Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

The “Individual Personal Private Property Protection” Legislation To Be Heard Tomorrow Morning, Wednesday, April 18!

Tuesday, April 17, 2007

Action Is Needed Now! 

House Bill 1417 protects you from having your private vehicle searched and from punitive action against you by anti-gun business owners who would deny you your right to have a gun in your car for protection.  This important legislation establishes penalties for those ARROGANT CORPORATIONS who think they can control what private property you have in your private vehicle.

Please immediately send an email and call the members of the House Environment & Natural Resources Council and URGE THEM TO SUPPORT AND VOTE “YES” TO HB 1417 by Representative Dennis Baxley (R-24).

Below is a list of the email addresses of those you need to contact (to send one email to all committee members at the same time, block or highlight the entire list and then copy and paste the block into the address section of the email).

IN THE SUBJECT LINE OF YOUR EMAIL PUT:

PLEASE SUPPORT HB-1417/Protect Firearms/private vehicles

House Environment & Natural Resources Council:
Stan.Mayfield@myfloridahouse.gov
Baxter.Troutman@myfloridahouse.gov
Bob.Allen@myfloridahouse.gov
Debbie.Boyd@myfloridahouse.gov
Mary.Brandenburg@myfloridahouse.gov
Faye.Culp@myfloridahouse.gov
Rich.Glorioso@myfloridahouse.gov
Denise.Grimsley@myfloridahouse.gov
Will.Kendrick@myfloridahouse.gov
Paige.Kreegel@myfloridahouse.gov
Rick.Kriseman@myfloridahouse.gov
Richard.Machek@myfloridahouse.gov
Bryan.Nelson@myfloridahouse.gov
Scott.Randolph@myfloridahouse.gov
Trudi.Williams@myfloridahouse.gov
Marty.Bowen@myfloridahouse.gov

YOU MAY ALSO WISH TO CALL THEM:
Rep. Stan Mayfield (R), Chair (850) 488-0952
Rep. Baxter Troutman (R) VC (850) 488-9465
Rep. Bob Allen (R) (850) 488-4669
Rep. Debbie Boyd (D) (850) 488-9835
Rep. Mary Brandenburg (D) (850) 488-0260
Rep. Faye Culp (R) (850) 488-2770
Rep. Richard Glorioso (R) (850) 488-0807
Rep. Denise Grimsley (R) (850) 488-3457
Rep. Will Kendrick (R) (850) 488-7870
Rep. Paige Kreegel (R) (850) 488-9175
Rep. Rick Kriseman (D) (850) 488-9337
Rep. Bryan Nelson (R) (850) 488-2023
Rep. Richard Machek (D) (850) 488-5588
Rep. Scott Randolph (D) (850) 488-0660
Rep. Trudi Williams (R) (850) 488-2047
Rep. Marty Bowen (R) Majority Leader (850) 488-2721

BACKGROUND:
This bill will stop business entities from violating the constitutional rights of customers and employees.

Your Second Amendment rights are at the very heart of this issue.  In addition to prohibiting searches of private vehicles in parking lots, the bill also prevent businesses from asking customers or employees to disclose what personal private property is stored in a private vehicle and prevents action against customers and employees who refuse to divulge that private information.  Further, it prohibits action against a customer or employee based on information provided by a third party.

Some Florida businesses are trying to ban firearms in cars in parking lot used by customers and employees.  They are discriminating against people who exercise their constitutional rights – they are violating Florida law and the constitutional rights of gun owners.

Corporate giants have been trampling constitutional rights. Some are even attempting to coerce and intimidate gun owners into giving up constitutional rights as a condition of employment. 


Your Rights are in Danger!

 

(1) Your Second Amendment right to keep and bear arms - to have firearms in your vehicle for self-defense and other lawful purposes must be protected from anti-gun businesses;

(2) Your privacy rights – against searches of your private vehicle in parking lots must be protected from anti-gun businesses;

(3) Your right to freedom from coercion, intimidation and termination of employment for exercising your constitutional right by anti-gun employers must be preserved.

HB 1417 protects your right to have a firearm in your vehicle for lawful purposes and to park your vehicle in parking lots.

Carrying a firearm in a vehicle for hunting, target shooting or protection of yourself and your family, obviously means you may need to leave that firearm locked in the vehicle in a parking lot while you go grocery shopping, to the doctor's office, to the theater, to visit a sick friend in the hospital, to rent a movie, to the shoe store or anywhere else normal people travel to conduct business.

Florida law, the U.S. Constitution, and the Florida Constitution unequivocally give law-abiding citizens the right to have firearms in their vehicles for lawful purposes.

Numerous businesses are violating the law and are banning firearms in their parking lots.  Their gun ban policies apply to customers and employees.

How can anyone justify telling a woman who is being stalked that she can't have a firearm for protection?  In many cases, police tell these women to get a firearm for protection because the police can't be there to protect her - and calling 911 is nothing more than government sponsored dial-a-prayer.

A business owner or manager has no more right to say you can't have a firearm in your private vehicle than they have a right to say you can't have a pair of sun glasses, an umbrella, a Bible or a baby seat.

They want your money but don't respect your rights.

Businesses are not allowed to discriminate against employees and customers because of race, religion, color of eyes, hair or weight and political party.  They certainly should not be able to discriminate because of the exercise of lawful self-defense. 

 

Make no mistake, these gun ban policies blatantly discriminate against people who choose to exercise a constitutional right and take responsibility for their own safety.

 

Please continue to check www.NRAILA.org for updates on House Bill 1417 and other firearms issues around the nation.

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.