Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Massachusetts: Emergency Powers Legislation Stalled in Senate Committee!

Wednesday, June 11, 2008

Please Contact Members of the Senate Ways and Means Committee Today!

S.1401,  "An Act Prohibiting the Confiscation of Lawfully Owned Firearms During a State of Emergency", sponsored by State Senator Richard T. Moore (Worcester and Norfolk), is being held up in the Senate Ways and Means Committee.  S.1401 would protect our Second Amendment rights by prohibiting any government agency from confiscating or regulating the lawful sale, possession, transfer, transport and carry of firearms during a state of emergency, such as occurred in New Orleans following Hurricane Katrina.

Please contact the members of the Senate Ways and Means Committee TODAY and urge them to support S.1401.  

Members of the Senate Ways and Means Committee:

State Senator Steven C. Panagiotakos (D-1st Middlesex)
(617) 722-1630
Steven.Panagiotakos@state.ma.us

State Senator Stephen M. Brewer (D-Worcester, Hampden, Hampshire & Franklin)
(617) 722-1540
Stephen.Brewer@state.ma.us

State Senator Harriette L. Chandler (D-1st Worcester)
(617) 722-1544
Harriette.Chandler@state.ma.us

State Senator Robert A. Antonioni (D-Worcester & Middlesex)
(617) 722-1230
Robert.Antonioni@state.ma.us

State Senator Edward M. Augustus, Jr. (D-2nd Worcester)
(617) 722-1485
Edward.Augustus@state.ma.us

State Senator Steven A. Baddour (D-1st Essex)
(617) 722-1604
Steven.Baddour@state.ma.us

State Senator Susan C. Fargo (D-3rd Middlesex)
(617) 722-1572
Susan.Fargo@state.ma.us

State Senator Michael W. Morrissey (D-Norfolk & Plymouth)
(617) 722-1494
Michael.W.Morrissey@state.ma.us

State Senator Marc R. Pacheco (D-1st Plymouth & Bristol)
(617) 722-1551
Marc.Pacheco@state.ma.us

State Senator Pamela P. Resor (D-Middlesex & Worcester)
(617) 722-1120
Pamela.Resor@state.ma.us

State Senator Brian A. Joyce (D- Norfolk, Bristol & Plymouth)
(617) 722-1643
Brian.A.Joyce@state.ma.us

State Senator Susan C. Tucker (D-2nd Essex & Middlesex)
(617) 722-1612
Susan.Tucker@state.ma.us

State Senator Dianne Wilkerson (D-2nd Suffolk)
(617) 722-1673
Dianne.Wilkerson@state.ma.us

State Senator Cynthia Stone Creem (D-1st Middlesex & Norfolk)
(617) 722-1639
Cynthia.Creem@state.ma.us

State Senator Karen Spilka (D-2nd Middlesex & Norfolk)
(617) 722-1640
Karen.E.Spilka@state.ma.us

State Senator Michael R. Knapik (R-2nd Hampden & Hampshire)
(617) 722-1415
Michael.Knapik@state.ma.us

State Senator Bruce E. Tarr (R- 1st Essex & Middlesex)
(617) 722-1600
Bruce.Tarr@state.ma.us

TRENDING NOW
The Washington Post Gives Gun Control Group and U.S. Senator Three Pinocchios on Suppressors

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, March 24, 2017

The Washington Post Gives Gun Control Group and U.S. Senator Three Pinocchios on Suppressors

Last week, we wrote about Americans for Responsible Solutions’ irresponsible misinformation about The Hearing Protection Act on Twitter.  Apparently, we weren’t the only ones who took notice of ARS’s complete disregard for the facts on ...

Seattle Gun Tax Fails to Generate Projected Revenue, Succeeds in Burdening Rights

News  

Gun Laws  

Friday, March 24, 2017

Seattle Gun Tax Fails to Generate Projected Revenue, Succeeds in Burdening Rights

On March 16, 2017, the Seattle Times reported that Seattle city officials were reluctant to release data on the revenue generated by the city’s firearms and ammunition tax, citing taxpayer confidentiality concerns. Less than a ...

Trump’s Supreme Court Nominee Embraces Heller and Originalism During Senate Hearings

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, March 24, 2017

Trump’s Supreme Court Nominee Embraces Heller and Originalism During Senate Hearings

Judge Neil M. Gorsuch, President Trump’s pick to replace the late Justice Antonin Scalia on the U.S. Supreme court, asserted during his confirmation hearings this week that Scalia’s landmark Second Amendment opinion in District of ...

Oklahoma: Multiple Pro-Gun Bills Passed Out of the House

Friday, March 24, 2017

Oklahoma: Multiple Pro-Gun Bills Passed Out of the House

This week, the Oklahoma House of Representatives passed multiple pro-gun bills, including House Bill 1721, House Bill 2323, and House Bill 2322. 

Continuing to Fight in California

Friday, March 24, 2017

Continuing to Fight in California

We are excited to inform you of our new California specific webpage – Stand and Fight California.   On this page you will find State Legislation, Legal Updates, and How to Get Involved, among other California ...

More Firearms, More Firearms Owners, Fewer Fatal Accidents

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, March 24, 2017

More Firearms, More Firearms Owners, Fewer Fatal Accidents

The National Safety Council released the 2017 edition of its annual Injury Facts report this week, and it contains welcome news about firearm safety. 

Arkansas Action Needed: Anti-Gun Bill Which Undermines Concealed Carry Headed to House

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Arkansas Action Needed: Anti-Gun Bill Which Undermines Concealed Carry Headed to House

Today, the Arkansas Senate passed Senate Bill 724, an anti-gun bill which undermines some of the key advancements made with the passage and enactment of House Bill 1249.  SB 724 is now headed to the ...

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

The Illinois House of Representatives could consider House Bill 2354 at any time.

Utah: Governor Signs Self-Defense Legislation into Law

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Utah: Governor Signs Self-Defense Legislation into Law

Tonight, Governor Gary Herbert signed House Bill 198 into law.

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Yesterday, the Maryland House of Delegates passed House Bill 1036 by a 97-41 vote.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.