Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Pennsylvania Gun Owners Defeat Governor’s Gun Control Package!

Tuesday, November 20, 2007

Please Contact the Members of the House Judiciary Committee TODAY!

Despite testimony from Governor Ed Rendell (D) in the House Judiciary Committee today, a bipartisan majority of committee members voted to protect the Second Amendment rights of Pennsylvania’s gun owners by defeating three gun control bills.

 

Among those bills were House Bill 18, sponsored by State Representative Dwight Evans (D-Philadelphia).  The Judiciary Committee defeated this legislation by a vote of 19 to 10.  HB 18 would have allowed local municipalities to place further restrictions on the sale, possession, carrying, and use of firearms by gutting Pennsylvania’s preemption law. 

 

Also defeated by a vote of 17 to 12 was House Bill 22, “one-gun-a-month” legislation, sponsored by State Representative John Myers (D-Philadelphia).  HB 22 would have prohibited law-abiding citizens from purchasing more than one handgun at a time, and impose a 30-day waiting period between single handgun purchases.

At the request of the bill sponsor Representative Jewell Williams (D-Philadelphia), House Bill 29, “Lost or Stolen Firearms” legislation, was tabled by the committee.  HB 29 would have made it a crime to fail to report the loss or theft of a firearm to police within 24 hours of discovering the firearm missing. 

 

Please contact the members of the House Judiciary Committee TODAY and thank those that voted “No” to these anti-gun measures.  Also, please contact those committee members that voted “yes” and ask them why they voted to restrict the rights of Pennsylvania’s law-abiding gun owners.   

Contact information and vote count for the House Judiciary Committee is listed below.


Committee Member                HB 18 Vote Count            HB 22 Vote Count

State Representative Thomas R. Caltagirone (D-127), Chairman
(717) 787-3525

tcaltagi@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Daylin Leach (D-149), Secretary
(717) 783-9114 

dleach@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Kathy Manderino (D-194)
(717) 787-1254 

kmanderi@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative John E. Pallone (D-54)
(717) 783-1819 

jpallone@pahouse.net

No

No

State Representative Don Walko (D-20)
(717) 787-5470 

dwalko@pahouse.net

No

No

State Representative Ron Marsico (R-105), Chairman
(717) 783-2014 

rmarsico@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Lisa Bennington (D-21)
(717) 705-7011 

lbennington@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Dan Frankel (D-23)
(717) 705-1875 

dfrankel@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Harold James (D-186)
(717) 787-9477 

hjames@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Deberah Kula (D-52)
(717) 772-1858 

dkula@pahouse.net

No

No

State Representative Bryan R. Lentz (D-161)
(717) 787-8574 

blentz@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Joseph A. Petrarca (D-55)
(717) 787-5142 

petrarca@pahouse.net.

No

No

State Representative Sean M. Ramaley (D-16)
(717) 787-4444 

Sramaley@pahouse.net

No

No

State Representative Greg Vitali (D-16)
(717) 787-7647

greg@gregvitali.com

Yes

Yes

State Representative Chelsa Wagner (D-22)
(717) 783-1582 

repwagner@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Jesse White (D-46)
(717) 783-6437 

jwhite@pahouse.net

No

No

State Representative Jewell Williams (D-197)
(717) 772-2004 

jwilliam@pahouse.net

Yes

Yes

State Representative Tom C. Creighton (R-37)
(717) 772-5290 

tcreight@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Craig A. Dally (R-138)
(717) 783-8573

cdally@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative John R. Evans (R-5)
(717) 772-9940 

jevans@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Will Gabig (R-199)
(717) 772-2280 
wgabig@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Glen R. Grell (R-87)
(717) 783-2063 

ggrell@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Kate Harper (R-61)
(717) 787-2801 

kharper@pahousegop.com

No

Yes

State Representative Beverly Mackereth (R-196)
(717) 783-2655 

bmackere@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Carl W. Mantz (R-187)
(717) 787-3017 

cmantz@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Bernie O'Neill (R-29)
(717) 705-7170

boneill@pahousegop.com

No

Yes

State Representative Tina Pickett (R-110)
(717) 783-8238

tpickett@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Todd Rock (R-90)
(717) 783-5218

trock@pahousegop.com

No

No

State Representative Katie True (R-41)
(717) 705-7161

ktrue@pahousegop.com

No

No


Please continue to check your email and www.NRAILA.org for updates on these important firearm issues.

 
TRENDING NOW

News  

Tuesday, July 17, 2018

Federal Court Upholds Decision to Block California’s Magazine Ban

A three-judge panel of the 9th Circuit issued a ruling in the case of Duncan v. Becerra on Tuesday upholding a lower court’s decision to suspend enforcement of California’s restriction on the possession of magazines ...

Washington: Seattle City Council Passes Ordinance Making Firearms Unavailable for Self-Defense

Monday, July 16, 2018

Washington: Seattle City Council Passes Ordinance Making Firearms Unavailable for Self-Defense

On July 9th, the Seattle City Council passed a mandatory firearm storage ordinance to restrict the self-defense rights of Seattle residents.  The ordinance, if signed by Mayor Jenny Durkan, will impose a one-size-fits-all method of storing firearms as ...

Anti-gun Efforts to Expand U.N. Regulations to Ammunition Continue

News  

Friday, July 6, 2018

Anti-gun Efforts to Expand U.N. Regulations to Ammunition Continue

Shortly before 4:00am last Saturday morning, the two week long Third Review Conference (RevCon3) on the Programme of Action to Prevent, Combat, and Eradicate the Illicit Trade in Small Arms and Light Weapons in All ...

Justice Scalia Made Clear the Second Amendment and Heller Prohibit “Assault Weapon” Bans

News  

Second Amendment  

Gun Laws  

Friday, July 13, 2018

Justice Scalia Made Clear the Second Amendment and Heller Prohibit “Assault Weapon” Bans

On July 9, Sen. Chris Murphy (D-Conn.) offered the following ham-handed statement in an attempted attack on President Donald Trump’s U.S. Supreme Court nominee, D.C. Circuit Judge Brett Kavanaugh. Brett Kavanaugh is a true Second Amendment radical. ...

Illinois: Governor Signs Two Gun Control Bills

Tuesday, July 17, 2018

Illinois: Governor Signs Two Gun Control Bills

On July 17th, Governor Bruce Rauner signed House Bill 2354 and Senate Bill 3256 into law.

Anti-gun Propaganda Infiltrates History Channel’s Navy SEAL Drama “Six”

News  

Friday, July 20, 2018

Anti-gun Propaganda Infiltrates History Channel’s Navy SEAL Drama “Six”

With shows like “Tales of the Gun” and “Mail Call” with R. Lee Ermey, the History Channel has often served as a place where gun owners can enjoy entertainment free from the anti-gun political messaging ...

Washington: NRA and SAF File Lawsuit Against City of Seattle

Friday, July 20, 2018

Washington: NRA and SAF File Lawsuit Against City of Seattle

On Friday, July 20th, the NRA and the Second Amendment Foundation filed a lawsuit against the City of Seattle, Mayor Jenny Durkan, and others, to invalidate the mandatory firearm storage ordinance that was recently passed by ...

Federal Appellate Court Upholds Decision to Block California’s Magazine Surrender Requirement

News  

Friday, July 20, 2018

Federal Appellate Court Upholds Decision to Block California’s Magazine Surrender Requirement

Last summer, we reported on the welcome news that a federal court had blocked California’s plan to require owners of “large capacity” magazines to surrender or otherwise rid themselves of their formerly-lawful property. As the judge in ...

California: Federal Court Upholds Decision to Block California’s Magazine Ban

Thursday, July 19, 2018

California: Federal Court Upholds Decision to Block California’s Magazine Ban

A three-judge panel of the 9th Circuit issued a ruling in the case of Duncan v. Becerra on Tuesday upholding a lower court’s decision to suspend enforcement of California’s restriction on the possession of magazines ...

Moms Demand Action Reportedly Told Candidate Not to Talk about Support for Gun Ban

News  

Friday, July 20, 2018

Moms Demand Action Reportedly Told Candidate Not to Talk about Support for Gun Ban

Another chapter in the lengthy tale of gun control duplicity was written last week. On July 10, The Washington Free Beacon published a report of a video of Democratic nominee for New York’s rural upstate 21st congressional district Tedra ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.