Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Georgia House Passes Critical Pro-Gun Reform Legislation!

Thursday, January 31, 2008

Please Contact Your State Senator Today!

 

On January 31, the Georgia House of Representatives passed House Bill 89 with the Bearden amendment by a vote of 111 to 58.  This critical NRA-supported legislation to protect our firearm rights now heads back to the Senate for concurrence. 

 

HB89 as passed by the Senate would:

 

ü      allow licensed carry permit holders to possess a firearm in any private motor vehicle, while on any publicly accessible parking lot; 

ü      prohibit gun dealer entrapment schemes, such as those orchestrated by New York Mayor Michael Bloomberg;

ü      allow concealed carry permit holders to carry in State Parks; and

ü      create a strict time limit for various stages of the concealed carry license application process.

 

Today’s action in the House makes additional improvements to the bill including:

 

ü      further allowing concealed carry permit holders to carry in recreational areas, wildlife management areas, and public transportation;

ü      allowing concealed carry permit holders to carry in restaurants; and

ü      creating a stricter time line for various stages of the concealed carry license application process.

 

These are just a few of the positive reforms HB89, with Representative Bearden’s amendment, will make to Georgia’s firearm laws. 

 

HB 89 is still under attack by gun control advocates, so it is VITAL that you call your State Senator today and urge him or her to support HB 89.

 

Help preserve our Second Amendment rights in Georgia by contacting your State Senator today and urge him or her to support and vote “yes” on HB 89.  If you need help identifying your State Senator, please click here.

 

PLEASE MAKE THESE CALLS TODAY!

 

42        Adelman, David (D)     david.adelman@senate.ga.gov              (404) 463-1376

9          Balfour, Don (R)           don.balfour@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 656-0095

26        Brown, Robert (D)       robert.brown@senate.ga.gov                (404) 656-5035

11        Bulloch, John (R)          john.bulloch@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-0040

55        Butler, Gloria S. (D)     gloria.butler@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-0075

13        Carter, Joseph (R)        joseph.carter@senate.ga.gov                (404) 651-7738

16        Chance, Ronnie (R)      ronnie.chance@senate.ga.gov               (404) 651-7738

3          Chapman, Jeff (R)        jeff.chapman@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-0045

46        Cowsert, Bill (R)          bill.cowsert@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 463-1366

44        Davenport, Gail (D)      gail.davenport@senate.ga.gov               (404) 656-7586

17        Douglas, John (R)         john.douglas@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-0503

39        Fort, Vincent (D)          vincent.fort@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 656-5091

7          Goggans, Greg (R)       greg.goggans@senate.ga.gov                (404) 463-5263

8          Golden, Tim (D)           tim.golden@senate.ga.gov                    (404) 656-7580

25        Grant, Johnny (R)         johnny.grant@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-0082

30        Hamrick, William (R)    bill.hamrick@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 656-0036

15        Harbison, Ed (D)          ed.harbison@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-0074

29        Harp, Seth (R)              seth.harp@senate.ga.gov                      (404) 463-3931

49        Hawkins, Lee (R)         lee.hawkins@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-6578

31        Heath, Bill (R)              billheath@billheath.net                          (404) 651-7738 

41        Henson, Steve (D)        steve.henson@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-0085

4          Hill, Jack (R)                jack.hill@senate.ga.gov                        (404) 656-5038

32        Hill, Judson (R)             judson.hill@senate.ga.gov                     (404) 656-0150

14        Hooks, George (D)      george.hooks@senate.ga.gov               (404) 656-0065

47        Hudgens, Ralph T (R)   ralph.hudgens@senate.ga.gov               (404) 656-4700

24        Jackson, Bill (R)           bill.jackson@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 656-5114

1          Johnson, Eric (R)          eric.johnson@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-5109

10        Jones, Emanuel (D)       emanuel.jones@senate.ga.gov                (404) 656-0502

12        Meyer von Bremen, Michael (D) michael.meyer@senate.ga.gov (404) 656-0037

56        Moody, Dan (R)           dan.moody@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 463-8055

53        Mullis, Jeff (R)              jeff.mullis@senate.ga.gov                      (404) 656-0057

27        Murphy, Jack (R)         jack.murphy@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-7127

36        Orrock, Nan (D)          nan.orrock@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 463-8054

51        Pearson, Chip (R)         chip.pearson@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-9221

23        Powell, J. B. (D)           jb.powell@senate.ga.gov                      (404) 463-1314

43        Ramsey, Sr., Ronald B. (D) ronald.ramsey@senate.ga.gov        (404) 463-2598

35        Reed, Kasim (D)          kasim.reed@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 463-1379

21        Rogers, Chip (R)          chip.rogers@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 463-1378

50        Schaefer, Nancy (R)     nancy.schaefer@senate.ga.gov              (404) 463-1367

28        Seabaugh, Mitch (R)     mail@mitchseabaugh.com                     (404) 656-6446

34        Seay, Valencia (D)       valencia.seay@senate.ga.gov                (404) 656-5095

48        Shafer, David (R)         david.shafer@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-0048

52        Smith, Preston W. (R)  preston.smith@senate.ga.gov                (404) 656-0034

18        Staton, Cecil (R)           cecil.staton@senate.ga.gov                   (404) 656-5039

6          Stoner, Doug (D)          doug.stoner@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 463-2518

22        Tarver, Ed (D)              ed.tarver@senate.ga.gov                      (404) 656-0340

38        Tate, Horacena (D)      horacena.tate@senate.ga.gov                (404) 463-8053

54        Thomas, Don (R)          don.thomas@senate.ga.gov                  (404) 656-6436

2          Thomas, Regina D. (D) regina.thomas@senate.ga.gov               (404) 463-7784

5          Thompson, Curt (D)     curt.thompson@senate.ga.gov              (404) 463-1318

33        Thompson, Steve (D)   steve.thompson@senate.ga.gov            (404) 656-0083

20        Tolleson, Ross (R)        ross.tolleson@senate.ga.gov                 (404) 656-0081

45        Unterman, Renee S (R) renee.unterman@senate.ga.gov            (404) 463-1368

40        Weber, Dan (R)           dan.weber@senate.ga.gov                    (404) 463-2260

37        Wiles, John J. (R)         john.wiles@senate.ga.gov                     (404) 657-0406

19        Williams, Tommie (R)   tommie@tommiewilliams.com               (404) 656-0089

 

To keep track of this critical Georgia legislation and other Second Amendment issues around the nation, please visit www.NRAILA.org.
TRENDING NOW
Who’s BS’ing Now? Gonzalez Argues for Gun Confiscation but Insists She’s “Pro Second Amendment”

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Who’s BS’ing Now? Gonzalez Argues for Gun Confiscation but Insists She’s “Pro Second Amendment”

Gun control advocates are constantly looking for the right messenger to push an agenda that boils down to law-abiding Americans giving up their freedoms, their security, and their property without expectation of affecting the behavior ...

Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

News  

Friday, September 7, 2018

Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

Levi Strauss & Co. established its brand in the mid-19th century by selling durable clothing to working-class Americans. As Levi’s signature jeans gained popularity amongst a wider set in the middle of the last century, ...

Jamie Lee Curtis “Proves” She is Not Anti-gun by Stating her Support for Banning Guns?!?!

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Jamie Lee Curtis “Proves” She is Not Anti-gun by Stating her Support for Banning Guns?!?!

Actors and actresses should generally stick to what they know best; repeating the lines others have written for them. Jamie Lee Curtis recently decided to try to explain, in her own words, how much she ...

Bloomberg Finds Home in Today’s Democratic Party

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Bloomberg Finds Home in Today’s Democratic Party

In what observers have pegged as a preparatory step for a presidential run in 2020, on October 10 billionaire gun control financier and former-New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg registered as a Democrat. Bloomberg ran as ...

Politics over Data: The Rhode Island Working Group

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Politics over Data: The Rhode Island Working Group

Rhode Island Governor Gina Raimondo convened a task force focused on “gun safety” last April, comprised predominantly of members drawn from “the judiciary, the Attorney General’s Office, state and local law enforcement agencies, gun violence prevention ...

Senator from Tennessee or Times Square? Bloomberg Hosts Manhattan Fundraiser for Phil Bredesen

News  

Thursday, October 11, 2018

Senator from Tennessee or Times Square? Bloomberg Hosts Manhattan Fundraiser for Phil Bredesen

Is Phil Bredesen running for U.S. Senate to represent Memphis or Manhattan? Rocky Top or Rockefeller Center? Appalachia or the Big Apple? Tennessee voters might wonder after billionaire gun control financier and former-New York City ...

Round Two: Gun Rights Groups Prevail (Again) in Second Challenge to Firearm Restrictions in Delaware’s State Parks, Forests

News  

Gun Laws  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Round Two: Gun Rights Groups Prevail (Again) in Second Challenge to Firearm Restrictions in Delaware’s State Parks, Forests

Gun rights groups, including the NRA’s Delaware affiliate, the Delaware State Sportsmen’s Association, scored an encore legal victory this week when the Superior Court of the State of Delaware invalidated parts of newly promulgated regulations ...

Federal Court Upholds N.J. Mag Ban, Reminds Gun Owners Importance of Federal Judiciary

News  

Friday, October 5, 2018

Federal Court Upholds N.J. Mag Ban, Reminds Gun Owners Importance of Federal Judiciary

Just in case gun owners needed another reason to back Judge Brett Kavanaugh’s nomination to the U.S. Supreme Court or to get energized ahead of the 2018 midterm elections, the U.S. District Court for the ...

Anti-gun Researcher Refutes His Own Anti-gun Conclusion

News  

Friday, October 5, 2018

Anti-gun Researcher Refutes His Own Anti-gun Conclusion

Doctor Garen Wintemute’s latest contribution to “the prevention of firearm violence” comes in the form of a Perspective column published in the New England Journal of Medicine. Wintemute, you may recall, is the Director of ...

NRA Downgrades Sen. Tester's Rating to a D

News  

Tuesday, October 9, 2018

NRA Downgrades Sen. Tester's Rating to a D

NRA downgraded Sen. Jon Tester’s rating to “D” after he voted against confirming Judge Brett Kavanaugh to the U.S. Supreme Court.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.