Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

De Facto Gun Registration Scheme Proposed in Maryland!

Friday, February 1, 2008

House Bill 517, introduced by State Delegate Emmett Burns (D-10), would have drastic effects on the sale of ammunition in Maryland.  HB517 would require ammunition manufacturers to encode a serial number on all ammunition for regulated firearms (handguns and “assault weapons”) sold in the state and register the ammunition to the purchaser.  Only shotgun ammunition is exempted.  All non-encoded ammunition privately possessed would have to be disposed of by January 1, 2009.  HB517 would also create an extensive and intrusive database on all ammunition purchasers.  

Ammunition sellers would be required to submit to the database, the name and address of all ammunition manufacturers and the serial number of all ammunition.  Also collected in the database would be information about the purchaser of ammunition, including the name, date of birth, driver’s license number, serial number of ammunition purchased, and “any other information the Secretary (of State Police) considers necessary.”  This database would be funded by a five cent per round tax on encoded ammunition, significantly increasing the cost of ammunition.
  

By raising the cost and burden on ammunition manufacturers and dealers, this bill will likely drive the firearm business out of the State of Maryland. 

The House Judiciary Committee and the House Ways & Means Committee have scheduled HB517 for a hearing on Tuesday, February 26.  Please contact the members of these committees and respectively urge them to oppose this dangerous bill and protect your Second Amendment rights.

House Judiciary Committee:

State Delegate Joseph F. Vallario, Jr. (D-27A), Chair

(410) 841-3488, (301) 858-3488, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3488 (toll free)
joseph.vallario@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Samuel I. Rosenberg (D-41), Vice Chair

(410) 841-3297, (301) 858-3297, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3297 (toll free)
samuel.rosenberg@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Curt Anderson (D-43)

(410) 841-3291, (301) 858-3291, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3291 (toll free)

curt.anderson@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Ben Barnes (D-21)

(410) 841-3046, (301) 858-3046, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3046 (toll free)
ben.barnes@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Jill P. Carter (D-41)

(410) 841-3283, (301) 858-3283, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3283 (toll free)
jill.carter@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Frank M. Conaway, Jr. (D-40)

(410) 841-3189, (301) 858-3189, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3189 (toll free)
frank.conaway@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Kathleen M. Dumais (D-15)

(410) 841-3052, (301) 858-3052, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3052 (toll free)
kathleen.dumais@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Donald H. Dwyer, Jr. (R-31)

(410) 841-3047, (301) 858-3047, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3047 (toll free)
don.dwyer@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate William J. Frank (R-42)

(410) 841-3793, (301) 858-3793, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3793 (toll free)
william.frank@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Kevin Kelly (D-1B)

(410) 841-3404, (301) 858-3404, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3404 (toll free)

 

State Delegate Benjamin F. Kramer (D-19)

(410) 841-3485, (301) 858-3485, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3485 (toll free)
benjamin.kramer@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Susan C. Lee (D-16)

(410) 841-3649, (301) 858-3649, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3649 (toll free)
susan.lee@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Gerron S. Levi (D-23A)

(410) 841-3101, (301) 858-3101, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3101 (toll free)

gerron.levi@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Susan K. McComas (R-35B)

(410) 841-3272, (301) 858-3272, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3272 (toll free)
susan.mccomas@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Tony McConkey (R-33A)

(410) 841-3406, (301) 858-3406, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3406 (toll free)
tony.mcconkey@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Victor R. Ramirez (D-47)

(410) 841-3340, (301) 858-3340, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3340 (toll free)
victor.ramirez@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Todd Schuler (D-8)

(410) 841-3526, (301) 848-3526, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3526 (toll free)
todd.schuler@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Christopher B. Shank (R-2B)

(410) 841-3636, (301) 858-3636, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3636 (toll free)
christopher.shank@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Luiz R. S. Simmons (D-17)

(410) 841-3037, (301) 858-3037, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3037 (toll free)
luiz.simmons@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Michael D. Smigiel, Sr. (R-36)

(410) 841-3555, (301) 858-3555, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3555 (toll free)
michael.smigiel@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Kriselda Valderrama (D-26)

(410) 841-3210, (301) 858-3210, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3210 (toll free)
kris.valderrama@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Jeff Waldstreicher (D-18)

(410) 841-3130, (301) 858-3130, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3130 (toll free)
jeff.waldstreicher@house.state.md.us

 

House Ways & Means Committee

 

State Delegate Sheila E. Hixson (D-20), Chair

(410) 841-3469, (301) 858-3469, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3469 (toll free)
sheila.hixson@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Ann Marie Doory (D-43), Vice-Chair

(410) 841-3476, (301) 858-3476, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3476 (toll free)
annmarie.doory@house.state.md.us


State Delegate Joseph R. Bartlett (R-4A)

(410) 841-3080, (301) 858-3080, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3080 (toll free)
joseph.bartlett@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Kumar P. Barve (D-17)

(410) 841-3464, (301) 858-3464, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3464 (toll free)
kumar.barve@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Jon S. Cardin (D-11)

(410) 841-3833, (301) 858-3833, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3833 (toll free)
jon.cardin@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate D. Page Elmore (D-38A)

(410) 841-3433, (301) 858-3433, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3433 (toll free)
page.elmore@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate C. William Frick (D-16)

(410) 841-3454, (301) 858-3454, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3454 (toll free)
bill.frick@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Ron George (R-30)

(410) 841-3439, (301) 858-3439, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3439 (toll free)
ron.george@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate James W. Gilchrist (D-17)

(410) 841-3744, (301) 858-3744, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3744 (toll free)
jim.gilchrist@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Carolyn J. B. Howard (D-24)

(410) 841-3919, (301) 858-3919, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3919 (toll free)
carolyn.howard@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Jolene Ivey (D-47)

(410) 841-3478, (301) 858-3478, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3478 (toll free)
jolene.ivey@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate J. B. Jennings (R-7)

(410) 841-3698, (301) 858-3698, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3698 (toll free)
jb.jennings@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Anne R. Kaiser (D-14)

(410) 841-3036, (301) 858-3036, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3036 (toll free)
anne.kaiser@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Susan W. Krebs (R-9B)

(410) 841-3200, (301) 858-3200, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3200 (toll free)
susan.krebs@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Robert A. McKee (R-2A)

(410) 841-3447, (301) 858-3447, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3447 (toll free)
robert.mckee@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Peter F. Murphy (D-28)

(410) 841-3247, (301) 858-3247, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3247 (toll free)
peter.murphy@house.state.md.us


State Delegate John A. Olszewski, Jr. (D-6)

(410) 841-3458, (301) 858-3458, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3458 (toll free)
john.olszewski@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Craig L. Rice (D-15)

(410) 841-3090, (301) 858-3090, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3090 (toll free)
craig.rice@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Justin D. Ross (D-22)

(410) 841-3652, (301) 858-3652, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3652 (toll free)
justin.ross@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Melvin L. Stukes (D-44)

(410) 841-3544, (301) 858-3544, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3544 (toll free)
melvin.stukes@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Frank S. Turner (D-13)

(410) 841-3246, (301) 858-3246, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3246 (toll free)
frank.turner@house.state.md.us

 

State Delegate Jay Walker (D-26)
(410) 841-3581, (301) 858-3581, 1-800-492-7122, ext. 3581 (toll free)
jay.walker@house.state.md.us

TRENDING NOW
Washington: Trigger Modification Ban Passes Committee

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Washington: Trigger Modification Ban Passes Committee

Earlier today, the Washington state Senate Law & Justice Committee passed Senate Bill 5992 out of committee with a 4-3 vote. As drafted, this legislation has overreaching language that would ban modifications commonly made to ...

Washington: Substitute Version of Gun Control Bill Passes House Committee

Friday, January 19, 2018

Washington: Substitute Version of Gun Control Bill Passes House Committee

Yesterday, the House Judiciary Committee passed Substitute House Bill 1122 out of committee on a 7-6 vote.  This bill, which would require gun owners to lock up their firearms or potentially face criminal charges, will ...

Crossing the Line – Firearm Preemption Protection Under Attack

News  

Friday, January 19, 2018

Crossing the Line – Firearm Preemption Protection Under Attack

Gun control groups are fond of describing preemption as a doctrine whereby a state has stripped local governments of their power to regulate guns.

Australia: Queensland’s Labor Party Government Targets MP for Gun Control Heresy

News  

Friday, January 19, 2018

Australia: Queensland’s Labor Party Government Targets MP for Gun Control Heresy

The sorry state of gun politics in Australia was put into stark relief recently, after Liberal National Party (LNP) Queensland Legislative Assembly MP Anthony Perrett took a principled stand in favor of his constituents’ gun rights.

Eighteen States, Law Enforcement, Doctors, and Firearm Rights Groups File Amicus Briefs in Lawsuit Challenging California 10+ Magazine Ban

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Eighteen States, Law Enforcement, Doctors, and Firearm Rights Groups File Amicus Briefs in Lawsuit Challenging California 10+ Magazine Ban

On Friday, January 12, several amicus briefs were filed in the NRA and CRPA supported lawsuit challenging California’s restrictions against magazines capable of holding more than 10 rounds. The lawsuit, titled Duncan v. Becerra, challenges California’s ...

Arizona: Signature Gathering Underway For Hunting Ban Initiative

Hunting  

Friday, January 19, 2018

Arizona: Signature Gathering Underway For Hunting Ban Initiative

The Humane Society of the United States (HSUS) and their front-group “Arizonans for Wildlife” are currently gathering signatures for a ballot initiative that would ban the hunting and trapping of mountain lions and bobcats in ...

Washington: House Judiciary to Hear Gun Control Bills

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Washington: House Judiciary to Hear Gun Control Bills

On Thursday, January 25th at 1:30PM, the House Judiciary Committee is scheduled to hear several sweeping gun control bills.  NRA Members and Second Amendment supporters are strongly encouraged to attend the committee hearing to voice your opposition ...

Hawaii: Trigger Modification Ban Introduced in the Senate

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Hawaii: Trigger Modification Ban Introduced in the Senate

Today, Senator Karl Rhoads (D-13) introduced legislation that would ban modifications commonly made to firearms by law-abiding citizens.  SB 2046 is currently pending a committee referral.  Please contact your Senator today and urge them to OPPOSE this ...

Indiana: Rifle Hunting Bill Passes Senate

Hunting  

Friday, January 19, 2018

Indiana: Rifle Hunting Bill Passes Senate

On Thursday, January 18th, Senate Bill 20 passed the Indiana state Senate by a vote of 47-2 and will now move to the House.  

New Jersey:  2018 Brings Bigger Challenges for New Jersey Gun Owners

Friday, January 19, 2018

New Jersey: 2018 Brings Bigger Challenges for New Jersey Gun Owners

A new Governor took the reins from Gov. Chris Christie this week, and a new Legislature has been sworn into office. 

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.