Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Massachusetts: Emergency Powers Legislation Stalled in Senate Committee!

Wednesday, June 11, 2008

Please Contact Members of the Senate Ways and Means Committee Today!

S.1401,  "An Act Prohibiting the Confiscation of Lawfully Owned Firearms During a State of Emergency", sponsored by State Senator Richard T. Moore (Worcester and Norfolk), is being held up in the Senate Ways and Means Committee.  S.1401 would protect our Second Amendment rights by prohibiting any government agency from confiscating or regulating the lawful sale, possession, transfer, transport and carry of firearms during a state of emergency, such as occurred in New Orleans following Hurricane Katrina.

Please contact the members of the Senate Ways and Means Committee TODAY and urge them to support S.1401.  

Members of the Senate Ways and Means Committee:

State Senator Steven C. Panagiotakos (D-1st Middlesex)
(617) 722-1630
Steven.Panagiotakos@state.ma.us

State Senator Stephen M. Brewer (D-Worcester, Hampden, Hampshire & Franklin)
(617) 722-1540
Stephen.Brewer@state.ma.us

State Senator Harriette L. Chandler (D-1st Worcester)
(617) 722-1544
Harriette.Chandler@state.ma.us

State Senator Robert A. Antonioni (D-Worcester & Middlesex)
(617) 722-1230
Robert.Antonioni@state.ma.us

State Senator Edward M. Augustus, Jr. (D-2nd Worcester)
(617) 722-1485
Edward.Augustus@state.ma.us

State Senator Steven A. Baddour (D-1st Essex)
(617) 722-1604
Steven.Baddour@state.ma.us

State Senator Susan C. Fargo (D-3rd Middlesex)
(617) 722-1572
Susan.Fargo@state.ma.us

State Senator Michael W. Morrissey (D-Norfolk & Plymouth)
(617) 722-1494
Michael.W.Morrissey@state.ma.us

State Senator Marc R. Pacheco (D-1st Plymouth & Bristol)
(617) 722-1551
Marc.Pacheco@state.ma.us

State Senator Pamela P. Resor (D-Middlesex & Worcester)
(617) 722-1120
Pamela.Resor@state.ma.us

State Senator Brian A. Joyce (D- Norfolk, Bristol & Plymouth)
(617) 722-1643
Brian.A.Joyce@state.ma.us

State Senator Susan C. Tucker (D-2nd Essex & Middlesex)
(617) 722-1612
Susan.Tucker@state.ma.us

State Senator Dianne Wilkerson (D-2nd Suffolk)
(617) 722-1673
Dianne.Wilkerson@state.ma.us

State Senator Cynthia Stone Creem (D-1st Middlesex & Norfolk)
(617) 722-1639
Cynthia.Creem@state.ma.us

State Senator Karen Spilka (D-2nd Middlesex & Norfolk)
(617) 722-1640
Karen.E.Spilka@state.ma.us

State Senator Michael R. Knapik (R-2nd Hampden & Hampshire)
(617) 722-1415
Michael.Knapik@state.ma.us

State Senator Bruce E. Tarr (R- 1st Essex & Middlesex)
(617) 722-1600
Bruce.Tarr@state.ma.us

TRENDING NOW
Texas Professor Trades Geography for Drama to Protest Campus Carry in the Lone Star State

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, August 11, 2017

Texas Professor Trades Geography for Drama to Protest Campus Carry in the Lone Star State

According to a recent poll by the Pew Research Center, more than 1 in 3 Americans believe that colleges and universities exert a negative effect on the country. When respondents are grouped by political party, ...

Guns Trickle in to Australia Turn-in

News  

Friday, August 11, 2017

Guns Trickle in to Australia Turn-in

U.S. policymakers, NRA-ILA, and even some of the most ardent anti-gun researchers, have long understood that gun turn-in programs do not hinder criminal violence. Despite the overwhelming evidence, the Land Down Under is currently in ...

Stossel Report Reinforces Urgent Need for Congressional Action

Second Amendment  

Gun Laws  

News  

Friday, August 11, 2017

Stossel Report Reinforces Urgent Need for Congressional Action

Award-winning journalist John Stossel published a report this week that provides a timely reminder that – nearly a decade after the Supreme Court’s landmark ruling in District of Columbia v. Heller – law abiding gun ...

Czechs File Suit Challenging EU Gun Controls

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, August 11, 2017

Czechs File Suit Challenging EU Gun Controls

This week, the Czech Republic made good on their promise to pursue a legal challenge to the European Union’s (EU) onerous new changes to the European Firearms Directive.

Brits Vs. Guns

News  

Wednesday, August 9, 2017

Brits Vs. Guns

Will a society that has long turned its back on armed self-defense ever be able to find its way back?

Repudiated at the Polls, National Democrats Continue to Push Gun Control

Gun Laws  

Second Amendment  

News  

Friday, August 11, 2017

Repudiated at the Polls, National Democrats Continue to Push Gun Control

Recent weeks have seen a heated debate involving national Democratic Party figures over how to approach the issue of abortion in a manner that would allow the party to be more competitive in portions of ...

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

Flying with Firearms - Get the Facts

News  

Hunting  

Gun Laws  

Monday, July 31, 2017

Flying with Firearms - Get the Facts

The Transportation Security Administration (TSA) has established specific requirements for transporting firearms and ammunition in checked baggage on commercial aircraft, including the following: All firearms or ammunition must be checked with the air carrier as ...

California: Archived “Assault Weapon” Webinar and Quick Reference Guide Now Available on California Stand and Fight Website

Thursday, August 10, 2017

California: Archived “Assault Weapon” Webinar and Quick Reference Guide Now Available on California Stand and Fight Website

On August 8, the NRA and California Rifle and Pistol Association (CRPA) hosted a free informational webinar on the recently approved Department of Justice (DOJ) “bullet-button assault weapon" regulations.  This webinar is now available to ...

The High-Level Hypocrisy of Mayors for Gun Control

News  

Friday, August 4, 2017

The High-Level Hypocrisy of Mayors for Gun Control

Leona Helmsley, the “Queen of Mean” convicted of income tax evasion and other crimes, is famously said to have said “We don’t pay taxes. Only the little people pay taxes.” The same sense of entitled grandeur ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.