Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Pennsylvania Gun Owners Defeat Governor’s Gun Control Package!

Tuesday, November 20, 2007

Please Contact the Members of the House Judiciary Committee TODAY!

Despite testimony from Governor Ed Rendell (D) in the House Judiciary Committee today, a bipartisan majority of committee members voted to protect the Second Amendment rights of Pennsylvania’s gun owners by defeating three gun control bills.

 

Among those bills were House Bill 18, sponsored by State Representative Dwight Evans (D-Philadelphia).  The Judiciary Committee defeated this legislation by a vote of 19 to 10.  HB 18 would have allowed local municipalities to place further restrictions on the sale, possession, carrying, and use of firearms by gutting Pennsylvania’s preemption law. 

 

Also defeated by a vote of 17 to 12 was House Bill 22, “one-gun-a-month” legislation, sponsored by State Representative John Myers (D-Philadelphia).  HB 22 would have prohibited law-abiding citizens from purchasing more than one handgun at a time, and impose a 30-day waiting period between single handgun purchases.

At the request of the bill sponsor Representative Jewell Williams (D-Philadelphia), House Bill 29, “Lost or Stolen Firearms” legislation, was tabled by the committee.  HB 29 would have made it a crime to fail to report the loss or theft of a firearm to police within 24 hours of discovering the firearm missing. 

 

Please contact the members of the House Judiciary Committee TODAY and thank those that voted “No” to these anti-gun measures.  Also, please contact those committee members that voted “yes” and ask them why they voted to restrict the rights of Pennsylvania’s law-abiding gun owners.   

Contact information and vote count for the House Judiciary Committee is listed below.


Committee Member                HB 18 Vote Count            HB 22 Vote Count

State Representative Thomas R. Caltagirone (D-127), Chairman
(717) 787-3525

tcaltagi@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Daylin Leach (D-149), Secretary
(717) 783-9114 

dleach@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Kathy Manderino (D-194)
(717) 787-1254 

kmanderi@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative John E. Pallone (D-54)
(717) 783-1819 

jpallone@pahouse.net

No

No

State Representative Don Walko (D-20)
(717) 787-5470 

dwalko@pahouse.net

No

No

State Representative Ron Marsico (R-105), Chairman
(717) 783-2014 

rmarsico@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Lisa Bennington (D-21)
(717) 705-7011 

lbennington@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Dan Frankel (D-23)
(717) 705-1875 

dfrankel@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Harold James (D-186)
(717) 787-9477 

hjames@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Deberah Kula (D-52)
(717) 772-1858 

dkula@pahouse.net

No

No

State Representative Bryan R. Lentz (D-161)
(717) 787-8574 

blentz@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Joseph A. Petrarca (D-55)
(717) 787-5142 

petrarca@pahouse.net.

No

No

State Representative Sean M. Ramaley (D-16)
(717) 787-4444 

Sramaley@pahouse.net

No

No

State Representative Greg Vitali (D-16)
(717) 787-7647

greg@gregvitali.com

Yes

Yes

State Representative Chelsa Wagner (D-22)
(717) 783-1582 

repwagner@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Jesse White (D-46)
(717) 783-6437 

jwhite@pahouse.net

No

No

State Representative Jewell Williams (D-197)
(717) 772-2004 

jwilliam@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Tom C. Creighton (R-37)
(717) 772-5290 

tcreight@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Craig A. Dally (R-138)
(717) 783-8573

cdally@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative John R. Evans (R-5)
(717) 772-9940 

jevans@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Will Gabig (R-199)
(717) 772-2280 
wgabig@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Glen R. Grell (R-87)
(717) 783-2063 

ggrell@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Kate Harper (R-61)
(717) 787-2801 

kharper@pahousegop.com

No

Yes

State Representative Beverly Mackereth (R-196)
(717) 783-2655 

bmackere@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Carl W. Mantz (R-187)
(717) 787-3017 

cmantz@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Bernie O'Neill (R-29)
(717) 705-7170

boneill@pahousegop.com

No

Yes

State Representative Tina Pickett (R-110)
(717) 783-8238

tpickett@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Todd Rock (R-90)
(717) 783-5218

trock@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Katie True (R-41)
(717) 705-7161

ktrue@pahousegop.com

No

No


Please continue to check your email and www.NRAILA.org for updates on these important firearm issues.

 
TRENDING NOW
Wisconsin: Important Right to Carry Bill Introduced

Tuesday, March 28, 2017

Wisconsin: Important Right to Carry Bill Introduced

Today, LRB 2039/1 was introduced to the Wisconsin State Legislature.  This Right to Carry bill would allow for the concealed carry of a firearm without a concealed carry license anywhere in the state where an ...

California: One Gun a Month Bill Pulled from Senate Public Safety Hearing

Tuesday, March 28, 2017

California: One Gun a Month Bill Pulled from Senate Public Safety Hearing

Today, Tuesday, March 28, anti-gun SB 497, was scheduled to be heard in the Senate Public Safety Committee.  At the last minute, the bill was pulled from today's agenda. Thank you to all who contacted the ...

Texas: Senate Passes SB 16, LTC Fee Reduction Bill, by Overwhelming Vote

Tuesday, March 28, 2017

Texas: Senate Passes SB 16, LTC Fee Reduction Bill, by Overwhelming Vote

On Monday, the Texas Senate voted to pass Senate Bill 16, NRA-backed legislation sponsored by State Sen. Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville) and Joan Huffman (R-Houston), on a 26-5 vote.

Seattle Gun Tax Fails to Generate Projected Revenue, Succeeds in Burdening Rights

News  

Gun Laws  

Friday, March 24, 2017

Seattle Gun Tax Fails to Generate Projected Revenue, Succeeds in Burdening Rights

On March 16, 2017, the Seattle Times reported that Seattle city officials were reluctant to release data on the revenue generated by the city’s firearms and ammunition tax, citing taxpayer confidentiality concerns. Less than a ...

Virginia Action Needed: Governor McAuliffe Vetoes Self-Defense Bills

Monday, March 27, 2017

Virginia Action Needed: Governor McAuliffe Vetoes Self-Defense Bills

Following their passage in the Virginia General Assembly, Governor Terry McAuliffe vetoed multiple self-defense bills; Senate Bill 1299, Senate Bill 1300, House Bill 1852, and House Bill 1853. 

News  

Monday, March 27, 2017

NRA Applauds Texas State Senate for Passing SB 16

The National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action applauds the Texas Senate today for passing Senate Bill 16, legislation that substantially reduces License To Carry fees in the Lone Star state.

Georgia: Senate Passes Pro-Gun Bills – Governor Needs to Hear From You!

Tuesday, March 28, 2017

Georgia: Senate Passes Pro-Gun Bills – Governor Needs to Hear From You!

Today, the Georgia Senate passed pro-gun bills; House Bill 406, House Bill 292, and House Bill 280. 

The Washington Post Gives Gun Control Group and U.S. Senator Three Pinocchios on Suppressors

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, March 24, 2017

The Washington Post Gives Gun Control Group and U.S. Senator Three Pinocchios on Suppressors

Last week, we wrote about Americans for Responsible Solutions’ irresponsible misinformation about The Hearing Protection Act on Twitter.  Apparently, we weren’t the only ones who took notice of ARS’s complete disregard for the facts on ...

Trump’s Supreme Court Nominee Embraces Heller and Originalism During Senate Hearings

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, March 24, 2017

Trump’s Supreme Court Nominee Embraces Heller and Originalism During Senate Hearings

Judge Neil M. Gorsuch, President Trump’s pick to replace the late Justice Antonin Scalia on the U.S. Supreme court, asserted during his confirmation hearings this week that Scalia’s landmark Second Amendment opinion in District of ...

California: Anti-Gun Bill Limiting Firearm Purchases to be Heard in Senate Public Safety on Tuesday, March 28

Friday, March 24, 2017

California: Anti-Gun Bill Limiting Firearm Purchases to be Heard in Senate Public Safety on Tuesday, March 28

On Tuesday, March 28, anti-gun SB 497, is scheduled to be heard in the Senate Public Safety Committee.  SB 497 would expand the existing one handgun a month law to include ALL guns.  

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.