Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Massachusetts: Emergency Powers Legislation Stalled in Senate Committee!

Wednesday, June 11, 2008

Please Contact Members of the Senate Ways and Means Committee Today!

S.1401,  "An Act Prohibiting the Confiscation of Lawfully Owned Firearms During a State of Emergency", sponsored by State Senator Richard T. Moore (Worcester and Norfolk), is being held up in the Senate Ways and Means Committee.  S.1401 would protect our Second Amendment rights by prohibiting any government agency from confiscating or regulating the lawful sale, possession, transfer, transport and carry of firearms during a state of emergency, such as occurred in New Orleans following Hurricane Katrina.

Please contact the members of the Senate Ways and Means Committee TODAY and urge them to support S.1401.  

Members of the Senate Ways and Means Committee:

State Senator Steven C. Panagiotakos (D-1st Middlesex)
(617) 722-1630
Steven.Panagiotakos@state.ma.us

State Senator Stephen M. Brewer (D-Worcester, Hampden, Hampshire & Franklin)
(617) 722-1540
Stephen.Brewer@state.ma.us

State Senator Harriette L. Chandler (D-1st Worcester)
(617) 722-1544
Harriette.Chandler@state.ma.us

State Senator Robert A. Antonioni (D-Worcester & Middlesex)
(617) 722-1230
Robert.Antonioni@state.ma.us

State Senator Edward M. Augustus, Jr. (D-2nd Worcester)
(617) 722-1485
Edward.Augustus@state.ma.us

State Senator Steven A. Baddour (D-1st Essex)
(617) 722-1604
Steven.Baddour@state.ma.us

State Senator Susan C. Fargo (D-3rd Middlesex)
(617) 722-1572
Susan.Fargo@state.ma.us

State Senator Michael W. Morrissey (D-Norfolk & Plymouth)
(617) 722-1494
Michael.W.Morrissey@state.ma.us

State Senator Marc R. Pacheco (D-1st Plymouth & Bristol)
(617) 722-1551
Marc.Pacheco@state.ma.us

State Senator Pamela P. Resor (D-Middlesex & Worcester)
(617) 722-1120
Pamela.Resor@state.ma.us

State Senator Brian A. Joyce (D- Norfolk, Bristol & Plymouth)
(617) 722-1643
Brian.A.Joyce@state.ma.us

State Senator Susan C. Tucker (D-2nd Essex & Middlesex)
(617) 722-1612
Susan.Tucker@state.ma.us

State Senator Dianne Wilkerson (D-2nd Suffolk)
(617) 722-1673
Dianne.Wilkerson@state.ma.us

State Senator Cynthia Stone Creem (D-1st Middlesex & Norfolk)
(617) 722-1639
Cynthia.Creem@state.ma.us

State Senator Karen Spilka (D-2nd Middlesex & Norfolk)
(617) 722-1640
Karen.E.Spilka@state.ma.us

State Senator Michael R. Knapik (R-2nd Hampden & Hampshire)
(617) 722-1415
Michael.Knapik@state.ma.us

State Senator Bruce E. Tarr (R- 1st Essex & Middlesex)
(617) 722-1600
Bruce.Tarr@state.ma.us

TRENDING NOW
Rep. Rob Bishop Introduces the "Lawful Purpose and Self Defense Act"

News  

Friday, May 26, 2017

Rep. Rob Bishop Introduces the "Lawful Purpose and Self Defense Act"

On Wednesday, May 24, 2017, Chairman of the House Committee on Natural Resources Rob Bishop (R-UT) introduced H.R. 2620, the "Lawful Purpose and Self Defense Act." This bill would remove ATF's authority to use the ...

Concealed Carrying Hits New High, Underscores Need for National Law

News  

Friday, May 26, 2017

Concealed Carrying Hits New High, Underscores Need for National Law

Information collected by the Crime Prevention Research Center (CPRC) indicates an unprecedented surge in the number of concealed carry permits, with the largest one-year increase on record occurring between May 2016 and May 2017.

Legislation Reintroduced to Permanently Dismantle Obama-Era Enforcement Abuse

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, May 26, 2017

Legislation Reintroduced to Permanently Dismantle Obama-Era Enforcement Abuse

This week, Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-MO) reintroduced the Financial Institution Customer Protection Act, a bill aimed at permanently dismantling Operation Choke Point (OCP).  

Illinois: House Committee Passes Bill to Close Local Gun Dealers

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Illinois: House Committee Passes Bill to Close Local Gun Dealers

The House Judiciary Committee passed Senate Bill 1657 by a 7-6 vote.

New Zealand Police Mislead Current and Prospective Gun Owners

News  

Thursday, May 25, 2017

New Zealand Police Mislead Current and Prospective Gun Owners

Back in April, NRA-ILA alerted readers to the results of the New Zealand Parliament Law and Order Committee’s “Inquiry into issues relating to the illegal possession of firearms in New Zealand,” which proposed that a ...

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Monday, May 22, 2017

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Today, May 22, Governor Brian Sandoval signed important pro-gun legislation, Assembly Bill 118, into law.  AB 118, sponsored by Assemblyman Skip Daly, will allow members of the military and those who have received an honorable ...

Public Health Researchers Use Common Gun Control Tactic to Mislead on “Children” and Guns

News  

Friday, May 26, 2017

Public Health Researchers Use Common Gun Control Tactic to Mislead on “Children” and Guns

It is one of the most well-worn tactics of those who advocate for gun control. Step one, acquire statistics on firearms injuries among children ages 0-14. Step two, combine these relatively low numbers with the ...

Court's Commonsense Conclusion: "There Was a Gun" Isn't Enough to Justify Issuing a Restraining Order

Second Amendment  

Friday, May 19, 2017

Court's Commonsense Conclusion: "There Was a Gun" Isn't Enough to Justify Issuing a Restraining Order

The Supreme Court of North Dakota confirmed this week that simply possessing a handgun while on one’s own private property cannot support a finding of "disorderly conduct" under the state’s disorderly conduct restraining order law. ...

Abbott Signs Senate Bill 16, Bringing Texas License To Carry Fees Down to Among Lowest in Nation

News  

Thursday, May 25, 2017

Abbott Signs Senate Bill 16, Bringing Texas License To Carry Fees Down to Among Lowest in Nation

The National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) today applauded Texas Gov. Greg Abbott for signing into law NRA-backed legislation that will make license to carry fees in Texas among the lowest in the ...

South Carolina: Governor McMaster Signs Pro-Gun Bill

Monday, May 22, 2017

South Carolina: Governor McMaster Signs Pro-Gun Bill

Last Friday, May 19, Governor Henry McMaster (R) signed H. 3429 into law.  This bill went into effect upon the Governor’s approval.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.