Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

De Facto Gun Registration Scheme Proposed in Maryland!

Friday, February 1, 2008

House Bill 517, introduced by State Delegate Emmett Burns (D-10), would have drastic effects on the sale of ammunition in Maryland.  HB517 would require ammunition manufacturers to encode a serial number on all ammunition for regulated firearms (handguns and “assault weapons”) sold in the state and register the ammunition to the purchaser.  Only shotgun ammunition is exempted.  All non-encoded ammunition privately possessed would have to be disposed of by January 1, 2009.  HB517 would also create an extensive and intrusive database on all ammunition purchasers.  

Ammunition sellers would be required to submit to the database, the name and address of all ammunition manufacturers and the serial number of all ammunition.  Also collected in the database would be information about the purchaser of ammunition, including the name, date of birth, driver’s license number, serial number of ammunition purchased, and “any other information the Secretary (of State Police) considers necessary.”  This database would be funded by a five cent per round tax on encoded ammunition, significantly increasing the cost of ammunition.
  

By raising the cost and burden on ammunition manufacturers and dealers, this bill will likely drive the firearm business out of the State of Maryland. 

The House Judiciary Committee and the House Ways & Means Committee have scheduled HB517 for a hearing on Tuesday, February 26.  Please contact the members of these committees and respectively urge them to oppose this dangerous bill and protect your Second Amendment rights.

House Judiciary Committee:

State Delegate Joseph F. Vallario, Jr. (D-27A), Chair

(410) 841-3488, (301) 858-3488, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3488 (toll free)
joseph.vallario@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Samuel I. Rosenberg (D-41), Vice Chair

(410) 841-3297, (301) 858-3297, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3297 (toll free)
samuel.rosenberg@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Curt Anderson (D-43)

(410) 841-3291, (301) 858-3291, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3291 (toll free)

curt.anderson@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Ben Barnes (D-21)

(410) 841-3046, (301) 858-3046, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3046 (toll free)
ben.barnes@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Jill P. Carter (D-41)

(410) 841-3283, (301) 858-3283, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3283 (toll free)
jill.carter@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Frank M. Conaway, Jr. (D-40)

(410) 841-3189, (301) 858-3189, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3189 (toll free)
frank.conaway@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Kathleen M. Dumais (D-15)

(410) 841-3052, (301) 858-3052, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3052 (toll free)
kathleen.dumais@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Donald H. Dwyer, Jr. (R-31)

(410) 841-3047, (301) 858-3047, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3047 (toll free)
don.dwyer@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate William J. Frank (R-42)

(410) 841-3793, (301) 858-3793, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3793 (toll free)
william.frank@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Kevin Kelly (D-1B)

(410) 841-3404, (301) 858-3404, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3404 (toll free)

 

State Delegate Benjamin F. Kramer (D-19)

(410) 841-3485, (301) 858-3485, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3485 (toll free)
benjamin.kramer@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Susan C. Lee (D-16)

(410) 841-3649, (301) 858-3649, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3649 (toll free)
susan.lee@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Gerron S. Levi (D-23A)

(410) 841-3101, (301) 858-3101, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3101 (toll free)

gerron.levi@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Susan K. McComas (R-35B)

(410) 841-3272, (301) 858-3272, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3272 (toll free)
susan.mccomas@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Tony McConkey (R-33A)

(410) 841-3406, (301) 858-3406, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3406 (toll free)
tony.mcconkey@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Victor R. Ramirez (D-47)

(410) 841-3340, (301) 858-3340, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3340 (toll free)
victor.ramirez@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Todd Schuler (D-8)

(410) 841-3526, (301) 848-3526, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3526 (toll free)
todd.schuler@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Christopher B. Shank (R-2B)

(410) 841-3636, (301) 858-3636, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3636 (toll free)
christopher.shank@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Luiz R. S. Simmons (D-17)

(410) 841-3037, (301) 858-3037, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3037 (toll free)
luiz.simmons@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Michael D. Smigiel, Sr. (R-36)

(410) 841-3555, (301) 858-3555, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3555 (toll free)
michael.smigiel@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Kriselda Valderrama (D-26)

(410) 841-3210, (301) 858-3210, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3210 (toll free)
kris.valderrama@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Jeff Waldstreicher (D-18)

(410) 841-3130, (301) 858-3130, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3130 (toll free)
jeff.waldstreicher@house.state.md.us

 

House Ways & Means Committee

 

State Delegate Sheila E. Hixson (D-20), Chair

(410) 841-3469, (301) 858-3469, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3469 (toll free)
sheila.hixson@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Ann Marie Doory (D-43), Vice-Chair

(410) 841-3476, (301) 858-3476, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3476 (toll free)
annmarie.doory@house.state.md.us


State Delegate Joseph R. Bartlett (R-4A)

(410) 841-3080, (301) 858-3080, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3080 (toll free)
joseph.bartlett@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Kumar P. Barve (D-17)

(410) 841-3464, (301) 858-3464, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3464 (toll free)
kumar.barve@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Jon S. Cardin (D-11)

(410) 841-3833, (301) 858-3833, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3833 (toll free)
jon.cardin@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate D. Page Elmore (D-38A)

(410) 841-3433, (301) 858-3433, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3433 (toll free)
page.elmore@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate C. William Frick (D-16)

(410) 841-3454, (301) 858-3454, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3454 (toll free)
bill.frick@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Ron George (R-30)

(410) 841-3439, (301) 858-3439, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3439 (toll free)
ron.george@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate James W. Gilchrist (D-17)

(410) 841-3744, (301) 858-3744, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3744 (toll free)
jim.gilchrist@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard (D-24)

(410) 841-3919, (301) 858-3919, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3919 (toll free)
carolyn.howard@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Jolene Ivey (D-47)

(410) 841-3478, (301) 858-3478, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3478 (toll free)
jolene.ivey@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate J. B. Jennings (R-7)

(410) 841-3698, (301) 858-3698, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3698 (toll free)
jb.jennings@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Anne R. Kaiser (D-14)

(410) 841-3036, (301) 858-3036, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3036 (toll free)
anne.kaiser@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Susan W. Krebs (R-9B)

(410) 841-3200, (301) 858-3200, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3200 (toll free)
susan.krebs@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Robert A. McKee (R-2A)

(410) 841-3447, (301) 858-3447, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3447 (toll free)
robert.mckee@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Peter F. Murphy (D-28)

(410) 841-3247, (301) 858-3247, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3247 (toll free)
peter.murphy@house.state.md.us


State Delegate John A. Olszewski, Jr. (D-6)

(410) 841-3458, (301) 858-3458, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3458 (toll free)
john.olszewski@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Craig L. Rice (D-15)

(410) 841-3090, (301) 858-3090, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3090 (toll free)
craig.rice@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Justin D. Ross (D-22)

(410) 841-3652, (301) 858-3652, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3652 (toll free)
justin.ross@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Melvin L. Stukes (D-44)

(410) 841-3544, (301) 858-3544, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3544 (toll free)
melvin.stukes@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Frank S. Turner (D-13)

(410) 841-3246, (301) 858-3246, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3246 (toll free)
frank.turner@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Jay Walker (D-26)
(410) 841-3581, (301) 858-3581, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3581 (toll free)
jay.walker@house.state.md.us

TRENDING NOW
Maryland: Pro-Carry Legislation Pending Final Vote on House Floor

Monday, March 20, 2017

Maryland: Pro-Carry Legislation Pending Final Vote on House Floor

Today, the Maryland House of Delegates passed House Bill 1036 on second reading.

Ohio: Critical Self-Defense Law Takes Effect Today!

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Ohio: Critical Self-Defense Law Takes Effect Today!

Today, March 21, the provisions of the critical self-defense legislation, Sub. Senate Bill 199, go into effect.  Thanks to your active involvement last session, this bill was signed by Governor Kasich last December.  This law ...

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Yesterday, the Maryland House of Delegates passed House Bill 1036 by a 97-41 vote.

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

The Illinois House of Representatives could consider House Bill 2354 at any time.

Arkansas Action Needed: Anti-Gun Bill Which Undermines Concealed Carry Headed to House

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Arkansas Action Needed: Anti-Gun Bill Which Undermines Concealed Carry Headed to House

Today, the Arkansas Senate passed Senate Bill 724, an anti-gun bill which undermines some of the key advancements made with the passage and enactment of House Bill 1249.  SB 724 is now headed to the ...

Idaho: Senate Passes Concealed Carry Amendment

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Idaho: Senate Passes Concealed Carry Amendment

Yesterday, March 20, the Idaho Senate passed House Bill 93 by a 35-0 vote.  Introduced by state Representative Don Cheatham (R-3B) and sponsored on the floor by state Senator Marv Hagedorn (R-14), HB 93 would amend current law ...

Utah: Governor Signs Self-Defense Legislation into Law

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Utah: Governor Signs Self-Defense Legislation into Law

Tonight, Governor Gary Herbert signed House Bill 198 into law.

Texas: Two Important Handgun Carry Bills to be Considered in Senate and House Next Week

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Texas: Two Important Handgun Carry Bills to be Considered in Senate and House Next Week

On Monday, March 27, the Texas Senate will convene after 2:00pm and is expected to take up and consider Senate Bill 16, NRA-backed legislation sponsored by State Sen. Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville) and Joan Huffman (R-Houston).

Nevada: Senate Passes Anti-Gun SB 115

Wednesday, March 22, 2017

Nevada: Senate Passes Anti-Gun SB 115

Yesterday, March 21, the Senate passed anti-gun Senate Bill 115 with a 12-9 vote.  SB 115 was sent to the Assembly for further consideration.  Sponsored by state Senator Moises Denis (D-2), SB 115 would expand the list ...

Are Ear Plugs Better Than a Suppressor?

Hunting  

News  

Friday, March 17, 2017

Are Ear Plugs Better Than a Suppressor?

On March 13, the gun control group, Americans for Responsible Solutions, posted a tweet claiming:  “FACT:  Silencers do not protect your hearing.”  An infographic accompanied the tweet with the additional claim “You know what protects ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.