Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

De Facto Gun Registration Scheme Proposed in Maryland!

Friday, February 1, 2008

House Bill 517, introduced by State Delegate Emmett Burns (D-10), would have drastic effects on the sale of ammunition in Maryland.  HB517 would require ammunition manufacturers to encode a serial number on all ammunition for regulated firearms (handguns and “assault weapons”) sold in the state and register the ammunition to the purchaser.  Only shotgun ammunition is exempted.  All non-encoded ammunition privately possessed would have to be disposed of by January 1, 2009.  HB517 would also create an extensive and intrusive database on all ammunition purchasers.  

Ammunition sellers would be required to submit to the database, the name and address of all ammunition manufacturers and the serial number of all ammunition.  Also collected in the database would be information about the purchaser of ammunition, including the name, date of birth, driver’s license number, serial number of ammunition purchased, and “any other information the Secretary (of State Police) considers necessary.”  This database would be funded by a five cent per round tax on encoded ammunition, significantly increasing the cost of ammunition.
  

By raising the cost and burden on ammunition manufacturers and dealers, this bill will likely drive the firearm business out of the State of Maryland. 

The House Judiciary Committee and the House Ways & Means Committee have scheduled HB517 for a hearing on Tuesday, February 26.  Please contact the members of these committees and respectively urge them to oppose this dangerous bill and protect your Second Amendment rights.

House Judiciary Committee:

State Delegate Joseph F. Vallario, Jr. (D-27A), Chair

(410) 841-3488, (301) 858-3488, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3488 (toll free)
joseph.vallario@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Samuel I. Rosenberg (D-41), Vice Chair

(410) 841-3297, (301) 858-3297, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3297 (toll free)
samuel.rosenberg@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Curt Anderson (D-43)

(410) 841-3291, (301) 858-3291, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3291 (toll free)

curt.anderson@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Ben Barnes (D-21)

(410) 841-3046, (301) 858-3046, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3046 (toll free)
ben.barnes@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Jill P. Carter (D-41)

(410) 841-3283, (301) 858-3283, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3283 (toll free)
jill.carter@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Frank M. Conaway, Jr. (D-40)

(410) 841-3189, (301) 858-3189, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3189 (toll free)
frank.conaway@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Kathleen M. Dumais (D-15)

(410) 841-3052, (301) 858-3052, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3052 (toll free)
kathleen.dumais@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Donald H. Dwyer, Jr. (R-31)

(410) 841-3047, (301) 858-3047, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3047 (toll free)
don.dwyer@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate William J. Frank (R-42)

(410) 841-3793, (301) 858-3793, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3793 (toll free)
william.frank@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Kevin Kelly (D-1B)

(410) 841-3404, (301) 858-3404, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3404 (toll free)

 

State Delegate Benjamin F. Kramer (D-19)

(410) 841-3485, (301) 858-3485, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3485 (toll free)
benjamin.kramer@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Susan C. Lee (D-16)

(410) 841-3649, (301) 858-3649, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3649 (toll free)
susan.lee@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Gerron S. Levi (D-23A)

(410) 841-3101, (301) 858-3101, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3101 (toll free)

gerron.levi@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Susan K. McComas (R-35B)

(410) 841-3272, (301) 858-3272, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3272 (toll free)
susan.mccomas@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Tony McConkey (R-33A)

(410) 841-3406, (301) 858-3406, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3406 (toll free)
tony.mcconkey@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Victor R. Ramirez (D-47)

(410) 841-3340, (301) 858-3340, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3340 (toll free)
victor.ramirez@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Todd Schuler (D-8)

(410) 841-3526, (301) 848-3526, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3526 (toll free)
todd.schuler@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Christopher B. Shank (R-2B)

(410) 841-3636, (301) 858-3636, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3636 (toll free)
christopher.shank@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Luiz R. S. Simmons (D-17)

(410) 841-3037, (301) 858-3037, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3037 (toll free)
luiz.simmons@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Michael D. Smigiel, Sr. (R-36)

(410) 841-3555, (301) 858-3555, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3555 (toll free)
michael.smigiel@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Kriselda Valderrama (D-26)

(410) 841-3210, (301) 858-3210, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3210 (toll free)
kris.valderrama@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Jeff Waldstreicher (D-18)

(410) 841-3130, (301) 858-3130, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3130 (toll free)
jeff.waldstreicher@house.state.md.us

 

House Ways & Means Committee

 

State Delegate Sheila E. Hixson (D-20), Chair

(410) 841-3469, (301) 858-3469, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3469 (toll free)
sheila.hixson@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Ann Marie Doory (D-43), Vice-Chair

(410) 841-3476, (301) 858-3476, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3476 (toll free)
annmarie.doory@house.state.md.us


State Delegate Joseph R. Bartlett (R-4A)

(410) 841-3080, (301) 858-3080, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3080 (toll free)
joseph.bartlett@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Kumar P. Barve (D-17)

(410) 841-3464, (301) 858-3464, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3464 (toll free)
kumar.barve@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Jon S. Cardin (D-11)

(410) 841-3833, (301) 858-3833, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3833 (toll free)
jon.cardin@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate D. Page Elmore (D-38A)

(410) 841-3433, (301) 858-3433, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3433 (toll free)
page.elmore@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate C. William Frick (D-16)

(410) 841-3454, (301) 858-3454, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3454 (toll free)
bill.frick@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Ron George (R-30)

(410) 841-3439, (301) 858-3439, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3439 (toll free)
ron.george@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate James W. Gilchrist (D-17)

(410) 841-3744, (301) 858-3744, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3744 (toll free)
jim.gilchrist@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard (D-24)

(410) 841-3919, (301) 858-3919, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3919 (toll free)
carolyn.howard@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Jolene Ivey (D-47)

(410) 841-3478, (301) 858-3478, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3478 (toll free)
jolene.ivey@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate J. B. Jennings (R-7)

(410) 841-3698, (301) 858-3698, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3698 (toll free)
jb.jennings@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Anne R. Kaiser (D-14)

(410) 841-3036, (301) 858-3036, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3036 (toll free)
anne.kaiser@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Susan W. Krebs (R-9B)

(410) 841-3200, (301) 858-3200, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3200 (toll free)
susan.krebs@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Robert A. McKee (R-2A)

(410) 841-3447, (301) 858-3447, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3447 (toll free)
robert.mckee@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Peter F. Murphy (D-28)

(410) 841-3247, (301) 858-3247, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3247 (toll free)
peter.murphy@house.state.md.us


State Delegate John A. Olszewski, Jr. (D-6)

(410) 841-3458, (301) 858-3458, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3458 (toll free)
john.olszewski@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Craig L. Rice (D-15)

(410) 841-3090, (301) 858-3090, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3090 (toll free)
craig.rice@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Justin D. Ross (D-22)

(410) 841-3652, (301) 858-3652, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3652 (toll free)
justin.ross@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Melvin L. Stukes (D-44)

(410) 841-3544, (301) 858-3544, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3544 (toll free)
melvin.stukes@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Frank S. Turner (D-13)

(410) 841-3246, (301) 858-3246, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3246 (toll free)
frank.turner@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Jay Walker (D-26)
(410) 841-3581, (301) 858-3581, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3581 (toll free)
jay.walker@house.state.md.us

TRENDING NOW
Anti-Gun Congresswoman Introduces Magazine Ban, Aims Slippery Slope at the Gun on Your Hip

News  

Friday, October 20, 2017

Anti-Gun Congresswoman Introduces Magazine Ban, Aims Slippery Slope at the Gun on Your Hip

We’ve been down this road before, and we know gun control doesn’t work. 

Everytown and Hollywood Launch New Campaign Against Pro-gun Legislation

News  

Friday, October 20, 2017

Everytown and Hollywood Launch New Campaign Against Pro-gun Legislation

In the wake of the still-unfolding Harvey Weinstein scandal, one might have thought that America would receive a brief reprieve from Hollywood’s ceaseless moralizing. However, on October 18, 2017, Michael Bloomberg’s Everytown for Gun Safety, ...

Anti-Gun Billionaire George Soros Pumps $18 Billion into His Political Apparatus

News  

Friday, October 20, 2017

Anti-Gun Billionaire George Soros Pumps $18 Billion into His Political Apparatus

In recent years, Soros’s anti-gun efforts have been eclipsed by those of another billionaire, former-New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg. However, the Open Society continues to attack American gun owners.

Bad News For “Universal” Background Check Supporters

News  

Thursday, October 19, 2017

Bad News For “Universal” Background Check Supporters

NRATV Host Cam Edwards describes a study that shows the ineffectiveness of so-called “universal” background checks

Oregon: Governor Signs Anti-Gun Bill into Law

Thursday, August 17, 2017

Oregon: Governor Signs Anti-Gun Bill into Law

Yesterday, Governor Kate Brown signed Senate Bill 719A.  Based on a California law enacted in 2014, SB 719A will create a so-called “Extreme Risk Protection Order” (ERPO) that could be obtained by a law enforcement ...

NRA Doesn’t ‘Buy’ Politicians, but Gun Controllers Do

News  

Friday, October 20, 2017

NRA Doesn’t ‘Buy’ Politicians, but Gun Controllers Do

Gun control supporters who peddle the myth about NRA money aren’t only wrong, they are ignoring team gun control’s own sordid history of buying politicians. And forget Michael Bloomberg for the moment, gun control supporters ...

Illinois: Urgent Action Needed – Numerous Anti-Gun Bills Readied for Consideration Next Week

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

Illinois: Urgent Action Needed – Numerous Anti-Gun Bills Readied for Consideration Next Week

Today, multiple gun control bills were released by the House Rules Committee and have been referred to the House Judiciary Committee for a hearing.

No Sale: Marketing Tricks in Gun Control

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, October 20, 2017

No Sale: Marketing Tricks in Gun Control

Advertising professionals know that switching to a fresh new moniker and a more contemporary or dynamic logo can revitalize a tired or humdrum brand.

California: Governor Brown Signs Remaining Anti-Gun Bill

Sunday, October 15, 2017

California: Governor Brown Signs Remaining Anti-Gun Bill

Yesterday, Governor Brown signed Assembly Bill 424, the remaining anti-gun bill on his desk. 

Gun Banners Unmasked: The Vengeful Face of the Anti-gun Agenda Emerges Once Again

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, October 13, 2017

Gun Banners Unmasked: The Vengeful Face of the Anti-gun Agenda Emerges Once Again

What happens to the 400 million or so firearms already in private hands? How does society actually benefit from his plan? Stephens doesn’t say. He apparently just trusts that things would eventually work themselves out ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.