Wisconsin: Assembly Committee to Hear NRA-Backed Hunting Reform Tomorrow

Posted on May 21, 2013

Print
Email
Share

Contact members of the Assembly Natural Resources and Sporting Heritage Committee in support of AB 194

Tomorrow at 9:00 a.m., the Assembly Natural Resources and Sporting Heritage Committee is scheduled to hear a bill of importance to sportsmen and hunters in the Badger State.  Assembly Bill 194, sponsored by state Representative Mary Czaja (R-35), would allow all hunters the opportunity to use a crossbow during the big game archery season.  This bill would help increase hunter participation and preserve Wisconsin’s rich hunting heritage.

Experience in other states has shown that allowing the unqualified use of crossbows helps retain and recruit hunters.  At a time when hunter numbers are declining, nothing is more important.  Retention of older hunters with diminished physical capabilities is especially critical.  If allowed to use crossbows, these hunters will remain in the field years longer than they otherwise would if restricted to vertical bows only.  As a result, they would be more likely to recruit more friends and family into Wisconsin’s ranks of hunters.  For youngsters who do not yet possess the physical strength to use a vertical bow, crossbows would allow them to go afield earlier and create more lifelong archery hunters.

In addition, experience in other states shows that archer success rates do not increase with the use of a crossbow as opposed to a vertical bow.  The goal of all hunters should be to increase participation because greater hunter numbers in the future will bolster defenses against the political attacks initiated by anti-hunting extremists and ensure the continuation of Wisconsin’s hunting heritage.

Using the information provided below, please contact members of the Assembly Natural Resources and Sporting Heritage Committee and politely urge them to support AB 194.

Representative Alvin Ott (R-3) – Chairman
(608) 266-5831
Rep.Ott@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative Joel Kleefisch (R-38) – Vice Chairman
(608) 266-8551
Rep.Kleefisch@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative Garey Bies (R-1)
(608) 266-5350
Rep.Bies@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative Mary Williams (R-87)
(608) 266-7506
Rep.WilliamsM@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative Jeffrey Mursau (R-36)
(608) 266-3780
Rep.Mursau@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative Lee Nerison (R-96)
(608) 266-3534
Rep.Nerison@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative Warren Petryk (R-93)
(608) 266-0660
Rep.Petryk@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative Jim Steineke (R-5)
(608) 266-2418
Rep.Steineke@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative Mark Born (R-39)
(608) 266-2540
Rep.Born@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative Rob Swearingen (R-34)
(608) 266-7141
Rep.Swearingen@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative Nick Milroy (D-73)
(608) 266-0640
Rep.Milroy@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative Gary Hebl (D-46)
(608) 266-7678
Rep.Hebl@legis.wisconsin.gov 

Representative Fred Clark (D-81)
(608) 266-7746
Rep.Clark@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative Chris Danou (D-92)
(608) 266-7015
Rep.Danou@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative Dianne Hesselbein (D-79)
(608) 266-5340
Rep.Hesselbein@legis.wisconsin.gov

Representative Katrina Shankland (D-71)
(608) 267-9649
Rep.Shankland@legis.wisconsin.gov

Print
Email
Share