Louisiana: House Committee Removes Bill to Repeal Self-Defense Law from Tomorrow's Agenda

Posted on April 22, 2014

Print
Email
Share

Your Help is Still Needed to Defeat Another Gun Control Measure in the Same Committee

House Bill 826, NRA-opposed legislation sponsored by state Representative Wesley Bishop (D-New Orleans) to repeal Louisiana's "stand your ground" statute, has been removed from Wednesday's House Administration of Criminal Justice Committee schedule.  However, another anti-gun measure is on the committee agenda and your help is still needed to stop that one in its tracks!

House Bill 1189, sponsored by state Representative Barbara Norton (D-Shreveport), would make it a crime to intentionally, or with criminal negligence, expose children, age ten and under, to firearms that are not locked in a container or equipped with a locking device.  If passed and enacted into law, HB 1189 would require all Louisianans with children in this age group to render firearms inoperable, thereby hindering their immediate use for protection and failing to take into account each family’s own self-defense needs.

Although there are exceptions in HB 1189 for formalized instruction and shooting with your children at an established range or while hunting, parents would not be able to show their kids how to safely handle a firearm at home or to shoot recreationally on their own property without possibly violating this act.  In fact, the term "exposure" is so broad in HB 1189, it could prohibit taking your child to a firearms museum, a parade that involves participants marching with firearms, or a military funeral with a gun salute!

If the goal is to further reduce firearm accidents among children, Louisianans should encourage schools, law enforcement agencies and local communities to share the life-saving message of the NRA Eddie Eagle children's firearms safety program.  Kids are taught that if they encounter a gun while unsupervised, they should "STOP.  DON'T TOUCH.  LEAVE THE AREA.  TELL AN ADULT!"  This would do more to make Louisiana children safer than ill-conceived legislation such as HB 1189.

Here's what you can do to help stop this bill:

Attend tomorrow's hearing at 9:30 a.m. in Committee Room 6 of the State Capitol.  Upon arrival at the committee room, you will want to complete and sign a RED card against HB 1189.  You may indicate on the card whether you wish to speak or simply register your opposition to this measure.

Using the contact information provided below, please call AND e-mail members of the House Administration of Criminal Justice Committee and politely urge them to OPPOSE HB 1189.  Additionally, messages can be left for all state Representatives at the state Capitol during the week by calling (225) 342-6945.

  

House Administration of Criminal Justice Committee:
Rep. Joe Lopinto (R-Metairie), Chairman
504-838-5430
Lopintoj@legis.la.gov

Rep. Helena Moreno (D-New Orleans), Vice-Chairman
504-568-2740
Morenoh@legis.la.gov

Rep. Bryan Adams (R-Gretna)
504-361-6013
Adamsb@legis.la.gov

Rep. Austin Badon (D-New Orleans)
504-243-7783
Larep100@legis.la.gov

Rep. Terry Brown (I-Colfax)
855-261-6566
Browntr@legis.la.gov

Rep. Roy Burrell (D-Shreveport)
318-676-7137
Larep002@legis.la.gov

Rep. Mickey Guillory (D-Eunice)
337-457-0194
Larep041@legis.la.gov

Rep. Chris Hazel (R-Pineville)
318-767-6082
Hazelc@legis.la.gov

Rep. Valarie Hodges (R-Denham Springs)
225-791-2199
Hodgesv@legis.la.gov

Rep. Dalton Honore (D-Baton Rouge)
225-771-5674
Honored@legis.la.gov

Rep. Frank Howard (R-Many)
318-256-4135
Howardf@legis.la.gov

Rep. Terry Landry (D-New Iberia)
337-373-9380
Landryt@legis.la.gov

Rep. Sherman Mack (R-Livingston)
225-686-3887
Macks@legis.la.gov

Rep. Barbara Norton (D-Shreveport)
318-632-5887
Nortonb@legis.la.gov

Rep. Steven Pylant (R-Winnsboro)
318-435-7313
Pylants@legis.la.gov

Rep. Ebony Woodruff (D-Harvey)
504-361-6972
Woodruffe@legis.la.gov

Print
Email
Share