Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

De Facto Gun Registration Scheme Proposed in Maryland!

Friday, February 1, 2008

House Bill 517, introduced by State Delegate Emmett Burns (D-10), would have drastic effects on the sale of ammunition in Maryland.  HB517 would require ammunition manufacturers to encode a serial number on all ammunition for regulated firearms (handguns and “assault weapons”) sold in the state and register the ammunition to the purchaser.  Only shotgun ammunition is exempted.  All non-encoded ammunition privately possessed would have to be disposed of by January 1, 2009.  HB517 would also create an extensive and intrusive database on all ammunition purchasers.  

Ammunition sellers would be required to submit to the database, the name and address of all ammunition manufacturers and the serial number of all ammunition.  Also collected in the database would be information about the purchaser of ammunition, including the name, date of birth, driver’s license number, serial number of ammunition purchased, and “any other information the Secretary (of State Police) considers necessary.”  This database would be funded by a five cent per round tax on encoded ammunition, significantly increasing the cost of ammunition.
  

By raising the cost and burden on ammunition manufacturers and dealers, this bill will likely drive the firearm business out of the State of Maryland. 

The House Judiciary Committee and the House Ways & Means Committee have scheduled HB517 for a hearing on Tuesday, February 26.  Please contact the members of these committees and respectively urge them to oppose this dangerous bill and protect your Second Amendment rights.

House Judiciary Committee:

State Delegate Joseph F. Vallario, Jr. (D-27A), Chair

(410) 841-3488, (301) 858-3488, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3488 (toll free)
joseph.vallario@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Samuel I. Rosenberg (D-41), Vice Chair

(410) 841-3297, (301) 858-3297, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3297 (toll free)
samuel.rosenberg@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Curt Anderson (D-43)

(410) 841-3291, (301) 858-3291, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3291 (toll free)

curt.anderson@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Ben Barnes (D-21)

(410) 841-3046, (301) 858-3046, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3046 (toll free)
ben.barnes@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Jill P. Carter (D-41)

(410) 841-3283, (301) 858-3283, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3283 (toll free)
jill.carter@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Frank M. Conaway, Jr. (D-40)

(410) 841-3189, (301) 858-3189, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3189 (toll free)
frank.conaway@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Kathleen M. Dumais (D-15)

(410) 841-3052, (301) 858-3052, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3052 (toll free)
kathleen.dumais@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Donald H. Dwyer, Jr. (R-31)

(410) 841-3047, (301) 858-3047, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3047 (toll free)
don.dwyer@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate William J. Frank (R-42)

(410) 841-3793, (301) 858-3793, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3793 (toll free)
william.frank@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Kevin Kelly (D-1B)

(410) 841-3404, (301) 858-3404, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3404 (toll free)

 

State Delegate Benjamin F. Kramer (D-19)

(410) 841-3485, (301) 858-3485, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3485 (toll free)
benjamin.kramer@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Susan C. Lee (D-16)

(410) 841-3649, (301) 858-3649, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3649 (toll free)
susan.lee@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Gerron S. Levi (D-23A)

(410) 841-3101, (301) 858-3101, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3101 (toll free)

gerron.levi@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Susan K. McComas (R-35B)

(410) 841-3272, (301) 858-3272, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3272 (toll free)
susan.mccomas@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Tony McConkey (R-33A)

(410) 841-3406, (301) 858-3406, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3406 (toll free)
tony.mcconkey@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Victor R. Ramirez (D-47)

(410) 841-3340, (301) 858-3340, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3340 (toll free)
victor.ramirez@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Todd Schuler (D-8)

(410) 841-3526, (301) 848-3526, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3526 (toll free)
todd.schuler@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Christopher B. Shank (R-2B)

(410) 841-3636, (301) 858-3636, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3636 (toll free)
christopher.shank@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Luiz R. S. Simmons (D-17)

(410) 841-3037, (301) 858-3037, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3037 (toll free)
luiz.simmons@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Michael D. Smigiel, Sr. (R-36)

(410) 841-3555, (301) 858-3555, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3555 (toll free)
michael.smigiel@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Kriselda Valderrama (D-26)

(410) 841-3210, (301) 858-3210, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3210 (toll free)
kris.valderrama@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Jeff Waldstreicher (D-18)

(410) 841-3130, (301) 858-3130, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3130 (toll free)
jeff.waldstreicher@house.state.md.us

 

House Ways & Means Committee

 

State Delegate Sheila E. Hixson (D-20), Chair

(410) 841-3469, (301) 858-3469, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3469 (toll free)
sheila.hixson@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Ann Marie Doory (D-43), Vice-Chair

(410) 841-3476, (301) 858-3476, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3476 (toll free)
annmarie.doory@house.state.md.us


State Delegate Joseph R. Bartlett (R-4A)

(410) 841-3080, (301) 858-3080, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3080 (toll free)
joseph.bartlett@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Kumar P. Barve (D-17)

(410) 841-3464, (301) 858-3464, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3464 (toll free)
kumar.barve@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Jon S. Cardin (D-11)

(410) 841-3833, (301) 858-3833, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3833 (toll free)
jon.cardin@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate D. Page Elmore (D-38A)

(410) 841-3433, (301) 858-3433, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3433 (toll free)
page.elmore@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate C. William Frick (D-16)

(410) 841-3454, (301) 858-3454, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3454 (toll free)
bill.frick@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Ron George (R-30)

(410) 841-3439, (301) 858-3439, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3439 (toll free)
ron.george@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate James W. Gilchrist (D-17)

(410) 841-3744, (301) 858-3744, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3744 (toll free)
jim.gilchrist@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard (D-24)

(410) 841-3919, (301) 858-3919, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3919 (toll free)
carolyn.howard@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Jolene Ivey (D-47)

(410) 841-3478, (301) 858-3478, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3478 (toll free)
jolene.ivey@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate J. B. Jennings (R-7)

(410) 841-3698, (301) 858-3698, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3698 (toll free)
jb.jennings@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Anne R. Kaiser (D-14)

(410) 841-3036, (301) 858-3036, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3036 (toll free)
anne.kaiser@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Susan W. Krebs (R-9B)

(410) 841-3200, (301) 858-3200, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3200 (toll free)
susan.krebs@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Robert A. McKee (R-2A)

(410) 841-3447, (301) 858-3447, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3447 (toll free)
robert.mckee@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Peter F. Murphy (D-28)

(410) 841-3247, (301) 858-3247, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3247 (toll free)
peter.murphy@house.state.md.us


State Delegate John A. Olszewski, Jr. (D-6)

(410) 841-3458, (301) 858-3458, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3458 (toll free)
john.olszewski@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Craig L. Rice (D-15)

(410) 841-3090, (301) 858-3090, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3090 (toll free)
craig.rice@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Justin D. Ross (D-22)

(410) 841-3652, (301) 858-3652, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3652 (toll free)
justin.ross@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Melvin L. Stukes (D-44)

(410) 841-3544, (301) 858-3544, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3544 (toll free)
melvin.stukes@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Frank S. Turner (D-13)

(410) 841-3246, (301) 858-3246, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3246 (toll free)
frank.turner@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Jay Walker (D-26)
(410) 841-3581, (301) 858-3581, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3581 (toll free)
jay.walker@house.state.md.us

TRENDING NOW
“Fact Checker:” Joe Biden’s “Gun Ban” Not a Gun Ban Because Some Guns Wouldn’t Be Banned

News  

Monday, July 15, 2019

“Fact Checker:” Joe Biden’s “Gun Ban” Not a Gun Ban Because Some Guns Wouldn’t Be Banned

Facebook has teamed up with what it calls “third-party fact-checkers” to punish users of its platform that post information embarrassing or inconvenient to this outlook. Yet like most sources of what passes as “news” or ...

California: City of San Diego Considers Gun Control Ordinance

Friday, July 12, 2019

California: City of San Diego Considers Gun Control Ordinance

San Diego City Attorney, Mara Elliott has asked the City Council to consider a draft ordinance that would require mandatory locked storage of firearms in the home and would propose a conflicting law regarding the reporting of ...

Hollywood Fantasy v. Reality on Firearm Suppressors

News  

Monday, July 15, 2019

Hollywood Fantasy v. Reality on Firearm Suppressors

It’s no secret that Hollywood has a very loose relationship with reality.  The movie industry, after all, is based on fantasy and escapism, and that’s not necessarily a bad thing.  If someone wants to forget ...

California: Injunction Request to be Filed in Lawsuit Challenging California Ammo Law

Wednesday, July 3, 2019

California: Injunction Request to be Filed in Lawsuit Challenging California Ammo Law

CRPA, with the support of NRA, challenged the ammunition background check law in court months ago with the filing of the Rhode v. Becerra case. The lead plaintiff in the case is Olympic gold medalist shooter ...

Hawaii: Governor Ige Signs Anti-Gun Legislation

Wednesday, July 10, 2019

Hawaii: Governor Ige Signs Anti-Gun Legislation

On July 9th, Governor David Ige signed the final remaining anti-gun bill awaiting his consideration, Senate Bill 600. This comes on the heels of him signing Senate Bill 1466 on June 27th. 

Presidential Pretender Who Campaigned on Gun Control First to Call It Quits

News  

Monday, July 15, 2019

Presidential Pretender Who Campaigned on Gun Control First to Call It Quits

On Monday, Eric Swalwell became the first of the many pretenders for the Democrat presidential nomination to bow (or perhaps slink) out of the race. The U.S. Congressman from California’s 15th District had tried to distinguish himself from ...

Vox Wants to Take Your Guns

News  

Monday, July 8, 2019

Vox Wants to Take Your Guns

A conspiracy relies on secrecy. Some are, perhaps, never uncovered. Others are exposed by the conspirators themselves, who cannot help but share the details whether from arrogance or anxiousness. For years, law-abiding gun owners and ...

California: Legislature Breaks for Summer Recess

Sunday, July 14, 2019

California: Legislature Breaks for Summer Recess

The California Legislature has recessed for the summer and will return August 12 from the break. Last week, the following actions were taken by the Senate Public Safety Committee, Senate Natural Resources, and both the Senate ...

Recent Poll Shows Gun Control Not as Popular as Some Would Like to Believe

News  

Monday, July 8, 2019

Recent Poll Shows Gun Control Not as Popular as Some Would Like to Believe

A recent Morning Consult/POLITICO poll, conducted immediately prior to the recent  Democratic debates and gathering responses from 1,991 registered voters, asked about views toward the candidates, issues of potential importance in the election, voting intention, and ...

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.