Tennessee: Pro-Gun Bills Advance out of House Committee

Posted on March 13, 2014

Print
Email
Share

Yesterday, the House Civil Justice Committee held a hearing in which two bills involving firearms were heard: House Bill 1407 and House Bill 1483.  Both of these bills advanced out of committee by a voice vote.  While only a voice vote was taken, state Representatives Mike Stewart (D-52) and Sherry Jones (D-59) wanted to be on record for voting against your Second Amendment rights.  HB 1407 has been referred to the House Finance, Ways and Means Subcommittee and HB 1483 has been referred to the House Calendar and Rule Committee.

Sponsored by state Representative Tilman Goins (R-10), HB 1407 would allow law-abiding Tennesseans with a Handgun Carry Permit (HCP) to carry a firearm into all state, city, county and municipal parks.  Current Tennessee law allows a municipality or county to prohibit the possession of handguns, and therefore one's right to self-defense, while within a public park, natural area, historic park, nature trail, campground, forest, greenway, waterway or other similar public place that is owned or operated by a county or municipality.  This law poses a problem for citizens by creating a patchwork of laws across the state with regard to which localities have prohibited firearms in their parks.  HB 1407 has been scheduled for a hearing in the House Finance, Ways and Means Subcommittee for next Wednesday, March 19 at 11:00 a.m., in House Hearing Room 29 (HHR 29).

HB 1483, sponsored by state Representative Debra Moody (R-81), would remove all grandfathered ordinances and resolutions passed before April 8, 1986 with regards to the prohibition or regulation of possession, transportation or storage of firearms and firearm ammunition by HCP holders.  Please begin contacting your state Representative and respectfully urging him or her to vote “YES” on HB 1483 when it comes to the House floor for a vote.

With HB 1407 being placed on the House Finance, Ways and Means Subcommittee agenda for next Wednesday, March 19, it is imperative you begin contacting members of the subcommittee and asking that they support HB 1407.  Contact information for the subcommittee members is provided below.

House Finance, Ways and Means Subcommittee:

Representative Mike Harrison (R-9), Chairman
(615) 741-7480
Rep.mike.harrison@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative David Alexander (R-39)
(615) 741-8695
Rep.david.alexander@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Joe Armstrong (D-15)
(615) 741-0768
Rep.joe.armstrong@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Kevin Brooks (R-24)
(615) 741-1350
 Rep.kevin.brooks@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Karen D. Camper (D-87)
(615) 741-1898
Rep.karen.camper@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Craig Fitzhugh (D-82)
(615) 741-2134
Rep.craig.fitzhugh@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative David B. Hawk (R-5)
(615) 741-7482
Rep.david.hawk@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Gerald McCormick (R-26)
(615) 741-2548
Rep.gerald.mccormick@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Steve McDaniel (R-72)
(615) 741-0750
Rep.steve.mcdaniel@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Gary Odom (D-55)
(615) 741-4410
Rep.gary.odom@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Dennis Edward Roach (R-35)
(615) 741-2534
Rep.dennis.roach@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Charles Michael Sargent (R-61)
(615) 741-6808
Rep.charles.sargent@capitol.tn.gov

Print
Email
Share