Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Pennsylvania Gun Owners Defeat Governor’s Gun Control Package!

Tuesday, November 20, 2007

Please Contact the Members of the House Judiciary Committee TODAY!

Despite testimony from Governor Ed Rendell (D) in the House Judiciary Committee today, a bipartisan majority of committee members voted to protect the Second Amendment rights of Pennsylvania’s gun owners by defeating three gun control bills.

 

Among those bills were House Bill 18, sponsored by State Representative Dwight Evans (D-Philadelphia).  The Judiciary Committee defeated this legislation by a vote of 19 to 10.  HB 18 would have allowed local municipalities to place further restrictions on the sale, possession, carrying, and use of firearms by gutting Pennsylvania’s preemption law. 

 

Also defeated by a vote of 17 to 12 was House Bill 22, “one-gun-a-month” legislation, sponsored by State Representative John Myers (D-Philadelphia).  HB 22 would have prohibited law-abiding citizens from purchasing more than one handgun at a time, and impose a 30-day waiting period between single handgun purchases.

At the request of the bill sponsor Representative Jewell Williams (D-Philadelphia), House Bill 29, “Lost or Stolen Firearms” legislation, was tabled by the committee.  HB 29 would have made it a crime to fail to report the loss or theft of a firearm to police within 24 hours of discovering the firearm missing. 

 

Please contact the members of the House Judiciary Committee TODAY and thank those that voted “No” to these anti-gun measures.  Also, please contact those committee members that voted “yes” and ask them why they voted to restrict the rights of Pennsylvania’s law-abiding gun owners.   

Contact information and vote count for the House Judiciary Committee is listed below.


Committee Member                HB 18 Vote Count            HB 22 Vote Count

State Representative Thomas R. Caltagirone (D-127), Chairman
(717) 787-3525

tcaltagi@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Daylin Leach (D-149), Secretary
(717) 783-9114 

dleach@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Kathy Manderino (D-194)
(717) 787-1254 

kmanderi@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative John E. Pallone (D-54)
(717) 783-1819 

jpallone@pahouse.net

No

No

State Representative Don Walko (D-20)
(717) 787-5470 

dwalko@pahouse.net

No

No

State Representative Ron Marsico (R-105), Chairman
(717) 783-2014 

rmarsico@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Lisa Bennington (D-21)
(717) 705-7011 

lbennington@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Dan Frankel (D-23)
(717) 705-1875 

dfrankel@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Harold James (D-186)
(717) 787-9477 

hjames@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Deberah Kula (D-52)
(717) 772-1858 

dkula@pahouse.net

No

No

State Representative Bryan R. Lentz (D-161)
(717) 787-8574 

blentz@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Joseph A. Petrarca (D-55)
(717) 787-5142 

petrarca@pahouse.net.

No

No

State Representative Sean M. Ramaley (D-16)
(717) 787-4444 

Sramaley@pahouse.net

No

No

State Representative Greg Vitali (D-16)
(717) 787-7647

greg@gregvitali.com

Yes

Yes

State Representative Chelsa Wagner (D-22)
(717) 783-1582 

repwagner@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Jesse White (D-46)
(717) 783-6437 

jwhite@pahouse.net

No

No

State Representative Jewell Williams (D-197)
(717) 772-2004 

jwilliam@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Tom C. Creighton (R-37)
(717) 772-5290 

tcreight@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Craig A. Dally (R-138)
(717) 783-8573

cdally@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative John R. Evans (R-5)
(717) 772-9940 

jevans@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Will Gabig (R-199)
(717) 772-2280 
wgabig@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Glen R. Grell (R-87)
(717) 783-2063 

ggrell@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Kate Harper (R-61)
(717) 787-2801 

kharper@pahousegop.com

No

Yes

State Representative Beverly Mackereth (R-196)
(717) 783-2655 

bmackere@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Carl W. Mantz (R-187)
(717) 787-3017 

cmantz@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Bernie O'Neill (R-29)
(717) 705-7170

boneill@pahousegop.com

No

Yes

State Representative Tina Pickett (R-110)
(717) 783-8238

tpickett@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Todd Rock (R-90)
(717) 783-5218

trock@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Katie True (R-41)
(717) 705-7161

ktrue@pahousegop.com

No

No


Please continue to check your email and www.NRAILA.org for updates on these important firearm issues.

 
TRENDING NOW
Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

News  

Friday, September 7, 2018

Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

Levi Strauss & Co. established its brand in the mid-19th century by selling durable clothing to working-class Americans. As Levi’s signature jeans gained popularity amongst a wider set in the middle of the last century, ...

Round Two: Gun Rights Groups Prevail (Again) in Second Challenge to Firearm Restrictions in Delaware’s State Parks, Forests

News  

Gun Laws  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Round Two: Gun Rights Groups Prevail (Again) in Second Challenge to Firearm Restrictions in Delaware’s State Parks, Forests

Gun rights groups, including the NRA’s Delaware affiliate, the Delaware State Sportsmen’s Association, scored an encore legal victory this week when the Superior Court of the State of Delaware invalidated parts of newly promulgated regulations ...

Jamie Lee Curtis “Proves” She is Not Anti-gun by Stating her Support for Banning Guns?!?!

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Jamie Lee Curtis “Proves” She is Not Anti-gun by Stating her Support for Banning Guns?!?!

Actors and actresses should generally stick to what they know best; repeating the lines others have written for them. Jamie Lee Curtis recently decided to try to explain, in her own words, how much she ...

Who’s BS’ing Now? Gonzalez Argues for Gun Confiscation but Insists She’s “Pro Second Amendment”

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Who’s BS’ing Now? Gonzalez Argues for Gun Confiscation but Insists She’s “Pro Second Amendment”

Gun control advocates are constantly looking for the right messenger to push an agenda that boils down to law-abiding Americans giving up their freedoms, their security, and their property without expectation of affecting the behavior ...

Senator from Tennessee or Times Square? Bloomberg Hosts Manhattan Fundraiser for Phil Bredesen

News  

Thursday, October 11, 2018

Senator from Tennessee or Times Square? Bloomberg Hosts Manhattan Fundraiser for Phil Bredesen

Is Phil Bredesen running for U.S. Senate to represent Memphis or Manhattan? Rocky Top or Rockefeller Center? Appalachia or the Big Apple? Tennessee voters might wonder after billionaire gun control financier and former-New York City ...

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Monday, May 22, 2017

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Today, May 22, Governor Brian Sandoval signed important pro-gun legislation, Assembly Bill 118, into law.  AB 118, sponsored by Assemblyman Skip Daly, will allow members of the military and those who have received an honorable ...

Anti-gun Researcher Refutes His Own Anti-gun Conclusion

News  

Friday, October 5, 2018

Anti-gun Researcher Refutes His Own Anti-gun Conclusion

Doctor Garen Wintemute’s latest contribution to “the prevention of firearm violence” comes in the form of a Perspective column published in the New England Journal of Medicine. Wintemute, you may recall, is the Director of ...

Bloomberg Finds Home in Today’s Democratic Party

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Bloomberg Finds Home in Today’s Democratic Party

In what observers have pegged as a preparatory step for a presidential run in 2020, on October 10 billionaire gun control financier and former-New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg registered as a Democrat. Bloomberg ran as ...

Don’t Let Your State’s Governor Mansion Become a Gun-Free Home

News  

Wednesday, October 10, 2018

Don’t Let Your State’s Governor Mansion Become a Gun-Free Home

While Congressional elections will likely get the lion’s share of media coverage leading up to November 6, gun owners know that threats to our Right to Keep and Bear Arms do not only emanate from ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.