Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Hunting

Wyoming Pro-Gun/Hunting Bill To Be Heard Tomorrow!

Thursday, February 8, 2007

 

Please call the Travel, Recreation, Wildlife & Cultural Committee Members Today!

 

Senate File 50, sponsored by Senator Cale Case (R-25), which would allow the carrying of a firearm for self-defense during archery season, will be heard tomorrow, February 9th, by the House Travel, Recreation, Wildlife and Cultural Resources Committee. 

 

This pro-gun and pro-hunting legislation would benefit bow hunters by allowing them to carry a firearm for self-defense from predatory game and would also increase the penalties for taking game during archery season with a firearm.

 

Unfortunately, this bill is being opposed by a handful of bow hunters who argue that a firearm in the hands of a hunter only increases the desire to use it illegally.  This ill-conceived rationale seeks to punish the majority of law-abiding bow hunters for the criminal misdeeds of a very small minority.  It’s vital that NRA members communicate their support for SF 50 by contacting the committee members listed below:

 

Pat Childers, Chairman: childers@house.wyoming.com

Kermit Brown: kermitbrown@wyoming.com

Bernadine Craft: bcraft@wyoming.com

Kathy Davison: kdavison@wyoming.com

Patrick Goggles: pgoggles@wyoming.com

Allen Jaggi: ajaggi@wyoming.com

James Slater: slater@wyoming.com

Bill Thompson: billthompson@house.wyoming.com

 

The general phone number for the Wyoming Senate is (307) 777-7711.

Please keep checking your email and www.NRAILA.org for future updates.

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.