Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Pennsylvania Gun Owners Defeat Governor’s Gun Control Package!

Tuesday, November 20, 2007

Please Contact the Members of the House Judiciary Committee TODAY!

Despite testimony from Governor Ed Rendell (D) in the House Judiciary Committee today, a bipartisan majority of committee members voted to protect the Second Amendment rights of Pennsylvania’s gun owners by defeating three gun control bills.

 

Among those bills were House Bill 18, sponsored by State Representative Dwight Evans (D-Philadelphia).  The Judiciary Committee defeated this legislation by a vote of 19 to 10.  HB 18 would have allowed local municipalities to place further restrictions on the sale, possession, carrying, and use of firearms by gutting Pennsylvania’s preemption law. 

 

Also defeated by a vote of 17 to 12 was House Bill 22, “one-gun-a-month” legislation, sponsored by State Representative John Myers (D-Philadelphia).  HB 22 would have prohibited law-abiding citizens from purchasing more than one handgun at a time, and impose a 30-day waiting period between single handgun purchases.

At the request of the bill sponsor Representative Jewell Williams (D-Philadelphia), House Bill 29, “Lost or Stolen Firearms” legislation, was tabled by the committee.  HB 29 would have made it a crime to fail to report the loss or theft of a firearm to police within 24 hours of discovering the firearm missing. 

 

Please contact the members of the House Judiciary Committee TODAY and thank those that voted “No” to these anti-gun measures.  Also, please contact those committee members that voted “yes” and ask them why they voted to restrict the rights of Pennsylvania’s law-abiding gun owners.   

Contact information and vote count for the House Judiciary Committee is listed below.


Committee Member                HB 18 Vote Count            HB 22 Vote Count

State Representative Thomas R. Caltagirone (D-127), Chairman
(717) 787-3525

tcaltagi@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Daylin Leach (D-149), Secretary
(717) 783-9114 

dleach@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Kathy Manderino (D-194)
(717) 787-1254 

kmanderi@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative John E. Pallone (D-54)
(717) 783-1819 

jpallone@pahouse.net

No

No

State Representative Don Walko (D-20)
(717) 787-5470 

dwalko@pahouse.net

No

No

State Representative Ron Marsico (R-105), Chairman
(717) 783-2014 

rmarsico@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Lisa Bennington (D-21)
(717) 705-7011 

lbennington@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Dan Frankel (D-23)
(717) 705-1875 

dfrankel@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Harold James (D-186)
(717) 787-9477 

hjames@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Deberah Kula (D-52)
(717) 772-1858 

dkula@pahouse.net

No

No

State Representative Bryan R. Lentz (D-161)
(717) 787-8574 

blentz@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Joseph A. Petrarca (D-55)
(717) 787-5142 

petrarca@pahouse.net.

No

No

State Representative Sean M. Ramaley (D-16)
(717) 787-4444 

Sramaley@pahouse.net

No

No

State Representative Greg Vitali (D-16)
(717) 787-7647

greg@gregvitali.com

Yes

Yes

State Representative Chelsa Wagner (D-22)
(717) 783-1582 

repwagner@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Jesse White (D-46)
(717) 783-6437 

jwhite@pahouse.net

No

No

State Representative Jewell Williams (D-197)
(717) 772-2004 

jwilliam@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Tom C. Creighton (R-37)
(717) 772-5290 

tcreight@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Craig A. Dally (R-138)
(717) 783-8573

cdally@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative John R. Evans (R-5)
(717) 772-9940 

jevans@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Will Gabig (R-199)
(717) 772-2280 
wgabig@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Glen R. Grell (R-87)
(717) 783-2063 

ggrell@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Kate Harper (R-61)
(717) 787-2801 

kharper@pahousegop.com

No

Yes

State Representative Beverly Mackereth (R-196)
(717) 783-2655 

bmackere@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Carl W. Mantz (R-187)
(717) 787-3017 

cmantz@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Bernie O'Neill (R-29)
(717) 705-7170

boneill@pahousegop.com

No

Yes

State Representative Tina Pickett (R-110)
(717) 783-8238

tpickett@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Todd Rock (R-90)
(717) 783-5218

trock@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Katie True (R-41)
(717) 705-7161

ktrue@pahousegop.com

No

No


Please continue to check your email and www.NRAILA.org for updates on these important firearm issues.

 
TRENDING NOW
“She Persisted” – Gun Owner Fights Unlawful “No Return” Gun Policy

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

“She Persisted” – Gun Owner Fights Unlawful “No Return” Gun Policy

On July 17, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit confirmed that law enforcement officials in New York acted unlawfully with respect to guns confiscated from a Nassau County woman in 2012.  

Supreme Court Asked to Review Maryland's Gun Ban

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

Supreme Court Asked to Review Maryland's Gun Ban

A group of Maryland citizens, with the support of the National Rifle Association, filed a petition to the United States Supreme Court on Friday seeking to reverse a Court of Appeals ruling that stripped some of America’s most ...

Former Bloomberg Lackey Comes Clean on True Anti-gun Agenda

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, July 21, 2017

Former Bloomberg Lackey Comes Clean on True Anti-gun Agenda

Back when Mark Glaze was executive director of Michael Bloomberg’s Mayors Against Illegal Guns, and later Everytown for Gun Safety, he went to great lengths to portray his master’s anti-gun positions as moderate. Glaze used ...

The Danger Of A “Not In My Backyard” Mentality On Shooting Ranges

News  

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

The Danger Of A “Not In My Backyard” Mentality On Shooting Ranges

Muscatine County, Iowa, is home to about 40,000 people, and like too many places around the country, gun owners there have no public range where they can practice or compete safely. That may be changing, ...

The Need for National Reciprocity

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

The Need for National Reciprocity

A report from the Crime Prevention Research Center estimates that the number of concealed carry permits issued last year was the largest increase ever – continuing a four year trend of record setting increases in ...

“March” Madness: Media Hypes Non-Event at NRA Headquarters

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

“March” Madness: Media Hypes Non-Event at NRA Headquarters

Numbers don’t lie. But gun control groups and the news media do. That explains why so many accounts of last Friday’s so-called Women’s March From #NRA2DOJ bear no resemblance to the event those of us ...

One More Reason Gun Owners Should Be Celebrated

News  

Second Amendment  

Thursday, July 20, 2017

One More Reason Gun Owners Should Be Celebrated

The safety record of America’s gun owners is nothing short of stunning. 

When Gun Control Fails

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, July 21, 2017

When Gun Control Fails

Gun control is pushed as a strategy to keep Americans safe in their homes, schools and workplaces. It is presented as the key component in safer streets, neighborhoods and families. But what happens when gun ...

California:  "Assault Weapon" Regulations Take 3: CA DOJ Resubmits Regulations

Friday, July 21, 2017

California: "Assault Weapon" Regulations Take 3: CA DOJ Resubmits Regulations

Today, July 21, the California Department of Justice (“DOJ”), without warning or any notification,  submitted another set of proposed regulations for the registration of newly classified “assault weapons” to the Office of Administrative Law.  As ...

Home Alone in Washington State

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

Home Alone in Washington State

Back in 2013, when Washington State’s anti-gun groups rolled out Initiative 594, they promised voters this “universal background check” law would save lives by keeping “firearms out of dangerous hands” because private gun sales would ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.