Chair
maggie.mcintosh@house.state.md.us

State Delegate James E. Malone, Jr. (D-12A), Vice Chair
james.malone@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Saqib Ali (D-39)
saqib.ali@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Pamela Beidle (D-32)
pamela.beidle@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Elizabeth Bobo (D-12B)
elizabeth.bobo@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Rudolph C. Cane (D-37A)
rudolph.cane@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Alfred C. Carr, Jr. (D-18)
alfred.carr@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Virginia P. Clagett (D-30)
virginia.clagett@house.state.md.us


State Delegate Barbara Frush (D-21)
barbara.frush@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Cheryl D. Glenn (D-45)
cheryl.glenn@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Anne Healey (D-22)
anne.healey@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Marvin E. Holmes, Jr. (D-23B)
marvin.holmes@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Tom Hucker (D-20)
tom.hucker@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Stephen W. Lafferty (D-42)
stephen.lafferty@house.state.md.us

State Delegate LeRoy Meyers Jr. (R-1C)
leroy.myers@house.state.md.us


State Delegate Doyle L. Niemann (D-47)
doyle.niemann@house.state.md.us

State Delegate H. Wayne Norman (R-35A)
wayne.norman@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Anthony J. O'Donnell (R-29C)
anthony.odonnell@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Andrew Serafini (R-2A)
andrew.serafini@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Tanya T. Shewell (R-5A)
tanya.shewell@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Richard A. Sossi (R-36)
richard.sossi@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Dana M. Stein (D-11)
dana.stein@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Paul S. Stull (R-4A)
paul.stull@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Michael H. Weir, Jr. (D-6)
michael.weir@house.state.md.us


Senate Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee (SB609, SB652):

State Senator Joan Carter Conway (D-43), Chair,
joan.carter.conway@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Roy P. Dyson (D-29), Vice-Chair,
roy.dyson@senate.state.md.us


State Senator Richard F. Colburn (R-37),
richard.colburn@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Janet Greenip (R-33),
janet.greenip@senate.state.md.us

State Senator
David Harrington (D-47)
david.harrington@senate.state.md.us


State Senator Andrew P. Harris (R-7),
andrew.harris@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Michael G. Lenett (D-19),
mike.lenett@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Paul G. Pinsky (D-22),
paul.pinsky@senate.state.md.us

State Senator James C. Rosapepe (D-21),
jim.rosapepe@senate.state.md.us

House Judiciary Committee (HB470):

State Delegate Joseph F. Vallario, Jr., Chair
joseph.vallario@house.state.md.us

State Delegate
Samuel I. Rosenberg, Vice-Chair
samuel.rosenberg@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Curtis Anderson (D-43)
curt.anderson@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Benjamin Barnes (D-21)
ben.barnes@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Jill Carter (D-41)
jill.carter@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Frank Conaway Jr. (D-40)
frank.conaway@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Kathleen Dumais (D-15)
kathleen.dumais@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Don Dwyer Jr. (R-31)
don.dwyer@house.state.md.us

State Delegate William Frank (R-42)
william.frank@house.state.md.us

State Delegate J.B. Jennings (R-7)
jb.jennings@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Kevin Kelly (D-1B)
(410) 841-3404, (301) 858-3404

State Delegate Benjamin Kramer (D-19)
benjamin.kramer@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Susan Lee (D-16)
susan.lee@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Gerron Levi (D-23A)
gerron.levi@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Susan McComas (R-35B)
susan.mccomas@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Tony McConkey (R-33A)
tony.mcconkey@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Victor Ramirez (D-47)
victor.ramirez@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Todd Schuler (D-8)
todd.schuler@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Luiz Simmons (D-17)
luiz.simmons@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Michael Smigiel Sr. (R-36)
michael.smigiel@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Kriselda Valderrama (D-26)
kris.valderrama@house.state.md.us

State Delegate Jeffrey Waldstreicher (D-18)
jeff.waldstreicher@house.state.md.us

Senate Judicial Proceedings Committee (SB586):

State Senator Brian E. Frosh, Chair
brian.frosh@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Lisa A. Gladden, Vice-Chair
lisa.gladden@senate.state.md.us

State Senator James Brochin (D-42)
jim.brochin@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Jennie Forehand (D-17)
jennie.forehand@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Larry Haines (R-5)
larry.haines@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Nancy Jacobs (R-34)
nancy.jacobs@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Alex Mooney (R-3)
alex.mooney@senate.state.md.us

State Senator C. Anthony Muse (D-26)
anthony.muse@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Jamie Raskin (D-20)
jamie.raskin@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Bryan Simonaire (R-31)
bryan.simonaire@senate.state.md.us

State Senator Norman Stone Jr. (D-6)
norman.stone@senate.state.md.us

TRENDING NOW

Monday, August 19, 2019

Florida Alert! "Assault Weapons" Ban Amendment Bans ALL SEMIAUTOMATIC RIFLES AND SHOTGUNS

The so-called "assault weapons" ban that is proposed for a constitutional amendment to be on the 2020 Election Ballot bans the possession of: “any semiautomatic rifle or shotgun CAPABLE of holding more than ten (10) rounds ...

Amnesty International’s Desperate Measure

News  

Sunday, August 18, 2019

Amnesty International’s Desperate Measure

There are some odd dynamics in international relations. Countries in which people are not free serve on the UN Human Rights Council. Political considerations guide every action.  Of course, the NRA is a single-issue organization so ...

NRA Member Berated for Carrying Firearm

News  

Friday, August 2, 2019

NRA Member Berated for Carrying Firearm

NRA member Darrell Kennedy was on vacation with his family at Yellowstone National Park earlier this month when an anti-gun vacationer snapped a photo of his holstered firearm and tweeted out a hate message. “Sat ...

No, Joe, Your Gun Ban Didn’t Work

News  

Sunday, August 18, 2019

No, Joe, Your Gun Ban Didn’t Work

Joe Biden has been out on the primary campaign trail working hard. Maybe a little too hard. “We got to let them know who we are,” he recently told a crowd of supporters at the Iowa State ...

Sparking Dialogue or Sparking Joy: Competing Views on Gun “Buyback” Initiatives

News  

Sunday, August 18, 2019

Sparking Dialogue or Sparking Joy: Competing Views on Gun “Buyback” Initiatives

The Christian Science Monitor describes itself as “an independent international news organization” that wants to “help you to see news events as starting points for constructive conversations.” Its editorial board recently published an article, A seed for society’s ...

Another Week, Another Democrat Presidential Contender Out to Round Up America's Guns

News  

Sunday, August 18, 2019

Another Week, Another Democrat Presidential Contender Out to Round Up America's Guns

A smart person learns from his mistakes. An even smarter person learns from the mistakes of others.  Beto O’Rourke, an unemployed Texan running for president, must not be too smart.           

Bill Clinton Touts Failed Gun Ban With Bogus Info

News  

Tuesday, August 13, 2019

Bill Clinton Touts Failed Gun Ban With Bogus Info

Bill and Hillary Clinton just don’t draw like they used to. Shunned by much of his own party, (described by one Vanity Fair commentator as “2020’s bubonic plague”) the former president has been relegated to providing lazy ...

Governor Abbott Signs Ten Pro-Second Amendment Bills into Law

Monday, June 17, 2019

Governor Abbott Signs Ten Pro-Second Amendment Bills into Law

Governor Greg Abbott has now signed all of the NRA-supported legislation which the Texas Legislature sent him during the 2019 session.

Tell Your U.S. Senators and Representative to Oppose Gun Control

News  

Tuesday, August 13, 2019

Tell Your U.S. Senators and Representative to Oppose Gun Control

In the wake of the recent two criminal mass attacks, a number of gun control proposals have begun to circulate in our nation’s capital. None of these proposals would have prevented the recent tragedies, but they all ...

California: Appropriations Committees Send Bills to the Suspense File

Thursday, August 15, 2019

California: Appropriations Committees Send Bills to the Suspense File

On Monday, August 12, the Senate Appropriations Committee sent AB 1254 to the suspense file and rescheduled AB 1669 to be heard next Monday, August 19. On Wednesday, August 14, the Assembly Appropriations Committee sent SB 172 ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.