Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

De Facto Gun Registration Scheme Proposed in Maryland!

Friday, February 1, 2008

House Bill 517, introduced by State Delegate Emmett Burns (D-10), would have drastic effects on the sale of ammunition in Maryland.  HB517 would require ammunition manufacturers to encode a serial number on all ammunition for regulated firearms (handguns and “assault weapons”) sold in the state and register the ammunition to the purchaser.  Only shotgun ammunition is exempted.  All non-encoded ammunition privately possessed would have to be disposed of by January 1, 2009.  HB517 would also create an extensive and intrusive database on all ammunition purchasers.  

Ammunition sellers would be required to submit to the database, the name and address of all ammunition manufacturers and the serial number of all ammunition.  Also collected in the database would be information about the purchaser of ammunition, including the name, date of birth, driver’s license number, serial number of ammunition purchased, and “any other information the Secretary (of State Police) considers necessary.”  This database would be funded by a five cent per round tax on encoded ammunition, significantly increasing the cost of ammunition.
  

By raising the cost and burden on ammunition manufacturers and dealers, this bill will likely drive the firearm business out of the State of Maryland. 

The House Judiciary Committee and the House Ways & Means Committee have scheduled HB517 for a hearing on Tuesday, February 26.  Please contact the members of these committees and respectively urge them to oppose this dangerous bill and protect your Second Amendment rights.

House Judiciary Committee:

State Delegate Joseph F. Vallario, Jr. (D-27A), Chair

(410) 841-3488, (301) 858-3488, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3488 (toll free)
joseph.vallario@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Samuel I. Rosenberg (D-41), Vice Chair

(410) 841-3297, (301) 858-3297, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3297 (toll free)
samuel.rosenberg@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Curt Anderson (D-43)

(410) 841-3291, (301) 858-3291, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3291 (toll free)

curt.anderson@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Ben Barnes (D-21)

(410) 841-3046, (301) 858-3046, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3046 (toll free)
ben.barnes@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Jill P. Carter (D-41)

(410) 841-3283, (301) 858-3283, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3283 (toll free)
jill.carter@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Frank M. Conaway, Jr. (D-40)

(410) 841-3189, (301) 858-3189, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3189 (toll free)
frank.conaway@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Kathleen M. Dumais (D-15)

(410) 841-3052, (301) 858-3052, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3052 (toll free)
kathleen.dumais@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Donald H. Dwyer, Jr. (R-31)

(410) 841-3047, (301) 858-3047, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3047 (toll free)
don.dwyer@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate William J. Frank (R-42)

(410) 841-3793, (301) 858-3793, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3793 (toll free)
william.frank@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Kevin Kelly (D-1B)

(410) 841-3404, (301) 858-3404, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3404 (toll free)

 

State Delegate Benjamin F. Kramer (D-19)

(410) 841-3485, (301) 858-3485, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3485 (toll free)
benjamin.kramer@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Susan C. Lee (D-16)

(410) 841-3649, (301) 858-3649, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3649 (toll free)
susan.lee@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Gerron S. Levi (D-23A)

(410) 841-3101, (301) 858-3101, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3101 (toll free)

gerron.levi@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Susan K. McComas (R-35B)

(410) 841-3272, (301) 858-3272, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3272 (toll free)
susan.mccomas@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Tony McConkey (R-33A)

(410) 841-3406, (301) 858-3406, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3406 (toll free)
tony.mcconkey@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Victor R. Ramirez (D-47)

(410) 841-3340, (301) 858-3340, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3340 (toll free)
victor.ramirez@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Todd Schuler (D-8)

(410) 841-3526, (301) 848-3526, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3526 (toll free)
todd.schuler@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Christopher B. Shank (R-2B)

(410) 841-3636, (301) 858-3636, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3636 (toll free)
christopher.shank@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Luiz R. S. Simmons (D-17)

(410) 841-3037, (301) 858-3037, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3037 (toll free)
luiz.simmons@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Michael D. Smigiel, Sr. (R-36)

(410) 841-3555, (301) 858-3555, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3555 (toll free)
michael.smigiel@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Kriselda Valderrama (D-26)

(410) 841-3210, (301) 858-3210, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3210 (toll free)
kris.valderrama@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Jeff Waldstreicher (D-18)

(410) 841-3130, (301) 858-3130, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3130 (toll free)
jeff.waldstreicher@house.state.md.us

 

House Ways & Means Committee

 

State Delegate Sheila E. Hixson (D-20), Chair

(410) 841-3469, (301) 858-3469, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3469 (toll free)
sheila.hixson@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Ann Marie Doory (D-43), Vice-Chair

(410) 841-3476, (301) 858-3476, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3476 (toll free)
annmarie.doory@house.state.md.us


State Delegate Joseph R. Bartlett (R-4A)

(410) 841-3080, (301) 858-3080, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3080 (toll free)
joseph.bartlett@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Kumar P. Barve (D-17)

(410) 841-3464, (301) 858-3464, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3464 (toll free)
kumar.barve@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Jon S. Cardin (D-11)

(410) 841-3833, (301) 858-3833, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3833 (toll free)
jon.cardin@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate D. Page Elmore (D-38A)

(410) 841-3433, (301) 858-3433, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3433 (toll free)
page.elmore@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate C. William Frick (D-16)

(410) 841-3454, (301) 858-3454, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3454 (toll free)
bill.frick@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Ron George (R-30)

(410) 841-3439, (301) 858-3439, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3439 (toll free)
ron.george@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate James W. Gilchrist (D-17)

(410) 841-3744, (301) 858-3744, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3744 (toll free)
jim.gilchrist@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard (D-24)

(410) 841-3919, (301) 858-3919, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3919 (toll free)
carolyn.howard@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Jolene Ivey (D-47)

(410) 841-3478, (301) 858-3478, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3478 (toll free)
jolene.ivey@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate J. B. Jennings (R-7)

(410) 841-3698, (301) 858-3698, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3698 (toll free)
jb.jennings@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Anne R. Kaiser (D-14)

(410) 841-3036, (301) 858-3036, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3036 (toll free)
anne.kaiser@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Susan W. Krebs (R-9B)

(410) 841-3200, (301) 858-3200, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3200 (toll free)
susan.krebs@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Robert A. McKee (R-2A)

(410) 841-3447, (301) 858-3447, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3447 (toll free)
robert.mckee@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Peter F. Murphy (D-28)

(410) 841-3247, (301) 858-3247, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3247 (toll free)
peter.murphy@house.state.md.us


State Delegate John A. Olszewski, Jr. (D-6)

(410) 841-3458, (301) 858-3458, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3458 (toll free)
john.olszewski@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Craig L. Rice (D-15)

(410) 841-3090, (301) 858-3090, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3090 (toll free)
craig.rice@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Justin D. Ross (D-22)

(410) 841-3652, (301) 858-3652, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3652 (toll free)
justin.ross@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Melvin L. Stukes (D-44)

(410) 841-3544, (301) 858-3544, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3544 (toll free)
melvin.stukes@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Frank S. Turner (D-13)

(410) 841-3246, (301) 858-3246, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3246 (toll free)
frank.turner@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Jay Walker (D-26)
(410) 841-3581, (301) 858-3581, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3581 (toll free)
jay.walker@house.state.md.us

TRENDING NOW
Former Bloomberg Lackey Comes Clean on True Anti-gun Agenda

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, July 21, 2017

Former Bloomberg Lackey Comes Clean on True Anti-gun Agenda

Back when Mark Glaze was executive director of Michael Bloomberg’s Mayors Against Illegal Guns, and later Everytown for Gun Safety, he went to great lengths to portray his master’s anti-gun positions as moderate. Glaze used ...

“She Persisted” – Gun Owner Fights Unlawful “No Return” Gun Policy

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

“She Persisted” – Gun Owner Fights Unlawful “No Return” Gun Policy

On July 17, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit confirmed that law enforcement officials in New York acted unlawfully with respect to guns confiscated from a Nassau County woman in 2012.  

“March” Madness: Media Hypes Non-Event at NRA Headquarters

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

“March” Madness: Media Hypes Non-Event at NRA Headquarters

Numbers don’t lie. But gun control groups and the news media do. That explains why so many accounts of last Friday’s so-called Women’s March From #NRA2DOJ bear no resemblance to the event those of us ...

The Need for National Reciprocity

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

The Need for National Reciprocity

A report from the Crime Prevention Research Center estimates that the number of concealed carry permits issued last year was the largest increase ever – continuing a four year trend of record setting increases in ...

Supreme Court Asked to Review Maryland's Gun Ban

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

Supreme Court Asked to Review Maryland's Gun Ban

A group of Maryland citizens, with the support of the National Rifle Association, filed a petition to the United States Supreme Court on Friday seeking to reverse a Court of Appeals ruling that stripped some of America’s most ...

Home Alone in Washington State

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

Home Alone in Washington State

Back in 2013, when Washington State’s anti-gun groups rolled out Initiative 594, they promised voters this “universal background check” law would save lives by keeping “firearms out of dangerous hands” because private gun sales would ...

Court Strikes Down Unconstitutional Ban on Concealed Carry

News  

Tuesday, July 25, 2017

Court Strikes Down Unconstitutional Ban on Concealed Carry

D.C. Circuit Court Rules in Favor of Constitutional Right to Carry a Gun in Public for Self-Defense

Washington: Gun Bills Go into Effect

Tuesday, July 25, 2017

Washington: Gun Bills Go into Effect

On Sunday, July 23, a number of bills that passed from the 2017 legislative session went into effect that impact your Second Amendment rights.

California: DOJ Introduces Proposed Regulations Adding “Privacy Notices” to Firearm-Related Forms

Monday, July 24, 2017

California: DOJ Introduces Proposed Regulations Adding “Privacy Notices” to Firearm-Related Forms

On Monday, July 24, the California Department of Justice introduced another set of proposed regulations, this time for the purpose of adding required “privacy notices” to certain firearm-related forms.

When Gun Control Fails

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, July 21, 2017

When Gun Control Fails

Gun control is pushed as a strategy to keep Americans safe in their homes, schools and workplaces. It is presented as the key component in safer streets, neighborhoods and families. But what happens when gun ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.