Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Report on Florida Committee Action: SB-1130 Passes Committee!

Friday, March 21, 2008

Unfriendly Amendment Removed!

Date:       March 26, 2008
TO:          USF & NRA Member and Friends
FROM:     Marion P. Hammer
               USF Executive Director
               NRA Past President

Senate Bill 1130 sponsored by Sen. Durell Peaden was heard by the Senate Judiciary Committee yesterday afternoon and the unfriendly amendment was removed and then the bill passed by a vote of 7-4.

SB-1130 by Senator Durell Peaden (R-Crestview) will protect your right to have a firearm in your car or truck for self-defense and other lawful purposes.

A series of anti-gun amendments including "assault weapons" amendments were defeated.  The Senate bill is now ready for the Senate floor.  More on this later.

In the meantime, HB-503 is still scheduled for action on the House floor TODAY.  Keep the email flowing to the House.  YOUR EMAIL MAKES A DIFFERENCE.


Please immediately send an email to ALL the members of the House and URGE THEM TO SUPPORT HB-503, then
CALL YOUR  Representative's Tallahassee office and urge him or her to support HB-503 (Below the list of email addresses is a link to Find Your Representative where you can get the phone number)

Below is a list of email addresses of those Representatives you need to contact.

IN THE SUBJECT LINE OF YOUR EMAIL PUT:

PLEASE SUPPORT HB-503 the "Guns-locked-up-in-your-car bill"


(To send one email to all committee members at the same time, block or highlight the entire list and then copy and paste the block into the address section of the email.  A colon or semi-colon could be needed after each name depending upon the email system you are using.)

Florida House of Representatives

Sandy.Adams@myfloridahouse.gov
Thad.Altman@myfloridahouse.gov
Kevin.Ambler@myfloridahouse.gov
Tom.Anderson@myfloridahouse.gov
Frank.Attkisson@myfloridahouse.gov
Gary.Aubuchon@myfloridahouse.gov
Loranne.Ausley@myfloridahouse.gov
Aaron.Bean@myfloridahouse.gov
Dorothy.Bendross-mindingall@myfloridahouse.gov
Ellyn.Bogdanoff@myfloridahouse.gov
Marty.Bowen@myfloridahouse.gov
Debbie.Boyd@myfloridahouse.gov
Mary.Brandenburg@myfloridahouse.gov
Ronald.Brise@myfloridahouse.gov
Donald.Brown@myfloridahouse.gov
Susan.Bucher@myfloridahouse.gov
Edward.Bullard@myfloridahouse.gov
Dean.Cannon@myfloridahouse.gov
Jennifer.Carroll@myfloridahouse.gov
Charles.Chestnut@myfloridahouse.gov
Marti.Coley@myfloridahouse.gov
Larry.Cretul@myfloridahouse.gov
Faye.Culp@myfloridahouse.gov
Joyce.Cusack@myfloridahouse.gov
Don.Davis@myfloridahouse.gov
Carl.Domino@myfloridahouse.gov
Chris.Dorworth@myfloridahouse.gov
Greg.Evers@myfloridahouse.gov
Terry.Fields@myfloridahouse.gov
Keith.Fitzgerald@myfloridahouse.gov
Anitere.Flores@myfloridahouse.gov
Clay.Ford@myfloridahouse.gov
Jim.Frishe@myfloridahouse.gov
Bill.Galvano@myfloridahouse.gov
Luis.Garcia@myfloridahouse.gov
Rene.Garcia@myfloridahouse.gov
Andy.Gardiner@myfloridahouse.gov
Dan.Gelber@myfloridahouse.gov
Joe.Gibbons@myfloridahouse.gov
Audrey.Gibson@myfloridahouse.gov
Hugh.Gibson@myfloridahouse.gov
Rich.Glorioso@myfloridahouse.gov
Eddy.Gonzalez@myfloridahouse.gov
Michael.Grant@myfloridahouse.gov
Denise.Grimsley@myfloridahouse.gov
Gayle.Harrell@myfloridahouse.gov
Adam.Hasner@myfloridahouse.gov
Alan.Hays@myfloridahouse.gov
Bill.Heller@myfloridahouse.gov
Doug.Holder@myfloridahouse.gov
Ed.Homan@myfloridahouse.gov
Ed.Hooper@myfloridahouse.gov
Matt.Hudson@myfloridahouse.gov
Dorothy.Hukill@myfloridahouse.gov
Evan.Jenne@myfloridahouse.gov
Stan.Jordan@myfloridahouse.gov
Kurt.Kelly@myfloridahouse.gov
Will.Kendrick@myfloridahouse.gov
Martin.Kiar@myfloridahouse.gov
Dick.Kravitz@myfloridahouse.gov
Paige.Kreegel@myfloridahouse.gov
Rick.Kriseman@myfloridahouse.gov
John.Legg@myfloridahouse.gov
Marcelo.Llorente@myfloridahouse.gov
Janet.Long@myfloridahouse.gov
Carlos.Lopez-cantera@myfloridahouse.gov
Richard.Machek@myfloridahouse.gov
Stan.Mayfield@myfloridahouse.gov
Charles.McBurney@myfloridahouse.gov
Seth.Mckeel@myfloridahouse.gov
Matt.Meadows@myfloridahouse.gov
Dave.Murzin@myfloridahouse.gov
Mitch.Needelman@myfloridahouse.gov
Peter.Nehr@myfloridahouse.gov
Bryan.Nelson@myfloridahouse.gov
Jimmy.Patronis@myfloridahouse.gov
Pat.Patterson@myfloridahouse.gov
Frank.Peterman@myfloridahouse.gov
Joe.Pickens@myfloridahouse.gov
JC.Planas@myfloridahouse.gov
Ralph.Poppell@myfloridahouse.gov
Ari.Porth@myfloridahouse.gov
Steve.Precourt@myfloridahouse.gov
Bill.Proctor@myfloridahouse.gov
Scott.Randolph@myfloridahouse.gov
Ron.Reagan@myfloridahouse.gov
Betty.Reed@myfloridahouse.gov
Curtis.Richardson@myfloridahouse.gov
Garrett.Richter@myfloridahouse.gov
David.Rivera@myfloridahouse.gov
Julio.Robaina@myfloridahouse.gov
Yolly.Roberson@myfloridahouse.gov
Dennis.Ross@myfloridahouse.gov
Marco.Rubio@myfloridahouse.gov
Maria.Sachs@myfloridahouse.gov
Franklin.Sands@myfloridahouse.gov
Ray.Sansom@myfloridahouse.gov
Tony.Sasso@myfloridahouse.gov
Ron.Saunders@myfloridahouse.gov
Robert.Schenck@myfloridahouse.gov
Ron.Schultz@myfloridahouse.gov
Elaine.Schwartz@myfloridahouse.gov
Michael.Scionti@myfloridahouse.gov
Jack.Seiler@myfloridahouse.gov
David.Simmons@myfloridahouse.gov
Kelly.Skidmore@myfloridahouse.gov
William.Snyder@myfloridahouse.gov
Darren.Soto@myfloridahouse.gov
Priscilla.Taylor@myfloridahouse.gov
Geraldine.Thompson@myfloridahouse.gov
Nick.Thompson@myfloridahouse.gov
Perry.Thurston@myfloridahouse.gov
Trey.Traviesa@myfloridahouse.gov
Baxter.Troutman@myfloridahouse.gov
Shelley.Vana@myfloridahouse.gov
Jim.Waldman@myfloridahouse.gov
Will.Weatherford@myfloridahouse.gov
Trudi.Williams@myfloridahouse.gov
Juan.Zapata@myfloridahouse.gov


GO HERE to find your Representative and get the phone number.

FURTHER, for more information on the issue, go
here.

BACKGROUND:

The bill will stop business entities from searching private vehicles and violating the constitutional rights of customers and employees.

Your Second Amendment rights are at the very heart of this issue. In addition to prohibiting searches of private vehicles in parking lots. The bills also prevent businesses from asking customers or employees to disclose what personal private property is stored in a private vehicle and prevents action against customers and employees who refuse to divulge that private information.  Further, it prohibits action against a customer or employee based on information provided by a third party.

Some Florida businesses are trying to ban guns in cars in parking lot used by customers and employees.  They are discriminating against people who exercise their constitutional rights – they are violating the constitutional rights of gun owners and Florida law.

Corporate giants have been trampling constitutional rights. Some are even attempting to coerce and intimidate gun owners into giving up constitutional rights as a condition of employment. 

The bill protects your right have a firearm in your vehicle for lawful purposes and to park your vehicle in parking lots when shopping, working or transacting business.
TRENDING NOW

News  

Tuesday, July 17, 2018

Federal Court Upholds Decision to Block California’s Magazine Ban

A three-judge panel of the 9th Circuit issued a ruling in the case of Duncan v. Becerra on Tuesday upholding a lower court’s decision to suspend enforcement of California’s restriction on the possession of magazines ...

Anti-gun Efforts to Expand U.N. Regulations to Ammunition Continue

News  

Friday, July 6, 2018

Anti-gun Efforts to Expand U.N. Regulations to Ammunition Continue

Shortly before 4:00am last Saturday morning, the two week long Third Review Conference (RevCon3) on the Programme of Action to Prevent, Combat, and Eradicate the Illicit Trade in Small Arms and Light Weapons in All ...

Washington: Seattle City Council Passes Ordinance Making Firearms Unavailable for Self-Defense

Monday, July 16, 2018

Washington: Seattle City Council Passes Ordinance Making Firearms Unavailable for Self-Defense

On July 9th, the Seattle City Council passed a mandatory firearm storage ordinance to restrict the self-defense rights of Seattle residents.  The ordinance, if signed by Mayor Jenny Durkan, will impose a one-size-fits-all method of storing firearms as ...

Justice Scalia Made Clear the Second Amendment and Heller Prohibit “Assault Weapon” Bans

News  

Second Amendment  

Gun Laws  

Friday, July 13, 2018

Justice Scalia Made Clear the Second Amendment and Heller Prohibit “Assault Weapon” Bans

On July 9, Sen. Chris Murphy (D-Conn.) offered the following ham-handed statement in an attempted attack on President Donald Trump’s U.S. Supreme Court nominee, D.C. Circuit Judge Brett Kavanaugh. Brett Kavanaugh is a true Second Amendment radical. ...

Illinois: Governor Signs Two Gun Control Bills

Tuesday, July 17, 2018

Illinois: Governor Signs Two Gun Control Bills

On July 17th, Governor Bruce Rauner signed House Bill 2354 and Senate Bill 3256 into law.

California DOJ Withdraws Proposed Regulations Expanding Application of “Assault Weapon” Definitions

Wednesday, July 11, 2018

California DOJ Withdraws Proposed Regulations Expanding Application of “Assault Weapon” Definitions

On Monday, the California Department of Justice, Bureau of Firearms (“CA DOJ”) officially withdrew the proposed regulations that would have expanded the improperly adopted “assault weapon” definitions, to apply in all circumstances. This withdrawal comes ...

Delaware: Governor Signs Bill Legalizing Sunday Deer Hunting

Hunting  

Friday, July 13, 2018

Delaware: Governor Signs Bill Legalizing Sunday Deer Hunting

On July 11th, Governor John Carney signed Senate Bill 198 into law to expand hunting opportunities in Delaware by eliminating the prohibition against hunting for deer on Sundays and allowing for the harvesting of deer on Sundays ...

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

Too Young or Too Old... To Own a Gun?

News  

Friday, July 6, 2018

Too Young or Too Old... To Own a Gun?

A common theme among anti-gun extremists is what we often refer to as the “Goldilocks” approach to limiting access to firearms by law-abiding citizens.  Rather than admit that the ultimate goal is to disarm all ...

NRA Endorses State Senator Leah Vukmir for U.S. Senate in Wisconsin

News  

Tuesday, July 17, 2018

NRA Endorses State Senator Leah Vukmir for U.S. Senate in Wisconsin

FAIRFAX, Va. – The National Rifle Association Political Victory Fund (NRA-PVF) is proud to announce its endorsement of state Sen. Leah Vukmir in the 2018 Republican U.S. Senate Primary in Wisconsin.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.