Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Pennsylvania Gun Owners Defeat Governor’s Gun Control Package!

Tuesday, November 20, 2007

Please Contact the Members of the House Judiciary Committee TODAY!

Despite testimony from Governor Ed Rendell (D) in the House Judiciary Committee today, a bipartisan majority of committee members voted to protect the Second Amendment rights of Pennsylvania’s gun owners by defeating three gun control bills.

 

Among those bills were House Bill 18, sponsored by State Representative Dwight Evans (D-Philadelphia).  The Judiciary Committee defeated this legislation by a vote of 19 to 10.  HB 18 would have allowed local municipalities to place further restrictions on the sale, possession, carrying, and use of firearms by gutting Pennsylvania’s preemption law. 

 

Also defeated by a vote of 17 to 12 was House Bill 22, “one-gun-a-month” legislation, sponsored by State Representative John Myers (D-Philadelphia).  HB 22 would have prohibited law-abiding citizens from purchasing more than one handgun at a time, and impose a 30-day waiting period between single handgun purchases.

At the request of the bill sponsor Representative Jewell Williams (D-Philadelphia), House Bill 29, “Lost or Stolen Firearms” legislation, was tabled by the committee.  HB 29 would have made it a crime to fail to report the loss or theft of a firearm to police within 24 hours of discovering the firearm missing. 

 

Please contact the members of the House Judiciary Committee TODAY and thank those that voted “No” to these anti-gun measures.  Also, please contact those committee members that voted “yes” and ask them why they voted to restrict the rights of Pennsylvania’s law-abiding gun owners.   

Contact information and vote count for the House Judiciary Committee is listed below.


Committee Member                HB 18 Vote Count            HB 22 Vote Count

State Representative Thomas R. Caltagirone (D-127), Chairman
(717) 787-3525

tcaltagi@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Daylin Leach (D-149), Secretary
(717) 783-9114 

dleach@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Kathy Manderino (D-194)
(717) 787-1254 

kmanderi@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative John E. Pallone (D-54)
(717) 783-1819 

jpallone@pahouse.net

No

No

State Representative Don Walko (D-20)
(717) 787-5470 

dwalko@pahouse.net

No

No

State Representative Ron Marsico (R-105), Chairman
(717) 783-2014 

rmarsico@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Lisa Bennington (D-21)
(717) 705-7011 

lbennington@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Dan Frankel (D-23)
(717) 705-1875 

dfrankel@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Harold James (D-186)
(717) 787-9477 

hjames@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Deberah Kula (D-52)
(717) 772-1858 

dkula@pahouse.net

No

No

State Representative Bryan R. Lentz (D-161)
(717) 787-8574 

blentz@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Joseph A. Petrarca (D-55)
(717) 787-5142 

petrarca@pahouse.net.

No

No

State Representative Sean M. Ramaley (D-16)
(717) 787-4444 

Sramaley@pahouse.net

No

No

State Representative Greg Vitali (D-16)
(717) 787-7647

greg@gregvitali.com

Yes

Yes

State Representative Chelsa Wagner (D-22)
(717) 783-1582 

repwagner@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Jesse White (D-46)
(717) 783-6437 

jwhite@pahouse.net

No

No

State Representative Jewell Williams (D-197)
(717) 772-2004 

jwilliam@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Tom C. Creighton (R-37)
(717) 772-5290 

tcreight@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Craig A. Dally (R-138)
(717) 783-8573

cdally@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative John R. Evans (R-5)
(717) 772-9940 

jevans@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Will Gabig (R-199)
(717) 772-2280 
wgabig@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Glen R. Grell (R-87)
(717) 783-2063 

ggrell@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Kate Harper (R-61)
(717) 787-2801 

kharper@pahousegop.com

No

Yes

State Representative Beverly Mackereth (R-196)
(717) 783-2655 

bmackere@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Carl W. Mantz (R-187)
(717) 787-3017 

cmantz@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Bernie O'Neill (R-29)
(717) 705-7170

boneill@pahousegop.com

No

Yes

State Representative Tina Pickett (R-110)
(717) 783-8238

tpickett@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Todd Rock (R-90)
(717) 783-5218

trock@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Katie True (R-41)
(717) 705-7161

ktrue@pahousegop.com

No

No


Please continue to check your email and www.NRAILA.org for updates on these important firearm issues.

 
TRENDING NOW
California: Governor Brown Signs Remaining Anti-Gun Bill

Sunday, October 15, 2017

California: Governor Brown Signs Remaining Anti-Gun Bill

Yesterday, Governor Brown signed Assembly Bill 424, the remaining anti-gun bill on his desk. 

Bad News For “Universal” Background Check Supporters

News  

Thursday, October 19, 2017

Bad News For “Universal” Background Check Supporters

NRATV Host Cam Edwards describes a study that shows the ineffectiveness of so-called “universal” background checks

Illinois: Urgent Action Needed – Numerous Anti-Gun Bills Readied for Consideration Next Week

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

Illinois: Urgent Action Needed – Numerous Anti-Gun Bills Readied for Consideration Next Week

Today, multiple gun control bills were released by the House Rules Committee and have been referred to the House Judiciary Committee for a hearing.

Oregon: Governor Signs Anti-Gun Bill into Law

Thursday, August 17, 2017

Oregon: Governor Signs Anti-Gun Bill into Law

Yesterday, Governor Kate Brown signed Senate Bill 719A.  Based on a California law enacted in 2014, SB 719A will create a so-called “Extreme Risk Protection Order” (ERPO) that could be obtained by a law enforcement ...

Spokane Police To Use Suppressors To Protect Hearing

News  

Monday, October 16, 2017

Spokane Police To Use Suppressors To Protect Hearing

The Spokane PD has 181 service rifles in its inventory; using suppressors on them has the potential to reduce workers compensation claims and lawsuits from bystanders.

Alleged Sexual Predator and Hollywood Mogul Harvey Weinstein Threatens NRA (Again)

News  

Friday, October 13, 2017

Alleged Sexual Predator and Hollywood Mogul Harvey Weinstein Threatens NRA (Again)

On October 5, the New York Times published an article titled, “Harvey Weinstein Paid Off Sexual Harassment Accusers for Decades.” The piece detailed allegations that the mogul used his position of influence to make unwanted ...

Gun Banners Unmasked: The Vengeful Face of the Anti-gun Agenda Emerges Once Again

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, October 13, 2017

Gun Banners Unmasked: The Vengeful Face of the Anti-gun Agenda Emerges Once Again

What happens to the 400 million or so firearms already in private hands? How does society actually benefit from his plan? Stephens doesn’t say. He apparently just trusts that things would eventually work themselves out ...

“Death by a Thousand Cuts” – Latest Ninth Circuit decision proclaims “selling firearms is not part or parcel of the right to keep and bear arms”

Second Amendment  

Friday, October 13, 2017

“Death by a Thousand Cuts” – Latest Ninth Circuit decision proclaims “selling firearms is not part or parcel of the right to keep and bear arms”

Since the U.S. Supreme Court handed down its landmark rulings in District of Columbia v. Heller and McDonald v. Chicago, lower courts across the country have expressed their disagreement with – or downright hostility to ...

California: Governor Vetoes Dealer Storage Bill and Signs Open Carry Ban

Saturday, October 14, 2017

California: Governor Vetoes Dealer Storage Bill and Signs Open Carry Ban

Yesterday, Governor Brown took action on two of the remaining three anti-gun bills by vetoing Senate Bill 464 and signing Assembly Bill 7. 

Shall-Issue Concealed Carry Coming Soon to the Nation’s Capital!

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, October 13, 2017

Shall-Issue Concealed Carry Coming Soon to the Nation’s Capital!

It’s important to celebrate that law-abiding Americans are now closer than they have been in nearly half a century to being able to exercise their firearms freedom in our nation’s capital. That is real progress.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.