Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Georgia House Passes Critical Pro-Gun Reform Legislation!

Thursday, January 31, 2008

Please Contact Your State Senator Today!

 

On January 31, the Georgia House of Representatives passed House Bill 89 with the Bearden amendment by a vote of 111 to 58.  This critical NRA-supported legislation to protect our firearm rights now heads back to the Senate for concurrence. 

 

HB89 as passed by the Senate would:

 

ü      allow licensed carry permit holders to possess a firearm in any private motor vehicle, while on any publicly accessible parking lot; 

ü      prohibit gun dealer entrapment schemes, such as those orchestrated by New York Mayor Michael Bloomberg;

ü      allow concealed carry permit holders to carry in State Parks; and

ü      create a strict time limit for various stages of the concealed carry license application process.

 

Today’s action in the House makes additional improvements to the bill including:

 

ü      further allowing concealed carry permit holders to carry in recreational areas, wildlife management areas, and public transportation;

ü      allowing concealed carry permit holders to carry in restaurants; and

ü      creating a stricter time line for various stages of the concealed carry license application process.

 

These are just a few of the positive reforms HB89, with Representative Bearden’s amendment, will make to Georgia’s firearm laws. 

 

HB 89 is still under attack by gun control advocates, so it is VITAL that you call your State Senator today and urge him or her to support HB 89.

 

Help preserve our Second Amendment rights in Georgia by contacting your State Senator today and urge him or her to support and vote “yes” on HB 89.  If you need help identifying your State Senator, please click here.

 

PLEASE MAKE THESE CALLS TODAY!

 

42        Adelman, David (D)     david.adelman@senate.ga.gov              (404) 463-1376

9          Balfour, Don (R)           don.balfour@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 656-0095

26        Brown, Robert (D)       robert.brown@senate.ga.gov                (404) 656-5035

11        Bulloch, John (R)          john.bulloch@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-0040

55        Butler, Gloria S. (D)     gloria.butler@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-0075

13        Carter, Joseph (R)        joseph.carter@senate.ga.gov                (404) 651-7738

16        Chance, Ronnie (R)      ronnie.chance@senate.ga.gov               (404) 651-7738

3          Chapman, Jeff (R)        jeff.chapman@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-0045

46        Cowsert, Bill (R)          bill.cowsert@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 463-1366

44        Davenport, Gail (D)      gail.davenport@senate.ga.gov               (404) 656-7586

17        Douglas, John (R)         john.douglas@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-0503

39        Fort, Vincent (D)          vincent.fort@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 656-5091

7          Goggans, Greg (R)       greg.goggans@senate.ga.gov                (404) 463-5263

8          Golden, Tim (D)           tim.golden@senate.ga.gov                    (404) 656-7580

25        Grant, Johnny (R)         johnny.grant@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-0082

30        Hamrick, William (R)    bill.hamrick@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 656-0036

15        Harbison, Ed (D)          ed.harbison@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-0074

29        Harp, Seth (R)              seth.harp@senate.ga.gov                      (404) 463-3931

49        Hawkins, Lee (R)         lee.hawkins@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-6578

31        Heath, Bill (R)              billheath@billheath.net                          (404) 651-7738 

41        Henson, Steve (D)        steve.henson@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-0085

4          Hill, Jack (R)                jack.hill@senate.ga.gov                        (404) 656-5038

32        Hill, Judson (R)             judson.hill@senate.ga.gov                     (404) 656-0150

14        Hooks, George (D)      george.hooks@senate.ga.gov               (404) 656-0065

47        Hudgens, Ralph T (R)   ralph.hudgens@senate.ga.gov               (404) 656-4700

24        Jackson, Bill (R)           bill.jackson@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 656-5114

1          Johnson, Eric (R)          eric.johnson@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-5109

10        Jones, Emanuel (D)       emanuel.jones@senate.ga.gov                (404) 656-0502

12        Meyer von Bremen, Michael (D) michael.meyer@senate.ga.gov (404) 656-0037

56        Moody, Dan (R)           dan.moody@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 463-8055

53        Mullis, Jeff (R)              jeff.mullis@senate.ga.gov                      (404) 656-0057

27        Murphy, Jack (R)         jack.murphy@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-7127

36        Orrock, Nan (D)          nan.orrock@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 463-8054

51        Pearson, Chip (R)         chip.pearson@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-9221

23        Powell, J. B. (D)           jb.powell@senate.ga.gov                      (404) 463-1314

43        Ramsey, Sr., Ronald B. (D) ronald.ramsey@senate.ga.gov        (404) 463-2598

35        Reed, Kasim (D)          kasim.reed@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 463-1379

21        Rogers, Chip (R)          chip.rogers@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 463-1378

50        Schaefer, Nancy (R)     nancy.schaefer@senate.ga.gov              (404) 463-1367

28        Seabaugh, Mitch (R)     mail@mitchseabaugh.com                     (404) 656-6446

34        Seay, Valencia (D)       valencia.seay@senate.ga.gov                (404) 656-5095

48        Shafer, David (R)         david.shafer@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-0048

52        Smith, Preston W. (R)  preston.smith@senate.ga.gov                (404) 656-0034

18        Staton, Cecil (R)           cecil.staton@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 656-5039

6          Stoner, Doug (D)          doug.stoner@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 463-2518

22        Tarver, Ed (D)              ed.tarver@senate.ga.gov                      (404) 656-0340

38        Tate, Horacena (D)      horacena.tate@senate.ga.gov                (404) 463-8053

54        Thomas, Don (R)          don.thomas@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-6436

2          Thomas, Regina D. (D) regina.thomas@senate.ga.gov               (404) 463-7784

5          Thompson, Curt (D)     curt.thompson@senate.ga.gov              (404) 463-1318

33        Thompson, Steve (D)   steve.thompson@senate.ga.gov            (404) 656-0083

20        Tolleson, Ross (R)        ross.tolleson@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-0081

45        Unterman, Renee S (R) renee.unterman@senate.ga.gov            (404) 463-1368

40        Weber, Dan (R)           dan.weber@senate.ga.gov                    (404) 463-2260

37        Wiles, John J. (R)         john.wiles@senate.ga.gov                     (404) 657-0406

19        Williams, Tommie (R)   tommie@tommiewilliams.com               (404) 656-0089

 

To keep track of this critical Georgia legislation and other Second Amendment issues around the nation, please visit www.NRAILA.org.
TRENDING NOW

News  

Tuesday, July 17, 2018

Federal Court Upholds Decision to Block California’s Magazine Ban

A three-judge panel of the 9th Circuit issued a ruling in the case of Duncan v. Becerra on Tuesday upholding a lower court’s decision to suspend enforcement of California’s restriction on the possession of magazines ...

Anti-gun Efforts to Expand U.N. Regulations to Ammunition Continue

News  

Friday, July 6, 2018

Anti-gun Efforts to Expand U.N. Regulations to Ammunition Continue

Shortly before 4:00am last Saturday morning, the two week long Third Review Conference (RevCon3) on the Programme of Action to Prevent, Combat, and Eradicate the Illicit Trade in Small Arms and Light Weapons in All ...

Justice Scalia Made Clear the Second Amendment and Heller Prohibit “Assault Weapon” Bans

News  

Second Amendment  

Gun Laws  

Friday, July 13, 2018

Justice Scalia Made Clear the Second Amendment and Heller Prohibit “Assault Weapon” Bans

On July 9, Sen. Chris Murphy (D-Conn.) offered the following ham-handed statement in an attempted attack on President Donald Trump’s U.S. Supreme Court nominee, D.C. Circuit Judge Brett Kavanaugh. Brett Kavanaugh is a true Second Amendment radical. ...

Washington: Seattle City Council Passes Ordinance Making Firearms Unavailable for Self-Defense

Monday, July 16, 2018

Washington: Seattle City Council Passes Ordinance Making Firearms Unavailable for Self-Defense

On July 9th, the Seattle City Council passed a mandatory firearm storage ordinance to restrict the self-defense rights of Seattle residents.  The ordinance, if signed by Mayor Jenny Durkan, will impose a one-size-fits-all method of storing firearms as ...

Delaware: Governor Signs Bill Legalizing Sunday Deer Hunting

Hunting  

Friday, July 13, 2018

Delaware: Governor Signs Bill Legalizing Sunday Deer Hunting

On July 11th, Governor John Carney signed Senate Bill 198 into law to expand hunting opportunities in Delaware by eliminating the prohibition against hunting for deer on Sundays and allowing for the harvesting of deer on Sundays ...

California DOJ Withdraws Proposed Regulations Expanding Application of “Assault Weapon” Definitions

Wednesday, July 11, 2018

California DOJ Withdraws Proposed Regulations Expanding Application of “Assault Weapon” Definitions

On Monday, the California Department of Justice, Bureau of Firearms (“CA DOJ”) officially withdrew the proposed regulations that would have expanded the improperly adopted “assault weapon” definitions, to apply in all circumstances. This withdrawal comes ...

Illinois: Governor Signs Two Gun Control Bills

Tuesday, July 17, 2018

Illinois: Governor Signs Two Gun Control Bills

On July 17th, Governor Bruce Rauner signed House Bill 2354 and Senate Bill 3256 into law.

NRA Files Comments in Support of Trump Administration’s Export Reform Effort

News  

Friday, July 13, 2018

NRA Files Comments in Support of Trump Administration’s Export Reform Effort

On Monday, the public comment period closed on a pair of rulemakings that could finally free American gun owners and small businesses from being trapped in a minefield of federal regulations designed for exporters of ...

California: MASSIVE Data Breach and Significant Registration Problems with CA DOJ’s “Assault Weapon” Registration System

Saturday, July 7, 2018

California: MASSIVE Data Breach and Significant Registration Problems with CA DOJ’s “Assault Weapon” Registration System

Following the closure of the “assault weapon” registration period, NRA and CRPA received complaints from hundreds of individuals who were unable to register their firearms as required because CA DOJ’s online application system was unable ...

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.