Louisiana: Senate Committee to Hear Two Pro-Gun Bills, Senate Poised to Consider Another

Posted on April 25, 2014

Print
Email
Share

This week, the Louisiana Senate Natural Resources Committee unanimously passed House Bill 186.  Sponsored by state Representative Cameron Henry (R-Metairie), NRA-supported HB 186 would allow for the use of lawfully-owned suppressors while hunting game animals.  In 2011, the Louisiana Legislature legalized the use of these devices for hunting non-game nuisance quadrupeds.  Now the state is poised to join the majority of other states which allow their use for taking game.  Suppressors help prevent hearing loss, mitigate noise complaints and can increase the safety for both experienced and novice hunters.

While HB 186 has not yet been scheduled for consideration on the Senate floor, it is important for you to contact your state Senator and respectfully urge him or her to support HB 186.  You can reach your state Senator by calling (225) 342-2040 during the week or by clicking here to send an e-mail.  To identify your state Senator, visit here

On Tuesday, April 29, the Senate Judiciary C Committee is scheduled to consider two NRA-backed measures affecting concealed carry permit holders:  House Bill 72, sponsored by state Representative Joe Lopinto (R-Metairie), and House Bill 1066, sponsored by state Representative Jeff Thompson (R-Bossier City).  As previously reported, HB 72 would clarify that concealed handgun permit holders may possess firearms in restaurants that serve alcohol.  HB 1066 would make technical changes to the state concealed carry law, which could qualify Louisiana permit holders for a waiver from the NICS check when purchasing a firearm from a federal firearm licensed dealer.

Using the contact information provided below, please contact members of the Senate Judiciary C Committee and urge them to support HB 72 and HB 1066.

  

Senate Judiciary C Committee:
Sen. Bob Kostelka (R-Monroe), Chairman
(318) 362-3474
Kostelka@legis.la.gov

 
Sen. Jonathan Perry (R-Kaplan), Vice-Chairman
(337) 643-6425
Perryj@legis.la.gov

 
Sen. Robert Adley (R-Benton)
(318) 965-1755
Adleyr@legis.la.gov

 
Sen. Yvonne Dorsey-Colomb (D-Baton Rouge)
(225) 342-9700
Dorseyy@legis.la.gov

 
Sen. Elbert Guillory (R-Opelousas)
(337) 943-2457
Guillorye@legis.la.gov

 
Sen. Fred Mills (R-Parks)
(337) 365-8484
Mills@legis.la.gov

 
Sen. Bodi White (R-Baton Rouge)
(225) 272-1324
Whitem@legis.la.gov

 
 

Print
Email
Share