Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Rhode Island “Microstamping” Legislation Awaiting Consideration!

Friday, March 7, 2008

Pending consideration in Providence are Senate Bill 2720, introduced by State Senators, Harold Metts (D-6), Juan Pichardo (D-2), and Paul Jabour (D-5), and its companion, House Bill 7834, sponsored by State Representatives Joseph Almeida (D-12), Edith Ajello (D-3), Anastasia Williams (D-9), Grace Diaz (D-11), and Joanne Giannini (D-7).  Both bills seek to ban the sale of semi-automatic handguns not equipped with so-called "microstamping" technology.  

Microstamping is an unproven technology that would require identifying marks to be etched into the firing pin and breech face of a firearm in a manner that these marks are transferred to the cartridge case upon firing.  The technology can easily be defeated with household tools, has no public safety value, and would add substantially to the cost of the firearm.  Both measures are pending in the Senate and House Judiciary Committees respectively. 

Please contact members of the State Senate and State House Judiciary Committees and urge them to oppose S2720 and H7884!

Clerks Office for State Senate Committee on Judiciary 401-222-6625

State Senate Committee on Judiciary
 

State Senator Michael J. McCaffrey (D-29) (Chairperson)
sen-mccaffrey@rilin.state.ri.us

State Senator Charles J. Levesque (D-11) (Vice Chairperson)
sen-levesque@rilin.state.ri.us

State Senator Leonidas P. Raptakis (D-33) (Secretary)
sen-raptakis@rilin.state.ri.us

State Senator Leo R. Blais (R-21)
sen-blais@rilin.state.ri.us

State Senator Daniel P. Connors (D-19)
sen-connors@rilin.state.ri.us

State Senator Paul V. Jabour (D-5)
sen-jabour@rilin.state.ri.us

State Senator Christopher B. Maselli (D-25)
sen-maselli@rilin.state.ri.us

State Senator John F. McBurney III (D-15)
sen-mcburney@rilin.state.ri.us

State Senator Harold M. Metts (D-6)
sen-metts@rilin.state.ri.us

State Senator Rhoda E. Perry (D-3)
sen-perry@rilin.state.ri.us

State Senator John C. Revens Jr. (31-D)
sen-revens@rilin.state.ri.us

Clerks Office for State House Committee on Judiciary 401-222-2258

State House Committee on Judiciary 

State Representative Donald J. Lally Jr. (D-33) (Chairperson)
rep-lally@rilin.state.ri.us

State Representative Gregory J. Schadone (D-54) (Co-Vice Chairperson
rep-schadone@rilin.state.ri.us 

State Representative Timothy A. Williamson (D-25) (Co-Vice Chairperson)
rep-williamson@rilin.state.ri.us

State Representative Edith H. Ajello (D-3) (Secretary)
rep-ajello@rilin.state.ri.us

State Representative Jon D. Brien (D-50)
rep-brien@rilin.state.ri.us

State Representative David A. Caprio (D-34)
rep-caprio@rilin.state.ri.us

State Representative Bruce J. Long (R-74)
rep-long@rilin.state.ri.us

State Representative Nicholas A. Mattiello (D-15)
rep-mattiello@rilin.state.ri.us

State Representative William J. McManus (R-46)
rep-mcmanus@rilin.state.ri.us

State Representative J. Patrick O'Neill (D-59)
rep-oneill@rilin.state.ri.us

State Representative Peter G. Palumbo (D-16)
rep-palumbo@rilin.state.ri.us

State Representative Amy G. Rice (D-72)
rep-rice@rilin.state.ri.us

State Representative Joseph H. Scott (D-39)
rep-scott@rilin.state.ri.us

State Representative Raymond J. Sullivan Jr. (D-29)
rep-sullivan@rilin.state.ri.us

State Representative Donna M. Walsh (D-36)
rep-walsh@rilin.state.ri.us

 

TRENDING NOW
National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

On January 3rd, Congressman Richard Hudson (R-N.C.8th) introduced H.R. 38, the Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act of 2017, which simply allows lawful firearm carriers from any state to carry a concealed firearm in any other state. The bill ...

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

On Monday, Sen. Mike Crapo (R-ID) – joined by co-sponsors Sens. Jerry Moran (R-KS) and Rand Paul (R-KY) – introduced S. 59, the Hearing Protection Act of 2017 (HPA). Similar legislation was introduced in the ...

Supreme Court Asked to Review California’s Restrictive Carry Regime

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Supreme Court Asked to Review California’s Restrictive Carry Regime

On Thursday, the NRA-supported case Peruta v. California took an important step towards restoring the right to bear arms in California.  The plaintiffs in the case, California gun owners and the California Rifle and Pistol ...

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

Inspired, perhaps, by Oscar Wilde (“Moderation is a fatal thing. Nothing succeeds like excess”), Washington State Attorney General Bob Ferguson has announced two new sweeping gun control bills, with Sen. David Frockt (D-Seattle) and Rep. ...

The NRA Bids Farewell to Roy Innis, Civil Rights Champion: June 6, 1934 – Jan. 8, 2017

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

The NRA Bids Farewell to Roy Innis, Civil Rights Champion: June 6, 1934 – Jan. 8, 2017

America lost a civil rights icon and a true free thinker with the death of Roy Innis on Jan. 8. For the NRA, his departure was personal. Mr. Innis served on the NRA’s Board of ...

Jeff Sessions’ Devotion to the Constitution Shines Through in Contentious Confirmation Hearing

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Jeff Sessions’ Devotion to the Constitution Shines Through in Contentious Confirmation Hearing

On January 10 and 11, the U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee held the confirmation hearing for President-elect Donald Trump’s nominee for United States Attorney General, Sen. Jeff Sessions (R-Ala.). Throughout his distinguished career in public service, ...

Increase in Violent Crime: National Trend Driven by Local Politics?

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Increase in Violent Crime: National Trend Driven by Local Politics?

The FBI released its Preliminary Semiannual Uniform Crime Report earlier this week and the bad news is that violent crime increased for the second consecutive year.

NRA Applauds the Introduction of the Hearing Protection Act, H.R. 367

News  

Hunting  

Monday, January 9, 2017

NRA Applauds the Introduction of the Hearing Protection Act, H.R. 367

FAIRFAX, Va. – The National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) applauded Congressmen Jeff Duncan (SC) and John Carter (TX-31) on Monday for introducing the Hearing Protection Act, an important bill that gives gun owners and sportsmen ...

Gun Shy Professor Claims Need to Counter Campus Carry

News  

Friday, January 6, 2017

Gun Shy Professor Claims Need to Counter Campus Carry

Do you look back on your college years and remember the impassioned debates, when disagreements over the Periodic Table of Elements, theories of supply and demand, or the status of Pluto as a planet could ...

California: Pre-Litigation Demand Letter sent to DOJ opposing “Bullet Button Assault Weapon” Regulations

Monday, January 9, 2017

California: Pre-Litigation Demand Letter sent to DOJ opposing “Bullet Button Assault Weapon” Regulations

Today, NRA and CRPA’s legal team submitted a joint-letter to DOJ demanding that DOJ withdraw their regulations as a violation of the authority granted under the law.  NRA and CRPA’s legal team also submitted a ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.